Macbook with combo --> DVDRW

TSxjukie
post Apr 16 2008, 08:41 PM, updated 18y ago

Blogger photographer
1,238 posts

Just wonder since im not familiar with macbook environment, can this macbook change the combo drive to dvdrw.? How much then
tq in advanced.
Moonflown
post Apr 16 2008, 10:58 PM

DayDreamer
1,036 posts

Its plausible but you have to find the exact same size of drive or the same manufacturer. I only swapped HDD before.
Cello
post Apr 16 2008, 11:03 PM

I am just a cellist
767 posts

Some Apple store do have technician, you can ask for it. There is.
OKLY
post Apr 16 2008, 11:52 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(xjukie @ Apr 16 2008, 08:41 PM)
Just wonder since im not familiar with macbook environment, can this macbook change the combo drive to dvdrw.? How much then
tq in advanced.
Meaning to say you already own a MacBook but it only comes with the combo drive and you would like to upgrade it to a DVD writer drive now ?
wei
post Apr 17 2008, 12:06 AM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

If you can find a seller in Malaysia for slot loading slim DVD writer drive that's it. Let me know too.
TSxjukie
post Apr 17 2008, 12:43 AM

Blogger photographer
1,238 posts

QUOTE(yongkailoon @ Apr 16 2008, 11:52 PM)
Meaning to say you already own a MacBook but it only comes with the combo drive and you would like to upgrade it to a DVD writer drive now ?
sort of like that la bro
xaw5126
post Apr 17 2008, 10:29 AM

3,488 posts

er... can always call the AASP (Apple Authorised Service Providers) and ask for their pricing...

when I called, they quote me around RM1300... but that was for PowerBook 12" ...
TSxjukie
post Apr 17 2008, 11:13 AM

Blogger photographer
1,238 posts

wah lau weh .. nearly 1k+ ..
ajul
post Apr 17 2008, 11:27 AM

100% ONLINE DEALER
1,258 posts

thats why people just buy macbook with dvdrw in the first priority than macbook with combo that is cheapest price in macbook level..

This post has been edited by ajul: Apr 17 2008, 11:56 AM
Ertifex
post Apr 17 2008, 10:07 PM

18 posts

swt... start to regret why i dint get macbook with dvdrw
Cello
post Apr 17 2008, 11:51 PM

I am just a cellist
767 posts

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Apr 17 2008, 10:29 AM)
er... can always call the AASP (Apple Authorised Service Providers) and ask for their pricing...

when I called, they quote me around RM1300... but that was for PowerBook 12" ...
Some people need to read that nicely.
sonnettech-asia
post Apr 18 2008, 12:03 AM

602 posts

1. I can offer trade-in Super drive with your combo drive for RM800.00 including of installation.

2. can also do a trade-in of your HDD if you are interested.
cRazYee
post Apr 19 2008, 10:15 AM

2,642 posts

change a brand new superdrive
that will cost you about RM1.1k
Part+labor

SUSMinority116
post Apr 20 2008, 04:24 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(sonnettech-asia @ Apr 18 2008, 12:03 AM)
1. I can offer trade-in Super drive with your combo drive for RM800.00 including of installation.

2. can also do a trade-in of your HDD if you are interested.
how much for if i trade in my combo drive, HDD, and the 1 GB RAM for a Superdrive?
Bad Cyborg
post Apr 20 2008, 12:26 PM

828 posts

You don't absolutely need to burn DVDs when you're outdoors now, do you? So just get this and get it over with.

USB 2.0 <> SATA Adaptor

Lightscribe SATA DVD burner: less than RM120
External adapter: less than RM80

Total cost: less than RM200
xaw5126
post Apr 20 2008, 03:19 PM

3,488 posts

that's the cheap & ugly solution... i think TS wanted the cleaner version smile.gif
kwekeugene
post Apr 20 2008, 03:41 PM

1,479 posts

*chuckles*

I'll be going for the cheap and ugly solution when Bluray drives are more affordable in the future.

TS, have you considered Lacie external DVD writers? They are quite good looking if it is not a must to be portable.
Bad Cyborg
post Apr 20 2008, 07:36 PM

828 posts

May be cheap and ugly but it's worth every damned dollar. Even with the "elegant" solution, you could wear the optical lens out in within 1 year if you burn it too much. Let's face it, why do we even get DVD burners? For looks?
xaw5126
post Apr 20 2008, 08:13 PM

3,488 posts

er... i got a customer, who is buying the drive, cos he uses it lots. he will buy another one if this one dies outside the warranty.

if you need the drive, get it. if not, don't. the MBA Superdrive can be used almost anywhere, and it fits the whole "ultra-slim" concept we're driving at here.
sonnettech-asia
post Apr 20 2008, 11:33 PM

602 posts

QUOTE(Minority116 @ Apr 20 2008, 04:24 AM)
how much for if i trade in my combo drive, HDD, and the 1 GB RAM for a Superdrive?
what do you have for trade-in? could you pls PM me your specs?

0.0278sec    0.60    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 12:53 PM