University UTAR comments plz, do you have other choice?

TSmphpopular
post Jun 30 2008, 05:07 PM

bar chartist
2,214 posts

Here a new issue again. This is under fact and no offence to you all So as UTAR.

Foundation in Science student. Fail for Foundation Sem 3 management paper. So he couldn't proceed to his Degree.
So he have to wait for 6 month for next intake (January) and take the 6 months time to repeat his management paper.

In the meantime, He also go take the Lan subject during the 6 months. He apply for BM exemption (exempted), then he study for Pengajian Am and Moral.

So, finally after 3 months, He succeded to pass and waited for the January intake.

As usual, he went to his degree first semester class at January intake. He pass over all the required document to Degree office and tell them he has exempted the Bahasa Malaysia.

Problem arise from now :

He now in degree year 1 semester 2. The results cames out and it is printed there he get BAR-ed for BM.
He went to office and check what is happening and showing them with all the proof, include bills that BM exempted. And show them the foundation cert wehreby clearly printed (black and white). He has finish the foundation study with BM, Pengajian Malaysia, Moral all pass.

Firstly, GO officer, ask him to write a letter to Dean. He wrote it and explain all wif all the evidence provided. After 2 weeks of processing. Office reply is your appeal is unable to go thru. You need to pay RM 100 for resit your BM due to you get BAR-ed already. Then pay RM 100 more for exemption again. And also need to pay RM 100 for applying exemption for your Pengajian Malaysia and Moral.

So this is the question. He has sit for all the paper and pay for all. Now he required to pay again? The most worst scenario is GO ask you to pay 100 to resit your BM and pay one more 100 for exemption. And the another 2 subject also need to pay 100.
So, what's the problem here? He has the foundation cert, student bills which show he has pay for all the 3 LAN subject. And also the result that prove that he pass for alll the LAN subject.

I did not really want to bring this up as this is only a minor case. But i juz unable to stand around when all people thinking i was talking for fun.

Added on June 30, 2008, 5:10 pm
QUOTE(Elezend @ Jun 30 2008, 04:57 PM)
Chemical Engineering  sweat.gif

But I didn't join cause I'm applying for other university  hmm.gif and also I got more friends if I'm joining Jan 2009 intake  rclxm9.gif

CGPA: 2.83
Here's the prove. Did i lying to you guys? I am juz giving some of my opinion to let you know what is happening over UTAR. If you want, You really can go over Kampar and check it now. In my list, There is at least more than 20 STPM students started their first day by today.

Prediction:
Kena shoot again and i sure is the one who wrong again. Haha. Waiting for people who can give me a hand.

This post has been edited by mphpopular: Jun 30 2008, 05:10 PM
TSmphpopular
post Jun 30 2008, 07:58 PM

bar chartist
2,214 posts

Haha. Its real case. The GO already sent him the bill to resit BM....

It is a big misunderstood. But the officer didn't want to do anything and insist this is the only way.

I always believe there is good officer in UTAR. I meet some before. But some there did not want to do anything.

If i was not mistaken, every department having their own management and not related to each other

That student claim that when he show the letter of appeal to the GO to pass to DEan.

THe GO officer ask him to change the following sentence.

" I have shown my foundation certification, student bills, and exemption slip to UTAR PD office during My degree Year 1 Sem 1"

The officer told him that, if you wrote like this, you are putting the blame on PD G.O. Officer request him to change it to Foundation Department did not inform them about my qualification.

The officer is trying to put away the responsibility to Foundation office. So, i believe the management for each department is completely different.

He nvr tried to solve problem, but only tried to send out the problem to others department.

Note: I will try to get to the student again and ask him to send me the officer name.

This post has been edited by mphpopular: Jun 30 2008, 08:05 PM
TSmphpopular
post Jul 6 2008, 03:28 PM

bar chartist
2,214 posts

QUOTE(abc2005 @ Jul 5 2008, 01:12 PM)
besides the management, I think mphpopular has to put the blame on govt 's stupid regulations on private institutions to study these redundant LAN(MQA now) subjects that have already been learnt and relearnt in secondary schools.
Haiz. I blame on LAN again? Since when my english so bad until i was misunderstood that i say LAN no good? I agree that LAN is a process of must for every UNI and i didn't have any voice on that.

Erm, I still waiting for the student to pass me the officer name. By now, the only info i get is the officer is a young guy around 20 - 30, is an officer of PD block G.O. at level L1. Others info, i still waiting over the student to confirm with me.
TSmphpopular
post Jul 9 2008, 01:47 AM

bar chartist
2,214 posts

Finally i got the name. The officer is called MR Ooi. G.O. officer from PD block in PJ campus.

Here i bring another incident...

A female student has been injured badly in an accident when she rode her motorcycle to UTAR at the last semester, 2days before the exam end.
SHe was admitted into hospital for further medication for around 2 weeks. SHe able to has her friend to pass over all the MC and prove that she was admited into hospital due to accident.

She was unable to take the last 2 final exam. Now incident comes up that, UTAR tells her to pay for RM 100 for each of the subject for resit the examination.

She told the officer that she was in accident and caused her unable to attend the examination, she is not running away or escape from the examination without any purpose or any proof. She wonder is it posible to resit the exam without paying RM 100 * 2 = RM 200.

The officer told her that, this is our policy, no choice, you still need to pay for it in order to resit the paper.

So my question, the girl was in accident, and still, she need to pay for resit? Is the officer lazy to post up a question to the Dean? Or this is really what our UTAR's policy is? The girl was not really rich enough to pay for the RM 200. RM 200 might be nothing for some one, but i truely believe it might be her one month of room rental.

Added on July 9, 2008, 1:51 am
QUOTE(weihao2005 @ Jul 6 2008, 08:31 PM)
den department of finance is to collect bus ticket money?? the only real money transaction..lol
besides paper work...
no eye see...
biggrin.gif Erm...... Dont blame UTAR, as what all our defenders say, UTAR still improving, we shall give uTAR time, and when giving UTAR time to improve, many students are shorten their life time as well...

This post has been edited by mphpopular: Jul 9 2008, 01:51 AM
TSmphpopular
post Jul 9 2008, 06:10 PM

bar chartist
2,214 posts

I currently having a group of students who are trying to set up a comittee of SRS. Student Represestative comittee.

But this commitee is made for UTAR-ian. I knew UTAR themself having their own student representative, but i was told that, they are unable to do much for the students. (Not sure yet, still under investigate).

The students approach me, and they are trying to find man power over all the faculty. Quite suprise and impressed when they approach me wif this idea.

Their objective:
1) Help students to solve their problem in UTAR.
2) Sounds out problem that majority UTAR-ian faces in different campus, wif the aim = UTAR improve to a better UNI.
3) Students who facing problem or wish to complaint can go thru them if they are afraid or dunwan to face DEAN or head of department alone. They will go thru is it the problem appropriate and will have some formal action.

Due to UTAR have different campus, I believe they are finding representative in Every campus. So that, they able to solve the problem all over UTAR.

Wish them able to make it.
TSmphpopular
post Jul 9 2008, 10:45 PM

bar chartist
2,214 posts

Thanks ya Akane for checking this up. This might help the student alot. As i know so far, the student already paid up the first RM 100 for repeat one of the subject. I asked why don't he go complaint. He said he just lazy to take care this kind of thing, juz cincai la. He don't wish to go into Dean office again and wrote letter again and the letter not approve again. Kinda sad to see the student like this.
TSmphpopular
post Jul 10 2008, 01:22 AM

bar chartist
2,214 posts

QUOTE(Akane @ Jul 10 2008, 01:19 AM)
Lol. Instead of being lazy over there, he should be one who work it out to clarify things. My aunt can only help him check, should the problem solved or not, still depend on Faculty office and the student himself. Ask him check with the problem again, and this time, bring along some documents and a few friends when dealing with faculty office. Sometimes, it could be that guy who have communication problems, unable to express what he wanna say that lead to all these problems.
Ok, shall contact him again and ask him to go over again. I think he juz a rich guy after all, paying RM 100, he juz say, nevermind la, if RM 100 can solve problem, then cincai la. OMG. shakehead.gif
TSmphpopular
post Jul 10 2008, 02:03 AM

bar chartist
2,214 posts

QUOTE(Lover @ Jul 10 2008, 01:33 AM)
til now they also haven comfirm whether the current Actuarial science year 1 sem2 student have to go kampar or not.. UTAR = =
I have gone thru this with the officer of PD block before, what i was told is, Actuarial science year 1 sem 2 for sure will go Kampar by next year January. But year 2 sem 2 still is a uncertainty. This is what i get. But there is dont have any general or formal announcement from UTAr management level. So, shallwait for their further confirmation.

This post has been edited by mphpopular: Jul 10 2008, 02:05 AM
TSmphpopular
post Jul 10 2008, 09:04 PM

bar chartist
2,214 posts

QUOTE(shimy @ Jul 10 2008, 08:07 PM)
izit recommended 2 study actuarial science at UTAR??
How was your result. What i can say is AS is very tough subject. I shall rate it as high tough subject. So, think twice
TSmphpopular
post Jul 11 2008, 11:49 PM

bar chartist
2,214 posts

QUOTE(shimy @ Jul 11 2008, 09:23 PM)
my results ah ... hmm .. can consider ok lor ...
but not very very excellent .. juz ok only ....
i took a-levels ..now still waiting 4 results .....but my A2 is HORRIBLE ..
so i duno wat kind of result i ll get ....hopefully not very bad ...
de main reason i wanna take actuarial science is bcz i love maths ...
i hope i can take a course dat involves lotz of calculations like maths ...
my 2nd option is applied maths v computing ...
anyhow..my main worry is i m not sure whether i can get into UTAR 4 these courses or not based on my results
Bcoz it is a tough subject. You should get more opinion from those AS student in order before you make any big decision. Study is part of your road, make your decision wisely.

Juz think you love MATHS or Number??? As i knew, many AS student complaint to me that after they went into AS, they only found out they love NUMBER not MATHS. MATh is math which is differ to NUMBERS.

This is all i can provide.

QUOTE(SuN_RaE198 @ Jul 11 2008, 11:38 PM)
I've actually checked out your claim that they have to pay for the facilities they used.
Sorry bout my earlier mistake, you were partially right, societies are supposed to pay for the use of rooms/lecture halls/other facilities. However, this money doesnt technically come out from their pocket, as UTAR credits a few hundred into their account for the use of this so called rental.

But from what i understand, this is only a plan, on paper, they budget for all those rental, but there isnt any official deduction or receipt or anything. Since ur in FES, mind sharing what society ur in, since you've seen the receipt before? If you dont want to reveal it here, can send me a PM. smile.gif
Thanks for your help, we all appreciate it. Thanks

Added on July 14, 2008, 6:54 pmLatest news for AS students. All AS students will be remain in PJ campus.

As there is a student, ask is it we should improve our facilities over PJ campus bcoz there is a big gap over uTAR kampar and PJ.

What doc TOH answer-ing is,
My responsibility is to teaching, this kind of problem go over DSA.

I'm curious, we should refer this development problem to whom? DSA push the responsiblity to Head of Department, then Head push back to DSA.

This post has been edited by mphpopular: Jul 14 2008, 06:54 PM

0.0181sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:17 PM