10 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 >Bottom

WIll BLR in future increase from 6.75% or lower, (Discuss)

leongal
post Jul 9 2010, 01:10 PM

~I have a new mission in life~
3,188 posts

according to economists, this might be the last rate hike for the year....expect the blr to stabilise throughout the year....
GregPG01
post Jul 9 2010, 01:56 PM

4,966 posts

Maybank To Raise Base Lending Rate 25Bps To 6.30% Vs 6.05% Tuesday doh.gif
gark
post Jul 9 2010, 02:12 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(leongal @ Jul 9 2010, 01:10 PM)
according to economists, this might be the last rate hike for the year....expect the blr to stabilise throughout the year....
Damm I hope BNM will raise the OPR further, so that the BLR continue to rise. Too many hot money around, spoiling all the investment opportunities. laugh.gif
cherroy
post Jul 9 2010, 02:18 PM

25,802 posts

It should be back to 3% prior before the financial crisis.
xuzen
post Jul 9 2010, 02:20 PM

4,436 posts

I have just read HwangDBS quarterly report. They predict the OPR to go up by 25 basis points per quarter until it reaches 3.25% and will maintain there at least throughout 2011.0

Since BLR is pegged against OPR, it means it will go up.

Xuzen
bob
post Jul 9 2010, 09:54 PM

* hari2mau *
1,707 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jul 9 2010, 02:20 PM)
I have just read HwangDBS quarterly report. They predict the OPR to go up by 25 basis points per quarter until it reaches 3.25% and will maintain there at least throughout 2011.0

Since BLR is pegged against OPR, it means it will go up.

Xuzen
have to pay more & more for my housing loan ...

cry.gif
leongal
post Jul 10 2010, 12:05 AM

~I have a new mission in life~
3,188 posts

QUOTE(bob @ Jul 9 2010, 09:54 PM)
have to pay more & more for my housing loan ...

cry.gif
hmm.gif i wonder how the change in monthly repayment works....ever since the first hike, i don't see any change in the monthly repayment amount
oumind
post Jul 10 2010, 09:26 AM

388 posts

BNM has a dilemma
1. Save/sustain economy by keeping interest rate lower than real inflation rate
2. Save RM by adjusting interest rate to keep up with real inflation

Option 1 is the easiest choice unless savers refuse to lend, e.g. watch for gold price in 2012 and beyond
xuzen
post Jul 10 2010, 01:08 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(leongal @ Jul 10 2010, 12:05 AM)
hmm.gif i wonder how the change in monthly repayment works....ever since the first hike, i don't see any change in the monthly repayment amount
The monthly payment remains the same, but a bigger chunk of it will go to pay the bank interest.

The end result is that your term will become longer.

Xuzen

gark
post Jul 10 2010, 05:27 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jul 10 2010, 01:08 PM)
The monthly payment remains the same, but a bigger chunk of it will go to pay the bank interest.
The end result is that your term will become longer.

Xuzen
My monthly payment actually increase/decrease with the rise and fall of interest rates. So I guess I am on a different plan then. smile.gif
eimane
post Jul 10 2010, 05:33 PM

97 posts

any idea how much it gonna be?
dinor01
post Jul 12 2010, 12:45 AM

290 posts

seem like BLR keep on increase...
any comment shld i go for OCBC package which is fixed 4.15% for 1-3years, then -1.9 after that.......

josepheng88
post Jul 12 2010, 01:47 AM

QUOTE(dinor01 @ Jul 12 2010, 12:45 AM)
any comment shld i go for OCBC package which is fixed 4.15% for 1-3years, then -1.9 after that.......
hi, I'm also having the same question hmm.gif hmm.gif
just to share what I have in mind after some research. As shown here http://www.blr.my/blr-history.htm, this is the 3rd times BNM raised BLR in 2010 (good for FD holder, bad for home loan payer), I'm using this tool at http://www.amortization-calc.com/ to calculate the total interest for my home loan for the 1st 3 years if i take up the OCBC 3-year fixed rate vs. floating rate home loan from other bank. And no surprise, with OCBC fixed rate i can save some $$ but not very very much lah, but (let's just say lah) if BLR continue to keep on climbing after every few months, then the saving will becoming more significant in the 3 years period.

pls correct me if i missed out any important factors in my above 'calculation', guess i might explore more fixed rate or separuh fixed rate package before deciding which home loan to take blush.gif

dinor01
post Jul 12 2010, 10:36 AM

290 posts

yes...but OCBC is semi-flexi loan, n u cannot take out ur money which u paid xtra when the house is under construction...
so if i park my money thr...i ned 2 wait til it finish construction, means 2 years later......

jeff_v2
post Jul 12 2010, 12:32 PM

965 posts

QUOTE(dinor01 @ Jul 12 2010, 12:45 AM)
better take flexi loan if possible la.
u dump in huge amount of money to stop interest.
but some bank offer flexi to 150k above loan only.
try islamic cap at 10.75% or fixed rate loan for 3-5 years.
need to do window shopping for interest rate offering from bank in Malaysia to get the best offer, tqtq
jack2
post Jul 23 2010, 03:52 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

Damn..3 years ago i expected BLR won't be increased so fast thus didn't take fixed interest loan package.

mana tahu, now sudah naik to 6.3%
miloy2k
post Jul 31 2010, 09:30 AM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jul 23 2010, 03:52 PM)
Damn..3 years ago i expected BLR won't be increased so fast thus didn't take fixed interest loan package.

mana tahu, now sudah naik to 6.3%
yeah, just wandering where to check those rate?

zeese
post Aug 4 2010, 04:39 PM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

QUOTE(miloy2k @ Jul 31 2010, 09:30 AM)
yeah, just wandering where to check those rate?
http://www.meshio.com/base-lending-rate/

This post has been edited by zeese: Aug 4 2010, 04:42 PM
anne1222
post Aug 15 2010, 02:24 PM

45 posts

zeese,
well done. u help us a lot. i recently applied for hl from uob, 1st 3 years, fixed at 4.2, thereafter blr - 1.9.
i not yet sign the LO. few days ago they offer new package, BLR-2.2 thru out the tenure. just wondering, if i plan to let go the property after 7 years, which 1 is better? the lock in period for both is 5 years.
TSmlpk
post Dec 20 2011, 02:37 PM

194 posts

already 6.60 %

10 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 >Top

0.0156sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:39 PM