188 posts

Copyright (C) 2008 Lim Wan Xiong, All Rights Reserved

Jalan Leong Yew Koh, Taman Dr. Ismail, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Canon EF 17-40mm f/4 L USM + Cokin P 153 ND4

Owner - Jason a.k.a. RedEarth
Assistants - Izzat, Gun, & Alex

I have been wanting & waiting for quite sometime to get a photo shoot session with this car. Spotted a few miles away from home, about last year. The first time I saw it; I was so amazed and over tempted to get my hands on it. It is a very beautiful car and one of the most spectacular BMW's I had ever seen on the road.

After a few months, when I was looking for an empty parking lot at a local shopping centre, I seem to come across the same identical car. And I knew I couldn't have forgotten about it, because it is just so amazing to look at like last year's.

So I took a photo of it and kept it in my phone for about 3 months. Then during one day when we were throwing my best buddy a birthday lunch, I spotted the same car again once more. And I told my friends that i'll get this car in my portfolio. They didn't seem to believe me.

During a typical unproductive Sunday, I had nothing better to do; somewhat or how I had uploaded the photo that I had taken months ago onto the local BMW club. And I had gotten a handful of information about the owner's background which includes his own website, company and even his private cell phone number. The internet is dangerous indeed, never thought I could look so deep.

I was pretty sure that sending a personal message to a stranger through the internet was the best way rather then asking through the phone with awkward and misunderstanding moments. The owner didn't reply me for about a month and I though he wasn't interested until I tried to post another personal message through his forum. And then "walah", he contacted me and I was so pleased to hear that he was very interested.

It took about a few weeks before we finally get to meet up. The owner was very kind and he was the most patient driver on a photo shoot I had ever come across. We drove about more then 10 rounds and it took quite some time. And everywhere we turn and drove made such a huge show stopper; everyone from the other traffic lanes was watching us in curiosity. The road we took wasn't like those I had planned previously, this was a public road. I thought the photo shoot would only last the most around 45 minutes. But this one took the whole morning, approximately 3 hours ++. By the time it was 11+, the car was running out of fuel and we went to the nearest petrol station. I talked with the owner and he was a very nice person. Then I told him we were just going to do a few last ones before it's a wrap.

So subsequently I thought that since he was driving back, I might as well get a few shots on the way back through his way. We drove through highways and tunnels, it was a great feeling and whole new experience. I never came out so far out from the passenger window in my life. It was pretty dangerous though...

Then when we reached the city, our car took the wrong turn and since memory was running out so quickly, it was time to say goodbye. And when I waved for goodbye, he sort of speed up his car to catch my back, on the other lane. That was such an amazing moment to look at. The sound from the Beemer's engine growled so damn well! It sounded furious, fierce and you could tell the speed just by hearing it - oh, the power! Really an incredible moment, and somewhat reminds me of the other BMW that I shot months ago.

I would like to thank the owner so much and especially my friends who had slaved to be my personal assistants all day. So much thank you-s to you all!

And now, I am still thinking about the car all day.

... >more

This post has been edited by couleur: Apr 17 2008, 12:10 AM
evilnickwong
post Apr 15 2008, 11:04 PM

- Evil by Nature -
5,065 posts

Haha I met Jason at one of the BMW Club TTs before as well. And actually, I saw you guys on Leong Yew Koh that day too when I was driving by. Hard to miss his car really lol. Nice photos!

*EDIT*
Damn man, the rest of your photos on devart rock as well!

This post has been edited by evilnickwong: Apr 15 2008, 11:05 PM
TScouleur
post Apr 15 2008, 11:08 PM

188 posts

I think I saw your car. You were driving a E30 right? at the traffic light during, when we made that U turn?

damn... I have a good memory!
evilnickwong
post Apr 15 2008, 11:19 PM

- Evil by Nature -
5,065 posts

Holy shit lol yea! Dark blue E30! Your memory is good! Haha! smile.gif

I saw you guys parked next to the TTDI school there and I was wondering what was up haha.
SUSdgrebel
post Apr 15 2008, 11:32 PM

Oldfag
2,475 posts

i'm just wondering was the shot really that of a panning shot or PPed motion blur?

This post has been edited by dgrebel: Apr 15 2008, 11:34 PM
TScouleur
post Apr 15 2008, 11:36 PM

188 posts

QUOTE(evilnickwong @ Apr 15 2008, 11:19 PM)
Holy shit lol yea! Dark blue E30! Your memory is good! Haha! smile.gif

I saw you guys parked next to the TTDI school there and I was wondering what was up haha.
so now you know what's up... haha tongue.gif

never thought about it right? brows.gif
evilnickwong
post Apr 15 2008, 11:45 PM

- Evil by Nature -
5,065 posts

Yea I didn't think it was a photography session haha. But nice shot anyway, you made Jln Leong Yew Koh look cool lol.
Joseph Hahn
post Apr 16 2008, 01:22 AM

kpop k
6,410 posts

Very nice pic again and very nice car. Modded but not overly. Just nice. notworthy.gif
Kf_Jack
post Apr 16 2008, 01:32 AM

Bravo!!
I wanted to have this kinda shot as well.. Will do it once i got the chance.
Anymore pic?
carcraze66
post Apr 16 2008, 10:14 PM

Ninetwenty2
628 posts

very very good and amazing,can be a automotive photographer........haha
MR.Shiney
post Apr 16 2008, 10:55 PM

Jacked into the Matrix
1,843 posts

bro i loved all your photograph. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(dgrebel @ Apr 15 2008, 11:32 PM)
i'm just wondering was the shot really that of a panning shot or PPed motion blur?
its a common sense lah bro laugh.gif
if he's panning at the back would be blurry too.

This post has been edited by MR.Shiney: Apr 16 2008, 10:57 PM
SUSdgrebel
post Apr 16 2008, 11:48 PM

Oldfag
2,475 posts

QUOTE(MR.Shiney @ Apr 16 2008, 10:55 PM)
bro i loved all your photograph. thumbup.gif
its a common sense lah bro laugh.gif
if he's panning at the back would be blurry too.
hep hep.. jangan menyampuk.. i'm trying to start a conversation here.. laugh.gif

btw, look at the tyres dude.
MR.Shiney
post Apr 17 2008, 12:09 AM

Jacked into the Matrix
1,843 posts

QUOTE(dgrebel @ Apr 16 2008, 11:48 PM)
hep hep.. jangan menyampuk.. i'm trying to start a conversation here..  laugh.gif

okay, "female" guy, he's yours laugh.gif
zadan
post Apr 17 2008, 08:58 AM

= BF 2 FeVa =
2,332 posts

i admire your work so much.awesome!
razuryza
post Apr 17 2008, 03:31 PM

\('o')/~fewwwiitttt~\("0")/
5,515 posts

QUOTE(dgrebel @ Apr 16 2008, 11:48 PM)
hep hep.. jangan menyampuk.. i'm trying to start a conversation here..  laugh.gif

u think he will reply ka? huehue fat chance.. look at his other thread la.. whistling.gif
SUSdgrebel
post Apr 17 2008, 03:42 PM

Oldfag
2,475 posts

QUOTE(razuryza @ Apr 17 2008, 03:31 PM)
u think he will reply ka? huehue fat chance.. look at his other thread la..  whistling.gif
flamboyant maaa.. we just try our luck. huhuuh..
shinchan^^
post Apr 17 2008, 05:15 PM

K66
21,256 posts

more like a still shot to me tongue.gif

This post has been edited by shinchan^^: Apr 17 2008, 05:31 PM
SUSdgrebel
post Apr 17 2008, 08:24 PM

Oldfag
2,475 posts

This post has been edited by shinchan^^: Today, 05:31 PM

hmm.gif
TScouleur
post Apr 17 2008, 10:56 PM

188 posts

whats up with the wheels?

Shinchan, you need to be extra-more observant about the environment. lol
SUSdgrebel
post Apr 17 2008, 11:15 PM

Oldfag
2,475 posts

QUOTE(couleur @ Apr 17 2008, 10:56 PM)
whats up with the wheels?

Shinchan, you need to be extra-more observant about the environment. lol
cool. a reply alas.

the radial blur is made up in PS or was it originally like that? cause it's kindda confusing to see a fast shutter shot with a running wheel effect. hmm.gif

0.0198sec    0.92    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 11:03 PM