9 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Stock Market V12, Stock Market talk, some are investors, some are gamblers..

cherroy
post Apr 30 2008, 03:41 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(lklatmy @ Apr 30 2008, 03:36 PM)
Can,if you got jalan to borrow and sell first in HK.... tongue.gif  tongue.gif

That's what big FF can do.
If I got 'Jalan', I am already a big fish lah. laugh.gif

Doing abitrage, with million of shares, without much risk (buy Malaysia, sell in HK), easy get few hundred K per day if the disparity is big. Fund managers can do it (borrow shares in HK and sell then buy in Malaysia then send it to there afterwards), we small small retailers where can? Not being slaughtered by big sharks and getting peanut already happy liao.
cherroy
post Apr 30 2008, 03:59 PM

25,802 posts

Tonight, Fed will decide whether to cut how much interest rate. Market is divided right now, some said 0.25% then will pause, not many will go for 0.50%.
In US, the real interest rate is negative already. Losing money by putting FD in the bank because inflation rate > interest rate.

Btw, Maybank only 8 now while Pbbank keep on charging.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Apr 30 2008, 04:00 PM
cherroy
post Apr 30 2008, 04:04 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Apr 30 2008, 04:01 PM)
ermm, tomorrow the whole Asia region will be on public holiday !!
Whole Asia, are you sure? I don't think Japan got.
cherroy
post Apr 30 2008, 04:11 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(aretla @ Apr 30 2008, 04:06 PM)
meaning we wont be benefit from the rate cut news lo..
Surely benefit? can be escape as well one. icon_idea.gif

Not sure how market will react to the rate cut, Fed tone should be the focus point, if said worry about inflation, then probably pause which mean this round of rate cut cycle is finished, market might take it negatively.

Anyway, Asian bourses are somehow detached a bit, not closely monitor how US market performing right now.

Added on April 30, 2008, 4:12 pm
QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Apr 30 2008, 04:06 PM)
whops...from what i know, HSI, STI, KLSE will be off. not sure about taiwan, bangkok, philipine, japan, etc.
But I knew China has somehow long hiliday (about a week) in May.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Apr 30 2008, 04:12 PM
cherroy
post Apr 30 2008, 04:42 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(aretla @ Apr 30 2008, 04:35 PM)
2 more sens to touch 52wks low  sweat.gif
Should be all time low as well. smile.gif

Main culprit ->> oil price USD120/barrel.
cherroy
post Apr 30 2008, 04:43 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Apr 30 2008, 04:39 PM)
looks like got last minute push up. CI from -8.xx to -0.xx now.
Today last day ofr FKLI April settlement <--- push up few points, earn more mah.
cherroy
post Apr 30 2008, 04:49 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Apr 30 2008, 04:46 PM)
yahlor, kind of expected. last day of every month sure got this kind of tricky act. tongue.gif
A fake index to look at especially every month end.
cherroy
post Apr 30 2008, 05:21 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(naz_b_85 @ Apr 30 2008, 04:51 PM)
takes so much money to push market...multi millions..hundred of millions maybe..
What fund managers care most is their performance card. After all, gain or loss is not their hard-earned money, feeling is not the same, so decision making consideration is not as same as we small fish.
cherroy
post May 2 2008, 04:29 PM

25,802 posts

I don't think it is good for AirAsia to spend more money to buy another airliners.

Don't get me wrong, expansion programme is always good for company future earning. But with Airasia going to have more than 100 fleet of A320, which mean Airasia will be in high gearing already, further borrowing will increase the gearing further.

If Airasia is hedgeing at USD 130, that's mean if fuel price goes down, it will harm it fuel cost. Only if oil price going more than 130, then it will benefit from the hedge.

cherroy
post May 2 2008, 04:36 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(aretla @ May 2 2008, 04:32 PM)
i believe airasia alr deny to buy the taiwan airline. (from news this morning)

btw, im wondering why the do the hedging on so high price.. usd130 per barrel..
if im not mistaken... MAS is hedging at ~usd83 per barrel....
correct me if im wrong
Not possible (or plain stupidity) for people to hedge at 130 while current or spot price is 110-120 only. (Too much money to burn?) In oil price future, the longer the futures duration, a little cheaper it is.

I don't think this news/rumour has sound footing.

Btw, with commodities price plunging yesterday due to strength of USD, (if this trend continue), some plantation stocks may under some selling pressure, as plantation stocks valuation is rich currently.

Even gold price is dipping due to strength of USD <--- that's why when people rushing into one particular investment product, then should be wary. We have gold account, gold investment product launched by banks recently.

This post has been edited by cherroy: May 2 2008, 04:39 PM
cherroy
post May 2 2008, 04:50 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(PBB boleh @ May 2 2008, 04:46 PM)
Most people (myself included) have a long term bearish outlook for the dollar, so recent strength of the greenback might only be short term only (just my view only)
Yup, that's true, but if Fed stop cutting interest and if US econonmy and real estate problem does improve then it can be a short term strong support for the dollar.
But over long term, as long as the trade deficit is still staying tremendously high and no sign of improvement, it is still the major bearish factor for long term.

Btw,
Maybank being suspended suddenly, can't wait for another 10-15 mintues when market close at 5.00pm also. So rush even 15 minutes also cannot wait?

This post has been edited by cherroy: May 2 2008, 04:52 PM
cherroy
post May 2 2008, 05:24 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(mmusang @ May 2 2008, 04:51 PM)
not sure where I got it laugh.gif  tongue.gif
might be from lowyat forum or below website

http://klsestockreview.blogspot.com/2008/0...g-position.html
Aiya, it doesn't say it hedge at USD 130 lah, it means it had hedged some of their fuel position even if oil price hit USD130 won't be affecting them (in term of profitability) for six months period.
AirAsia has said that they have call options to offset the losses made on the previous call option that spooked the market. This will cover their position for approximately 6 months even if oil prices were to go as high as US$130 per barrel.

cherroy
post May 2 2008, 05:29 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(PBB boleh @ May 2 2008, 05:09 PM)
Zhulian huh... I think I passed it's palm oil estate a few times on my way to genting yesterday.

Dividend counter huh hmm.gif

Added on May 2, 2008, 5:19 pmopps, sorry Zhulian is Not a palm oil company
Zhulian is a jewellery producer ,(famous for its gold-plated costume jewellery). Gals like one. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by cherroy: May 2 2008, 05:31 PM
cherroy
post May 2 2008, 05:55 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ May 2 2008, 05:38 PM)
not really, i only love diamonds tongue.gif
Your standard higher mah, gold-plated won't attract you anymore. tongue.gif

QUOTE(cantdecide @ May 2 2008, 05:48 PM)
Oh!!! Zhulian is a jewellery producer.  All this while I have been mistaken Zhulian for some sort of MLM company and not surprise that they are paying decent dividend.  Because of my perception on Zhulian being a MLM-typed company, I did not pay attention to it as I read one such company was having difficulty after some 6 or 12 months after listing to meet their target.  That MLM company main product is coffee related but I can't remember the name.    tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
It also using MLM sales strategy also. Check this artile on thestar. http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?f...54&sec=business

cherroy
post May 2 2008, 09:03 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(! Love Money @ May 2 2008, 07:32 PM)
can i ask wat factors determine a stock/company shares go up and down
Short term, anything investors feel any related stuff or syndicate is pushing will move it up or down,

But long term, very simple and one factor -> the ability of the company to generate profit and lead the company grow to generate more wealth to its shareholders (in term of shareholding valuation) also ability to give consistent dividend yield that is higher than deposit rate to its shareholders. Dividend is subjected to debatable but still company needs to able to generate wealth to its shareholders whether to give dividend or not, it is another story which can be lengthy in discussion.

Added on May 2, 2008, 9:14 pm
QUOTE(dreams_achiever @ May 2 2008, 08:50 PM)
Good news to all! Payroll index better than forecast.
Let's wait for next Monday rally.. icon_idea.gif
Well, maybe lets wait until DJ closed in Green tonite first..hehe..pray pray pray hard.. notworthy.gif
Errr.. US and Europe and regional Asian bourses might follow closely to US, but Malaysia today already show it can be playing 'upside down' one. tongue.gif
Today all Asian bourses registered quite significant gain overall, but KLCI down more than 5 points.

Mainly because since after election, political issues are not clearing up. It makes worst with mega projects being cancelled or threaten to be cancelled which might drag the economy growth. Not to mention those 'corridors' project whether financial viable or not. Also gov planned ro remove diesel subsidy in near term might have very large implication to industrial also consumers front which will be directly hit on public pocket eventually affect spending power and consumption.

Not to pour cold water, but this is the reality of Malaysia situation is facing. Some selected stocks with strong fundamental will shine as those relied on purely on their competitiveness one but not for those by political related, also I don't think overall market will perform as good as last year.
I do think we will have below average performance for this year until 3-4Q at least, just my personal opinion and I could be wrong.

If US market up with USD surging then it might mean commodities price dropping, like crude oil and soy bean/palm oil (soy bean is the head to head competitor for palm oil), which will mean plantation stocks might not performing as good. Bare in mind, KLSE surging to near 1500 (14xx) not because of bullishness of the overall market but because of selective plantation and O&G related stocks.

Just my 2 cents.

This post has been edited by cherroy: May 2 2008, 09:14 PM
cherroy
post May 2 2008, 09:31 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(dreams_achiever @ May 2 2008, 09:22 PM)
yah, agreeable. Malaysia totally detached from regional market. Next time when regional down, we buy KLCI up..hehe  cool2.gif
Anyway, i rarely touch KLSE counter liao. Now playing HK-warrants.
Already ride boat with Petrochina-C5..hehe. Playing short term only. Can have some bao yu for dinner liao based on today paper profit...

So im preparing to sell when it reach my target price next Monday biggrin.gif
Another CWs fan spotted. icon_idea.gif

Stock market worldwide is a bit bullish at the moment as lot of 'parked money' in the US treasuries and fixed income as well as those in commodities (gold, oil etc) are 'freeing' out to the equities market because lot of people believe the worst of credit crunch and subprime is over, and only can get better.

So as you mean when to buy KLSE? tongue.gif laugh.gif
Just joking.

Also with Fed keep on pumping money into the credit market 100 billions, 200 billions, it will only flood the market with full of money. Eventually those money needs to find somewhere to go, right?
But pumping too much liquidity will only result inflation but inflation is a slowly show up beast, it won't emerge straight away one. So it is the risk of associated with it.

This post has been edited by cherroy: May 2 2008, 09:34 PM
cherroy
post May 3 2008, 02:49 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(neverlog @ May 3 2008, 11:29 AM)
is that true that between May and Oct is bearish season?
Statistically based on historical data, most of the time 3rd Q around Aug-Sept, market mostly will have some hard time. But it doesn't mean it is the same every year, just may be 6 or 7/10.

1Q generally is the best performing Q especially beginning of the year (but DJ, and other bourses including KLSE) has a poor 1Q this year.

Better look at events and economy environment to determine whether market will have good time or not. Economy growth and company earning are the ultimate factors to determine market will have bull run or not.

Bull run always associated better and prosperous economy growth in the near future as stock market generally moves ahead about 3-6 months as stock market is a forward looking mechanism not backwards.
cherroy
post May 4 2008, 12:13 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ May 3 2008, 09:23 PM)
nice analyst on IOI, dreams_achiever. i am thinking of buying it when it comes to 6.70-6.80
But do remember to monitor CPO price as well. If CPO dropped to 3000 level or below, then lot of plantation stocks will under some selling pressure. But Monday should be good for CPO as SoyBean surged more than 2% and oil jumped USD3 on Friday close.

But today PM comment on the cancellation or postpone of development projects (I don't think got specify, just a general statement based on today news) and concentrate on farming activities first to boast production for crops might impact some construction stocks furthermore.

This post has been edited by cherroy: May 4 2008, 12:16 AM
cherroy
post May 5 2008, 02:59 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(chen9wei @ May 5 2008, 02:25 PM)
Just curious, is that the afternoon session is more active than the morning session ?
It depends on how market moves and condition. Not the same everyday.

Added on May 5, 2008, 3:01 pm
QUOTE(chen9wei @ May 5 2008, 02:56 PM)
the 4-5 pm period is for the foreign investors right ? Think they just wake up ?
No, there is no such thing of they just wake up and come to trade, but just market sometimes takes the cue from the European market opening.
Foreign investors (fund houses) got dedicated fund managers on each bourse and positioning their managers to the region.

This post has been edited by cherroy: May 5 2008, 03:01 PM
cherroy
post May 5 2008, 03:34 PM

25,802 posts

I pick up what Warren Buffett said in the news conference for Berkshire annual meeting on Sunday.

Citigroup which lost close to $15 billion over the last two quarters, Buffett said: "Citigroup is replenishing its stock at $25 when it was buying it back not too long ago at $50. Many institutions not only grew the Kool-Aid, but drank it ... They paid a price, but the price was really paid by shareholders." --source CNBC

This is one of example why personally likes to see company giving out dividend when got extra cash instead of using the cash to buy back their own stock.

This post has been edited by cherroy: May 5 2008, 03:35 PM

9 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0473sec    1.13    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 02:09 PM