Darklight's 12 day rotation, Based on request by pm's

Sp00kY
post Jul 1 2008, 12:28 AM

3,366 posts

I had the same problem when i first hit the barbell section, it is much better when you have a spotter to help you balance it.

Later stage, i hit the smith machine where i start to get the feeling of using the barbell. This means that i know which muscle to use to incline, bench etc. I started off with lighter weight to grab the feel. Once i`m confortable with that feel, i add the weights.

what darklight say is very true, u can always hit other machines. I am using dumbell now, i think it is harder than the barbell. alternatively, i will use the machine sometimes. Now, i prefer cable machines, it gives a good feel on the entire chest.

@Darklight,
Sorry to hijack your thread tongue.gif . By the way, I always do isolation exercise at the very end. Is it correct/okay? I usually start with compound exercise first which are the incline (want to pump upper), bench, decline, then cable at the end for isolation (incline, middle).

Btw, this may sound stupid. I am NOT (edited 1:35pm 1/7/08, typo tongue.gif )into bulking to super huge, I prefer ripped with a bit of mass. I am just wondering am i eating enough and training enough. Would really appreciate your feedback

I saw that you've been to fitness first curve, are u still going there? Besides, you mentioned those machines are in KG? I didn't know it, i just do saja haha. No wonder the 80 (total plates) is heavy enuf to lift me up when i dont pull it smile.gif.

This post has been edited by Sp00kY: Jul 1 2008, 01:36 PM
Sp00kY
post Jul 1 2008, 01:34 PM

3,366 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Jul 1 2008, 12:59 PM)
Yes, isolation exercises are done at the end of compound movements as finishers. I don't believe in the pre-exhaust principle of doing iso first then compounds though some peopel seem to swear by it.

I don't get your statement, you prefer bulking into super huge or you don't? Your posted sounded contradictory. It said you're into bulking super huge then you said you prefer ripped with a bit of mass.
20 sets may be a bit too much for you. Even i need to reduce my volume once in a while. You might overtrain.

Biceps and shoulders together are fine.
Ooops sorry, I am not into super huge. Typo error sir hahaha..perhaps i was too tired last night. I posted that when i was working. nod.gif shakehead.gif I dont wan super huge and i prefer ripped and of course with a bit of mass
Sp00kY
post Jul 1 2008, 01:43 PM

3,366 posts

agree and i understand what you are trying to say, maybe i shud observe my training + diet and change accordingly, currently i am hoping to add in a bit more size than my current only. ty
Sp00kY
post Jul 1 2008, 02:33 PM

3,366 posts

I am still uncertain on the diet thingy. well, perhaps i have a phobia of putting on too much weight, i was once 90kg+ haha.

Eat every 3 to 3.5 hours with high protein meals right? well, as mentioned my concern is still the carbs. Should the calories come from carbs/protein. hmmm.....ok, when u mean bulk clean means taking more carbs but preferably lo GI carbs? Yeah, malaysia has a lot of nice food and it's the unhealthy type drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif
Besides, what are the different training for bulk and cut? Bulk = heavy but less rep? and cut = light but more reps?
TY for the advise for a noob rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by Sp00kY: Jul 1 2008, 03:36 PM
Sp00kY
post Jul 1 2008, 05:24 PM

3,366 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Jul 1 2008, 05:03 PM)
There is no such thing as high reps for cutting and low weights for bulk. It's crap. It depends on how the individual responds to training.
So the difference comes from the diet and cardio training? blink.gif
Sp00kY
post Aug 15 2008, 12:22 PM

3,366 posts

QUOTE(jamis @ Jul 8 2008, 10:05 AM)
darklight i have some question regarding the workout article that i have read.

what do u think about this workout :

For strength and hypertrophy

each excercise consist of 24- 36 reps with 80%-90% of 1 RM (1 Rep max)

thats mean, we can spread into 5-6 sets, and each consist of 4-6 reps.

so as for starting, we can start on 24 reps for that particular excercise with the weight of 80% and increase the reps each week and once we can do a 36 reps then we increase on weight to 82% and drop the reps back to 24 and it will goes on for months.

My current workout is still following the OT that is posted in the sticky. and i have been training that for 7weeks, so nex week would be my deloading phase and starting from the week after i plan to get something new to shock my muscle. And the above training i would like to do it as a 5 days split. What do u think?

By the way my goal is basically mass building and make my exercise intensive enough to burn of some fat as well (reduce rest time to 40 -70sec).
wow 24 reps!!! isnt it super tough?
Btw, I still havent find out my 1RM yet...hmmm
Sp00kY
post Aug 21 2008, 11:59 AM

3,366 posts

Dark, can u give some insight on strength and mass training? I am currently working on ~20 sets per muscle group per time..(HVT)
Sp00kY
post Aug 21 2008, 01:55 PM

3,366 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Aug 21 2008, 01:31 PM)
Not so mate, I train for both. Hence even with high volume high rep workouts, i am still adding poundages to the bar every week.
so i should be continue my training as it is smile.gif. I realized when i stop certain exercise for a few weeks. I can do much heavier after that. That is why I am trying to find more varieties..

most importantly, i like hvt, i like the pain. thanks mate

Added on August 21, 2008, 2:01 pmhey, mind explaining the concept/method for width and thickness oriented training for back?

This post has been edited by Sp00kY: Aug 21 2008, 02:01 PM
Sp00kY
post Aug 24 2008, 09:48 PM

3,366 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Aug 21 2008, 05:35 PM)
No problem. Generally pulling movements on a vertical plane are more for width while horizontal pulling is more for thickness. However, you can accomplish both by varying the grip and the movement.
thank you. What do you mean by varying the grip??
Sp00kY
post Aug 28 2008, 08:38 AM

3,366 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Aug 27 2008, 10:18 PM)
Any rep range between 1-20 stimulates hypertrophy. It is almost impossible to discern the accurate ratio of muscle fibers in an athlete therefore a training program consisting of sets with rep ranges that hit all muscle fibers would be most effective. Even powerlifters implement high rep sets into their training.
If hypertrophy is the main goal, then the pump is what a trainee should focus on; fascia tearing. Anyone can get a pump on bunny weights though, so obviously poundages should be around 75-80% of 1RM.
a lot of new terms to me, wait let me google and learn more smile.gif
Sp00kY
post Aug 28 2008, 12:35 PM

3,366 posts

QUOTE(John91 @ Aug 28 2008, 11:28 AM)
Darn, I can't squat 1.5 of my body weight yet... I'm a Noobie sad.gif
Spooky can u?
1 month ago i cant, now i can la..smile.gif.but yeah it doesnt matter as long as u gain....my inner quad is growing...

This post has been edited by Sp00kY: Aug 28 2008, 12:36 PM
Sp00kY
post Nov 25 2008, 08:06 PM

3,366 posts

dude, glad that you are back...i've grown quite a lot from HVT too and i like it, but i think i`m stuck now...lats arent growing and poundage are kinda stuck too....need some advise..

yeah, i don't squat ATG, cant take it, injured knee once...better not take the risk..

i do agree less rest = more productivity, i try to finish my workout (18-24 sets) within 1 hour too and its awesome when i really sweat, i rest 20~30 secs between each set ranging from 10~12 reps..

can give me some comments based on my journal?

I`m still doing split-body workout: chest, back, legs, and adding in arms and shoulder if i have the time (in 1 week).

i remember u telling me that horizontal movements is for lats thickness and vertical is for width. so is single db rowing and pendlay row consider vertical?

ur training partners growth is scary..and great

Added on November 25, 2008, 8:07 pmsorry, any comments on dieting for bulking and cutting? both 6 meals a day?thanks

This post has been edited by Sp00kY: Nov 25 2008, 08:07 PM
Sp00kY
post Nov 29 2008, 07:26 PM

3,366 posts

hey dark, thanks for the comments on my journal (sorry for replaying late).

It is really useful and i will be keeping and eye on your journal for some inspirations too!!

I am a bit lost on what to do at times and i like your teaching as well as ur style(HVT).....i've tried 5X5 but it din worked for me, i love the sore from HVT.... rclxms.gif
(btw, i replied ur questions in my journal too!)
thanks !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Sp00kY
post Nov 30 2008, 08:12 AM

3,366 posts

OMG, 55kg? what's ur stats now if u dun mind?
what do you for your abs? abs gets used to exercises pretty fast and lost effectiveness pretty fast too, hence i always have to change my abs exercise!
Sp00kY
post Dec 6 2008, 02:03 PM

3,366 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Dec 3 2008, 01:04 PM)

Bro, you think too much. =) This is instinctual training. You do NOT go in with calculations. If you feel you can lift heavier, go ahead, if not, cut back the weight and do more reps. It's pretty simple but you will get stronger and bigger. That's the beauty of the program.

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif that is how i workout too! I prefer instinctive than planned workout!

Hey darkie, got the video of wide-grip lat pull down?Thanks in advance...
Sp00kY
post Dec 11 2008, 01:25 PM

3,366 posts

oh man, shoulder press more than bodyweight? that is freaking scary...i can barely press 30kg i guess..

darky, i have weak shoulders, and hence ditch isolation exercise such as lateral raise etc. i feel like the joints are cracking when i`m doing isolation exercise. Hence, i change my shoulder exercise to upright row and db shoulder press. what do u recommend?

Added on December 11, 2008, 1:28 pm
QUOTE(darklight79 @ Dec 10 2008, 10:17 PM)
He gets it up with his own unique style of deadlifting. No joint pain, no lower back pain, smooth ascent. So called strength trainees usually diss HVT saying it's not an effective strength program. I guarantee you he will hit close to 400lbs pretty quick. I get it up my way too:-

i hope that i can hit 400lbs too hahaha..but i seldom do deadlift but i have tried that day and i managed to deadlift for 115kg......super happy with it...but only managed for 2 reps, almost black out trying for the 3rd rep....HVT HVT!! rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by Sp00kY: Dec 11 2008, 01:28 PM
Sp00kY
post Dec 12 2008, 07:46 AM

3,366 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Dec 11 2008, 10:57 PM)
It took a while but it was a pretty feel good accomplishment.

Your "joints are creaking" during isolation movements probably because you are using way too much weight. Do you know I use only the 25's or 30's for dumbell lateral raises? My heaviest was the 40's. You're not meant to go heavy on iso's and seriously, ditching lateral raises is the worst mistake you can do. It directly adds width to you shoulders. Most shoulder pressing movements hit mostly the medial, anterior and maybe posterior head but not much of the lateral delts. Lateral raises do that.

What do i recommend? Scroll back a few pages for my shoulder workout.
115kg is good. Keep doing it every 2 weeks and you'll catch up.
Noted, will include side and lateral raise in my workout! icon_rolleyes.gif
Sp00kY
post Jan 6 2009, 03:49 PM

3,366 posts

wow, it seems that everyone has gotten the "HVT" !!!
I have been doing it since i've read this too Wuahahah...
good luck guys!

noobcake: I have tried to superset 3 sets only..i cant go more than that...its burning like hell..3 sets means:
Biceps+triceps, biceps+triceps,biceps+triceps..
i did this whole thing for 3 times, so total is 3 X 3 = 9 sets of biceps and triceps..guess what? I`m dead after that smile.gif

0.0309sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 12:57 PM