Sony-Ericsson ★ Sony Ericsson K850i 5MP Cybershot(tm) -V3- Threa, It's not all about Megapixels!

edkiasu
post Apr 16 2008, 11:34 AM

ºº 1/2 Retired ºº
970 posts

QUOTE(peeky @ Apr 16 2008, 11:02 AM)
hmm the reflective piece at the back scratches easily ... is there any thing i can protect that ?
crystal plastic casings makes the thing bulkier ... any other alternatives ?
3 way screen protector is the best solution i guess. As for skinning, some forumers giving not bad feedback, but for me, it will cover the prettiness of this baby and i always feels that its cacat when i hold my friend's phone because the cutting at the edge of the skinning are very bad. But i guess it will be nice if the sifu of skinning is PRO enough to skin ur phone
edkiasu
post Apr 19 2008, 01:40 AM

ºº 1/2 Retired ºº
970 posts

QUOTE(a x b y c z @ Apr 18 2008, 11:18 PM)
my ori set still cant update till now. pressing the "c" without release while plugging in the usb cable seems cant work for me, the phone keep appear n mass storage mode. anyone pls help? if have to repeat the steps again i fear my battery cover will get loose very soon sad.gif
Just bring your phone for warranty, they wont charge u anything and their service is superbly fast and good.
edkiasu
post Apr 26 2008, 01:06 PM

ºº 1/2 Retired ºº
970 posts

QUOTE(iRonTech @ Apr 26 2008, 12:51 PM)
sad.gif I've been waiting for this repeat title feature since W850i till now... but seem like SE has 'forgotten' put in this function
Easy, create a playlist folder, add ONLY a particular song that u wanted, then go to setting, set the loop to "on" then u can listen the song that u added in the playlist repeat and repeat. This is the only solution.
edkiasu
post Apr 26 2008, 07:30 PM

ºº 1/2 Retired ºº
970 posts

QUOTE(Redundant @ Apr 26 2008, 05:14 PM)
wow, edkiasu ditched the iphone to use k850? wwhhhhyyyyyy??? @@
Dude.. the reasons -

1.I need camera with good flash..
2.I need a simple yet good music player (for me, ipod is a bit troublesome)
3.Iphone is kinda hard to take care of.. (even the pouch could cost me around RM1++ @@)
4.I dont really use up to such high-end function from iphone..
5.I prefer keypads
6.And a lot more i guess blush.gif

QUOTE(bsl555 @ Apr 26 2008, 05:18 PM)
Should we think touch screen phones are always practical or best solution? I think not, but just fancy. (I'm not saying this phone is entirely friendly. damn the hard buttons and stupid D-pad). Nevertheless, I still think phones must have hardware keypad for obvious reasons.
For me, iphone is an awesome phone.. the touch screen is not a regular touch screen.. I would say its a "smartest" touch screen ever.. and the wifi with safari browser, just simply awesome as well.. you should experience watching youtube on iphone, u will love it.. But.. blush.gif

QUOTE(teikwing @ Apr 26 2008, 05:59 PM)
sometimes it boils down to people's own preferences.  biggrin.gif
Yeah, second that.. No phones are perfect

This post has been edited by edkiasu: Apr 26 2008, 07:34 PM
edkiasu
post Apr 30 2008, 10:03 PM

ºº 1/2 Retired ºº
970 posts

Just got my memory upgraded from 2gb m2 to 4gb sandisk micro sd..

The feedback for 4gb micro sd are.. It performs exactly like m2 does, and i found that when i transfer the files from my pc to the micro sd, the speed is more or less compared with my previous m2 card (2.3gb at roughly 25mins transfer time) rclxms.gif

No regrets thumbup.gif
edkiasu
post May 1 2008, 12:04 AM

ºº 1/2 Retired ºº
970 posts

QUOTE(carbon14 @ Apr 30 2008, 11:43 PM)
The N95 does more post image compressing and making the photos lose more detail. If you take a look at the N73ME photos, you can see very unnatural and overexposed colours. Not being a SE fan or Nokia-hater here, I think Nokia has to brush up on its image processing algorithms.

BROD - Blue R*** Of Death blink.gif ?
Blue Ring Of Death i guess.. The blue ring around the camera..
edkiasu
post May 1 2008, 12:33 AM

ºº 1/2 Retired ºº
970 posts

QUOTE(Redundant @ May 1 2008, 12:07 AM)
N82's Xenon flash + Carl Zeiss lens camera certainly wins K850i and even N95! ^^
Dude, it always depends.. I confess that n82 wins in major, but then k850 also wins in some perspect.

Time to share some pics tongue.gif

All shot by my k850 flex.gif

Nothing to do when waiting someone at LCCT airport

VrrRrooooOoOOMmMmmm

Sushi King

Roses

Rose in my house's garden

Rose in my house's garden 2

Forgot the name of this place..

Cloudy KLCC
edkiasu
post May 1 2008, 07:27 PM

ºº 1/2 Retired ºº
970 posts

QUOTE(skylancer @ May 1 2008, 02:23 PM)
yaya...i like the flower...CLEAR!
so the conclusion is...N82 win K850 win N95???
the N95 is nice with its design...and k850 not bad too...but if comparing it with camera?
is it K850 more good than N95?SE always better image than NK in the previous...but i dont know how abt N95 and K850..is it like that?
K850 is 3.5G?
Thanks smile.gif

Different phones produces different picture quality in different perspect. Some pics n82 produced better quality than others or vice-versa.

K850 supports HSDPA which ppl calls 3.5g thumbup.gif

QUOTE(taukey @ May 1 2008, 02:53 PM)
Hi, I have a problem while talking over phone..always accidentally my face touch the touchscreen. Do K850i have a feature that lock the screen while talking over phone like iPhone ?
Sorry to say that, no.. But even ur face touches the softkeys, it will never affect ur calls. So u do not need to "lock the screen" (P/S: Its not touch screen bro, it just a softkey)

QUOTE(mumeichan @ May 1 2008, 05:37 PM)
K850i max transfer rate is rated at 3.6Mbps, normal 3G is only 384Kbps right?
Yes, k850i support up to 3.6Mbps HSPDA

QUOTE(skylancer @ May 1 2008, 06:16 PM)
Ohh...that means K850i more worth to buy than that?
But Nokia phone always expensive than SE eventhough their fucntion and spec are similar or same.See the N95 or N82,its almost over 2k or 2.5k when launch but SE most exp also abt 2k or below.

Added on May 1, 2008, 6:17 pm

yaya...why K850i is only called 3G?
Bro, NK and SE never similar or same in terms of function and spec.. NK's phones always hit "smarter price" because of its smart phones. NK offers a lot more features to users than SE does. But i love the simple interface of SE, features pre-loaded in it are sufficient for me thumbup.gif
edkiasu
post May 2 2008, 12:34 AM

ºº 1/2 Retired ºº
970 posts

QUOTE(iRonTech @ May 1 2008, 11:06 PM)
just slightly laggin on micro SD if compare to M2

blink.gif nowsaday some AP did provide LCD warranty up to 12 months while handset 18 months..yet ur pricing just very normal.
Not really agree with u.. Been switched my 2gb m2 to 4gb micro sd, no different at all.. No such thing as laggy detected...

QUOTE(skylancer @ May 2 2008, 12:13 AM)
Opsss...ori 12xx but ap also 12xx now?
I've no idea where this seller selling for such cheap.. As i know, all had been sold out, that means, currently no more 12XX for ori set in lyn. If u get from shop, all surely above 14XX.
edkiasu
post May 2 2008, 11:32 AM

ºº 1/2 Retired ºº
970 posts

QUOTE(xk2 @ May 2 2008, 11:15 AM)
but i can really see the diffeent between K810 's screen and Nokia n81 screen,the 16 million really impressive.
p/s: i think SE 262k if compare with Motorola 262k ,SE still lose
BOLD : Nah, ur eyes got problem i suppose, i played with my class mate's v6maxx everyday, i dont find the LCD anything better than k850. Except for v8/v9, not yet compare before.

As for k810 compared with n81 statement, dude, this is k850 thread.. If u say u can really see the difference between k850 and n81 's screen (i mean huge difference in terms of colors), then i guess u have a pair of "super eyes". Because i cant really found any differences although i using both of them everyday. Except for the different technology by n81 LCD and k850 LCD.

This post has been edited by edkiasu: May 2 2008, 11:36 AM
edkiasu
post May 2 2008, 09:35 PM

ºº 1/2 Retired ºº
970 posts

QUOTE(xk2 @ May 2 2008, 11:47 AM)
u langsung duno wat i am talking about,i never see k850 screen,so i duno,tats why i ask here if k850's 262k compare to nokia's 16million will how,then due to i never see k850's screen,so i take k810 as my example,i am not saying k850's 262k no good,jus i never see,so i wan know,if u take v6maxx to compare with k850,,sure v6 will lose la,and jus now i am taking k810's 262k to compare with motorola E2..
U're the one who langsung dunno wad u urself talking about. If u never see k850 screen, then u shud just stay away and read our comment, not giving comment. If u wanna say something abt k810, go k810 thread, not here.

P/S: there're difference between k810 and k850's screen.

QUOTE(iRonTech @ May 2 2008, 12:28 PM)
hmm.gif most problematic K850i from ap set?
Not really, actually AP or Ori are the same thing, just that they difference in terms of warranty and services. So far all my frens using AP set without any problem, oni 1 using ORI set and the camera lens there a little cracked, but already claimed from midland for new camera lens, unbelievable warranty service.. AP? They never gonna serve u with this kinda problem biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Clareen @ May 2 2008, 02:25 PM)
means the touch-sensitive key for k850i not good? actually i considering to change my phone to k850i. but worry the touch screen have alot of problem since so many ppl complain about k850i touch screen. any way to improve or overcome this problem?
So far among my frens, no one encounter the softkey problem.. It always depends, as for girl's fingers, i think its not a big deal

This post has been edited by edkiasu: May 2 2008, 09:35 PM
edkiasu
post May 3 2008, 04:58 AM

ºº 1/2 Retired ºº
970 posts

QUOTE(skylancer @ May 3 2008, 04:06 AM)
Hmm...very thanks brother~Although i also not so understand it...but hope other forumer can understand.

Actually the difference between Nokia and SE like K850 and N95 and N82 will not have the big difference for normal user right?(the photo)
If you dont compare it with pro...its will like similar same right?coz i saw the brother edkiasu posted the photo on last few post,it is really clear and nice~(in my opinion,coz i not the pro people,so i saw it it is very nice and clear)
Sry to ask so many because i would like to get K850 too soon...so i hope i am not buying with unworth~(becoz budget limited) tongue.gif
Honestly, k850 is worth to buy. If tight of budget, k810/k800 is another right choise. With modded cam driver, it captures better image compared with k850. I used both phone at the same time before CNY, after that gave away the k810 to my gf tongue.gif

I did a lot of comparison of both of k850 and k810 pictures under same environments, lightening, surroundings, k810 with modded cam driver did better job than my k850 (in most pic, not all). Hopefully there will be some modders that able to hack into k850 and create a better cam driver for k850 soon..
edkiasu
post May 5 2008, 09:10 PM

ºº 1/2 Retired ºº
970 posts

QUOTE(Redundant @ May 5 2008, 08:22 PM)
here's a pic with the flash on in a dark place...

My turn tongue.gif

Auto / ISO 100 / Flash - OFF

Auto / ISO 100 / Flash - ON

Auto / ISO 100 / Flash - Red Eye Reduction

Conclusion : I found that normal flash gets better lighting than Red Eye Reduction (only for those pics i uploaded)
edkiasu
post May 5 2008, 11:34 PM

ºº 1/2 Retired ºº
970 posts

QUOTE(mumeichan @ May 5 2008, 09:26 PM)
This is superb. Can match K800 flash. What firmware are you using? Mine can never get anything close to that.
Can match k800 flash huh? As i know, k850's xenon flash is stronger than my k810.. Honestly, my k810 with modded cam driver can do better than this.. If still with me, i will prove it.. But i gave it to my gf already.

Forgot the firmware code, but its the latest one. Refer to 1st post for the latest firmware code. if u using k850, i believe u can do that, try to do it with my setting, auto mode with ISO 100 and auto flash. blush.gif

QUOTE(teikwing @ May 5 2008, 11:08 PM)
it's quite a close match to digicams actually. smile.gif
For flash-OFF, is a NO NO.. But for flash-ON, erm.. 60-80% of digital camera gua..

This post has been edited by edkiasu: May 5 2008, 11:39 PM
edkiasu
post May 6 2008, 01:52 AM

ºº 1/2 Retired ºº
970 posts

QUOTE(Redundant @ May 6 2008, 12:48 AM)
i can see ur k850 box on top of ur sub woofer  tongue.gif
Haha, yeah blush.gif

QUOTE(skylancer @ May 6 2008, 01:30 AM)
`
Ohh...u post it up your pic with flash to share with us,thn let the people look it and give the comment...see see what they said~
Waa... wad pic u wan.. so lazy le blink.gif
edkiasu
post May 6 2008, 12:44 PM

ºº 1/2 Retired ºº
970 posts

QUOTE(davidgm16 @ May 6 2008, 01:59 AM)
my turn my turn!!! rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

The noise and over exposure is kinda serious for flash-ON

This post has been edited by edkiasu: May 6 2008, 12:45 PM
edkiasu
post May 6 2008, 02:24 PM

ºº 1/2 Retired ºº
970 posts

QUOTE(shadow_calamity @ May 6 2008, 01:40 PM)
a picture taken with my k850... all auto setting...  smile.gif

Should have some self-defined setting, like lowering the ISO. Auto mode doesnt really look good in this pic.
edkiasu
post May 6 2008, 06:45 PM

ºº 1/2 Retired ºº
970 posts

QUOTE(Ver @ May 6 2008, 06:23 PM)
Yes, it is a really worth it 5mp phone to get at the moment, compared to it's first launching prices. Camera-wise it's fine for normal daily users that doesn't pick much on it, living with it will eventually teach you the settings itself. On top of that, you're having a really stylish phone which offers performance and the cool-factor at the same time.

Sorry to butt in in the camera chat guys, but my phone has the tendency to restart itself (without password inquiry), and change the theme back to crystal, as it has already 2 times today. I did a total reflash via kk, and a master reset including everything. Is this the problem of my theme? Btw, my reflash happened twice when i was inside my media player. Please and thank you in advance for answering my questions ><
For previous firmware, this happens to me (restarting itself very seldom, but once disconnected from mass storage mode, it will change back to crystal theme). With latest firmware now, it solve the issue. What firmware u at ur k850 now?

QUOTE(bsl555 @ May 6 2008, 06:35 PM)
The funny thing I encountered with my K850 was an M2 card running fine in K810i, then transfer to K850 it doesn't immediately recognize and ask to format. Very wierd..one of the reasons why I find this phone flawed! Yes!..I tried numerous times and it acts like this.
I got the same problem when i switch my m2 to my fren's micro sd (from motorola v6), it asked me to format the card. But for m2, never, just plug and play. And for my new 4GB micro sd, also plug and play, no formatting required thumbup.gif
edkiasu
post May 10 2008, 01:23 PM

ºº 1/2 Retired ºº
970 posts

QUOTE(ken_zie @ May 10 2008, 12:52 PM)
my phone got BROD yesterday night... made me lost faith in the phone...
Sad to hear that.. Hope it will never happen to me..

P/S : Used half year already, never give me a single damn problem tongue.gif
edkiasu
post May 10 2008, 04:18 PM

ºº 1/2 Retired ºº
970 posts

QUOTE(Aishiteru^Suki @ May 10 2008, 01:24 PM)
Lucky u.. is yours original?? sigh i wanna update my phone la..  cry.gif  cry.gif
Nope, AP. Well, compared with those ORI set, i dont find any differences.. blush.gif

0.0451sec    0.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 02:58 AM