Suzuki Swift

collect_sampah
post Dec 31 2010, 02:53 PM

Hi! I'm a relatively new comer to Suzuki Swift community. This is my opinion about this car:

Swift 1.5L has slow acceleration, that's why people felt like it's underpower but it's far from underpower. I fetch 4 very fat people inside the car and the car can move easily on the highway while using very little fuel. Doesn't matter how many people sit inside the car; going from 0-60 km/h is very very slow but after that the car really flies. If you play with the transmission (going from D to 3) then pickup improved a little but still slow acceleration cry.gif

FC is the best around 70-80 km/h with 16-20 km/l but slow driving especially in city driving it's horrible around 8-10 km/l. Handling is superb especially around the corner, like driving a go-kart. Interior wise, got a lot of rattling noise coming from the plastic panel on the door. When playing bassy music, the speaker also rattles. Anyone else having this problem with rattling noise? Exterior wise, it's nothing special except for the fuel cover which feels cheap like a milo tin cover.

No problem for tall people on the front seats but back seats maybe slightly cramped in terms of legroom. Getting out from the backseat also slight problematic because the half of the tyre rim blocked the back door. I could get out easily from MyVi's backseat. Other than few minor annoyances mentioned, this car is really great and I'm fast falling in love with it wub.gif

This post has been edited by collect_sampah: Dec 31 2010, 02:59 PM
collect_sampah
post Jan 4 2011, 11:54 PM

QUOTE(honkit @ Jan 4 2011, 01:14 PM)
So far ive done 55000 km.. So far so good. Other than the dashboard plastic sound which my SA asked me to give up on fixing it! OMG! I cant take those plastic sound any more. Any one of you guys manage to solve the problem for at least 6 months? SA oni manage to cure mine for 2 days.

Other problem is the steering rack . Change 2 already still got the knocking sound.

And allighment problem. Always eat to the left . SA blame the road and check using the alighment machine claimes normal...

Yeah, I'm having alignment problem (going to left) as well but just minor one. But the knocking & rattling sounds are really annoying, made the Swift felt like cheap local car. My Swift also made sound when going over speed bump even at very low speed...sounded like broken shock absorber but they're working fine.
collect_sampah
post Jan 28 2011, 06:25 PM

QUOTE(Amedion @ Jan 26 2011, 10:53 AM)
I hope every car owner will post the negative aspect of the car instead of the good one cause car manufacturer will never tell those. They only cover the pros. By doing so, can guide others for a better purchase..

People will still complain even though they like it.. same for me..

Anyway, those rattling/knocking sound, wind/dashboard noise, misalignment, loosen side mirror and so on .. Does it happen to CKD only?
What do you aspect people to say when you're in Swift thread? Most of the opinion will be biased towards it. It's the same with Vios/City/Forte/Inspira thread.

Anyway, I've driven Myvi before upgrading to Swift 1.5A...so it's definately NOT the same. You do get the advantages for the extra price you're paying. Anyway, this is my unbiased opinion.

Pros:
------
- Superb handling especially during high speed driving and cornering (only Fiesta comes close at this price point).
- Stable at high speed
- Adequate power: this car drives the same regardless of how passengers in it. As if weight has no effect on the engine power/pickup.
- Good FC especially at highways, easily reach 16km/l when driving at constant speed around 60-80 km/h.
- Much quieter then Myvi, slightly (very slightly) noisier then Fiesta, dunno about Vios/City.
- Keyless entry and engine ignition.
- Dual SRS airbags.
- Excellent braking. Can easily stop the car in very short distance (maybe bcos it's very light as well)

Cons:
-------
- Small boot and cramped backseats
- Poor acceleration from 0-50km/h but great acceleration from 50km/h onwards.
- Poor FC when used for city driving where there's alot of stop/go...around 8-10km/l.
- Annoying rattling sound everywhere from door panels, dashboards, suspension.
- Moderate sound system with so so quality compared to Fiesta/Forte/Inspira. No USB/bluetooth.
- Guys look like sissy when driving it, girls looks cute in it.

collect_sampah
post Jan 28 2011, 09:43 PM

QUOTE(Amedion @ Jan 28 2011, 07:24 PM)
All the cons show that Swift is not suitable in city ...  sweat.gif

Anyway, swift is a fun car to drive with superb handling.. Just lack of power only & its expensive to add ..  rclxub.gif
I quite agree that Swift is not a very good car when it's for mostly city use. You can almost feel all the potholes due to stiff suspension. The poor urban FC is also another downside. If you're looking at Fiesta Sports, it's sports suspension also not comfortable for city driving as well but at least it has better urban FC. Fiesta sedan is much better for city use compared to Fiesta sports. But then again, can you find any other B segment car that offers good urban FC apart from hybrids and small A-segment car like (kancil/kelisa)?

Despite all the negative things about this car, there's just something about this car that nobody can quite explains it. When you start driving a Swift, you will fall in love with it and wanna drive it all the time blush.gif

This post has been edited by collect_sampah: Jan 28 2011, 09:46 PM
collect_sampah
post Jan 28 2011, 11:24 PM

QUOTE(GEFORCEXTREME @ Jan 28 2011, 10:45 PM)
I don't know how many times I tell everyone, Swift doesn't lack in pickup, just that its a characteristic of the car to be sluggish under 3k RPM and responsive after 3k RPM.

Added on January 28, 2011, 10:49 pm

What do you mean by lack of power? Do you actually have a Swift? What cars in similar category is power adequate? I repeat here again you feel the car is lacking in power because your right foot simply tap on the accelerator only.
I agreed that people misunderstood acceleration with power. Like I said before, Swift accelerates slowly, after 50 km/h, it just zooms ahead like there's no tomorrow. Definately not lacking of power because even the car is full of people, it can still goes very fast and hardly makes any difference in pickup rate, unlike my previous Myvi which has good acceleration but when the car is filled with passengers, you can feel that it starts to struggles. Other then the few minor disadvantages i mentioned earlier, Swift is really a solid car. One really need to drive in it to appreciate it. The more you drive, the more you'll fall in love in it wub.gif

My only wish is that Suzuki will start to introduce a new transmission for future Swifts like a 6-speed tranny to replace outdated 4-speed. That will be awesome! thumbup.gif

0.0431sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:33 AM