Professional engineer status

JohnJon82
post May 16 2018, 12:29 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(yageosamsung @ May 16 2018, 12:00 PM)
thanks...
Is it advisable to go other Government office, for example JPN....etc?
BEM looking for the PE chop for certification. Last time I went to IEM branch in my place they recommended me few consultants office nearby for me to approach them. Not sure why they don't give you. Your company don't have any PE?
JohnJon82
post Jul 27 2018, 09:55 AM

716 posts

QUOTE(Orang Utan @ Jul 26 2018, 02:34 PM)
One more question, why the passing rate for Profession Competency Exam (PCE) very low?
2016 the first batch was the 6% that you saw. Got certificate presentation so they know how many and who. 2017 batch got their results, heard from the people taking the exam, the passing rate is much higher.
JohnJon82
post Aug 13 2020, 12:13 AM

716 posts

QUOTE(GoodBoiBoi @ Aug 12 2020, 06:41 PM)
Hello, I have just graduated in Chemical Engineering and aiming to get certified as both CEng (Chartered Engineer, UK) and IR (PE). I have seen and heard that BEM allowed the application route (Route 2) to become an IR through CEng, anyone knows about this route and how difficult it is?
Should be under Route 3, recognition of overseas PE for direct entry to Tier 1 PE. My batch is the early batch, not difficult, submit forms, CV, overseas PE certs and reports. I have PEng overseas and CEng before I got my Malaysia's PEng, but they never ask me about my CEng report, only my PEng interview report. I heard new batch need to take an exam on code of conducts for Tier 1. To get Tier 2 PEPC you need to sit for the PCE like everybody else. PCE is quite tough. Don't forget to register your graduate engineer now with BEM though.
JohnJon82
post Aug 14 2020, 12:37 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(GoodBoiBoi @ Aug 13 2020, 01:37 AM)
I see, thanks for your input. Seems like it is a hassle free process (Route 3) for Tier 1 PE. So I think I will just focus on getting CEng and apply for Ir using Route 3, and saves my time for preparing reports, documents and interviews for both CEng and BEM.

Anyone else here has experience applying Ir. using Route 3 / Recognition of overseas PE for direct entry to Tier 1 PE? Any CEng who has got their Ir through Route 3? Any inputs will be valuable  biggrin.gif
Why not do both concurrently, the reports don't vary much, you won't know if they will change the requirements or not later on.
JohnJon82
post Jul 18 2023, 02:49 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(HP Computer @ May 29 2023, 01:08 PM)
Any CEng sifu here?

What made you decided to be a CEng?

The annual fee is around Rm 2200+ while IEM membership is only Rm 155? Looking at this fee, i dont know should i just follow IEM pathway and prepare for PE application.
If aim for PE application, BEM or PAE is more straight forward route. Getting CEng and convert the PEng also possible now. I used that route, one of the first batch, that time no extra exam or interview but have to submit a report. CEng mostly for the title only, not much use in Malaysia, sometime forgot to renew rclxub.gif .

0.0219sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 12:35 AM