Xigmatek S1283 & thermal paste, Come and discuss!
lohwenli
Apr 15 2008, 03:00 PM
QUOTE(glock88 @ Apr 13 2008, 09:47 PM) if the tim applied is too thick.. will it affect temps and maybe make it harder to remove later on? please advice me. tq Well, it'll be harder to remove, but the real problem is that too much thermal paste will make heat transfer worse (too thick). The whole idea of thermal paste is to force out air from being trapped in between the HSF and proc (air is a horribly poor conductor), however thermal paste isn't really as conductive as most people think. QUOTE(magna_voxx @ Apr 14 2008, 11:39 AM) why at d beginning only d proc temp low...then after few days..temp not as 1st time installed d cooler?is't because of thermalpaste oso..? Your HSF mounting may have shifted, and the contact is not not as good as it was originally. Nothing to to with thermal paste.
lohwenli
Apr 16 2008, 12:54 PM
Alcohol or spirit works well too if you're looking for a cheap alternative.
lohwenli
Apr 17 2008, 09:00 AM
For some reason, CPU temp and Core 1 & 2 temps are usually not the same. The only reason I can think of is that the CPU temp is from a sensor underneath the CPU (on the mobo) while the Core is the thermal diode in the CPU. That way the sensor outside will register a cooler temp than the core.
lohwenli
Apr 20 2008, 09:12 PM
QUOTE(magna_voxx @ Apr 19 2008, 11:33 PM) why u so suprise...?my cpu temp 7-9 only..but d core reach 48-50 when i 1st installed it  There is something seriously wrong either with your sensor or the software you're using to read the temp. Or you are from somewhere really cold..like siberia..
lohwenli
Apr 25 2008, 01:37 PM
Well, I use spirit and cotton wool. Tissue alone isn't recommended, but in a pinch it won't really cause any serious problems.
lohwenli
Apr 26 2008, 06:25 PM
Thinner also works wonders on tough removals, better than nail polish remover (aka Acetone), but like nail polish remover leaves an oily residue you must clean off with alcohol.