Photography Canon L Lens Thread, L-coholics Anonymous
TSianho
Mar 29 2008, 11:20 AM, updated 16y ago
Cucimangkoklife
Come, come, all L-coholics, come discuss all ur L Lenses here n also show off ur beautiful lenses n pics. I just got a 70-200 f4 yesterday n still learning how to make best use of a 70-200 lens. Any tips on how far we shud be when taking portraits with this lens? I also noticed a big difference in sharpness when I tried f4 vs f8 at 200mm. Is this true for the whole focal range from 70 all the way up to 200mm?
julchin_09
Mar 29 2008, 11:24 AM
OMG. A dedicated L Lens thread here. Hope to see some serious gears like the 100-400 in action or my fav 70-200 f/2.8 IS. If we lucky enough, maybe even the prime teles of 300mm, 400mm and above....
goldfries
Mar 29 2008, 11:24 AM
40K Club
wah ian, looks like you always cure your poison very fast ah.
anyway, care to show us the 100% crop of your shot at F4 vs F8 @ 200?
Lurker
Mar 29 2008, 11:28 AM
L U R K I N G
weee~~~ a gear thread! gearheads unite!
SUSdgrebel
Mar 29 2008, 11:36 AM
owh dangit! where's the bobba name list? here it goes anyway, i'm a proud user of canon ef 70-200mm f4L . yey! here's some samples:    works well under lowlight too.   notice the awesomeness of the slight radial blur? This post has been edited by dgrebel: Mar 29 2008, 12:28 PM
TSianho
Mar 29 2008, 12:14 PM
Cucimangkoklife
QUOTE(goldfries @ Mar 29 2008, 11:24 AM) wah ian, looks like you always cure your poison very fast ah. anyway, care to show us the 100% crop of your shot at F4 vs F8 @ 200? Cant really see it after I resize to fit 640x480. But when I open it up to actual size on my 30" monitor, can really see the diff. I suppose f4 is used only when we're really desperate for more speed or more bokeh? This post has been edited by ianho: Mar 29 2008, 12:15 PM
julchin_09
Mar 29 2008, 01:13 PM
Thats a huge Display. Apple eh?
db07mufan
Mar 29 2008, 01:30 PM
L lense sharp sharp if compared to my chikai SIgma.. Anyone has a 70-200IS f2.8 here?
How is it?
SUSdgrebel
Mar 29 2008, 01:33 PM
QUOTE(db07mufan @ Mar 29 2008, 01:30 PM) L lense sharp sharp if compared to my chikai SIgma.. Anyone has a 70-200IS f2.8 here? How is it? as i know, awesomeness goes to empire23's 70-200mm f2.8L IS and second goes to vikingw2k's 70-200mm f2.8L non-IS This post has been edited by dgrebel: Mar 29 2008, 01:34 PM
soulfly
Mar 29 2008, 03:22 PM
revving towards 10,000 rpm
QUOTE(yrh0413 @ Mar 29 2008, 11:42 AM)  Sooner we shall see Sigma EX, Tamron SP, Tokina ATX-Pro threads popping out...  Or maybe a kit lens dedicated thread
empire23
Mar 29 2008, 05:30 PM
Team Island Hopper
QUOTE(soulfly @ Mar 29 2008, 03:22 PM) Or maybe a kit lens dedicated thread  Lousy lenses don't get threads of their own  I guess there should be something special about an item rather than just ownership to justify a thread. Maybe a "High Quality Lense Thread" would be better I'm actually more in support of opening a Leica Summilux, Zeiss Superachromat and Apotar thread. I can only wish to own both of the latter. Can't help it, i'm starting to dislike Jappy lenses as keep seeing the sharpness from their Conti cousins
goldfries
Mar 29 2008, 06:46 PM
40K Club
QUOTE(ianho @ Mar 29 2008, 12:14 PM) Cant really see it after I resize to fit 640x480. But when I open it up to actual size on my 30" monitor, can really see the diff. I suppose f4 is used only when we're really desperate for more speed or more bokeh? eh, just upload a tiny cropped portion of it la. at 100% (meaning no resize lor)
Jim
Mar 29 2008, 07:19 PM
Some ppl use 70-200 2.8f L for potrait shots, so that the model don feel so weird that u stand too near her/him... Can I ask a question? mmmm.. the lense is so long and huge, how to use for potrait ah? convenient meh?
yrh0413
Mar 29 2008, 08:18 PM
well, normally people don't use till the 200mm end anyways.  Perhaps 70-135mm range to be more common.
empire23
Mar 29 2008, 08:35 PM
Team Island Hopper
QUOTE(Jim @ Mar 29 2008, 07:19 PM) Some ppl use 70-200 2.8f L for potrait shots, so that the model don feel so weird that u stand too near her/him... Can I ask a question? mmmm.. the lense is so long and huge, how to use for potrait ah? convenient meh? You can't stand too near lol, the Minimum focusing distance of this heavy biatche is about 1.4 meters, it's hard to handle due to it's weight some more so if you wield it with it's tripod collar and 2x Extender, but rest assured, take it out enough times and you'll have arms the size of cranes. Personally it does the 85mm portrait shots extremely well and it's even easier to do so with the batt grip. Plus it has the added ability of zoom versatility.
r4ydc24
Mar 29 2008, 08:38 PM
eh ian, i tot u are an alpha legionnaire? ahahahahaha... so long not update info lah...
derek87
Mar 29 2008, 08:59 PM
QUOTE(Jim @ Mar 29 2008, 07:19 PM) Some ppl use 70-200 2.8f L for potrait shots, so that the model don feel so weird that u stand too near her/him... Can I ask a question? mmmm.. the lense is so long and huge, how to use for potrait ah? convenient meh? not to say convenient or not convenient.. using dslr is already not convenient.. So why the heck care about convenience? LOL... some use 70-200 is to take portraits so that the model can express more of themselves because you are not around them and they do not know where you are too. For eg, wedding photography. some use 70-200mm even for studio shooting so that they get a clear separation of the blurred background and the model in the picture.
TSianho
Mar 29 2008, 09:02 PM
Cucimangkoklife
QUOTE(r4ydc24 @ Mar 29 2008, 08:38 PM) eh ian, i tot u are an alpha legionnaire? ahahahahaha... so long not update info lah...  I got both A200 n 40D mar.
goldfries
Mar 29 2008, 09:22 PM
40K Club
QUOTE(r4ydc24 @ Mar 29 2008, 08:38 PM) eh ian, i tot u are an alpha legionnaire? ahahahahaha... so long not update info lah...  Ian no affiliation wan. brand is not a religion.  you can use more than 1 brand and it's not a sin.