suck air in or suck air out?

SUSwongth7
post Apr 15 2008, 12:00 AM, updated 18y ago

440 posts

hi guys..i want to make a blowhole on my side panel for a 80mm fan...but i wonder whether the fan should blow the air into the cpu or suck the hot air out??...

This post has been edited by wongth7: Apr 15 2008, 12:02 AM

pikacu
post Apr 15 2008, 12:02 AM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

IMO, blow in better..
-GILA-
post Apr 15 2008, 12:07 AM

322 posts

I thought is better have both? To blow the cool air in and also suck the hot air out. No?
SUSwongth7
post Apr 15 2008, 12:14 AM

440 posts

QUOTE(-GILA- @ Apr 15 2008, 12:07 AM)
I thought is better have both? To blow the cool air in and also suck the hot air out. No?
i mean only for the side panel as u can see in my pic..i wanna make a blowhole there...but not sure whether the air should be blow in or suck out le
graphicp
post Apr 15 2008, 12:15 AM

42 posts

Side panel better blow in, and the rear make blow out....
karthyhu
post Apr 15 2008, 12:17 AM

1,165 posts

what u wanna use it for ? GC or proc ?

you can test it yourself. for either GC or proc. try both blow in and suck out. compare the temp and then decide
StevenHeng
post Apr 15 2008, 12:17 AM

146 posts

Make a hole in right side...Then the wind suck in from left side =,.=..Ahahha
goldfries
post Apr 15 2008, 12:23 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

bette word for it is "intake" and "exhaust".

if you put at the bottom part of the side-panel, let it be intake.

if you put at the top part of the side-panel, let it be exhaust.
SUSwongth7
post Apr 15 2008, 12:52 AM

440 posts

thanks very much for everyone's opinion..anymore??
clawhammer
post Apr 15 2008, 12:57 AM

///M
8,788 posts

QUOTE(wongth7 @ Apr 15 2008, 12:52 AM)
thanks very much for everyone's opinion..anymore??
If you look at CM690, they have an intake fan on the side panel. You can have your fan there doing intake smile.gif
enzo520
post Apr 15 2008, 02:32 AM

74 posts

nice tips~
thinking to do it so ~
thx !
DEz012
post Apr 15 2008, 09:47 AM

574 posts

Made the blowhole as intake & exhaust heat from the back of your case. Temp. should drop alittle if airflow was good.
wiNd
post Apr 15 2008, 03:05 PM

I'm watching you
12,683 posts

for side panel, intake...

hot air goes up, so..top panel will be exhaust
axcel_1921
post Apr 15 2008, 03:30 PM

51 posts

how to know which side is blow in and which side is out ??
overclockalbert
post Apr 16 2008, 06:56 AM

1,058 posts

blow in for the side panel, suck out from exhaust.
SUSExTgAmer
post Apr 17 2008, 04:43 PM

suck air out
suck air in...nuts lol
ekestima
post Apr 18 2008, 03:12 PM

930 posts

side panel = blow in
top panel = blow out (hot air rises)
zx12
post Apr 18 2008, 03:32 PM

717 posts

i think most cpu hsf sucks in air and blows it out through the fins..so it'll more logical if the fan above the cpu hsf blows cooler air into the casing and directly to the hsf..
fuzore
post Apr 18 2008, 03:59 PM

<motion sickness around>
2,142 posts

Bro for the side panel make it as an air intake and top for blowhole and instead of 80mm make it both 120mm better maaa.... biggrin.gif
gunh
post Apr 18 2008, 04:11 PM

459 posts

imo, suck out.... (exhaust system) then inside casing negative pressure, air 'll automatic come in...

juz like u walk in at supermarket toilet... they got exhaust, (prevent smell going out is 1 reason) the other is u dont need air cond in the toilet, coz as u suck out, the air cond will fill in the toilet which is in negative pressure...

so i believe the same theory can happen to casing... if u happen to got only 1 fan. better suck it out
abubin
post Apr 18 2008, 04:16 PM

10,429 posts

one simple and easy method to follow is :

Rear side, blow air OUT. Follow the PSU.

All other sides, blow air in.

This is only basic reference. If you setup is very complicated then this rules may not apply. But for most cases, it will work.
zx12
post Apr 18 2008, 04:49 PM

717 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Apr 18 2008, 04:16 PM)
one simple and easy method to follow is :

Rear side, blow air OUT. Follow the PSU.

All other sides, blow air in.
This is only basic reference. If you setup is very complicated then this rules may not apply. But for most cases, it will work.
what about the top..should blow out also right?
mizivincible
post Apr 18 2008, 07:36 PM

"They'll be singing que sera sera"
1,633 posts

QUOTE(zx12 @ Apr 18 2008, 04:49 PM)
what about the top..should blow out also right?
Yes it should be blowing out too. As hot air rises from bottom to top.
don^don
post Apr 19 2008, 12:33 AM

(#‵′)凸
1,930 posts

negative pressure should be avoided unless stated by your 3rd party hsf. this is due to negative pressure setup unable to cool your hdd unless u install heat sink/fin for your hdd.

basic guidance:
front : in
side : in
top : out
rear : out

* though, this guidance is just basic, and may vary some times. it'l be better to apply btx style if you're running on a hot gc.

** however, make sure the air flow OUTSIDE your case is also good enough for the hot air to move away, to avoid the front fan to suck back the hot air from the rear (*rare occurance, recycling of air). and make sure room temperate is nice. biggrin.gif
TristanX
post Apr 20 2008, 02:27 AM

Where is my stars?
24,353 posts

I was having two 80mm for intake at front, one 120mm for exhaust and one PCI exhaust at the rear. I just changed top front intake fan from 80mm to 120mm and placed 1 more fan on top of my hard disk(used my hard disk to fasten it at right below the CD/DVD bay since there are no holes for screws) on my Centurion 5 casing for boosting the bottom intake fan.

Got 1C cooler after that. hehe

This post has been edited by TristanX: Apr 20 2008, 02:27 AM
PalakAsuk
post Apr 21 2008, 02:55 PM

13 posts

it's better using this ratio 2:1
2 intake (double sided)
1 exhaust system (top).

wht u guys think?
zzloo
post Apr 21 2008, 04:15 PM

Hmm..?
2,139 posts

lower : intake, upper : exhaust
impostius
post Apr 21 2008, 05:03 PM

57 posts

front panel : intake
side panel : intake
rear : exhaust
top : exhaust

*Providing better ventilation
*Just like those ventilators in a tunnel (air moving in a direction)
tcchuin
post Apr 21 2008, 09:31 PM

511 posts

side panel...near top d..shldbe intake or exhaust?if im not wrong..the cpu fan sux the cool air and let it go through the colling fins....so..we shld use intake or exhaust fan on side panel..which is near processor d...

SUSN's
post Apr 21 2008, 09:43 PM

1,091 posts

I just put 2 exaust + 1 extra exaust from PSU= 3 exaust.
tcchuin
post Apr 22 2008, 06:42 PM

511 posts

http://www.leapfroglobal.net/p-pl.php?id=a...l&series=azzura

guyz..this casing d...the hole at teh lower side d..120mm d...put intake or exhaust?
m2n-e
post Apr 22 2008, 07:01 PM

-Retired From Modding-
1,269 posts

lower intake, upper intake, rear fan pun exhaust. smile.gif
MangKoK^ayon
post Apr 22 2008, 07:02 PM

look at my stars
859 posts

front fan should be sucking...and rear fan should be exhaust...side should be exhaust too
m2n-e
post Apr 22 2008, 07:31 PM

-Retired From Modding-
1,269 posts

QUOTE(MangKoK^ayon @ Apr 22 2008, 07:02 PM)
front fan should be sucking...and rear fan should be exhaust...side should be exhaust too
not true.. a good air circulation, side should be intake. rear and top should be exhaust..
unless u want to use car circulation, then all other parts intake except rear exhaust.
powerful fan put on rear would do the magic. lol.. tongue.gif
geniousboy
post Apr 22 2008, 08:45 PM

605 posts

QUOTE(tcchuin @ Apr 22 2008, 06:42 PM)
http://www.leapfroglobal.net/p-pl.php?id=a...l&series=azzura

guyz..this casing d...the hole at teh lower side d..120mm d...put intake or exhaust?
im using this casing n planning to add fan on the side too..but then,since the fan hole is just below the air duct..n the air duct is supposed to blow out hot air from proc rite?so if the below is intake,wouldn't it be recycling the hot air from the air duct?

m2n-e
post Apr 22 2008, 10:47 PM

-Retired From Modding-
1,269 posts

QUOTE(geniousboy @ Apr 22 2008, 08:45 PM)
im using this casing n planning to add fan on the side too..but then,since the fan hole is just below the air duct..n the air duct is supposed to blow out hot air from proc rite?so if the below is intake,wouldn't it be recycling the hot air from the air duct?
errmm.. im bad in english.. can u show us ur rig?
geniousboy
post Apr 22 2008, 11:23 PM

605 posts

what do u mean?u wanna see the internal part or just my casing?is just the casing..it is as the link given..but but if u wanna see inside the casing..it might take some time..i dont have camera..
tcchuin
post Apr 23 2008, 05:13 PM

511 posts

if im not wrong..teh cpu fan of e2160 is sucking air wor....zzz...using palit 8500 GT..the 120mm..used teh fan as intake...my GC idle at 57.....use as exhaust....teh temp at 54.....but...no add fan...55....but when i buy my como..the GC always stay at 53 for idling..so..maybe the dust bah.....planning to add fans too all available slot...including teh airduct..im going to change the air duct to intake fan...and change teh rear exhaust to more powerful fan..and...below the hdd there..got some lubang..rite?im going to put a fan tehre....as i dun have table or thing blocking the holes...zzz..i think u all cannot understand my english...maybe upload some pic later
impostius
post Apr 24 2008, 11:35 AM

57 posts

How could you say the air duct at the side panel is exhausting hot air frm the processor? Think again. The fan on the processor`s heatsink is blowing air to the heatsink to cool it down. Means it is blowing in right? How could it blow hot air out through the side air duct? Besides, hot air has low density, so hot air rises. About the lower fan on the side panel, make it as intake. It helps in cooling ur GC. Yet, air intake through the side panel would be the best. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by impostius: Apr 24 2008, 11:36 AM
bokbeng
post Apr 24 2008, 02:07 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(impostius @ Apr 24 2008, 11:35 AM)
How could you say the air duct at the side panel is exhausting hot air frm the processor? Think again. The fan on the processor`s heatsink is blowing air to the heatsink to cool it down. Means it is blowing in right? How could it blow hot air out through the side air duct? Besides, hot air has low density, so hot air rises. About the lower fan on the side panel, make it as intake. It helps in cooling ur GC. Yet, air intake through the side panel would be the best.  biggrin.gif
rclxms.gif agreed with u plus make the hole on top of the casing to blow the hot air in the casing out
tcchuin
post Apr 24 2008, 09:39 PM

511 posts

QUOTE(impostius @ Apr 24 2008, 11:35 AM)
How could you say the air duct at the side panel is exhausting hot air frm the processor? Think again. The fan on the processor`s heatsink is blowing air to the heatsink to cool it down. Means it is blowing in right? How could it blow hot air out through the side air duct? Besides, hot air has low density, so hot air rises. About the lower fan on the side panel, make it as intake. It helps in cooling ur GC. Yet, air intake through the side panel would be the best.  biggrin.gif
the problem is..when i use the lower slot for intake ....my GC temp rises...
TristanX
post Apr 24 2008, 09:54 PM

Where is my stars?
24,353 posts

the problem is..when i use the lower slot for intake ....my GC temp rises...

Slap an exhaust fan at your last PCI slot to remove your GPU heat away. It works for me.
m2n-e
post Apr 24 2008, 10:03 PM

-Retired From Modding-
1,269 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Apr 24 2008, 09:54 PM)
Slap an exhaust fan at your last PCI slot to remove your GPU heat away. It works for me.
agree, and u need powerful + silent(if u like silent) fan. so that the hot air will faster suck out.
tcchuin
post Apr 24 2008, 10:28 PM

511 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Apr 24 2008, 09:54 PM)
u mean the pci slot fan?or what?zzz..my gc is palit 8500 GT sonic...not referrence design...different with otehr 8500
TristanX
post Apr 24 2008, 10:35 PM

Where is my stars?
24,353 posts

I use unbranded PCI exhaust fan for mine. The product name is LYF best cooler(best? I dont think so). hehe

This post has been edited by TristanX: Apr 24 2008, 10:37 PM
tcchuin
post Apr 24 2008, 10:43 PM

511 posts

last slot..ok then..but..if i sue a pic exhaust fan...do i need to change my 120mm fan into intake fan or wat?
TristanX
post Apr 24 2008, 11:27 PM

Where is my stars?
24,353 posts

You don't need to change anything else. Probably might need to add another intake fan if you add another exhaust fan though.

This post has been edited by TristanX: Apr 24 2008, 11:28 PM
ThinWai
post Apr 26 2008, 08:37 PM

474 posts

blow in facing to proc. add a turbine if can=) proc terus suck outside fresh air

tcchuin
post Apr 26 2008, 08:50 PM

511 posts

QUOTE(ThinWai @ Apr 26 2008, 08:37 PM)
blow in facing to proc. add a turbine if can=) proc terus suck outside fresh air
u mean for the azzura 2000?but...the upper slow..which is facing to the proc....if i put my hand near there...i eman..blocking the slots..i can feel the air that's from my vizo fan which is under the upper slot
ThinWai
post Apr 27 2008, 02:13 AM

474 posts

QUOTE(tcchuin @ Apr 26 2008, 08:50 PM)
u mean for the azzura 2000?but...the upper slow..which is facing to the proc....if i put my hand near there...i eman..blocking the slots..i can feel the air that's from my vizo fan which is under the upper slot
i mean u put a fan at upper near proc there. hmm. those turbine i meant is like a terowong to let the air terus kena suck by proc. outside's fresh air but not inside's hot air.
tcchuin
post Apr 27 2008, 05:46 PM

511 posts

QUOTE(ThinWai @ Apr 27 2008, 02:13 AM)
i mean u put a fan at upper near proc there. hmm. those turbine i meant is like a terowong to let the air terus kena suck by proc. outside's fresh air but not inside's hot air.
the problem is...if i put a fan there....it will suck the air..which is being sucked out from my casing(anotehr fan)
ThinWai
post Apr 27 2008, 07:18 PM

474 posts

SUCK IN THE AIR MA. let ur proc suck from the fan which sucking fresh air. Or u don get wat i mean? hmm. Put turbine = Let proc suck more more more.
lightonokira
post Apr 27 2008, 08:00 PM

788 posts

do both SUCK IN AND SUCK OUT
tcchuin
post Apr 27 2008, 08:07 PM

511 posts

QUOTE(ThinWai @ Apr 27 2008, 07:18 PM)
SUCK IN THE AIR MA. let ur proc suck from the fan which sucking fresh air. Or u don get wat i mean? hmm. Put turbine = Let proc suck more more more.
the problem is...if i add a fan there...it's not sucking freshair wor..but it's sucking the hot air sucked out from my ..casing..zzz..
m2n-e
post Apr 27 2008, 08:46 PM

-Retired From Modding-
1,269 posts

QUOTE(tcchuin @ Apr 27 2008, 08:07 PM)
the problem is...if i add a fan there...it's not sucking freshair wor..but it's sucking the hot air sucked out from my ..casing..zzz..
rear - exhaust(find powerful enough fan to blow hot air far away from ur casing.
front - intake
side panel - both hole intake
melvyn
post Apr 28 2008, 02:36 AM

395 posts

QUOTE(gunh @ Apr 18 2008, 04:11 PM)
imo, suck out.... (exhaust system) then inside casing negative pressure, air 'll automatic come in...

juz like u walk in at supermarket toilet... they got exhaust, (prevent smell going out is 1 reason) the other is u dont need air  cond in the toilet, coz as u suck out, the air cond will fill in the toilet which is in negative pressure...

so i believe the same theory can happen to casing... if u happen to got only 1 fan. better suck it out
yup u are right....most of the fan on my pc are exhausting the hot air out from the casing....and i just leave the side panel's 80mm empty to suck in the air.....for once i put a cd on tat hole, its was sucked and stick on the casing due to the pressure inside of the casing is much more lower than the outside tongue.gif
ThinWai
post Apr 28 2008, 05:59 AM

474 posts

U just put a whole there. u will knw when u saw it. =)

0.3902sec    0.88    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 11:11 PM