Hardware MacBook Air Owners Club, Travel Light...

MacDaNife
post Mar 29 2008, 06:12 PM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

For an alternate view on the air, check out thePowerPage's Jason O'Grady's take on the MacBook Air here:

http://blogs.zdnet.com/Apple/?p=1467#more-1467

Have to agree with his assessment. But since I also have a maxed-out MacBookPro I can't complain.... I just like the (lack of) weight....
MacDaNife
post Mar 30 2008, 02:04 PM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

and I will just buy when I want the damn thing.... ;-)
MacDaNife
post Apr 10 2008, 08:09 AM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

It's a VERY small box dude...

(edited to add content)

In any case, updated with the EFI 1.0 update for the Air. The earlier one released inexplicably announced that it was "not required" by my computer. Oddly, this version (which bears the same number) installed without a hitch. No difference noted but then again, there were no stability issues prior to the update. So I guess it fixes what wasn't broken in the first place.

Since buying my SuperDriveAir: I've used it exactly ONCE. That is to test if my version of Command and Conquer will play on my Air (it will but after playing on my 30" ACD, it hardly is worth playing on the little guy). Since then it has sat quiet and lonely in my bag. I do feel assured that it is there should I need it, together with my USB-Ethernet dongle (which gets some play in the various hotel room broadband jacks) although I must confess the AirportExpress seems to be faster.

In the weeks that I've had the Air it has travelled with me everywhere. Places where I'd normally have not brought my laptop. It's size and heft also makes typing on the lap amazingly easy. The lack of flex and weight makes it a completely different computing experience. I've also used the Asus EEPC. That while small is excruciatingly slow and because it's narrow and wide, is not suited to typing on a lap.

Besides, it runs on a strange version of Windows which does not even sit on the same league as OS9.

This post has been edited by MacDaNife: Apr 10 2008, 09:08 AM
MacDaNife
post May 13 2008, 10:00 PM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

Actually, the MBAir and MBPro are selling VERY well. Better than I'd have expected anyway. That's what I hear from MacStudio and VR anyways.

I would also think that it would be quite logical that people buying these items prefer to buy from a brick-and-mortar store rather than a guy on the internet. While you could save a couple of hundred ringgit but when compared to the price of the item: is it worth it?

So talk may be fun, and it occasionally is cheap BUT I guess some things are not cheap enough to justify buying from anything but a regular store...
MacDaNife
post May 17 2008, 03:51 PM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

QUOTE(ajul @ May 17 2008, 03:22 PM)
where is mocbook air owner in this forum..?better put some of ur air picture here..;-)
Dude, I don't need to prove anything to you.... ;-)

This post has been edited by MacDaNife: May 17 2008, 05:59 PM
MacDaNife
post May 20 2008, 07:55 AM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

QUOTE(blu3_apple @ May 19 2008, 11:50 PM)
I'm not that into softwares, do we have to pay ? hmm.gif 
Fragile means I have to move it around with GREAT CARE . Like not to fold a piece of paper. haha i guess not, i mean is it to carry around, like if i put it in my bagpack, and im walking and it moves around . how do you guys bring ur MBA around ? a notebook bag isnt really an ideal choice
You're not into software? Wow, do you write your own? Learn to support the industry dude.

I've seen a speck hardshell case for the Air at Machines in the Gardens. IMHO however it makes you look like one of those guys who NEVER remove the manufacturer-plastic from the interior of your car. I've used my Air nude for a couple of months and it still looks pristine. I would be miffed if I were to scratch it but neither does that stop me from bringing it everywhere I go.

If you're just going to baby it - kinda defeats the purpose of having an ultraportable...

MacDaNife
post Jun 8 2008, 02:10 PM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

Why buy the Air if you want to run Windows/Linux? Why not buy one of the many (cheaper) Windows/Linux ultraportables out there? If you purpose is NOT an ultraportable but a machine that will run all platforms then you will be severely limited by the small harddrive of the Air and also the limited RAM expansion.

0.0181sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 09:48 PM