4-2-1 vs 4-1 header for Iswara 1.3

TStineagle
post Apr 21 2008, 09:49 PM, updated 18y ago

The Animal Within
1,276 posts

I am thinking of changing the entire exhaust system on my 1.3 Iswara.
But now... i'm facing a dilema.

Should i change the stock to larger 4-2-1 header or 4-1 header?

Anyone got comments on which is better for the iswara 1.3 engine?

My car modding adviser tells me to change the default stock 4-2-1 to a larger piped 4-1 header; and that it would add more pickup.

What do you guys think?
lawl
post Apr 21 2008, 10:00 PM

574 posts

ur car is auto or manual? ppl said auto go for 4-2-1, manual 4-1.. hope dis helps..
the_catacombs
post Apr 21 2008, 11:32 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

get 4-2-1 extractor....
TStineagle
post Apr 22 2008, 07:14 AM

The Animal Within
1,276 posts

its a manual...
Oly
post Apr 22 2008, 07:41 AM

Permanent Banned
3,827 posts

4-2-1...engine stock?..piping stock?..
xtorm
post Apr 22 2008, 09:29 AM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

i use 4-1 then change to 4-2-1.

if u wan torque then better use 4-2-1, but reving 4-1 better, very easy rev, rev till 8k also shiok tongue.gif

i was using the old iswara, best bang for bucks is sanding the carburator.
kevinlim001
post Apr 22 2008, 10:00 AM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

if u wan pick up at low rpm i think 4-2-1 is more suitable if 4-1 is more to high rev.
GoldenHawk
post Apr 22 2008, 12:01 PM

The Forgotten
1,017 posts

Go for the 4-2-1.
Not many people can get the hang of the 4-1 setup.

You changing your muffler as well? unsure.gif
the_catacombs
post Apr 22 2008, 12:27 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(xtorm @ Apr 22 2008, 09:29 AM)

if u wan torque then better use 4-2-1, but reving 4-1 better, very easy rev, rev till 8k also shiok tongue.gif

what u mean by sanding the carburetor??.. unsure.gif
GoldenHawk
post Apr 22 2008, 12:31 PM

The Forgotten
1,017 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Apr 22 2008, 12:27 PM)
what u mean by sanding the carburetor??.. unsure.gif
I think he means porting/polishing the carb laugh.gif

the_catacombs
post Apr 22 2008, 12:36 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(GoldenHawk @ Apr 22 2008, 12:31 PM)
I think he means porting/polishing the carb laugh.gif
icic... laugh.gif i jz woke up... blur abit... laugh.gif laugh.gif
alamdamai1
post Apr 22 2008, 01:49 PM

210 posts

QUOTE(xtorm @ Apr 22 2008, 09:29 AM)

Bro xtorm, do you know of any w'shop in Klang Valley that can do a good job in porting the carb and usually how much does it cost usually? hmm.gif
TStineagle
post Apr 22 2008, 05:43 PM

The Animal Within
1,276 posts

currently i am using stock 4-2-1. exhaust piping changed from the midbox onwards. changed to larger piping and muffler s-flow marco muffler.

so 4-2-1 for midrange rev power while 4-1 is for high rev power?
i guess 4-2-1 will save alot of fuel since the engine doesn't need to be revved high to achieve tourque. but issit true that 4-1 set up will deliver a better pick up overall?

rev till 8krpm burn alot of fuel kao kao ar? xD

This post has been edited by tineagle: Apr 22 2008, 05:46 PM
the_catacombs
post Apr 22 2008, 07:16 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(tineagle @ Apr 22 2008, 05:43 PM)
but issit true that 4-1 set up will deliver a better pick up overall?

rev till 8krpm burn alot of fuel kao kao ar? xD
yes if u rev till high high... at high rpm, ur revs is vr smooth... no restriction at the exhaust...
but low rpm pickup will suffer if u use 4-1 extractor...

rev till 8k burn alot of fuel only... wont burn kao kao one... sweat.gif
xtorm
post Apr 22 2008, 09:58 PM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

sand as in using sand paper and sand the inlet parts, or should i say mouth?

DIY...hahahaha, damn i miss the sound and pull of it.
TStineagle
post Apr 23 2008, 10:18 AM

The Animal Within
1,276 posts

1 more question. does a bullet provide better airflow than a midbox? whats the diff between the two?
the_catacombs
post Apr 23 2008, 11:09 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(tineagle @ Apr 23 2008, 10:18 AM)
1 more question. does a bullet provide better airflow than a midbox? whats the diff between the two?
midbox is more restrictive compare to a bullet....
ryan_hustler
post Apr 24 2008, 11:11 AM

889 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Apr 23 2008, 11:09 AM)
midbox is more restrictive compare to a bullet....
midbox is just an empty metal tabung,since it has a higher volume,the exhaust gas gets slowed down..the best setup will be to keep the velocity of the exhaust gas high so it can exit the engine without restrictions and the fastest possible way..i dont understand why people say backpressure is necessary..i think the best setup will be a straight pipe from the extractor till the end but this is bloody hell loud hence the need for muffler and bullets..

This post has been edited by ryan_hustler: Apr 24 2008, 11:12 AM
GoldenHawk
post Apr 24 2008, 12:28 PM

The Forgotten
1,017 posts

QUOTE(ryan_hustler @ Apr 24 2008, 11:11 AM)
midbox is just an empty metal tabung,since it has a higher volume,the exhaust gas gets slowed down..the best setup will be to keep the velocity of the exhaust gas high so it can exit the engine without restrictions and the fastest possible way..i dont understand why people say backpressure is necessary..i think the best setup will be a straight pipe from the extractor till the end but this is bloody hell loud hence the need for muffler and bullets..
Google up "exhaust scavenging"... smile.gif
the_catacombs
post Apr 24 2008, 01:07 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(ryan_hustler @ Apr 24 2008, 11:11 AM)
go exhaust shop and try it out urself.... den u'll understand what we meant... nod.gif

0.0250sec    0.55    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 12:29 AM