Darklight's 12 day rotation, Based on request by pm's

kaspersky-fan
post Jan 14 2009, 02:02 AM

1,602 posts

Hey darklight79, hope when you are free you could visit my journal [ http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/805200 ] to give comments and advice... been doing rippetoe quite a while but due to exam, had some break and now rebuilding again... and i was wondering if i could do cardio on rest day of rippetoe?

This post has been edited by kaspersky-fan: Jan 14 2009, 02:03 AM
kaspersky-fan
post Jan 17 2009, 11:23 AM

1,602 posts

hey darklight, thanks for dropping by....was wondering for the program you've mentioned...hvt...we split the body parts into different days and from there, select several workouts for each parts[from what i've observed in ure journal]? At least how many sets? and could i add in cardio at the end of the workout?

Thanks again smile.gif
kaspersky-fan
post Jan 30 2009, 02:02 PM

1,602 posts

ROFL!!!, dropping by to wish you Happy CNY...and thanks for your suggestions and tips.... trying on them now....every workout seems to have some sore the next day lol...
kaspersky-fan
post Feb 5 2009, 12:25 AM

1,602 posts

Hey darklight... been doing hvt for the 3rd week now... not too sure how is my progress going but i feel that i got weaker,

Is it usual to feel that the same 25lbs dumbbells are dead heavy on this week compared to last week?

Would really appreciate if you could pop by my training log [ http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/805200 ] to give comments...

Thank you.
kaspersky-fan
post Feb 8 2009, 03:24 PM

1,602 posts

yo dark,

Having some problem here, I noticed that my chest has kinda shrink a little ever since changing to hvt from rippetoe program. But even during rippetoe I noticed such changes, probably the cause is I used to do full body workout 3 times a week before rippetoe.

I'm just wondering if I should try out chest workout 2/3 times a week while doing the hvt routine. Currently i'm having the 5 days body split being Sunday with the chest workout day... could I simply add 1 chest workout on a wednesday[arms day] and then another on a friday[legs day]?

Feeling quite depressed as my chest has became worst :/
kaspersky-fan
post Feb 8 2009, 07:19 PM

1,602 posts

routine:

-Flat db bench press
-Declined db bench press(plan to change to machine based)
-Inclined barbell bench press
-Db flyes

Sample of daily diet (eg school day):
7am: 1 scoop whey + oats(just enough to sustain 1hr)
8am: chicken rice / mee hoon + 2 eggs depending on the availability
11am: Choc milk
12pm: rice + chicken + vege + egg
3pm: sweetie potato bread
7pm: grilled chicken + rice <--pre workout
9pm: workout
11:00pm: 2 scoop whey + oats <-- post workout
1am: sleep

But the schedule above isn't really fixed, depending on my class time. About the 7am and 8am gap, I would be driving to uni (takes around 1 hr drive) and then immediately search for food when arrived lol.

kaspersky-fan
post Feb 9 2009, 04:13 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Feb 9 2009, 02:50 PM)
Here's a question. How long does whey last in your system, especially when it's the last source of protein of the day you're consuming before you sleep? Do you see the nutritional mistake there mate?
Aikz...i guess not long, perhaps within an hour? Should i eat some solid food as protein source too? Or perhaps a cup of milk ...? Or maybe sleep earlier? Because at such late night, I cant find any solid food to consume unless there is leftovers :/

kaspersky-fan
post Feb 10 2009, 06:39 AM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Feb 10 2009, 03:35 AM)
You need to understand that whey lasts in your system only 1.5 - 2 hours. And you're sleeping for 8 hours or so. That means after the whey wears off, it's 6 hours of catabolism. No wonder you're losing muscle. How about a meal of chicken and rice before you sleep? Or half a litre of milk with a scoop of peanut butter. Or milk with whey?
Yikes... i guess i'll have to go with a meal of chicken and rice(would either buy back or cook more during dinner), perhaps tuna and bread or maybe the existing oats with a little bit more + some meat if that is good too. How much serving are we considering here? I don't dare to eat so much esp when its getting late..scared of gaining fats. What about on days where I don't go to workout? Do the same too?

Really sorry to bother you with so much questions sweat.gif
kaspersky-fan
post Feb 18 2009, 11:23 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Feb 17 2009, 09:23 PM)
You still need some protein before you sleep. Doesn't matter on workout or non workout days. And use your judgment as to how much. Whey alone won't cut it for prebedtime.
Thanks dark! Will keep that in mind smile.gif
kaspersky-fan
post Feb 21 2009, 12:29 PM

1,602 posts

yo dark! ... i have a feeling my chest is still shrinking even though im with hvt now doh.gif ...im one of those with moobs and its getting more obvious now when i wear any t-shirts..previously it wasnt that obvious(previously with rippetoe, and before rippetoe was on some random 3 times a week full body workout)... what should i do? :/ :/ :/
kaspersky-fan
post Feb 22 2009, 12:13 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Feb 22 2009, 03:01 AM)
Lol. You ain't eating enough buddy. Both my partners are going crazy with chest growth. And it takes time. You just modified your diet. Don' tell me you expect instant gains.  doh.gif
Yeah i've been eating more lately... i dont expect instant gains, but...just dont want to see my chest keep shrinking wink.gif . Anyway will give it another few weeks to see what progress it is making before seeking your advice again.
kaspersky-fan
post Feb 28 2009, 01:39 AM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(gtoforce @ Feb 22 2009, 01:02 PM)
give it a few months dude
make realistic goals not idealistic
get to know your body first before making goals u dont think u cant achieve
else you'll be dejected
hey there,.. i've been trying this new routine for 5 weeks+...but everytime i look at the mirror...noticing my chest shrinking again and again.... i really want to know what factors that cause such to happen...i'm adjusting to everything that darklight told me to...

just today i simply inspect and again...it shrink again =.= ... should i add in even more volume on chest or do i need to train it more often, eg twice per week? or 3? :/

oh dark, need your expertise here, help!!!
kaspersky-fan
post Feb 28 2009, 11:17 AM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Feb 28 2009, 03:39 AM)
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
x2

You keep expecting magic! sleep.gif  I don't know what else to say. If you ask these kind of questions in bb.com you'll get laughed at. How can you expect instant results in such a short time??
Chest routine:-
Incline, Flat, Decline/Machine
Then some sort of isolation, flyes or cable crossovers, 3 sets each. Don't overdo it. More isn't better.
lollll... ok i maybe i am expecting magic tongue.gif ...will follow what gto said, wait 3-4 months for results..

QUOTE(gtoforce @ Feb 28 2009 @ 03:16 AM)
well since dark belum reply let me help
its been 5 weeks dude
wait la...
its not a bout routine that much

u jaga diet?
if u relied too much on whey/true mass/serious mass and all those supps, then yeah, no gains

water intake? at least 3l per day

routine?
up to u but do the basics only la wei

wait about 3-4 months then come back and see ur chest
i dont really rely on those, too costly... but i only take whey after workout
diet..been eating around 5-6 times a day all smaller portion except breakfast
water intake wise, usually exceed 6 bottles of 600ml...
routine...following closely to what darklight has advised

well i guess i shouldn't be too eager on the mirror for now... lol..

This post has been edited by kaspersky-fan: Feb 28 2009, 11:18 AM

0.0391sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 09:44 PM