~~~~Clans of the Piano~~~, Piano,keyboard,syntherizer, clavinova!

Pseudonym
post May 13 2011, 08:45 AM

73 posts

QUOTE(liez @ May 13 2011, 01:08 AM)
Get 8 students a day and teach for 20 days you can RM16k. A lil higher than a normal MPO players.
So many Grade 8 students around?
Pseudonym
post May 13 2011, 03:01 PM

73 posts

but some skills can't be learnt by yourself... You go for class coz you're after the teacher's technique. Teacher can customise pieces according to your ability. Teacher able to identify the best of you and bring it out... youtube can't do it..
Pseudonym
post May 16 2011, 09:00 AM

73 posts

QUOTE(little ice @ May 14 2011, 10:28 PM)
performance:
1. regular gigs, usually at hotel or pub/bistro.
2. event and function gigs, usually high pay and mostly just 2~3 session of 45mins each.
3. concert touring for artists if you're good enough.

production:
1. session pianist, doing recording for albums etc.
2. being able to do arrangement, usually fully midi nowadays, rarely people still use pencil and paper. slow and lots of effort.
3. soundtrack composing which is somewhat closely related to arrangement.

education:
same as classical
mind you, contemporary music world is everybit as difficult as there're always intense competition (as in competing market) between colleagues. like classical world, you just have to be competitive and good.
Little ice, do you happen to know how to be a performer at hotels? i mean, who to ask? where to start? what songs pianist usually do? how bout the rate?

This post has been edited by Pseudonym: May 16 2011, 09:01 AM
Pseudonym
post May 16 2011, 10:29 AM

73 posts

QUOTE(little ice @ May 16 2011, 10:20 AM)
phone to them or email to them. seems awkward, but that's how it works. not sure about rate, usually more than RM100 per night, and i think under it's RM200. not exactly a good pay for full time, but if you're hardworking you can do other things during day time to make it  more $$$$. biggrin.gif
? you mean should do other things during the day instead of playing piano at hotels?
Pseudonym
post Jul 4 2011, 03:59 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(tkyong1 @ Jul 4 2011, 12:47 PM)
Hi guys,

Hi guys,

I am a middle age man at 42.

Being able to play piano was my childhood dream, unfortunately, i did not have that kind of luxury due to the financial constraint at that period of time.

I am now 42, everything is stable, and i proceed to fulfil my long due childhood dream.

Lately, i started to take "pop piano" lession at Yamaha music.

I believe, if i would like to progress fast, I must have a piano at home for practice.

There are many brands and type of piano in the market, i am not musician, it is kind of difficult to decide which one to get.

I really need advice from the music expert in this forum.

My question:

Q1 : Digital piano or acoustic piano? My teacher prefers digital piano as it is more fun?
Q2 : Which brand to get? Yamaha? Kawai? Casio?
Q3 : Estimated price? i am not familiar so must know some thing before walking into the shop (nanti kena ketuk).
Q4 : Where to buy?

Y learn at Yamaha? I kinda dislike them...
About buying piano... i wonder why your teacher prefer digital piano... coz you learning pop piano?
Actually it all depends on what kinda sound you like, and how much is your budget. Bout where to buy.. have to ask those in KL to answer you smile.gif

This post has been edited by Pseudonym: Jul 4 2011, 04:00 PM

0.0301sec    1.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 02:50 PM