ASB loan, worth to get it???

wild_card_my
post Aug 23 2018, 03:27 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Aug 23 2018, 03:07 PM)
It's still at the core dropping one loan for another from the new bank or financial institution.. Let's call a spade a spade and not attempt obfuscation with legalese and technicalities.. Unless you are saying that refinancing with you means free money and no repayments.  smile.gif
Sure houses are not fool-proof investments.. Doesn't mean that some haven't appreciated or that all realty agencies are making a loss.. To generalize in such a manner is wrong. Which was why I hinted in my earlier post about buying a home to live as a family vs buying strictly for investment sakes. That's another story for another thread. I've put this out there before and do again. It's great that you are helping and all. But with finance and investments, can't simply be telling people not to think about anything else and that loans to finance asb is a sure thing. Is it now? Yes.. Next year? You and I have absolutely no idea. Past records have shown its returns essentially free falling.. From double digits to single digits and now lower single digits plus sen and some creative accounting to appear "stable". Bank's are reacting by lowering interest rates.. Cuz some money is better than none at all.. Simple! They aren't in it for charity sakes.

What am I saying? Offer facts and let folks decide which is more in line with their risk appetites. If they don't have to think about anything, then there would be no point to the terminate and reapply methods or when best to implement it. Just saying.
1. You are completely wrong though, I have already given the definition of refinancing, and it is your own fault that you mistook the meaning of refinance as "getting free money". There is no such thing as "free money", the cash-out that you receive from refinancing is still a loan (backed by the property), and I always make that clear to my clients. It is not surprising that you are also finding it difficult to understand the meaning of "refinancing" which to you is more akin to refinancing of a mortgage account, with the so-called "free money" to boot. As you can't even grasp the technical meaning of refinancing i do not think it is a good idea to spread the misconception of what it really is.

As such, settling the current ASB loan and taking up a new one to enjoy better rates can be considered "refinancing", even if there is no involvement of "free money".

2. As for the comment about properties, I just have these few things to say:

a. real estate is just an investment vehicle, like many other including ASB/ASB2, it has no guarantees of return (capital-appreciation, dividend, rental). These talks about how a property is better or worse than other investment vehicles are coming from snake-oil salesmen. yes, the property is there, it is real and tangible (unlike ASB/share units), but there is no guarantee in its value, which is the crux of the issue that I have with people that are pushing properties as hard as they can. It is not wrong to talk about it, but we must recognize the fact there are properties bought in the past few years that are only retaining, if not losing their values over time. If this continues for the next 30 years or so, would you still be saying that a property is a good investment? What is wrong with renting?

b. as it is now, buying a house as a sub-sale (as it is for own stay now, undercon is not suitable) is a LOT MORE expensive than renting. Costs (including hidden costs) will eat you up, in the form of down payment, MOT, SPA, LA, fire-insurance, management fees, sinking fund, taxes, maintenance. This is just anecdotal, but based on my clients house prices that they are buying today, the rental income can never reach the installment alone, not including the other costs that I have mentioned. So you would have spent a lot of money on the upfront costs, and then you would have to spend more to pay off the banks through your mortgages.

Please consider these things before recommending one asset class to another.

There, facts right in your face. In fact, I have been dropping facts upon facts with numbers to back them up. That is my style, unlike you who seem to enjoy obfuscating facts as proven in your misleading definition of "refinancing" above.

This post has been edited by wild_card_my: Aug 23 2018, 03:37 PM
wild_card_my
post Aug 23 2018, 04:57 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Aug 23 2018, 03:59 PM)
Dude.. One simple question..

Scenario A..
Mike currently has a loan of 209k for 200k ASB units. This is with full Takaful and loan rate of say 5%. When Mike comes to "refinance" with you. He obviously still wants 200k ASB units. What does your "refinancing" do?

Scenario B
Mike currently has a loan of 190K for 200k ASB units. This is without Takaful and loan rate of say 5%. When Mike comes to "refinance" with you. He obviously still wants 200k ASB units. What does your "refinancing" do?

Also, don't think I didn't notice how you only pushed a certain agenda for house purchases, in favor of your completely risk free loans/refinancing.. Also noticed you glossed over the declining returns and banks reducing interest rates in accordance.. I guess my pals and family who bought a particular landed property for around 400k all in.. Brand new from devs.. Free MOT, SPA, furnishings..bla bla.. That was 4 years ago. Today, same property is worth 700k as is.. Oh yeah, paid cash and no loans.. I'd call that a good deal for 4 years.. Especially if one also lived in the property.. So if sold today.. Means the past years has been basically rent free. But as I said.. I don't blindly accept stuffs from so called pros.. I'm unregistered and uncertified.. Yet, I do understand far more legalese and financial industry terms than most.. This without having to call in my educational qualifications and background.. Just using common sense here. mind you, from my previous posts, I'm all for not purchasing a crib unless absolutely needed and all factors taking into consideration. You'd get this, if you weren't sitting so high up on that horse, looking down..

Edit: Modified above for better clarity. Awaiting response on how refinancing doesn't mean taking up another loan.. Only this time, either from the same or a different institution.
1. ASB-f

A. Incomplete question. What is the current outstanding of the loan, and what is the cash-value of the ARTA? This is why I always recommend clients not to take ARTA, people who do are getting bad advises, because when they need to refinance or settle the account, they would have to incur some losses (through the premium of the insurance agent which happens to be the bank itself). Currently the best rate is 4.9%, and some clients who took up ASB financing is currently being charged 5.45%, it would be a mismanagement of one's own finances if you do not look into the market rate and refinance the loan into something that is of better rates

Incomplete question, which suggests inexperience of the person asking the question. Please try again

B. As above, incomplete question (what is the original loan amount), but this is more doable. I assume John has paid for the financing for a few years, thus making the current outstanding reduced by a bit. He would have to ask the current bank to close the ASB-financing account, all the units (non-dividend, non-cash) would be sold off. Refinancing that loan would allow him to get 190k or 200k from the new bank, at the rate of 4.9%, he can take a reduced tenure or l. I dont understand what you are trying to do here.

By the way, may I suggest that you use the correct terms when posting your questions/assertions. Using the right terms, there are differences between the loan limit (original loan amount) and current principal outstanding. However you chose to write these instead: "currently has a loan of 209k" . Which is confusing and allows room for miscommunication. Usually I would visit INVESTOPEDIA when i am not sure about some terms because I avoid using the wrong terms, since as you can see in here and in the mortgage threads, I see myself as an educator of sorts.

2. On to the property side, I noticed that you love using anecdotal examples to back your points, of which I am not going to address mainly due to 3 reasons:

1. they are anecdotal and personal which do not represent the whole real-estate industry as a whole.
2. It could be coming out of your behind for all i know, a.k.a bullshit
3. There is no way that I can argue against personal experiences, we can hear about it, talk about it, but please don't use anecdotal experiences to prove you points.

What I claim is true though, a lot of publications are saying the same thing, here is one of them:Downtrend in property prices

On top of this, paper gains are not gains unless you sell it off. You need to understand the differences between liquid assets like cash/ut/asb vs real estate that takes between 3 to 6 months for the transaction to complete, if that.

QUOTE(salimbest83 @ Aug 23 2018, 04:12 PM)
So I take it from ur advises

Max out all 400+400k asb loan
And don't buy house yet..

I reluctant to buy house yet coz didn't know where I will settle down.. Especially waifu. Coz her department usually will rotate staff to other place after 5 years

BTW got one land lot just less than 200 meter from school.. Maybe will stay there after all. Easier for my child later.. 4y old now
You are right, with ASB-financing you can close the account in as soon as 10 days, as per my experience. So it is a good liquid investment. In the event when you need to buy a house, you can just call up the bank, fill up some forms, and the loan will be closed in a very short time.

Dividend income from the ASB can also be used as part of your total income, useful when the banks are calculating your debt-service-ratio. It will not be able to cancel out your commitments as a whole, but it is better than having the commitment but without the income (i.e hire purchase)

This post has been edited by wild_card_my: Aug 23 2018, 05:13 PM
wild_card_my
post Aug 23 2018, 09:22 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Aug 23 2018, 06:29 PM)
Really... So it's okay to use your anecdotes to prove your point but I can't to prove mine? Even though mine is definitely plausible and easily verifiable from public records. There are reputable websites one can visit to find out real transaction values done today and compare it against price of the same property when it was launched.. As a "Pro", this should be common knowledge to you.. What's all these bla blas above? An essay? Haha.. Dude, take a chill pill.. I asked simple questions and they required simple answers. I also crafted the questions in a manner in which you a pro should have no issues understanding it. Perhaps I need to dumb it down even further.. Here goes..

During your refinancing, does it involve settling previous loan and balance with previous bank AND taking up another loan from your recommended bank? It's a simple yes or no question.. You pull out another graph for this...?  doh.gif
Anecdotes coupled with years of industry experience, plus when anecdotes are not enough, I provide facts and figures like what I have done to you and other forummers in this thread and mortgage thread

And then you chided me for taking things too seriously by bringing up a graph. So which one is it? Make up your mind la, or do you prefer amateur hour arguments?

Anyways ASB financing has shown over and over against to generate returns to the borrowers, why? because the banks' BLR (note that I am not talking about OPR and BR here) has NEVER been higher than the ASB's yearly dividends, don't believe me? Check out these sources below. I have had about enough with you, I really dislike amateurs who don't know their place. You want to argue, fine, but when I furnish you with documents, data, numbers, figures, and statements, please back down instead of chiding people of taking things too "seriously".

These matters involve people's money and investments, of course I have to take things seriously unlike you who is treating it like a game.

ASB hisotrical returns

Bank's historical BLR

wild_card_my
post Aug 24 2018, 07:06 PM

6,562 posts

Just proving that the 4.85% p.a. rate is real. This is posted with my clients' permission, she wants everyone to grab this opportunity. Installment amount of RM794 for facility amounting to RM150,299.69 for 30 years tally with the calculated figure in the second photo. The rate is 4.85% p.a. for this client of mine.

This post has been edited by wild_card_my: Aug 24 2018, 07:07 PM
wild_card_my
post Aug 24 2018, 08:10 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Aug 24 2018, 08:07 PM)
Again you miss the point.. No one is doubting the interest rates are real and or the maths doesn't add up.. Most know how to work an S.I calculator.. It ain't rocket science.. rolleyes.gif.. If I want to argue, I'd argue that the 4.8% rate is impossible to guarantee it for the next 30 years.. As BLR can go up or down and banks may at their discretion decide to hike the rates.. But I won't cuz then you'd go on and on and keep missing the point. Summarily, it's not an automatic for everyone. Cuz even if some sign up today for 4.85%, and tomorrow.. It drops to 4.7%.. Doesn't mean can just terminate and refinance at the lower rates. Cuz high chances, one will be owing the bank interest.. Now a couple years later and say principal is the bulk of monthly repayments over interest? And rates drop? Then yes, it's an attractive offer.. That's one of the points I was making. Fairly simple.
1. Mate, I thought you are done? You want to get serious or what about this? I mean like it is clear that you are the one missing the point. We started with the definition on refinancing, and now you went all tangent about it.

2. Refinancing your ASB loan that is in the low 5% to enjoy the current rates of 4.85% is beneficial to the borrower. That is the message that I am driving today. But you with all your lack of understanding mistook "refinancing" as a term exclusively used for mortgages. Refinancing is just to change the financier as per what Investopedia claimed and I quoted them earlier.

You got called out for your ignorance and is now trying to cover it up by asking something so dumb as "what will happen if one person refinances?". What do you expect will happen mate? I called you up again due to the incomplete question and as per what my professors said, incomplete questions are stupid questions. You tried to set me up with those questions but I pulled one better by calling you out - and the terms used were also confusing. You sound like someone who read a few Wikipedia articles and decided that he is now a scholar - this all shows in your questions.

3. Did you even know that BR moves based on OPR rates likely on the same quantum among all the banks? Doesn't seem that you do, because you don't even seem to understand the concept of BR + spread. The spread is fixed, but the BR WILL change over the years and no one is claiming that it can be guaranteed. No one said that the 4.85% rate will be fixed, only you claimed that it is, which shows your lack of understanding on how loans (mortgages, ASB-f) works. If you had you would not say what you did.

Arguing with you is like playing chess with a pigeon. All you are going to do is knock all the pieces down and shit on the board. Come on mate, get good, play some chess.

QUOTE(voncrane @ Aug 23 2018, 10:01 PM)
Enjoy your evening.. I'm done..
This post has been edited by wild_card_my: Aug 24 2018, 08:23 PM
wild_card_my
post Aug 24 2018, 08:27 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Aug 24 2018, 08:19 PM)
Nah mate... nothing to be serious about.. Tis as they say.. opinions.. Noticed your edit and let me ask then since apparently you are the only who understands eh?.. Has it ever occurred in the past that BR moved up significantly that monthly repayments increased? Riddle me that.

Okay i loled at the pigeon reference. Guess you unaware that according to new research from a certain reputable American university, pigeons are able to comprehend abstract concepts of time and space in the same ways that elephants, monkeys, and humans can...  whistling.gif
1. BR movement is beyond our control as consumers, but notice that clients who took their loans even a year ago would have their effective rate raised due to changes in the BR while those who are taking it now would have their effective rate on the lower side. That is the fact in this industry now, as one of my banks are offering 4.85% p.a effective rate, while people who signed up for the loans last years are paying 5.00% p.a ++ , as high as 5.65% as shown below

2. Like i said, do you even understand how the rates are quoted? The spread is fixed, while the BR changes over time, based on what you post, doesnt seem like you have a clue on how it works.

If Jake is getting a BR + 1 last year (at the time when BR was 4%) making his effective rate 5%, and a year later the BR for that bank increases by 0.25% making his effective rate 5.25%, it would be stupid of Jake not to refinance if currently the bank is giving new costumers a rate of BR + 0.75% (making the current effective rate 5%)

Staying with the current bank and he has to pay 5.25% p.a , refinancing it to a new bank and he pays 5% p.a. That is the difference of 0.25% per annum!. I dont know why some doofus would question the need to refinance to save 0.25% on RM200,000. That is RM500 just for the first year alone, and this adds up although the saving reduces over the years. But the cumulative charges would increase indefinitely.

I seriously have a feeling that the fact that you do not get this concept suggests that you either:

a. have never signed a loan offer before
b. oblivious to it

As a broker for mortgage as well as ASB-financing I have resources from clients as well as banks alike to back my assertions. These are not mere opinions, I help my clients save and make money; while you are treating it like a game. it is funny that you questioned that I am using anecdotes when I posted proof, numbers, and figures, and when you can't prove anything, you are saying "this is just opinion" or "don't be too serious", but only after I handed you your "behind". Come at me, bro, I don't lose because I am right.

This post has been edited by wild_card_my: Aug 24 2018, 08:39 PM
wild_card_my
post Aug 24 2018, 08:45 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Aug 24 2018, 08:35 PM)
Haha... Let's go with your Jake then.. Would it still be stupid of Jake to not refinance if he's still owing significantly more than he borrowed in the first place due to the high interest rates and initial payments definitely go more to banks first (in the form of interest), before principal?... And it'd take say a couple months to a year of even more to balance out first..?
This is why I told you your questions were incomplete:

1. What is the cash value of the insurance? Insurances have costs (commissions payable to the bank)
2. If he had not taken the insurance, the principal outstanding of the loan would ALWAYS have been lower than the current units in ASB

You are missing a few points. please, sit down and listen. nothing is more frustrating than some ignorant who refuses to learn:

a. ASB units are fixed-price. Regardless of the tenure, the price of one unit is ALWAYS RM1. So even if you took out ALL the dividends received every January, you would still end up with 200,000 units, worth RM200,000

b. The ASB-financing principal outstanding would ALWAYS be reduced over the time that you are paying your installments, even after the first month. An installment is made of 2 items: interest (paid to the bank as their profit) and principal repayment (used to reduce the RM200,000 principal o/s that you took earlier.

c. Insurances have upfront costs in the form of commissions payable to the bank (and shared with the banker), it is ignorant from your part to ask about the refinancing status for someone who has a principal outstanding of RM209k, and ASB units of RM200k, without sharing the cash-value of the insurance and without recognizing that the insurances have upfront costs that has already been paid up for.

You are infuriating because you asked those 2 "simple" questions to set me up, but you clearly show that you didn't understand how the ASB-financing works, nor do you understand how ASB units are priced. Nor do you know that these ASB Reducing Term Assurance (ARTT) has their own cash-value that can be redeemed upon surrendering the policies.

If you had known the above item, you would never asked those questions, but you did anyway in a way to set me up. So I had to call out to your ignorance. Good call on your part, now everyone is educated.

QUOTE(voncrane @ Aug 24 2018, 08:44 PM)
It's hard to dumb things down any further to make my points any clearer. Now if you can't accept that.. Man, that's your prerogative and I respect that. Just don't poison others and deny them exercising their brains. Of course you don't lose.. Cuz there are quite the gullible lot who think what you do is rocket science.. As a regular folk who has meddled in his fair share of varied investment instruments.. I know there's no one basket for all investment. If as a "broker" you don't get this.. Perhaps you should go get your training fee refunded. You sound just like those brokers in the past who greatly encouraged people to always pull out their dividends and use it pay for next year's repayments.. Me wonder what happened to that lot..  laugh.gif

Seriously, i know it's someone's rice bowl and all.. but you got to take a chill pill.. This is a public thread on a public forum and a differing of opinions will happen. I'm grateful that some are able to separate the shaft from the wheat.. especially when it comes to agents..  laugh.gif
Wow, despite the fact that you have be involved in so many investment instruments, you fail to understand the basics of ASB and ASB-financing. I doubt your claim.

And I have never encouraged people to do ASB roll over, that is you putting your words in my mouth, stop being filthy, but they are free to do so. So who is the one who is trying to stop people from exercising their rights to think for themselves?

Finally, I'll just have to mention that your questions are incomplete, you tried to set me up but you didn't have enough knowledge to even ask the proper questions.

This post has been edited by wild_card_my: Aug 24 2018, 08:53 PM
wild_card_my
post Aug 24 2018, 09:04 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Aug 24 2018, 08:54 PM)
Dude.. i didn't even bother reading beyond the first couple sentences... Go trace back our banter.. I clearly gave you 2 scenarios and added insurance costs in.. YOU chose to ignore the scenarios and replied with some charts and bunch of other stuff that we already know.. So don't come up later and try to make it seem like I don't know what I'm talking about.. There's absolutely nothing you can teach me when it comes to loans, refinancing, repayments, stocks, shares, FUDs, ROIs, etc.. I'm that guy that actually reads the whole terms and conditions, plus privacy policies of every single financial stuff I dabble in.. So rather than trying to attack my person.. You should focus on understanding the clear points (at least to most) that I've raised. You hinted at me being a dumb pigeon.. It appears you called yourself out too early..
Nope, you didn't mention the insurance cash value. I did not ask for insurance cost, I asked for the cash-value of the insurance. Not only you are ignorant, do you have reading comprehension issues as well? Can't tell "cash-value" from "cost of insurance"? Do you even know what it is? For someone who claims that he reads everything, how could he miss out on the insurance cash-value really is? Like I said, I doubt your claims, you probably read a few articles online and decided that it is game time. You can't even understand the benefits of refinancing the ASB-financing when the market interest rate is favorable, what else can we say about you? The true gullible?

You question, as per what I quoted below has NO cash-value information. Without knowing what the cash value is, it is difficult for me to give an exact answer, and I like giving exact answers because I always back my assertions and arguments with numbers and calculation, unlike you despite claiming to have been "dabbled in some investments". Just so you know, the cash value is NOT the cost of insurance. Now I have proven that:

1. Your question was not complete, thus there was no way for me to answer it
2. You wasted your time reading all those terms if you missed out on something as simple as cash-value of the insurance policy
3. You can't tell the difference between cash-value from the cost-of-insurance (which is the wrong term by the way, we call it PREMIUM or CONTRIBUTION, cost-of-insurance is not what you are referring to. Terms, get some: INVESTOPEDIA

You are probably the gullible that you made fun of in your earlier posts

For your education, this is what I meant with the cash value:

QUOTE(voncrane @ Aug 23 2018, 03:59 PM)
Scenario A..
Mike currently has a loan of 209k for 200k ASB units. This is with full Takaful and loan rate of say 5%. When Mike comes to "refinance" with you. He obviously still wants 200k ASB units. What does your "refinancing" do?
Where is the cash-value amount? When he closes this account to take up a different financing for his ASB, he would have his ARTT surrendered and received his units partially.

This post has been edited by wild_card_my: Aug 24 2018, 09:10 PM
wild_card_my
post Aug 24 2018, 09:19 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Aug 24 2018, 09:11 PM)
Oh now, you ask for the cash value? Posted image not depicting values for 200k.. Enough lah bro.. I already told you that i crafted the questions in ways that a pro should be able to fill in the blanks.. I'm sorry for not being overly clear.. there.. you okay now? feels good? KEK.. Most of my questions are simple yes or no answers.. can or cannot.. simple.. Kindly refer to my previous comment.. I hope you have a good weekend. I know i will.  icon_rolleyes.gif
Caught you lying again. I have been asking for the cash-value since the beginning, and the fact that you have been claiming that you have provided it (mistaking cash-value for the insurance premium/contribution) really says a lot about your character. Why would you lie about what other people have said and what you have posted? Please do not lie to cover your tracks, all these things are posted and I have quoted you. Best thing to do for you now is to admit fault.

This post has been edited by wild_card_my: Aug 24 2018, 09:19 PM
wild_card_my
post Aug 25 2018, 12:53 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(baldi91 @ Aug 24 2018, 10:28 PM)
Hi just wanna clarify something again...
The dividend for (let's say) year 2017 would only be eligible for 11/12 months of 2018 dividend right? Hope my question makes sense.

Example:
I have rm100 in 2017, earning rm 7 that year (let's  say dividend is 7%)
So by 2018, (let's say dividend still 7%), my dividend would be = 7% of rm100 AND  7% of rm7?
I suggest checking my calculator below, it has the exact answer to your question, and since you can edit the monthly minimum balance, you can never go wrong. You can edit the yellow cells. This is made exclusively for ASB/ASB2 because of its nature of dividend calculation:

1. based on the monthly minimum balance
2. dividend declared at the end of the fiscal year, with fixed unit price that doesn't fluctuate at all

I made one just now, try it and see if it is to your liking: Faiz Azmi's ASB dividend calculation for the year

This post has been edited by wild_card_my: Aug 25 2018, 12:59 AM
wild_card_my
post Aug 25 2018, 09:09 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(blackseed202 @ Aug 25 2018, 08:20 PM)
Lets say i have been paying asb loan for 3 years. And decided to pay lumpsum 50k into the loan. Is it possible to pay it into the principal amount reducing the total loan tenure. Its just that i dont want to terminate and reapply etc.
It depends on the bank, I cannot advice without looking at your offer letter in full. You can share it if you want, 5 minutes into reading it and I can let you know. Plus banks have different terms even within the same banks, like mortgages for MBB of which there are 3 mortgage products just from the same bank

Be careful, not all banks have flexi-facility in their loan accounts. If your financing has no flexi-facility, the money that you put into your account would be put into the loan and used to repay the remaining balance of the tail-end of your tenure, not front-loaded and used to reduce the principal. All I am saying is that without reading the LO in full, it would be dangerous to blindly give advice on this. For mortgages, Al Rajhi is known to do this - that is to put the "advanced payment" into the tail-end of the financing tenure.

QUOTE(Exenetide @ Aug 25 2018, 08:47 PM)
Should I apply asb financing next month or wait till Jan 2019? Any cons? sorry for silly question.
1. I assume that you do not have any ASB-financing right now. If so, you can do so today or at anytime in the future, as it is though, the current best rate is 4.85% p.a as shown above. If you are worried about the dividends, you will still get the dividends for September to December.

2. For those who are worried about the current financing taking too long to be redeemed by their current bank, I can say for sure that I managed to get my client to completely close his MBB ASB-Financing account in 10 days since making the application, as shown in the screen shot below. He applied for the cancellation at a branch on the 7th, received a call about the receipt of request for cancellation on the 9th, and on the 17th his ASNB account reported the units having being fully sold back to ASNB.

3. In this case, if you were to apply for the cancellation, the units may be fully sold back in the 5th of September. In about another 10 days, the new units would be bought from a the new bank. You would lose 1 month's worth of dividend, which is for September, and still earn the dividends for January-August (8 months) and October-December (3 months), for a total of 11/12 months of the year. Your dividend received in January next year will reflect that.

4. I must claim though that the situation above is on best-effort basis, and I cannot guarantee that everything will happen smoothly, but I always try my level best for my clients

There are so many Hafizs' in the world, so I can share this without any censorship.

This post has been edited by wild_card_my: Aug 25 2018, 09:31 PM
wild_card_my
post Aug 29 2018, 10:28 AM

6,562 posts

ASB/ASB2 performances can be unpredictable, because the fund does not disclose the outstanding shares held by the public. So we don't really know its actual NAV per unit. You could be paying RM1 per unit, but the actual NAV per unit could be anything. In short, we know the funds total NAV, but without knowing the number of outstanding shares, there is no way to calculate the NAV per unit

As we know with unit trust funds (ASB is a unit trust fund, but a fixed-priced variety), any distributions given would be taken out from the NAV itself, i.e even if you do receive the distributions, the NAV per unit would take a hit, and your nominal holding in the fund would not change; it is as if you took money from your right pocket and put in your left pocket, the amount of money you have is still the same.

With ASB, the dividend declared can be anything that does not correlate with the actual performance of the funds. Notice that during profitable years ASB declares about the same positive dividends as during the less profitable years, unlike equity unit trust funds (of which ASB is also heavily invested in equity) which has positive and negative returns throughout their lifetime (although most have positive annualized returns if we go back at least 10-years back)

This is because ASB was created with Malays/Bumi (but more to Malay Muslims) in mind that is:

1. They do not like the daily changes of unit trust NAV per unit prices. If they put in RM10,000 today, the capital has to retain its value in 1, 5, or even 10 years. They do not like losing the capital. Which also explains why there is no "sales charge on ASB unlike unit trust funds that charge about 5.5% as a sales charge"

2. They do not like getting negative returns

Due to the nature of these 2 groups, ASB was designed where during profitable years, some of the returns are kept in reserve, and during losing years, the reserves are used to maintain a somewhat consistent levels of dividend.

To verify this, check out the companies that ASB is invested in (Malaysian blue chips), and compare its performance to the other unit trust funds out there. ASB: consistent, low-positive returns; Unit Trust: inconsistent, a mix of positive and negative returns (based on the NAV/unit) through out the years.

This post has been edited by wild_card_my: Aug 29 2018, 11:36 AM
wild_card_my
post Aug 29 2018, 12:06 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(radenoactive @ Aug 29 2018, 11:43 AM)
I'm not a master in this, but may I know where to check which investment ASB is invested in? Really interested to know.
http://www.asnb.com.my/v3_/pdf/produk/ASB/2017_AR-ASBASN.pdf

Check page 35. You can see all the blue chip Malaysian companies are there. ASB invests in the same companies as other local equity funds from the likes of Public Mutual, CIMB Principal, etc.

The only difference is that while these other funds are giving a mix of positive and negative returns, ASB is giving consistent dividends, due to the fact that I mentioned above
wild_card_my
post Aug 29 2018, 12:19 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(ezrachan @ Aug 29 2018, 12:11 PM)
Thanks for sharing Faiz Azmi. Nampak macam berpengalaman saangat. Although we are in a way competitors, I am sure I can learn a lot from you.

Have you been working for the banks? In what capacity?
Yes I was with a few banks, namely CIMB as an RM. As an RM I had to handle all sorts of needs from the banks' clients, including, but not limited to financing (mortgage, ASB financing, cc) as well as deposit products (FD, foreign currency), and direct investments in our unit trust accounts (cimb principal and funds under CWA's wings). Not to mention their insurance needs (sun life)

As time goes on, one has to focus and I decided that mortgage (and to some extent, ASB-f) are the way to go, with insurance coupled in to cover the mortgage

We are off topic here so let's get the discussion back on track to ASB and ASB-financing
wild_card_my
post Aug 30 2018, 12:06 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(Abk92 @ Aug 30 2018, 12:03 AM)
I just do refinance my asb loan 🤓
Before that let me make it clear.

Im request to terminate my current loan (50k,25y,5.45%, fully insurance) at mbb on 2 Aug. On the same day,im apply for a new loan (70k,30y,5.05%,5y insurance). Then on 6 Aug, I received sms tellin that my new loan has approved.

Today on 29 Aug, my 50k loan already terminate at maybank2u. But the 70k loan still not appear.
As they mention, i need to start the payment on oct 18. So, is that mean i wont get 2month dividen which is for the month 9,10 since dividen is counting on lowest balance statement.

I need someone to enlighten me. A bit frustrated + confusing now.
Yes, you are correct. if the money is not disbursed by the new bank and ASNB deposits the money received to your ASB account by august, the minimum balance for August and September would be 0
wild_card_my
post Aug 30 2018, 11:25 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(Ronald K. @ Aug 30 2018, 11:21 AM)
Hey guys, it’s been a while since I last posted but just to update on our current rates in Ambank! For 100k and above, rate is 5.1% while for loan amount below 100k it would be 5.2%. As for 5%, a 1-year lump sum payment is required to be eligible for the rate.

In addition, rebates will still be personally given as well so do feel free to drop me a PM for more info if interested!

Thanks! smile.gif
Rebates are not... err.. corruption meh? Kickbacks. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif I suggest to do so in the down low and not in the open.

wild_card_my
post Aug 30 2018, 08:18 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(Ronald K. @ Aug 30 2018, 01:01 PM)
Corruption? 😅 That’s a strong word not to be taken lightly. Well it’s intended to be a promo that I’m currently doing only for online readers. Sort of how free gifts are given for credit card signup. Anyway thanks for the advice ya, will keep that in mind.
No, it is not to be taken lightly. I couldn't give direct rebates to the clients back when I was with CIMB as an RM. There are promotions, but these are sanctioned by the banks and not out of my own pocket.

QUOTE(voncrane @ Aug 30 2018, 01:17 PM)
They are not bribes and can be discussed in open..  nod.gif
You are right.. Rebates are just that.. Discounts redefined.. Buying cars, mobile devices, mobile data plans, houses, jewelery, paying for services, etc.. All perfectly legal.. Even TM and TIME ISPs give rebates regularly.. So meh.. Some gurus be like.. shakehead.gif.. Kek.. I better keep quiet again before being wrongly chastised again..  smile.gif
Don't be too sure about this, people's jobs are at stake here. Insurance companies have policies against such "rebates". When I was with CIMB, I was not allowed to give unsanctioned "rebates" to my customers. These sanctions may have been partly due to BNM's policy, the particular bank's policy, or even the branch and/or team that that the employee was attached to. You can't just drop an anecdotal experience and blanket authorize everything especially when you don't have much at stake - you are just the consumer.

For banks like Al Rajhi (which I also worked for) one would be sent for disciplinary action if he offers "rebates/presents" as a condition to take up any of their services. Al-Rajhi's policy, driven by their shariah compliance dictates that they can't ask the prospects to sign up for anything (not even for savings/current account) as a precondition to give them a present (even a pen). If they want to give a pen, they can give, but not with a precondition to take any services

I was not wrongly chastising you, because I was right and backed my assertions with numbers, figures, definitions, statements, and more. My suggestion to OP was to perhaps not do it in the open; or a the very least verify with the employer on this. Will you take responsibility in the event that someone is negatively affected due to listening to any of your untethered advices? Of course you won't, because you are taking this as if it was a game, while to them these are their livelihood.

Finally, if you can't take it don't dish it. No need to talk behind my back about it. I can take it however high or low that you want, because I have the experience working in these positions to back myself up - my statements are not anecdotal, because I am the source as I have worked in these positions.

QUOTE(Abk92 @ Aug 30 2018, 04:18 PM)
After several attempts calling the Maybank Officer to push them to disburse the 70k loan, finally at 3pm my loan appear at maybank2u site. So that mean, I only lose dividend for a month? Am I rite?
[attachmentid=9998734]
Not necessarily. Please check your ASNB account statements (it may not be updated yet) as to the date your units were bought by the bank on your behalf.

QUOTE(orbclyne @ Aug 30 2018, 04:38 PM)
Hi, for asb1 after hitting RM200k in the account, can we add another 100k via ASB laon? Mbb personel that i had applied the loan said i would not have to transfer out the money. My eligibility can increase. Possible?
You eligibility increment is increased as you earn the dividends, there are no limits when it comes to earning the dividends. So the question is, currently how much in the account is based on ASB-financing?
wild_card_my
post Aug 30 2018, 09:35 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(Abk92 @ Aug 30 2018, 09:33 PM)
Hi nope, I just terminate and reapply back with tiger bank.
How about below picture. Disburse already?

Congratulations.

Quite obvious isn't it? 11am.
wild_card_my
post Sep 1 2018, 02:11 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(ezrachan @ Aug 31 2018, 10:33 AM)
Sifu, correct me if I'm wrong.
Your post is accurate, although I need to double check with my sources soon on the DSR table. If I am not mistaken, for the minimum DSR of 60%, it is based on net income of RM3,000, not gross income of RM3,000. Things may have changed or I may have forgotten a few things. Will get back to this

But as a whole your whole post is accurate, including the DSR calculation

QUOTE(ezrachan @ Aug 31 2018, 12:16 PM)
Normally only for asb and house loan application. Not applicable for personal loan and cc application. Bank only take 80% from the future dividend. Let say for 50k asb loan, 7% dividend would be RM3,500. Only take 80% from RM3,500 and divide by 12 months you will get around rm233 for additional income per month.
*This is for Cimb bank. I'm not sure how others bank calculate ya 😉
It applies to other banks as well, except for RHB which sometimes only take 50% of the variable income as part of the applicants' income.

QUOTE(JJKTP @ Aug 31 2018, 05:55 PM)
How good was the promotion then?

Thank you in advance.
This is out of topic, but Prudential BSN Takaful still has medical cards that start from RM120/m~ for adults below 30. I would know. BUt any discussion of this sorts should be done away from this thread.

This post has been edited by wild_card_my: Sep 1 2018, 02:18 PM
wild_card_my
post Sep 2 2018, 09:45 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(annas473 @ Sep 2 2018, 09:42 PM)
Please share the link. Still holding enrich+ product. Need to clarify few things
Links? Er I do not usually do links, would prefer to explain in person or through a personal channel. I will have to hold this discussion away from this topic though, because we are going tangent.

37 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.2195sec    0.83    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 11:46 AM