Professional engineer status

jitshiong
post Dec 9 2015, 03:43 PM

Trust me, I'm an Engineer
1,868 posts

QUOTE(the99percent1 @ Dec 9 2015, 02:20 PM)
The question is, is ir status really required to progress further up the ladder?

If you are like me, engineer in project management, I don't think I need ir status.
Same like me. Not required for my work. But just like a driving license, having it doesn't mean u will have to drive. But it's good to have in the even u need to right? I don't get a pay rise getting my Ir. Or even a promotion. Self satisfaction. lol!
jitshiong
post Mar 12 2016, 11:41 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(AdviceSeeker @ Mar 9 2016, 10:39 PM)
Fresh engineer reporting in. Just got my certification from BEM.
Should i start to use like Engr xxx something?

Sifus please guide. Self satisfaction also
BEM came out with new regulation, cannot use Engr. XXX anymore. See the link below:-

http://bem.org.my/v3/pdf/Engr.pdf
jitshiong
post Mar 16 2016, 05:23 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Mar 13 2016, 02:19 PM)
If go overseas can still use Ir there? Or overseas PE can use their title like Engr in Malaysia?
Must register with the governing body in that country. Then can only use the title recognized by that country.
jitshiong
post Mar 16 2016, 05:25 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(Stamp @ Mar 13 2016, 08:08 PM)
Overseas PE need to get temporary PE from BEM, I think. Approval subject to country of origin.
That's for Overseas PE working here in BEM. Now can apply through the 3rd route. Check BEM website.
jitshiong
post Mar 16 2016, 05:27 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(s|dE @ Mar 14 2016, 01:12 PM)
I don't know what is so important to put an IR to your name. I know is good but it is not important at all. Just my 2 cents though.
It depends on what line of work you are doing.
If you are in consultancy, it's very important.
If you are in lecturing, it's also important to move up.
If you are in contractor, it doesn't really matter but will definitely be useful when you debate an issue with the consultants.
jitshiong
post Mar 29 2016, 06:55 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(o5is @ Mar 27 2016, 06:37 PM)
Hi Guys, I would like to ask something about GE.
Currently I got cert from BEM where my discipline is stated as Manufacturing.
May I know is it possible for me to appeal to change my discipline become Mechanical instead of Manufacturing? And what is the procedure I need to do?
Previously, I got my degree in Mechanical and Manufacturing Engineering, and it was not recognised by BEM, after that I went thru Master of Engineering (Mechanical), then now I'm successfully register under BEM, but problem is my intention is to get GE in Mechanical. I believe PE in mechanical much more meaningful in career compare with PE in manufacturing (correct me if im wrong).
Y did u apply for manufacturing then? Check with BEM using both your degree and mention that you want Mechanical. If you fulfill the requirements, i don't see a reason y they won't give you mechanical.
jitshiong
post Mar 31 2016, 12:02 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(o5is @ Mar 29 2016, 08:10 PM)
I did not apply for manufacturing. I follow their procedure and submit all the documents/certificates to BEM including my master cert to register as their member, and after few months, I got their approval cert and the cawangan kejuruteraan there stated "manufacturing". I called up them, and they asked me to email to En Shaiful to request for changing of discipline and they will call a committee meeting to look into it. Hope that it can be successfully changed.
Yeah, just follow-up directly with BEM. Nothing else can be done. Did mine long time ago, i remember i state the cawangan that i want to be register. Not leave it to BEM. Well, maybe procedures have changed.
jitshiong
post Apr 3 2016, 02:07 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(josephlau7966 @ Apr 2 2016, 12:27 PM)
BEM is going to implement Professional Competency Exam (PCE) a.k.a second tier PE exam. Is anyone planning to take this exam here???
U. there's a talk next weekend.

Professional Interview Workshop on Enhanced PI Process
http://www.myiem.org.my/events/eventregist...on.aspx?id=6844
jitshiong
post Apr 5 2016, 09:29 AM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(kamilnu @ Apr 3 2016, 10:39 PM)
Top industries where Ir will give advantage:
1. Building services consultancy (M&E or C&S)
2. Oil & gas industry (especially design firms and project fabrication)
3. Higher education (lecturers etc)

Other than these, make no difference. Never seen and Ir working in a factory all my life.
I have to sorta agree with this....
jitshiong
post Apr 5 2016, 09:30 AM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(josephlau7966 @ Apr 4 2016, 11:38 AM)
There was one article in IEM magazine this year talked about this. I forget which month already. At the moment there is no reference book, material or whatsoever to prepare for this exam.
IEM is preparing a course to prepare engineers for this exam, still in the pipeline.
jitshiong
post Apr 5 2016, 09:31 AM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Apr 4 2016, 12:28 PM)
O ok ok. If got the date please update here haha.
U just apply first lo....
Do your part, don't wait for others
jitshiong
post Apr 7 2016, 10:53 AM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(kamilnu @ Apr 7 2016, 10:32 AM)
In my office i have a few geologists, petroleum engineers, reservoir engineers, process engineers, geophysicts, drilling engineers, well completion engineers that are paid salaries in excess of RM100K per month (local guys) and they dont have PE title.

When u are known in the industry circle as being very good people only want to hire u becos of ur knowledge and ur past track records, thats why.
Oil and gas is a different field.....and it's only in O&G
jitshiong
post Apr 7 2016, 11:26 AM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Apr 7 2016, 11:03 AM)
Let's go dig oil liao lah.
I'm not smart enuff to dig oil n earn 100k+
cry.gif
jitshiong
post Apr 8 2016, 09:13 AM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(KhunKaew @ Apr 8 2016, 12:08 AM)
If you need it, go for it. If you don't need it, shut up and leave this discussion. Nobody will ever force you to take your IR.

The professional engineer status is only for those who deserve it, not for those who are not interested.
KhunKaew, this is still a discussion....everyone can express their opinion. Freedom of speach ma
Hmmm....u sound like some leader in certain country hmm.gif
jitshiong
post May 24 2016, 09:47 AM

1,868 posts

Was informed that Professional Competency Exam (PCE) Syllabus will be ready by end of the month.
jitshiong
post Sep 9 2016, 09:45 AM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(edisoner90 @ Jun 23 2016, 02:49 PM)
Mean like a book to guide us?? Book for reading?
Here it is.

CALL TO SIT FOR PROFESSIONAL COMPETENCY EXAMINATION (PCE)
Examination Date: 29 NOVEMBER 2016
Closing Date: 29 September 2016
Read or download the Information for Applicants and Form PCE-A

PCE
jitshiong
post May 10 2017, 11:34 AM

1,868 posts

PCE only 6/104 passed
Candidate pass both paper as follows:
1) Civil: 3pax
2) Mech: 1pax
3) Elec: 2pax.
Total passing rates are 5.62%
jitshiong
post May 10 2017, 05:28 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ May 10 2017, 12:07 PM)
Eh? Where you get the no. of people for each discipline?
Insider info
jitshiong
post May 10 2017, 11:10 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ May 10 2017, 08:44 PM)
O I thought announce already.
I think those who took the exam knows their results already
jitshiong
post Jun 16 2017, 03:44 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(kaitokid11 @ Jun 16 2017, 11:35 AM)
Anyone know when is the next PCE date?
29-30 November 2017

Check at http://www.bem.org.my/

0.0329sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 01:00 PM