University UTAR comments plz, do you have other choice?

kanzakicyn
post Jun 3 2008, 11:21 PM

449 posts

QUOTE(simonyw_87 @ Jun 3 2008, 02:16 AM)
any1 got terminated before?
i juz got terminated.
HELP!
talk to the dean direct, faster job done, after kau tim dean, then go and type a letter submit to go. Problem solved.

they wun terminate u unless u have been failing under 2.0 for 6 semester. Then if u still fail below 2.0 for the 7th sem (mean u take the subject 7 times edi) i suggest u better stop studying lor ~~~

my fren under 2nd probation until he pass his exam XD
kanzakicyn
post Jun 4 2008, 02:53 PM

449 posts

QUOTE(SuN_RaE198 @ Jun 4 2008, 01:37 PM)
hmm.gif 6 semesters? where did you get that information? sweat.gif my total course consists of 6 semesters.

maybe it differs from course to course, but generally you will be terminated if 2 consecutive semesters you fail to score 2.0 and above.

appeal can be done by filling in the form at the office, DSA wont be able to help you IINM. the form will ask you to fill in the reason why you should be reinstated as a student.

even if the appeal is successful, you will still need to reach a CGPA of 2.0 for the following semester. smile.gif
tats what my fren told me when he almost got terminated >_< mayb diff from course to course le XD

i also got a shocked. 6 sem? O_O

Added on June 4, 2008, 2:55 pm
QUOTE(CaptWong @ Jun 2 2008, 11:25 PM)
O_O

Wat have you done??
nothing in perticular XDDD

*keep low low profile XD*

This post has been edited by kanzakicyn: Jun 4 2008, 02:55 PM
kanzakicyn
post Jun 4 2008, 07:50 PM

449 posts

QUOTE(SuN_RaE198 @ Jun 4 2008, 03:57 PM)
nope, i checked..even the utar website says two semesters. smile.gif so ur friend must be kidding. tongue.gif
he edi failed 3 times below 2.0cgpa AND gpa rclxub.gif 2 sem below 2.0gpa n cgpa (didnt retake failed subject) then last sem he retake and drop one sem and study with junior, can do it again wor........... rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

maybe he appeal from dean kua, u know utar can bend rule for ppl one le
kanzakicyn
post Jun 6 2008, 04:26 PM

449 posts

can, y not? retake ur subject and do it concurrently with ur semester.
kanzakicyn
post Jun 9 2008, 05:48 PM

449 posts

QUOTE(jaunty_niel @ Jun 9 2008, 11:02 AM)
my housemate got terminated after failing 2 semesters in a row i think. later on he went n appeal, and they gave him a different course, business something something. now he's doing relatively better but i'm not sure with his current results.

anyone knows when is the ptptn loan coming?
unknown yet, u can check with DSA. Call up utar and ask for the DSA.
kanzakicyn
post Jun 20 2008, 11:06 AM

449 posts

new subject counted, replacing the older F grade score in the CGPA
kanzakicyn
post Jul 16 2008, 12:19 PM

449 posts

Juz think you love MATHS or Number??? As i knew, many AS student complaint to me that after they went into AS, they only found out they love NUMBER not MATHS. MATh is math which is differ to NUMBERS.

very true, on top of that, do u love the teories and the reason why certain therom exist? U will be learning how to prove and why probability exist and such.

AS student here, aih......

honestly i hate maths, but if tehre is a willt here is a way.

It takes roughtly 10 years to complete the external exam after graduation. But my fren is trying to complete it within 3 years. Some will just go thru it. Trust me, dont think that i am not good in this subject can skip la, kau tim others first, dun care abotu this subject, then ur very wrong. Cuz at the end of the day, almost every single subject i a pre-requisit for the other subject, and even if the subjuct is not pre requisit, inside u will find what u have learned before previouslly.

btw, alot of people complain there is no time. I am an as student, last week i have 2 exams, one on friday and one on wednesday, this week, i have exams on mon, wed and friday and an assignment due on friday, next week i have another assignment due on thursday and 2 exams on friday. U will be constantly facing exams. I semester there is roughly 6 subjects and assuming only 5 subjects has 4 test each, in total there is 20 test. Our sem is only 14 weeks. So..... every week test lor...

anyway, if u are able to stand thru hectic times and not fall down easily, then i can see that u have a shot in AS field, but if u are a person who give up easily upon hardship, then i think better dun waste money lor..... Anyway, even maths genius have to cope with huge amount of work.
kanzakicyn
post Aug 8 2008, 04:54 PM

449 posts

cuz the old president prefer to run utar like college and want it to be rapid paced...

Like AS was suppost to be a 4 yr program

i dun think utar students have difficulties in looking for a job, in fact, they had to complete what others complete in less time. We have to complete our course in 3 years while others takes 4 yrs.

so this will help us with time management... On the other hand, drop out rate is very high too

kanzakicyn
post Aug 13 2008, 03:02 PM

449 posts

utar has it pros and cons, thats why when i screw utar, i still def it.

split personalities ^^

and i went to sunway college that day, the only thing we have that is better and they dun have is out "reliable" lift (FICT block)
kanzakicyn
post Aug 13 2008, 06:29 PM

449 posts

today 8am liddat all student blur blur, one fella was kepit kau kau..... pityful. sumore so thin.

FICT lif like to lock people inside it one. Once i waited for 1 hour, bomba almost come
kanzakicyn
post Aug 24 2008, 02:00 AM

449 posts

well, courses like acturial science is hard because of the amount of mathematics and undertanding u need and time u need to spend on studying

i think for bio and chem is more on memorizing

and engineering is more on calculations (thei calculations are FAR MORE technical than actuarist!!!)

biz and mass comm.....this i dunno, i always thought this is easy, maybe cuz of memorising and assignment kua
kanzakicyn
post Aug 25 2008, 06:57 PM

449 posts

once a 4.0cgps scorer in foundation slumpe4d below 2.0 last sem T_T
kanzakicyn
post Oct 26 2008, 05:30 PM

449 posts

there has been a change of policy where wednesdays are no longer reserved for club activities and also the fact that one subject have few lecturers. Is this for short sem oni or long term??? O_O
kanzakicyn
post Oct 29 2008, 05:58 PM

449 posts

one subject few lecturers.

Then what about the wed after 2pm's rule of no classes? club and society how?

im a chairman of a club, so... i am just curious lol
kanzakicyn
post Nov 18 2008, 10:37 PM

449 posts

does anyone know the EXACT days / percentage for being barredfrom examination?

one of my lecturer says 40% actually..... but some say 26+%....

so i amabit confused

i know the usual utar law is 20%, but does anyone know the real one?

and i know u need to write letter to appeal, i did before and Dr Tan just look at my name, check list and see how many percent. I manage to see my percentage and its 15%.... and then i was more confused... how the heck am i barred with 15% unattendance???????????? Another guy behind me got 23.7%... and dr tan say no way.... bar appeal not successful.

so how???

This post has been edited by kanzakicyn: Nov 18 2008, 10:37 PM
kanzakicyn
post Nov 25 2008, 02:18 PM

449 posts

happen to my friend before, u will be accepted la, no worries
kanzakicyn
post Feb 6 2009, 05:43 PM

449 posts

once a lecturer from setapak said this "wah! fict like factory leh, i pity you guys"

but honestly, i prefer fict than other campus, parking space is moderate, but the access to shopping mall and other stuff like banks are very easy. Easier for you to do deals, check on prices and run events.

but alot of distractions lol
kanzakicyn
post Feb 6 2009, 05:55 PM

449 posts

QUOTE(i_love_japan @ Feb 6 2009, 05:49 PM)
lmao, i have to agree with ur lecturer. laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif

it's actually a factory. just UTAR take it and convert it into a so call "university".

the tutorial rooms we're studying in the basement are actually car park lots.

and yet we still need to pay RM4k+ for the fees. duhhh. doh.gif
I dont really mind if i have to pay RM4k for the tuition fee, i SERIOUSLY mind when i was charges RM600 - 800 for the RECREATIONAL fee sleep.gif cause i was wondering, "WHAT RECREATIONAL?!" The carpet??? The air con (which always is either not cold or too cold! -PD108)?? or the Trees?!?!?1

0.0197sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:15 PM