Sugar Glider V6, Pocket Marsupials

silverwineus
post Jun 3 2008, 04:32 PM

514 posts

QUOTE(rafiqos @ Jun 3 2008, 04:12 PM)
Sounds good! Looking forward to a nice picpost once the project is concluded. Have you decided on the colour yet silverwineus?
rafiqos, i think you can make one too and lotsa fun there if the facility is there.. smile.gif

I'll be spraying base oxide and then a blue Epoxy. Epoxy is one expensive and chemically resistant paint. Btw, everything will be blue in colour, including the mesh, if i can get, should go with my favourite colour.

For cable ties, i have with me now 2 bags imported stainless steel cable ties. This is rather diffucult to get and quite pricey.

I will conceal the SS cable ties with aluminium plate later as much as possible to look neater.

After i have done with all the metal work in this 2008, look forward to proceed with wood work and sewing work for the interior design. That will be 2009 project. hehe..

It will then be a great "suggie snugly home.." hehe smile.gif

Added on June 3, 2008, 4:45 pmThe key to welding it precisely is by securing the pieces with tapes first.

Then measure all the diagonals by using Pythagoras Theorem, A square + B square = C square.

If the diagonals do not match, then the precision is out.

This post has been edited by silverwineus: Jun 3 2008, 05:32 PM
silverwineus
post Jun 3 2008, 04:52 PM

514 posts

rafiqos,
When i weld a straight line, i move my hand in this motion"///////////" insted of "----------" so that two seperate pieces can be attached together better and the weld spread out more evenly. Try this!

This post has been edited by silverwineus: Jun 3 2008, 04:54 PM
silverwineus
post Jun 3 2008, 05:41 PM

514 posts

QUOTE(rafiqos @ Jun 3 2008, 05:00 PM)
That hand movement makes the weld beads turn out neat. I've tried that before!! Ecstasy! Like painting butter on bread...sounds not so right. dry.gif
A little left or right movement makes it better..i will post a pix of that welded area using such stroke for your comment, hope tmrw. This style may not be applicable to you.

But rafiqos, i want to add on, each people have different styles in welding, some like to bend their weld rod, some perform better by sitting on chair or clasping their arm close to their feet. Some would slant their weld rod slightly a bit left etc..

But most important, it produce good result.

What's your style? Hehe..

Added on June 3, 2008, 5:54 pmI have missed the grand Petster event cry.gif cry.gif Extreme tiredness, hope next time.

This post has been edited by silverwineus: Jun 3 2008, 05:54 PM
silverwineus
post Jun 3 2008, 11:19 PM

514 posts

Why gliders are designed to have wings/gliding membrane that have short wing span (wing length) and a long wing chord (wing breath)?

How come long distance bird has long and narrow wings?

Have you wonder why? Here's the reason for the difference.

Generally gliding animals have low aspect ratio (wing length/wing breath).
Longer wing span (length) is more efficient in terms of speed as they suffer less induced drag (drag is the opposition to forward movement).
Long wing span is what is desirable in the design of airplanes for faster speed.

Long distance birds need to travel fast with less induced drag. They can't have short wing span.
Therefore we see that gliders usually travel at slow speed because they have a short wing span.

However, the long wings mean that the long-winged bird has a greater moment of inertia about its longitudinal axis and therefore cannot roll as quickly and is less maneuverable.
In contrary, glider has less longitudinal moment of inertia, therefore it is more flexible in directing the wing to be tilted slightly up or down.
And also with the added advantage of the tail being a "rudder" instrement.

A glider usually fall very slowly during gliding..Why?
Since the amount of lift that a wing generates is proportional to the area of the wing, gliders who have short span (length) of gliding membrane must correspondingly have a longer chord (breath), to generate a greater lift that will prevent it from falling quickly..

The larger the area of the wing, the greater the lift, the slower the fall.

Great to know this interesting aerodynamic aspect of a glider smile.gif

This post has been edited by silverwineus: Jun 3 2008, 11:25 PM
silverwineus
post Jun 4 2008, 08:34 PM

514 posts

I would like to appeal to the sugar glider community, whereby i'm earnestly looking for someone who resides near Bkt Jalil area, who keen to earn extra income taking care of my gliders and pets when i have to be away sometimes.

Any interested and responsible individual can pm me smile.gif

It's time to RESHUFFLE my timetable! So that i will be able to keep up with the pace of the forum talk. Haha.. smile.gif

silverwineus
post Jun 4 2008, 08:52 PM

514 posts

Great. Take your time to consider. I won't give up on searching as well..thanks.
silverwineus
post Jun 4 2008, 11:58 PM

514 posts

Hun, i remember once you were searching for accessory to fasten your two cages together, sth like that la..so how it is now?

Actually, this accessory i can't find here, it's the J-clips. The picture is as below. It comes with J-clips plier.

That is why i use stainless steel cable ties, need to import, here too don't have.

I think we can order it from this site:
http://qualitycage.com/index.php?main_page=shopping_cart

This post has been edited by silverwineus: Jun 5 2008, 12:05 AM
silverwineus
post Jun 5 2008, 12:54 AM

514 posts

This week i will go buy some shrimp or chicken and boil it for my glider as extra protein. Shrimp can be kept longer than chicken and cooks'tfaster than chicken. Isn't it? Shrimp can be kept for months with no problem but should avoid that, just to preserve the freshness. If there's drawback with shrimp meal, give me a hint.

Ok ..good nite to all late nite folks yawn.gif

This post has been edited by silverwineus: Jun 5 2008, 01:04 AM
silverwineus
post Jun 5 2008, 05:45 PM

514 posts

Wah cute ..

This post has been edited by silverwineus: Jun 5 2008, 05:49 PM
silverwineus
post Jun 5 2008, 05:51 PM

514 posts

Dear sifu rafiqos..
An example of a weld bed using "/////" stroke, how's this? ok?

I grind it to be smooth..like this..

OK.. i know it's off topic nod.gif

ggMIng, here's the pix of making my glider cage.
I don't know if later they protest," Hey, where's the cute cute smiley face suggie, what's this heavy duty crap?"

Welding glider cage is not difficult, need some practise and space and equipment.

This post has been edited by silverwineus: Jun 5 2008, 06:01 PM
silverwineus
post Jun 5 2008, 06:07 PM

514 posts

QUOTE(krynzpeaches @ Jun 5 2008, 09:37 AM)
Silver, the J clips are available here in Malaysia, not abundantly, you really need to search for it smile.gif

Currently the one place I found it is at ACE Hardware Ikano Power Centre smile.gif

It was still there when I went browsing in last Sunday smile.gif

However, I am not sure if they have the J clips plier or not because I only saw the packs of J clips only.

KP
When i return from my trip, then go check it out myself, thanks.
silverwineus
post Jun 5 2008, 06:24 PM

514 posts

QUOTE(muchan86 @ Jun 5 2008, 05:56 PM)
I felt the same thing like u.....
sometimes I can get bored wif my pets... but I never think of sell them off because of my boredness.. if I really can't take care of them anymore I willingly to find ppl who can take care of them but not selling them... cuz my dictionary said : never sell a pet! althou they're a pet but they do have a felling like us.. so selling them means treating them like a thing not a pet... hehe this is always come on my mind... last time my dad used to have lots of birds and a monkey forgot what it's name... he gave it all to a friend who can take care of them.. because we all think they better live wif ppl who can take care them but not selling them =]

yeah.. goin back because friends want to visit my hometown.. hehe
will try to ask bout the procedure on the way back home...

thanks for all the answer KP =]
Your dictionary says, "Your pets are never forsaken because they are yours."

This is a principle that we need to hold on to. It's my principle that helps me not to be swayed away when i see nicer ones and tempted to sell.

It is COMMITMENT that we make, just like marriage, a more severe compatible comparison.

It's RELATIONSHIP. Giving up your pet is never a happy occasion, speaking from my experience of giving them up once. It's very heart breaking. After that, i say to myself, no second time again.

This post has been edited by silverwineus: Jun 5 2008, 06:30 PM
silverwineus
post Jun 5 2008, 06:37 PM

514 posts

I remember Koochee.. spel'it gliders.

She should be commended because in the circumstance where her gliders were underaged and looked extremely weak once upon a time, she never forsake them.

Added on June 5, 2008, 6:49 pmWe should not forsake them unless we don't love them.

But another thing is that, we shouldn't have favoritism towards our animals. Some animals do exhibit jealousy.

We should treat all the same and fair regardless how they bahave. Favouristism is betraying the pet.

They have instinct and sense, they will know and react to unloved.

This post has been edited by silverwineus: Jun 5 2008, 07:11 PM
silverwineus
post Jun 5 2008, 08:23 PM

514 posts

QUOTE(muchan86 @ Jun 5 2008, 08:00 PM)

Added on June 5, 2008, 8:07 pmsilver... yeah I know... I never sell or gave away my pets... except once...
my dog.. T____T I have to let him go to my friend house because no one at home who can take care of him... mom went to dad place me coming here and bro was in china... hikx

anyway... because of my curiosity I went to search bout glider at my hometown.. and.......... I just know my friend OWNED them!!! LOL
but.. as I said earlier... the diff of suggie here n indonesia is.... here tame there... u buy wild n u tame urself....

yeah... those who have suggie..they bought wild and tame it themself.. but still not many ppl knows bout glider althou some had owned them.... and
actually in my hometown, we DO have those cruel animal police or spca  but this one is established by a native who stayed at indonesia and they felt pity for those abandoned cats n dogs, here's the site JAAN if u wan to view it...

will try search more.. hehe

-------------------]
eh... why I can't post picture?
it said dynamic tag of [IMG] is not allowed? @.@
I wan to post few pics of how they set the cage for suggie there..
Yeah la..poor abandoned unwanted animals. Fortunately there are someone or institution to adopt them.

If i need a dog in future, i think i know where i should go adopt it.

Hope that don't let me come across "abandoned sugar glider" here, else it will grieve me, hehe..

Thanks for your sharing munchan..
silverwineus
post Jun 5 2008, 08:41 PM

514 posts

QUOTE(muchan86 @ Jun 5 2008, 08:26 PM)
ur welcome silver =]
seriously... why I can't post pic? -.-"
anyway...
found this site... which showed picture of joey when in pouch till OOP....
hope u enjoyed it =]
http://momonga.cside.com/momokoto/breed2/s...ider/sugar1.htm

*continue searching*
Wow, you have pics of joey in pouch! But.. oh oh site error..

I can imagine, can't post pic, can't view site, this must be annoying.

Tell ya sth..

Just now when i was trying to post pix, i encountered bluetooth problem. After settled that for one hour, finally i can load pix.

Half way typing the message, suddenly, the electricity shut off... then.. i had to wait..

When the electricity recovered, i was so happy and continued. When i clicked post message, my phone line was not working! Modem had no signal.

Finally, i went to sleep.

Somtimes, it can be very frustrating..haha

This post has been edited by silverwineus: Jun 5 2008, 08:42 PM
silverwineus
post Jun 5 2008, 09:17 PM

514 posts

Thanks Munchan for the link, lovely joeys.. smile.gif

I agree with Hun, the latter cage setup messy..

Hai... i thought only machinery needs to prepare manual. But i need to prepare pets manual in BM too! What on earth.

This is to help provide steps and instructions to my driver who is my temporary caretaker of my pets when i'm away..

This post has been edited by silverwineus: Jun 5 2008, 10:20 PM
silverwineus
post Jun 8 2008, 08:05 PM

514 posts

QUOTE(coldfusionpower @ Jun 8 2008, 06:59 PM)
easy leh .. make frame like ur house door. put hinges .. put lock . setel ..
p/s: all my diy is for function .. it dont have to be good looking. as long it function well . enuf for me ..
CFP..Your cage is professional, very nicely done yeah? smile.gif Thx for sharing pixxie..

Added on June 8, 2008, 8:07 pmToday's Menu

Chicken breast cum yellow pear salad.. can finish?? smile.gif

Added on June 8, 2008, 8:24 pm
QUOTE(bonai @ Jun 8 2008, 04:25 PM)
Tired of reading?

Let's see some pictures...

Presenting: Kecik's Mansion!

For those who have DIY cages, please post up pics.. i really need ideas on how to finish the door part..  rclxub.gif
A creative decorative piece of work brows.gif interior comfort is superior thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by silverwineus: Jun 8 2008, 08:26 PM
silverwineus
post Jun 8 2008, 08:30 PM

514 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Jun 8 2008, 08:26 PM)
Wow, healthy dinner. You manually chopped the chicken and pear up till that fine?
You know Hun..when you keep that much of pets, you will keep up with your chopping skills too..hehe

Added on June 8, 2008, 8:38 pmYeah, Hun, if i don't chop it to fine pieces, you know what my gliders going to do?

They will fling the pieces of whatever in their small lil hands to wherever... so that's why la..

This post has been edited by silverwineus: Jun 8 2008, 08:44 PM
silverwineus
post Jun 8 2008, 09:03 PM

514 posts

QUOTE(ReBeLLioN @ Jun 8 2008, 08:40 PM)
can anyone teach me how to upload my sg pic here... im still a new user here...
so i didnt no many thing blink.gif
go to photobucket.com or imageshack.com or whatever ..

then choose file to upload and click upload image..

it will then give you the URL ( starts with http:// ....) or IMG code of the picture..

When you click the IMG toggle on the LYN edit post, your URL will he requested. Just copy to it...

Sorry my explanation not very good..

Added on June 8, 2008, 9:07 pmhaha KP you are very sharp...

I know sth is very unusual about Bonai's cage but i don't what, that's right, you got it, it's SYMMETRICAL..

This post has been edited by silverwineus: Jun 8 2008, 09:11 PM
silverwineus
post Jun 8 2008, 09:56 PM

514 posts

QUOTE(krynzpeaches @ Jun 8 2008, 08:45 PM)
emino,

Hun,

Penatlah jalan from Sunway Pyramid to Pet Shack sweat.gif

---

Silver,

Looks yummy!

Which reminds me... I'm out of glider food again... sweat.gif

My masters will kill me!

tongue.gif
KP
Wow.. i can see your determination to get SLURP really like "salmon fish"..haha..

depsite the opposite flow of upstream journey, they have one goal one mind...

As far as i know, Pet Shack is almost like Mars and earth..to you, and Hun too!

Pity..

your gliders like what we are now, in the midst of food crisis..

Very aptly you called your gliders "master"...

We, supposed to be their master, now looks more like servants ..

Haha..nice day:)

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0819sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 01:54 AM