~~~~Clans of the Piano~~~, Piano,keyboard,syntherizer, clavinova!

vertigoblack
post May 13 2009, 10:21 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(don8ld @ May 13 2009, 05:49 PM)
Man, I want to start back piano. I finished my grade 5 like last 2 years or something. Lost the touch of piano. How do you guys remember your bass clef notes! I've trouble remembering them. But I can remember treble.
I want to start back ! Any advices?
uh.. jz practice back the songs that you've played b4? im sure you'll be back in top shape in no time. maybe 10 minutes a day (well works for me anyway lol)
vertigoblack
post May 15 2009, 12:56 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(cyloh @ May 14 2009, 05:34 PM)
Just started with a keyboard 4 days ago.

Very into jazz, so far trying to play by ear(but found out that is impossible for now). Any advice from sifu in here?

I want to get to the level where I can play with both hands and just play what I feel at the moment.
U gotta know your keys and your chord progressions (practice the scales A LOT 1. to familiarize with the key, 2. useful if you wanna do some improvisation and know where to plant your fingers), especially if ur into jazz playing, you need a very strong understanding of music theory. I suggest you learn play some simple chords first. once you get to the point when u listen to songs and go "ah, i know that chord, and what comes next" you can play what you want. Or even experiment more with 7th chords, inversions, etc.

And quite frankly, a lot of pianists can't play by ear. Especially those who are classically trained, they just know how to sight read from the sheet music and don't practice what they learn in their theory. THat used to include me. lol. so yea, if you can play by ear there's a big possibility you will fool those who learnt piano for 8 years.

http://www.playpiano.com/ I'm subscribed to this and found it pretty helpful.

btw i'm not a sifu. LONG WAY TO GO haha.. and personally i find most chinese songs easy to train/analyze chords, cuz they all sound horribly predictable. well, to me anyway.

This post has been edited by vertigoblack: May 15 2009, 01:05 AM
vertigoblack
post May 15 2009, 03:36 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(christellia @ May 15 2009, 02:31 PM)
If you wish to play according to your feeling, you need to understand the theme of the song and what is the message that the composer want to share. Then, enjoy the song. However, at the same time, you need to play with your ear. Listen to your playing and aware some special chords. For instance, diminished 7th chord, extended dominant chord and so on. Try to stress a little bit on them to let people know that there is a special chord in the song. The purpose of a composer to put the special chords in a song is to enrich the harmony of the song. Frankly, most of the pianists and keyboardists use to skip the special chords and replace it with an easier chord. This is a bad habit.
agreed:D

0.0302sec    0.91    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 12:50 PM