Chubby Hamsters V7, Fun Furballs with attitudes

rubicube
post Apr 22 2008, 08:47 PM

164 posts

Dear all,

Which species of dwarf hamsters are least likely to bite their owners. I used to have a Russian dwarf hamster, which rarely pinch me. It has since died after nearly 1.5 years. I then bought 2 mini hamsters from Ikano's Pet Womderland and boy, they are aggressive. I would like to give them away, and replace with those which do not bite. Please advise! Tks
rubicube
post Apr 23 2008, 02:22 PM

164 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Apr 22 2008, 09:16 PM)
Just for your info.... mini hamsters in Ikano is Russian Campbells. Your previous hamster could be a winter White. But this I won't know coz I have never seen your hamster before. So you gotta be sure yourself.

Syrians rarely bite and are nicer to keep. Robos are harder to handle and they are just hyper active. Winter whites are ok but they should live single to avoid fights. Syrians and WW should be solitary while RC and Robos can be in pairs of groups. Be reminded, when I say pairs, is doesn't mean breeding pairs. IT means male and male or female with female.
Thanks for the info.

What are the characteristics of the Russian Cambells? Can I mix a Winter white with the Russian Cambells?

My previous Russain Dwarf is off white in color without any stripes, just plain looking. Have never bitten me before!
rubicube
post Apr 23 2008, 03:04 PM

164 posts

Oh yes, Thanks!

here are my two naughty rascals!

rubicube
post Apr 23 2008, 03:53 PM

164 posts

QUOTE(rubicube @ Apr 23 2008, 03:04 PM)
Oh yes, Thanks!
here are my two naughty rascals!
Closer
rubicube
post Apr 23 2008, 05:27 PM

164 posts

QUOTE(irkuysm @ Apr 23 2008, 05:19 PM)
It definitely a WW....who said to u its Robo???
crazymouse_yyh mentioned that those mini hamsters sold in Ikano is this breed (of course it was just a assumption cos at that time i didn't have any pics). If its WW how come it bites?

It has the profile of RC wor!

This post has been edited by rubicube: Apr 23 2008, 05:29 PM
rubicube
post Apr 23 2008, 05:31 PM

164 posts

QUOTE(irkuysm @ Apr 23 2008, 05:29 PM)
What do u mean???

My WW also bite my hand 1st time feed hand her.
Er, no lah, my hamsters tries to bite me everytime i want to touch them (defensive).
My old Russian Dwarf never did anything like that.
rubicube
post Apr 23 2008, 05:36 PM

164 posts

They bite or try to bite if I want to pick them up from the 'nest'. I have to resort to use a baby feeding bottle to scoop them up to my palm.
When they are in my palm, they never bite la. Just sniffing around trying to find an escape route or try to jump down to their home.

rubicube
post Apr 27 2008, 06:26 PM

164 posts

Help, My hamster RC just gave birth to 5 pups and I have separated the male.

Looks like one pup will not make it and is turning black!

WHAT TO DO!!!! HELP HELP!
rubicube
post Apr 27 2008, 10:44 PM

164 posts

QUOTE(Jamien @ Apr 27 2008, 07:43 PM)
sad.gif i don't think you can do anything about it. If it can't make it then it can't. There's nothing you can do. Are you sure it's not turning black because its fur is growing in?
Luckily, All 5 are all right for the time being.

Was just about to return my female hamster to Ikano's Pet shop (cos the female always wants to bite me), then to my surprise, I saw some pups on the cage, and didn't know what to do! I think that's the reason why she's so aggressive.

I have no intention to breed more hamsters. The mommy is very protective. She tried to bite me even when I was attempting to remove the male!

Just went over to Ikano anyways, to buy extra water bottle for the male hammie, since I've separated them. Also got some advice from the people there. Said to separate and return the male to the family after 2 weeks of isolation.

Also bought some 'green balls', which is said to expand to something soft (like bread) for the pups to feed on when they're older.

rubicube
post May 21 2008, 08:10 PM

164 posts

Hi all,
Remember the last time I posted on the emergency of new pups on board. Here are some pics. I wish to giveaway 1 RC (bitey though). Any takers.

rubicube
post May 21 2008, 08:12 PM

164 posts

Because of the incident, now my (actually my son's) collection became like this.

rubicube
post May 21 2008, 08:16 PM

164 posts

This is the RC i wish to giveaway. Reason is, she is a bit bitey and my son don't dare to touch it. She is the mother of the pups though.

rubicube
post May 21 2008, 09:09 PM

164 posts

Analysis paralysis!
rubicube
post May 22 2008, 09:20 PM

164 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ May 22 2008, 05:20 PM)
There are some petshops that would market them as somersaulting hamsters. I remembered one petshop did that a few years back.

It is a problem but to alot of people, it looks entertaining, unique, special and funny.... but whenever I see these flipping or circling hamsters, my heart ache. Is a pity. I mean, flip once or twice is ok lah, very mild case but imagine it flips non-stop, then it would not have interest in food or its wheel or sleep.... it would just go on having a crazy life.
Tks for these clarifications. I myself thought they were very active hamsters and thought of getting those that flips (entertaining mah). Never did occur to me or my family that this is a disorder. Luckily I stayed clear away from them. I prefer those 'quiet' type.
rubicube
post May 22 2008, 10:10 PM

164 posts

QUOTE(vergas @ May 22 2008, 10:05 PM)
Not sure whether its a must, but it appears to help alot as after some time my hamster prefer to use them rather than outside. But sometimes I discover some droppings outside as well. It makes the cleaning easier for me.

Hey guys, how do you guys clean your tank, what kind of soap do you guys use? Do you soak the tank and normally for how long?
I just pour out the beddings, wipe excess with Tesco wipes and dry with paper tissues. After that clean all the accessories with Tesco wipes and dry again. Then refill the tank with new beddings.
rubicube
post May 27 2008, 08:52 PM

164 posts

Hand Foot Mouth disease?

Nway, I went to collect the Nutri Smoothies sweetcorn & pumpkin as early as 11.15am today. Didn't know it needs refrigeration. I have to leave it in the car and back after 5. When I reached home, it's still cold but melted.
rubicube
post May 27 2008, 08:57 PM

164 posts

QUOTE(Voxe @ May 27 2008, 08:55 PM)
^Please explain thoroughly!
Sorry, was reffering to erwhey's hamster.

0.0584sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:43 PM