4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

University UTAR comments plz, do you have other choice?

Pmc
post Apr 11 2008, 10:07 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
1,182 posts

QUOTE(LYR @ Apr 11 2008, 10:24 PM)
ya. i agree with you in this case. i'm facing this problem too.
i think tis is the main problem with utar lecturer.. They are master degree holder, sometimes i still wondering why their english is so bad, no offense, but yea.. its too bad until the student, sometimes cannot get what the lecturer is trying to tell.. Some are improving year by year.. but some i can see.. all the same.. doh.gif .. i'm in PA tho..
Pmc
post Apr 16 2008, 07:45 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
1,182 posts

QUOTE(devilousangel85 @ Apr 15 2008, 07:20 PM)
I'm a biomedical science student. final year sem 1. graduating in sept. like akane said, we're going to have our evaluation soon. but there are also other visiting examiner that came to our campus and gave some talks. and from the feedback, it's been said that the course is very all-rounded as compared to all other private unis or colleges. the lecturer in charge of the course said there will be an increase in 1 or 2 papers to make our course more all-rounded and prepare the students for the markets outside. currently, the course is being held in 3 years time, but it will become 3.5 to 4 years course in time soon. our equipments are some of the best, and there are some equipments that we do use that no other private colleges and uni uses such as the flow cytometry and other stuff. yes, the entry for biomedical course is much tougher than other courses. and utar oni will allow a max of 60 students for this course. if u get selected for this course,i would say go for it. cuz it's not easy to get in. but u must be prepared to have really hectic schedule with loads of notes and course works. but it will turn out to be worth it. i can say that our course is so hectic that, our lecturer is proposing to the admin to extend the period for our final year project dateline and presentation by at least 1 or 2 months. but the future students will be at ease as we're the pioneer batch. also, be prepared to be looked up upon by lecturers cuz mebbe due to the results, lecturers tend to compare and they will mebbe put more pressure on the students to excel esp on biomed and biochem as compared to biotech.
become 4 years course? that mean my batch will kena lor.. On May 08.. i'm from foundation at PJ there, will be in setapak in May. Ahh.. for the tough part, its been a widely discussed among my frens, and i've had a thought to drop this course, but i still convince myself to take it tongue.gif

QUOTE(selenium @ Apr 16 2008, 07:19 PM)
post grad? few of them lo. 3 of them doing in IMU and 3 of them in UPM.

most of them landed in Sales company which pays more but then you are working with stuff that u did not study lo

biotech job in malaysia sucks la unless you are a muhammad or and abdullah. and many ended up becomming embroylogist. for the company cryocrod and stemLife.

i working for Bio-Life which is a malaysian based company and a chinna company. but among many chinna company i think its the best la.

but still uncomparable to those large pharma companies like Pfizer and Msd or GSK.

dont even think of working in yakult because they only hire japanese and most of the biotech job are in PJ.

and one more warning. DO NOT FOLLOW DR ALAN ONG DO YOUR FINAL YEAR PROJECT

i from first class honours drop to 2nd class honours because he decided to change my final year project 7 times and give me a friggin C for it.

cilaka him
Erm.. only biotech grads can become embryologist ke? I'm taking biomed, but if can i wanna be an embryologist.. possible ? icon_question.gif
Pmc
post Apr 20 2008, 03:07 AM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
1,182 posts

QUOTE(eternity4av @ Apr 19 2008, 09:49 PM)
erm, i going there too, but i'll be staying at the temporary flat, how about you? when you''ll be going there? i till now also don't know when i should go there,
hmm.. anyone studying in kampar? wanna ask all the people there only speak cantonese/mandarin? mostly all is chinese rite? i mean the society there?
Pmc
post Apr 21 2008, 05:59 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
1,182 posts

QUOTE(Akane @ Apr 20 2008, 05:36 AM)
The Kampar ppl majority are Chinese. Cantonese is prefered but I guess you still can find ppl who can speak Mandarin.
heh.. die hard.. i banana cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

QUOTE(cyew86 @ Apr 20 2008, 11:43 PM)
i speak a mixture of mandarin/cantonese/english with my frens, but its sg long campus tho
but i dun think there will be much difference in kampar either
sg long different.. wat i meant is not the student, but kinda, people who sells foods n all those things..

ma fan la this utar.. until now still dunno need to stay in setapak for 1 year or 1 sem.. went and asked the office, they said dunno.. wat the.. they think easy ah to rent room, if only for 1 sem.. some more got contract 1 year(normal) with the condo. Even last time, when i go ask whether which course is in Kampar n which is in Setapak, they also said dunno.. What they know then.. sweat.gif

Added on April 21, 2008, 6:01 pm
QUOTE(toccatina @ Apr 21 2008, 04:21 AM)
i'm going to kampar on 20th May. courses starts around 26th? not sure, but sure is around that time.

I think speak cantonese is safer, later they slaughter you with expensive prices. Oh yea, I wanna get new furnitures and bed too, anybody knows where can I get those in kampar? I don't want sleep on the floor for 3 years sleep.gif
u r rite, speak cantonese is safer.. at least u seems like the local people =.= speak english.. sure die 1. wakakkakaa but no choice.. i think everything also nid ask my fren to help, even buy rice? cry.gif cry.gif maybe those furnitures and bed just buy from senior, which they r leaving from utar biggrin.gif then after 3 years u sell to ur junior again laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Pmc: Apr 21 2008, 06:01 PM
Pmc
post Apr 21 2008, 09:30 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
1,182 posts

QUOTE(selenium @ Apr 21 2008, 07:03 PM)
No worries. i was a banana but then i forced my self to speak mandrin. for 2 months i kena laughed at for speaking broken mandrin.
so i forced my self to watch meteor garden la(omg that was 40 hours of my life that i will never get back)

so now i can speak mandrin quite well although not pro level.
i got practice speaking.. but sometimes they dun understand what i'm telling(mis pronoun) laugh.gif then i stop talking.. lol some people actually laugh at me.. shit betul.. at my campus got 1 indian can speak mandarin 1.. at that time, he go to talk with my fren, which is chinese, but my other fren at the moments are indian frens, then when that indian guy talk in mandarin, all the girl look at me and laugh.. wtf vmad.gif

QUOTE(toccatina @ Apr 21 2008, 09:03 PM)
hahahaha

Added on April 21, 2008, 9:04 pm
i refuse to stay in westlake! it's rm295 for a room, the room is tad small. I found a room for rm60, bigger than westlake room with attached bathroom/toilet and connected with a large kitchen and large living room. And near to night market and shoplots. who are going leave utar kampar sleep.gif it just started. Nobody is graduating from there yet right?
think so.. nobody is graduating.. heh.. my fren find 1 storey house, 3 rooms.. rm260 whole house,unfurnished.. heh.. rich asses can rent 1 house.. lol

This post has been edited by Pmc: Apr 21 2008, 09:30 PM
Pmc
post Apr 21 2008, 10:15 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
1,182 posts

QUOTE(kanzakicyn @ Apr 21 2008, 11:05 PM)
haha...someone defending utar oh...

but one thing no matter what, everyone will agree.

the DEPARTMENT OF STUDENT AFFAIR IS JUST DARN TERRIBLE!!!!!!!!

Yes, i have been a committee for the department so long and they always promise you things and later they dont give it to you. Like my cert. They refuse to give me cert because i did all the work during my foundation studies. According to them, i am not a legal student in utar.

Best is, they dun tell u that ur not legal first, they say i am a part of this and that, it is my responsibility and etc.

Then when i finish all my servings for one year, they screw me up

Same thing happen when degree. Say one thing, do another thing, problem happen, say i didnt listen to what he say. When he change his mind he dun even bother informing us.

and worst is my singapore trip!!!!! they bllody hell canceled it without tellign me. I told them that if i go i need to do my passport. I asked the manager if confirmed going or not, if not waste passport RM300 la.

Then my worst nightmare came true, they canceled it without telling us. Until today when i go bug the manager for my cert, ONLY he say, canceled. If not then we all who go have to wait at the campus in the middle of the morning (5am) for nothing la?!

and our money.........gone.....................

Dun defend DSA, i got 1000000000000000 things i can PROVE and justify that the managers there are TERRIBLE.

Ask any of the student rep u know, they will agree......
and sometime the management is very bad in utar. The office staff may not earn much per month, but that does not give you the right to scold us when we come to the office. The face very black. Like we bunuh her family liddat.......
TRUE TRUE TRUE.. they all very rude 1... toooooooooooooooooooot.. today oni kena.. haizzz..!!!! vmad.gif
Pmc
post Apr 21 2008, 10:20 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
1,182 posts

QUOTE(CaptWong @ Apr 21 2008, 11:18 PM)
Hehe, am i lucky or wat?
So far i've never met officers / staffs like this..

All smile smile one~~
Some very sweet gok~~~

sorry...i'm in a "fatt hao" mode..
hmm... maybe u r at the right time and the right place.. lol
Pmc
post Apr 21 2008, 11:23 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
1,182 posts

QUOTE(db07mufan @ Apr 21 2008, 11:29 PM)
SAD SAD, the USA trip got cancelled too i suppose? Even S'pore got cancelled i think the USA one should be cancelled also...

Anyways only guy i hate in UTAR esp PA block is the botak security guy. ID harrasser.. where is your id?? Everytime kena
UHHH tat guy... suddenly i walk past him without id, then he ask "r u utar student" "where's ur id" "please wear ur id".. some more that day very lanc 1.. go to the place near computer lab, then do road block... lol.. using his hand.. then act like very yeng likedat ask student wear id.. lol
QUOTE(cloud0188 @ Apr 21 2008, 11:30 PM)
wa...im currently renting a whole house with frenz...whole house 900 bucks no furniture and does not include bill..its 20 mins walk go uni everyday...

where am i???the one and only subang jaya...u fellers are lucky ya know?
subang different storyy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
QUOTE(CaptWong @ Apr 21 2008, 11:37 PM)
"Excuse me, are you UTAR student?"
"where is your ID?"
" i am sorry, you must leave this computer lab if you don't have ID"

wahahaha..
shit.. really ke? wakakkaka

Added on April 21, 2008, 11:25 pmutar owiz funny 1 lar.. when new intake come.. want to enter the main door nid show id 1.. cheh.. after few months.. no id also dun care.. never check.. just pretend grabbing ur pants(finding ID) then just walk through oni.. idiot

This post has been edited by Pmc: Apr 21 2008, 11:25 PM
Pmc
post Apr 22 2008, 01:51 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
1,182 posts

QUOTE(toccatina @ Apr 22 2008, 02:21 AM)
tomorrow programming paper.. haih..  cry.gif

Added on April 22, 2008, 1:27 ameh, kampar got taxi or not? got taxi go to ipoh too? how much will that be huh? or take taxi go kampar town then take bus go ipoh?
programming.. die.. wakakkakak.. well mine was last sem.. 2molo mine is management study.. damn stupid laaa doh.gif
QUOTE(sheahann @ Apr 22 2008, 05:37 AM)
If this year intake for IT course also at kampar ? can choose to stay at KL campus ? september got intake rite ?
september no intake AFAIK.
Pmc
post Apr 23 2008, 02:16 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
1,182 posts

QUOTE(Nine9 @ Apr 23 2008, 12:40 AM)
eh... i wan ask ask, need wear formal or informal when to class ? perhaps what should and what should not wear ?
basically can wear anyting u like under the sun.. formal only required for some assignment presentation tho.. but i recommend wearing long pants, khakhis/jeans , sneakers, shirt any t-shirt or watever shirt lah.. You can wear slipper/sandals and short pants too if u want, but sometimes MR Weasly will be around and he will scold those who wear short pants 1, some kena, some din kena also.. Some even kena chase back home.. sweat.gif

sometime i see in exam, girls wear mini-skirts and all those thing.. they're eskimo izzit.. i wear sweater , long pants also can feel the cold, they gila 1..

Added on April 23, 2008, 2:17 pmtoday kena management studies paper 'ta pao' sweat.gif get incomplete tips..

This post has been edited by Pmc: Apr 23 2008, 02:17 PM
Pmc
post Apr 23 2008, 09:20 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
1,182 posts

QUOTE(kanzakicyn @ Apr 23 2008, 08:57 PM)
haha, that gothic girl famous in fict edi, everyone know her

in fict better wear long pants, veri cold oh this place

sg long i know quite strict. I wonder why @_@
bcoz sg long got case before?
Pmc
post Apr 25 2008, 02:44 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
1,182 posts

QUOTE(kanzakicyn @ Apr 25 2008, 02:16 PM)
i think i screwed my accounts paper today T_T

despite saying bad things about utar in my blog, (i was damn damn pissed then....>_< apologies if offended u guys) After rereading it again, i noticed that i sould change a sentence. The last line actually, i shd not have said if u have money go other institution. Cuz one thing about utar is, some lecturers are quite good, of course i had WORST in my foundation program. Dice pronouce and SPELL as DIE. sleep.gif in my test anf final papers sumore -_-lll

anyhow, for us who cannot afford much, at least mca helped us by getting an institution for us. (i "assume" that was their initial plan la, minus the politic and the blackmail and teh rasuah la) At least when i come out i have a degree in hand.

i still stand on my 2 feet and say, DSA is TERRIBLE. The DSA MANAGER is INHUMAN.

Utar management, is not good

but overall....ok-LAH.....
die is singular for dice 1.. sweat.gif

i screwed up my web page design paper also today, when i read the question, i was so pissed, the question is like so vague, so blurr.. Its like you can write anything inside.. need to re-read almost 6-7 times oni i get wat they mean.. I really against utar exam paper, some are ok la.. but some really like they don't have a quality control.. The question sometimes very vague(not me alone, my frens also complained).. Haiz, somemore easy/simple question give 8 marks, explain 2 stuff oni.. sweat.gif summore i dono how 2 explain.. arghh

some lecturer are good, but as i can see, the good one always left utar and went to a better place(since my sem 1, about 4-5 good lecturers tat taught me, left utar..lol some to s'pore, to UM..).. some very terrible.. Some AS IF dun have a clue what they are teaching!! they are like come in and read slides.. one of my teacher, she teach english for science.. the slides spell copper wrongly, became cooper.. and she pronounce it as coooper also.. sweat.gif sweat.gif

but nvm lah final over d thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

Added on April 25, 2008, 2:48 pmbtw.. where the heck is TS now anyway? kena whack liao? till cannot see own thread.. lol

This post has been edited by Pmc: Apr 25 2008, 02:49 PM
Pmc
post Apr 25 2008, 10:19 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
1,182 posts

QUOTE(kanzakicyn @ Apr 25 2008, 10:58 PM)
well, there is one thing u need to know, dsa headquaters is in fict. And in fict, NOTHING happens, because of them. To do something is just TOOOOOOO hard... where as in sungai long, it can be done promptly. They dun have a specific guidelines to what can be used and what cannot be used. To them (DSA manager) when mood bad, apa pun kenot, if good mood, maybe can la.... U can see very big contradictions in their words. Once i recorded what they said and then when they break their promice, i played it back to them to hear, they deny and deny and then force me to erase the recording. so................ I got nothing to say lor. U can ask those from fict who tried to organize things, in pes or pam is easier cuz ur handling with officers and they have been given some power to agree on certain things.
ques : "when u roll 6 die, what is the probability that u will get a sum of 30?"

so....die or dice?
dies laugh.gif well at least my paper last sem is all correct.. when its plural they put dice
Pmc
post Apr 25 2008, 10:55 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
1,182 posts

Speaking about the FICT... my final exam had been in PD block, its very stupid, since i'm from PA, nid to travel all the way to PD.. In PD where my exam is held, there's one staff there that's very lanc(a woman).. when i asked her some question, she replied me with one kind of tone, something like (things like that also want to ask), and she's rude, her english is terrible too! that day i forgot to bring my ID for final exam, i asked my frens they said nid 2 ask the staff to write something, kinda temporary pass. So i asked the staff, i forgot to bring id, wat should i do.. Then she asked me, u have IC? ( her tone is like asking me to give the ic to her), so i showed her.. Then she say "got that one then wat else u want", so i asked her whether there's need to make tat stupid temporary pass or not, but she seems blur, so she asked me, got exam slip or not, i say yes, then she tell me "go and take, take ur exam slip" with rather loud voice as if she's annoyed with me. So i bring her the slip then she point at the ID number stated on the slip, she say "ur ID is there already what" at tat time i still dun understand, seems my fren told me different thing. So i dun care already.. Why don't she just answer my question?? she like dun understand my question, and her english sux badly, hardly can speak and the pronunciation..

Not only i kena, my fren also kena, once ask her where's toilet, she answer with a loud voice and a fierce face.. WELL she dunno meh that all the students is from PA, we donno wat the heck, and where the heck is the thing in PD, even finding the exam place is troublesome enough!

i dno whether she's part of the DSA or not, but that's the most rude staff i've ever met.. other rude-ers are the bus drivers..
Pmc
post Apr 26 2008, 05:26 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
1,182 posts

QUOTE(db07mufan @ Apr 26 2008, 01:22 PM)
Muahahahaha, Ms Kong left sad.gifsad.gifsad.gif Soon Mr Ong i suppose, heard that he's leaving too. Two of the one of the best lecturers in their own field smile.gif
miss Ms KOng.. lol.. cute,hot and good in teaching! where else can you find a teacher like this! only in UTAR and NUS.. ahahahhah.. Mr Ong lonely mah.. sure leave also lar rclxm9.gif
Pmc
post Apr 26 2008, 08:39 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
1,182 posts

lol.. i visit his friendster page quite often.. and read his blog too..
Pmc
post Apr 27 2008, 04:49 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
1,182 posts

QUOTE(db07mufan @ Apr 26 2008, 10:59 PM)
Where is Mr Ong leaving too?
where where?? what link
try find dorae-ong
Pmc
post Apr 28 2008, 04:37 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
1,182 posts

sweat.gif he called me mr oxford.. because i wear oxford shirt.. sweat.gif then when he asked question ppl cannot answer, then he said "lets ask student from oxford".. then when i cannot answer, he ask "you really from oxford onot" laugh.gif .. then i said, i got go but kena kick out, so come UTAR.. hahahaha
Pmc
post Apr 28 2008, 08:15 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
1,182 posts

waahahha.. he seems very good at giving people new names
Pmc
post May 1 2008, 03:09 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
1,182 posts

QUOTE(Dr@gon @ Apr 30 2008, 09:40 PM)
Sorry to interrupt, but is there anyway to apply for course transfer before the course commences?  unsure.gif
Because from the guide that comes together with the offer letter, it states that course transfer can only be applied within first two weeks after the course commences.  sad.gif
I really scare it will be a mess for course transfer.  unsure.gif
erm if you're in foundation, around sem 3 that time, you can apply for course transfer also, but nid to pay rm100 or 200 i think, non-refunable. they have certain time which you can do course transfer, during foundation years, i think its about 2-3 times, and degree 1st sem can still change course, if im nt mistaken.. but its better 4 u to manage it earlier, coz its wasting money..

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0213sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:22 PM