Chubby Hamsters V7, Fun Furballs with attitudes

d100200
post Apr 20 2008, 02:14 PM

232 posts

haiya...my little blacky run "escape" leow.

Last night I feed all 3 cage some fruit and I fotgot to close the ovo pad lit properly.

Just now see the ovo pad lit open halfly and the blacky is gone...

Hopefully he will return like ding ding last time...
d100200
post Apr 20 2008, 11:57 PM

232 posts

yay! Found my blacky. Was hiding in between my luggage bag. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

He must be very hungry and thursty. Non-stop eating and drinking after putting him back in the tank.

By the way, I wonder any of you notice, if the hammies poo in the sand bath, their body sure smell like poo...hahaha....

Last time I didnt put any sand bath so no poo smell....

d100200
post Apr 21 2008, 10:45 AM

232 posts

QUOTE(-Nos- @ Apr 21 2008, 08:59 AM)
It's a rc .
hmmm....I dont think is RC.

lai lai.. let's bet...

If I win you take 1 RC from me...

If I lose, I give 2 RC to you....

deal ?
d100200
post Apr 21 2008, 02:30 PM

232 posts

LOL....kana con leow....

btw, Wayne......suddenly I have the urge to own a Syrian......

And my habitrail mini I connect with the OvO tube so is just nice for Syrian.

hmmm....thinking thinking......

Anyone giving away Syrian for adoption ? brows.gif brows.gif
d100200
post Apr 21 2008, 02:44 PM

232 posts

QUOTE(-Nos- @ Apr 21 2008, 02:33 PM)
Omg u, Syrian.. then how bout ur current hamsters? Alwayz so cruel 1 la u..  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
Haiya.....I have you mah....why cruel...somemore got people pre-book some of my hammies leow....

Now is how to sell the tank onlly........

Anyway, having Syrian is just a sudden urge only lah.....still need to think think 1st mah...
d100200
post Apr 21 2008, 11:25 PM

232 posts

QUOTE(sangels @ Apr 21 2008, 07:34 PM)
Huh??? shocking.gif  shocking.gif  shocking.gif What kind of bet is this? If you win, he take 1 RC from you... If you lose, you give 2 RC to him... Means at the end no matter you win or lose also you'll be giving away your RC la??? Good la, everyone can bet with you to get hamster without taking risk..... So untung.... LOL rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
Huh???? Habitrail MIni for Syrian???  shocking.gif  shocking.gif  shocking.gif And you said it's just nice for Syrian. I think you either you dunno how big can a Syrian be or you dunno how small your Habitrail Mini is. Syrian is the biggest in size among hamster species. Habitrail Mini is for dwarf hamster especially Robos, not even a RC cos it's so small..... doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif A Syrian can be at least 5 times bigger in size compare with a Robo, common sense tell us it's not suitable at all. Just like putting yourself into a Kancil car. If you provide such a cage for Syrian and hoping someone who understand Syrian giving their Syrian to you, you'll never get it. They need at least a 1.5 to 2ft tank. Even 1.5ft tank is small for them when they reach adult size. They can't even run the Habitrail Mini wheel as they'll grow until 6 inches in length and need a 8 inches wheel. Do read up more about Syrian and gain more knowledge before you wanna adopt or buy them just with your sudden interest. Do love your pets if you really wanna keep them and do not let them suffer under your care.
/pengsan.
d100200
post Apr 22 2008, 12:55 AM

232 posts

QUOTE(sangels @ Apr 21 2008, 11:38 PM)
Wake up from your pengsan and think carefully. Do research and study before you get any hamsters, or else  mad.gif  mad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif for you and  cry.gif  cry.gif for the hamsters. Be a responsible hamster owner please..... bruce.gif
Thanks for the advice. I know what you mean and I did read up before I start owning a hamster.

Seriously.....stop thinking you are the only one knowing everything under the sun.

Your advice and intention is good but your tone sounds like 12 years old. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
d100200
post Apr 22 2008, 01:20 AM

232 posts

Jayniel...

I am sorry if I offended her or anyone else.

Scold before knowing the full details is not good and I don't like the tone.

It can be as simple as "hey dude, Habitrail is too small for Syrian, need a bigger cage".

After that, if I said something really stupid then start scolding me. Probably I will try run and hide like that kid in the V6 thread.

Anyway, let's by gone be by gone and move on.

wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif
d100200
post Apr 22 2008, 02:53 PM

232 posts

How long can the mealworm last ?

I mean if we feed them 1 or 2 a day, it will take sometimes to finish them, rite?

I used to buy mealworm for my fish but as you know....usually just drop 1/3, then 1/3 then finish the 3r day.
d100200
post Apr 22 2008, 03:31 PM

232 posts

QUOTE(-Nos- @ Apr 22 2008, 02:56 PM)
1 or 2 not enough a day. Feed them more thn 5 per ham ham. Those mealworms cant last long, if u dont transfer them to a tupperware or wat so ever. They will eventually korek hole in the plastic bags. N makes ur hse dirty only. So dont buy so much in a time.
kk. Thanks.
d100200
post Apr 23 2008, 09:21 AM

232 posts

There is a pet counter inside Carrefour Sri Petaling selling dry mealworms.

But I notice dry mealworms seems like skin only......

d100200
post Apr 23 2008, 11:18 AM

232 posts

QUOTE(Cloud9Nos3 @ Apr 23 2008, 11:10 AM)
One of my hammies escaped yesterday !  cry.gif  cry.gif
Still thought want to buy mealworms and feed them today  cry.gif 
Now left only one and the fattest one in the cage..
If live alone will die on boring? sad.gif
I got 2 escapeee hammies not too long ago.

1st hammies try to climb up the curtain to return to the cage after 2 days.

2nd hammies I found him not too far away under some bags from the cage after 1 day.

Maybe you can try to search around like within 10ft radius from the cage.

Good luck.
d100200
post Apr 23 2008, 05:46 PM

232 posts

QUOTE(rubicube @ Apr 23 2008, 05:36 PM)
They bite or try to bite if I want to pick them up from the 'nest'. I have to resort to use a baby feeding bottle to scoop them up to my palm.
When they are in my palm, they never bite la. Just sniffing around trying to find an escape route or try to jump down to their home.
I bought a sieve (strainer) to filter their shit from the bathing sand.

After kana bite for so many times, bite till non-stop bleeding.

Now I use that sieve to scoop them up. No bite bite until now.

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
d100200
post Apr 25 2008, 01:00 AM

232 posts

QUOTE(jayniel @ Apr 24 2008, 09:51 PM)
dun think so.. anyway, better dun try if u dunno wink.gif .. use sand bath instead.. sand bath makes them fragrant too..
All my hammies pee and poo inside the sandbath, very strong fragrant smell......................................the pee&poo smell...LOL

doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
d100200
post Apr 30 2008, 01:10 PM

232 posts

This is a re-visit of my intention to get a Syrian.

I took note of Sangels advice that Habitrail Mini is too small for a Syrian But I don't really want to get additional cage/tank due to out of space.
I currently have a Habitrail Mini, 2 x 1.5ft tank.

Here is what I am thinking.

1. Currently My habitrail is attached with 2 sets of OvO Den Pack. I wonder whether the tube is big enuff for Syrian. Please advice.
2. I will connect the Habitrail Mini with another 1.5ft tank with the OvO tube, will that have enuff space for a Syrian ?
3. The habitrail wheel will be remove and will be replace by another big wheel which suitable for Syrian. The wheel will be put in the tank.

Please commets.

Thanks in advance.
d100200
post Apr 30 2008, 07:39 PM

232 posts

QUOTE(-Nos- @ Apr 30 2008, 02:44 PM)
Why not u post up a picture of ur setup?

But what i thought is that ovu isnt suitable for syrian, And the tubes most probably not fit in for a Syrian.
The OvO tube is those fat fat tube. Mini or playground tube is those thin thin one, not even fit for RC or WW.
d100200
post May 14 2008, 04:11 PM

232 posts

Basically putting any pets in the bedroom is always a no no.
d100200
post May 14 2008, 05:56 PM

232 posts

With Shaving and pellets, my bedding can last for a month for 1 hamster in 1 tank/cage without smell provided eating dry food like Prestige.
If I feed them vege/egg/fruits everyday then about 2 weeks only.
d100200
post May 15 2008, 09:37 AM

232 posts

QUOTE(jayniel @ May 14 2008, 05:06 PM)
ya, but 1 advantage is, as soon as their bedding becomes smelly, u'll know about it & can change it.. my hamsters bedding usually cannot last till 1 week, i'll pengsan from the smell  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
LOL....like that also can...

By the way, I read it somewhere that it is not recomended becoz of the bacteria from their waste and the dusk from the bedding.
Even in living room or other place, owner must assure there is fresh air circulation within the area otherwise will cause health problem.

0.0579sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:19 PM