Perodua Kenari User Club V1

mADmAN
post Dec 17 2009, 09:34 PM

10,530 posts

during my old EF days i change my Bosch Super 4 Plugs every 20k km...

normal NGKs for about 10k km.

now with the kelisa i use normal NGKs and still change them every 10k km.

had denso iridium once...but it had to be changed after about 40+k km coz it got real dirty....wnted to have them cleaned but i dunno where they are already doh.gif

anyway, of all the plugs ive used the NGKs me thinks is the best...power wise.

the iridiums... felt abit more smoother la...but its possible that its just placebo.

anyway...how do u clean plugs ah? might wanna do it if i ever managed to find the plugs again.
mADmAN
post Dec 29 2009, 10:27 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(radi0head @ Dec 27 2009, 05:12 PM)
guys... on normal wear and tear ar... will ur rear tire wear faster than the front? my rear driver side's tire is bald'ing... it's alwiz that side... i wonder why...

or is our design liddat and we cant do anything about it? hmm...

wink.gif
for front wheel drive cars its always the front tires that wear out faster...

and if ur car has the REAR driver side thats always wearing out faster than the rest, then i suggest having ur car checked... could be bad camber, bad caster, work out bearings etc etc thats causing that tire to wear faster than the rest.
mADmAN
post Feb 3 2010, 03:08 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(cphilip @ Feb 3 2010, 12:42 AM)
Hi Kenari friends,

I am thinking of changing my toyota unser to kenari.

I have a few questions about the Kenari and will truly appreciate your advice.

My questions are :

1. Can I remove my super boch 4 spark plug from my unser and use it for kenari?

2. Can I remove my cyclone (don't know work or not but anyway already bought) from my unser and use it for my kenari?

3. Can i remove my voltage stabilizer and special cables from my unser and use it for kenari?

4. (Just a wild thought - not decided yet) Any Kenari owner wants to swap with my unser 2000?

Thanks!
1/ check size for kenari and unser...if same then yes.

2/ ur gonna need to check the size of ur intake pipes... if same yes, but i seriously doubt its the same

3/ yes...no problems at all...VS and grounding cables are NOT specific to any car...

4/ not me biggrin.gif
mADmAN
post Feb 3 2010, 11:16 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(Loseeker @ Feb 3 2010, 10:19 PM)
Hey madman, it's been awhile last seen u on this kenari threat, welcome back ! smile.gif
actually i read the thread whenever theres an update....just nuttin to post only tongue.gif

QUOTE(cphilip @ Feb 3 2010, 11:09 PM)
mADmAN
THANKS A LOT for replying.

How's Kenari?

My 2 years experience with Unser is that it is a trouble free car (at least for the one I am using). Besides the normal service routine, i just had to change 1 battery, tyres and brakes.

Unser works on timing chain and there is not much electronic stuffs like ECU and things like that.

What do you think of Kenari? Is it a trouble free car? Is fuel consumption better than proton iswara?

Thanks!
i think its a good car which is quite spacious considering its size.....and of course its reliable...had minor issues with the kenari in terms of aircond dead... power window etc....but thats pretty common for buying used cars...fixed them up and its all good now....spare parts are pretty easy to find too..

but in terms of daily driving and daily use.....heres the thing...i bought the kenari for my fiance and i rarely drive the kenari......i drive a kelisa so i wouldnt really know biggrin.gif
mADmAN
post Feb 5 2010, 09:55 PM

10,530 posts

if ur running the kenari on the stock 13 or 14 inch rims i guess shouldnt be much of a problem la...

but on 15" will suffer abit...

u can still carry 4 people up....itll just be slow...so dont expect to be whacking corners and all that....thats all...
mADmAN
post Feb 6 2010, 12:23 AM

10,530 posts

if manual...prepare 1st gear...

if auto...prepare to play abit with the gearstick and to floor it...biggrin.gif
mADmAN
post Feb 9 2010, 06:58 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(Loseeker @ Feb 8 2010, 10:02 PM)
Guys, how often do u change your manual gear box oil ? Which brand do you use and how much usually it cost ya ?
with my old b16a gearbox (which had LSD) i used to change every 10k km....whether the oil is clean or not...i still change. always kena scolding from my mechanic laugh.gif

didnt even use those LSD oil....

just used those tong drum oil and it was working perfectly.

but generally....20k km is a good time to change
mADmAN
post Feb 20 2010, 02:00 AM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(Loseeker @ Feb 20 2010, 12:43 AM)
Guys, I accidentally left my fuel tank cap at the Petrol station after my last filled up 2 weeks ago.....(0nly discovered it's missing just now when I went to fill up again). Usually how much it cost to get it replaced? Can I get it from spare part shop or have to go back to P2 SC ?  icon_question.gif
spare parts shops should have it...

QUOTE(Silver Isle @ Feb 20 2010, 01:24 AM)
Just calculated my FC today. VERY high eh. Approximately RM0.16/km. Sakit hati lar. Any idea how to reduce it?
lighter right foot...thats the best way.
mADmAN
post Mar 13 2010, 08:47 PM

10,530 posts

full tank (more than RM50) may reach 480km depending on ur driving style..

but RM50....can la....if the entire 500km was straight flat road...n u just put in D n let it jalan...dont touch the throttle at all laugh.gif
mADmAN
post Mar 29 2010, 10:59 PM

10,530 posts

check mountings....looks like its time to change
mADmAN
post Apr 23 2010, 09:12 PM

10,530 posts

common for kenari and kelisa.....especially autos..

mainly caused by the fact that the engine is a 3 cylinder engine so it vibrates more.
mADmAN
post Jun 3 2010, 04:45 PM

10,530 posts

different cars has different effects when using grounding cable and voltage stabilizer la...

like mine....the only difference with n without voltage stabilizer is i get smoother idling with the VS. without VS idling a little rough. and the difference oso not so noticeable....
mADmAN
post Jun 7 2010, 05:09 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(yuyuyu @ Jun 7 2010, 04:57 PM)
Oil seal RM250+, with gear or engine(forgot which) oil change
both bearing RM180
Engine mounting rm900+
driveshaft boot RM580+ (!!)

please advise me which one shld i fix T___T

so sad the car many prob, thinking going for alza while waiting for the inspection cuz got display there. But after calm down, realise how much really i love my bird that i think i should repair first and walk down the road together......

thanks all ^^

PS(!!!): one problem i jz recalled, i see my car come out white fume. Is the prob listed above? Not much fume la, and im not sure after driving for awhile is it still there coz not much.

But there is one time when i start the car to back home from office (5.45pm) there is really alot of fume. Just that one time.
fix ALL. yes... ALL. those are quite severe problems... so no choice.

BUT... for engine mounting and driveshaft...dont fix at P2. their prices are expensive for those 2. go to other normal workshops and get quotations for taiwan drive shafts or mountings. although P2 mountings are of better quality la. but still the cheaper ones as good too...just doesnt last as long as P2 mounts.

survey around....can get as low as RM300-400 for mounting and 250 for entire drive shaft per side. as for still vibrate after change mounting...normal. this is due to the 3 cylinder engine design...it vibrates more than normal 4 cylinder engine designs.

white smoke... smell it. if it smells like burnt oil...then its time to change piston rings. means ur engine oil is leaking into the combustion chamber and being burnt as well. this will reduce the amount of engine oil in ur engine over time..advised to fix..unless u can live with it and rajin to check engine oil every now and then and top up if needed.

but if no smell...then mebbe its just because the engine is cold and the vapor being released. this is especially normal for morning starts. should go away once the engine has warmed up nicely.
mADmAN
post Jun 23 2010, 12:09 PM

10,530 posts

checked ur mountings yet?

the thing with our cars is...when it comes to shaky engine...first thing to check is mountings.
mADmAN
post Jul 22 2010, 01:03 PM

10,530 posts

timing belt is important...

if it snaps....be ready for an engine change...
mADmAN
post Sep 6 2010, 03:55 PM

10,530 posts

guys....any suggestion for cheap 165/50/15 tires?

dun wan 175/50...

my tires kinda need to change soon but im broke cry.gif
mADmAN
post Sep 6 2010, 06:34 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(jaesern @ Sep 6 2010, 06:22 PM)
yo madman, how u doin? any new stuff on ur car  brows.gif
hardly see 165/50R15, just go back to 175/50R15 la  laugh.gif
nothing new in my car man....

go back to 175/50? ive NEVER used 175/50 before la...all the while ive been using 165/50 tongue.gif
mADmAN
post Sep 20 2010, 03:51 PM

10,530 posts

the last 2 times....i went for local mounts....doesnt last as long as ori....but works just the same.
mADmAN
post Sep 27 2010, 02:36 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(jackal400 @ Sep 25 2010, 01:55 AM)
Wassup to all the kenarians over here.  smile.gif  Its been quite long ago since my last visit over here.

Here's a question that I would like to ask over here, it's regarding with the brakes. Im thinking of upgrading my braking system to a better ones but without compromising the stock rims and thus would like to ask what's the best solution in my case ?

I wonder if it's possible for me to convert my rear drums into disc brakes....any comment on this ??
yes its possible to convert rear drums to disc....but legally...JPJ approval is requred. but this one can do without approval coz most of the time this is the kinda mod they close one eye..

get EG6 brakes front and rear... price a lil more expensive, but well worth it. coz later down the road ull have tonnes of choices of brake pads and tonnes of choices on rotors and ull even have choices of aftermarket calipers if ur willing to pay the price. parts are in abundance and easy to find.

another option is to get myvi brakes, but change the rotors (preferably crossdrilled and slotted), use performance pads, DOT4 fluids and steel braided hoses.

thats my setup right now for my kelisa and its awesome. even better than the satria neo cps stock brakes.

QUOTE(KTS @ Sep 27 2010, 02:19 PM)
100 Pages!!!
so??? need to spam is it?? doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
mADmAN
post Sep 28 2010, 08:01 AM

10,530 posts

wait til reach limit then only open v2.... which is 2500 posts

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top