Just got my Iphone 1.1.4, how to install app and games

LaskarCinta
post Apr 11 2008, 01:28 PM

?
1,651 posts

QUOTE(uniquexme @ Apr 11 2008, 11:27 AM)
the album cover for Chinese singer...
just search the artwork from images.google.com, and download the full resolution image (not the thumbnail one). and then manually add the artwork to the songs in iTunes.

This post has been edited by LaskarCinta: Apr 11 2008, 01:28 PM
TSuniquexme
post Apr 11 2008, 01:36 PM

839 posts

cool. i will try. thanks

Added on April 13, 2008, 5:53 pmguys, i got my iphone yesterday. here's a couple of question :

1. Incoming SMS show no name, only phone number. at 1st, i tried to change a few of my contacts for testing to international format, eg. +60191234567, cool. sms shows contact name. But then when the same person call me, it doesn't show the name. so i have to change it back. so was wondering if there is a way for sms and call to show the name?

2. Ringtone. i have a couple of cut mp3 in my old phone. i was wondering other that ibrickr, is there any easy way to transfer it? actually wats the format for iphone ringtone? still in mp3?

3. wierd screen. just now upon sync, it failed to sync. so i remove it, and then i tap on the screen, all the icons are shaking dancing. end up have to restart it.

This post has been edited by uniquexme: Apr 13 2008, 05:53 PM
vincent_ng86
post Apr 17 2008, 08:28 AM

1,659 posts

QUOTE(uniquexme @ Apr 10 2008, 09:12 PM)
ok thanks guys for the help here. i think i know how to make the album artwork.  oh, i have also read about restoring phone when the phone is sot sot. for example, mine is 1.1.4 jailbreaked and unlocked, so if i were to restore, do i go download that 1.1.4 firmware or can i just click restore in itunes.

oh yah, this is my 1st iphone or ipod, so i have never used itune b4, pardon me for my silly questions if i have asked. thanks

Added on April 10, 2008, 9:18 pmoh, regarding adding source for installing application. may i ask if that required internet connection or GPRS connection? just curious since mine will arrive most prob on monday.

my frenz was rather frustrated with his iphone coz we bought this together, and the seller at low yat told him that celcom 3G sim card can be used, just have to disable fixed dialing. may i ask whats fixed dialing? then today, he went to other shops, he was told that he need to go Celcom to either upgrade his 3G sim card to 2008 version (which he can't coz celcom ppl told him that sarawak dun have this card yet, and it can't be replaced in kl), or to downgrade to old 2G sim card which i have. so its this true? can anyone share some info?
Too bad for him... and me... Facing the exactly same problem, except that I am from Miri. Sad case la wei...
blackchides
post Apr 17 2008, 12:59 PM

HiiiPower
779 posts

QUOTE(uniquexme @ Apr 11 2008, 01:36 PM)
cool. i will try. thanks

Added on April 13, 2008, 5:53 pmguys, i got my iphone yesterday. here's a couple of question :

1. Incoming SMS show no name, only phone number. at 1st, i tried to change a few of my contacts for testing to international format, eg. +60191234567, cool. sms shows contact name. But then when the same person call me, it doesn't show the name. so i have to change it back. so was wondering if there is a way for sms and call to show the name?

2. Ringtone. i have a couple of cut mp3 in my old phone. i was wondering other that ibrickr, is there any easy way to transfer it? actually wats the format for iphone ringtone? still in mp3?

3. wierd screen. just now upon sync, it failed to sync. so i remove it, and then i tap on the screen, all the icons are shaking dancing. end up have to restart it.
There are so many things you need to know that I don't really know where to start. Okay, the shaking and dancing thing is for you to arrange your icons as you see fit, pressing the Home button will finalize it.

For your name showing problem, try downloading appsupport from your installer app.

I think you should head over to the apple website and look at some of the tutorials. Once you're done with that, go read the iPhone reviews to get a basic idea of what the iPhone can do. Some of your questions are pretty trivial.
TSuniquexme
post Apr 17 2008, 01:37 PM

839 posts

yeah, sorry to update here that i have already did the appsupport patch.

oh u are saying that the shaking thing is for arranging icon? hmm, may i ask what software is that? coz i want to re-arrange but dunno how.
blackchides
post Apr 17 2008, 05:06 PM

HiiiPower
779 posts

QUOTE(uniquexme @ Apr 17 2008, 01:37 PM)
yeah, sorry to update here that i have already did the appsupport patch.

oh u are saying that the shaking thing is for arranging icon? hmm, may i ask what software is that? coz i want to re-arrange but dunno how.
doh.gif The re-arranging icon function is a default function that comes with v1.1.3/v1.1.4. Just hold onto any icon until it shakes, when you're done, press the home button.

Go to ------> www.apple.com/iphone

Watch the tutorials there. Everything you need to know about the workings of an iPhone is there, re-arranging icons, deleting stuff, etc.

As for 3rd party apps/unlocking, just a quick search on google will yield all the solutions. It's been a long time since v1.1.4 came out, so the answers to a lot of questions that you have are all available online. Just need to use your search engine.

TSuniquexme
post Apr 18 2008, 08:41 AM

839 posts

all ritey. thanks bro for that info.
d3vilzzzz
post Apr 18 2008, 11:27 AM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

this thread is good..

uniqeuxme manages to ask the right ques and gets the answers..hehe

this covers the basics..which me needs..

i support this thread!!
TSuniquexme
post Apr 18 2008, 01:16 PM

839 posts

haha.. yeah, coz we newbies, really find it difficult to deal with this phone. but heh, ppl here are really friendly and willing to share. haha.. which is y, i keep asking question on the v6 thread. haha... thanks everyone here.
d3vilzzzz
post Apr 18 2008, 03:34 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

hehe..i mebbe bothering u soon as me getting me second apple bb soon..nt dat soon but soon enuff tongue.gif
TSuniquexme
post Apr 19 2008, 08:32 AM

839 posts

haha. no probl. welcome to the club. u getting 2nd iphone?
d3vilzzzz
post Apr 21 2008, 08:55 AM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

haha..2nd iphone? no la..dis is me first la..

o hey 1 2 ask..possible for us to connect the iphone to the itunes but without syncing the movies and the music? as me already hv classic?
TSuniquexme
post Apr 21 2008, 08:59 AM

839 posts

yup, u can select manually sync or auto
d3vilzzzz
post Apr 22 2008, 09:16 AM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

o ya..hehe..hw do u install games and apps..

after jailbreak ->shud be already able to install stuff rite?

or are there any processes i shud knw? me browsing through threads nw..performing research..keke
TSuniquexme
post Apr 22 2008, 09:22 AM

839 posts

u have to click on installer (provided that u have already installed), then add sources, there shd be a few in there already coz mine came with it, then u click install, select the catagory.
d3vilzzzz
post Apr 22 2008, 10:58 AM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

wats with the bootloader n all?

me getting me bb complete sealed thus jailbreaking n unlock all on me own..

to get to 1.1.4 ->use itunes den ziphone

anything me need to worry abt the bootloader or anything related?

TSuniquexme
post Apr 22 2008, 02:19 PM

839 posts

sorry, i have no idea about jailbreak and unlock. it came ready done when i bought it.
d3vilzzzz
post Apr 22 2008, 04:38 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

haha..no worries..found a lot of info in the iphone thread version 6 and from fellow forumer Corvinux
TSuniquexme
post Apr 29 2008, 10:36 AM

839 posts

guys, i tried to search on how to set malaysia as the country, so that when we key in new contact, there is malaysia to select. but i wasn't sure where i saw it, can someone advise where is the link?

i think better not post to V7, else kena bomb again. haha... but i really can't retrieve that info back. something like iphone cable or wat, just instead of SSH.
maiself
post Apr 29 2008, 12:38 PM

Pro Surfer
1,346 posts

QUOTE(uniquexme @ Apr 29 2008, 10:36 AM)
guys, i tried to search on how to set malaysia as the country, so that when we key in new contact, there is malaysia to select. but i wasn't sure where i saw it, can someone advise where is the link?

i think better not post to V7, else kena bomb again. haha... but i really can't retrieve that info back. something like iphone cable or wat, just instead of SSH.
bro already got 1 thread about this.. just flip a few pages.. u shld find it there.

update: - Malaysia as an Option in Contacts Address Book
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/672555

This post has been edited by maiself: Apr 29 2008, 12:40 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0247sec    0.15    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:51 AM