Maxis Maxis Wireless Broadband Thread #2, 3G/3.5G Broadband
prasys
Sep 27 2008, 01:44 PM
Heros Never Die
QUOTE(vios2002 @ Sep 27 2008, 11:26 AM) guy i have mod my maxis modem 2 ways to mod 1 is to mod the internal things the other ways is remove the eom antena and replace to a external TV antena the roof 1 .... it improve the DB.... cheap and easy.... screenshot and how its done please. I am sure most of us would like to know how it is done
prasys
Oct 3 2008, 03:26 PM
Heros Never Die
QUOTE(lucky8 @ Oct 3 2008, 02:23 PM) Hi digswell, thanks for reply, lately very into youtube to watch tv drama ... so nid more speed to download the episod..haha.. and for my msn dc matter, it's getting since day1 in last year, shud be not the idling problem... i tried direct plug in to laptop & plug in to network router also same results lor.. I've said a couple of times already. Its Maxis' fault. I can know who are using Maxis and MSN. I would be seeing their names singing in and signing off every single time (I used to be one of them as well).
prasys
Oct 3 2008, 04:48 PM
Heros Never Die
QUOTE(lucky8 @ Oct 3 2008, 03:40 PM) i wonder, how come my new hotmail account(lesser contact) with live msger no problem ar? is it due to contact address not sync?  Maybe the live account is on a new server or they are using a new transport protocol. You must understand that when you use MSN Messenger , you have two options 1) Direct connection with server - Usually MSN prefers this over HTTP method , as it establishes a direct connection with your PC to their Server. In other words , your file sharing speed would be fast and you wouldn't be having any disconnection issues. 2) HTTP Method - MSN Falls back to this method when it checks the ports are blocked. This is a fail-safe method whereby MSN Client connects to a their server over the HTTP Protocol. Of course when you're sending files to your friends , you're actually sending it to the server and then passing it to your friend(s). Rather then directly connecting with them. This answers why you are having slow transfer speed I guess the number of contacts might influence that as well. MSN's HTTP Protocol is well known for its sloppiness (especially if you have a large contact list like me) !
prasys
Oct 15 2008, 06:43 PM
Heros Never Die
QUOTE(rayfoo @ Oct 14 2008, 09:25 AM) do u get a public ip using maxis wireless BB? can we do stuff like Remote desktop ? any blocking? Yes , you do get a Public IP Address , however they block external connections. Meaning that you can host anything So if you want to bypass file sharing service limit (i.e rapidshare) then its possible !
prasys
Nov 2 2008, 02:41 PM
Heros Never Die
QUOTE(y_owez @ Nov 2 2008, 11:01 AM) hi there. just wanna ask. does maxis have contracLESS package/plan? thanks All of their packages are contractless , its just that you'll have to pay RM 200 handling fees when you wish to terminate it. Thats Maxis' definition of contractless
prasys
Nov 17 2008, 01:44 PM
Heros Never Die
QUOTE(hokkianu @ Nov 17 2008, 10:49 AM) sighs ... yesterday night tried to upgrade my ps3 firmware also cannot ... half way cut off already sian if complaint, maxis can/will do something on it? They don't really care. They'll just entertain , try to fix. If you really want to get things done , bring it to MCMC and then forward to Maxis. They'll solve your problem (hopefully)
prasys
Nov 20 2008, 10:53 AM
Heros Never Die
QUOTE(Malvo @ Nov 20 2008, 07:03 AM) i subscribe to maxis for 8 months and thinking of terminating it. do i need to return the modem during termination? thanks Yes . You're renting the modem !
prasys
Nov 30 2008, 06:12 PM
Heros Never Die
QUOTE(camel90 @ Nov 30 2008, 03:30 PM) is there any package without contract? and the cheapest is how much per month? i just want the sim, no modem needed and NO CONTRACT. is that possible for maxis broadband? No but you can opt for signing up for a normal maxis package (pay rental) and then register for their Internet2Go. Maxis is overpriced anyway. You should stay away from them at all costs unless you don't have a choice
prasys
Dec 4 2008, 01:55 PM
Heros Never Die
QUOTE(yan5619 @ Dec 4 2008, 01:02 PM) the method doesnt sound cheap to me~ stil under contract =.= Its actually cheaper in the long run. You could get a E220 Modem for like RM 350 (Its way better then you paying rental for that modem which you don't even get to own). Then you could use it with any provider , or even switch to Maxis Internet2Go. Once Yellow Guy comes with 3G , thats it. You could be using Digi's 3G Services as well
prasys
Dec 16 2008, 01:17 PM
Heros Never Die
QUOTE(kazami @ Dec 16 2008, 02:06 AM) http://www.maxis.com.my/personal/broadband..._b932_modem.aspim using this... downloading from sendspace website using maxis is around 10-15kbps streamyx is giving me around 60kbps to 75kbps same location and file which im downloading Can I have more details on the modem AskarPerang , up to 3.6Mbps (meaning that you can get anywhere from 0 to 3.6Mbps)
prasys
Dec 17 2008, 08:30 PM
Heros Never Die
QUOTE(ridox_orimabu @ Dec 17 2008, 11:59 AM) hey guys, i think i'm gonna apply the bolt-on packages (Rm118) since i'm a postaid user. i jaz wanna know how much do you guys pay during the registration and can the wired usb one stay connected like more than a week without switching it off? since its jaz plug n play thru usb, doesn't it like burn the usb connection port? or worst, burn the modem itself? thanks! Added on December 17, 2008, 12:29 pmomg..now after browsing some of the thread regarding broadband(celcom,digi,maxis..) there are more negative feedback compare to positive...is it the service really suck? now i'm thinking twice to apply or not... Maxis would automatically disconnect you if you're not using the Internet for more then 30 minutes (i.e idle connectivity , just keeping it connected. Even if you're doing nothing). So you can't like have it connected 24/7 , well you could run a keepalive program that regularly pings/surfs , fooling them that you're using the Internet Its okay. These are the drawbacks of using Wireless , especially in Malaysia. In Australia and other places you have an option of getting dedicated IP via 3G
prasys
Dec 31 2008, 04:20 PM
Heros Never Die
Oh yeah cracksys
It would work , but it takes time. You'll have to really work on it as in sending letters and such
Oh , its not free laptop. Maxis never ever gives stuff for free. Usually there are hidden charges and they'll ask you to pay for it. The difference here is that the Dell Mini 9 lappie comes with UMTS Module that allows you to use SIM Card. I am not sure if Maxis has unlocked it so that we can use with other providers once the 6 months is over
After that you'll have to pay RM 70+ if you want to continue to use maxis broadband with your laptop
If you ask me , its better to take the 12 months or 24 months installment direct from Dell and get the laptop
prasys
Feb 19 2009, 04:40 PM
Heros Never Die
QUOTE(- L e O - @ Feb 19 2009, 03:10 PM) My streamyx can eat shit , with rm99 power user promo package (tied to my line + 1 year contract,modem included), i get 2mbps connection when connected to HSPDA at my area. download speed @ 180kb/s ! syokness.  I guess you're new to Maxis BB Anyway , things would start to change later once you know maxis' true colours.
prasys
Mar 24 2009, 05:47 PM
Heros Never Die
Well , that's why I left Maxis
Main reason is that speed isn't stable. Cock and bull reason , saying 3G thingy and calling themselves as broadband providers.
prasys
Mar 31 2009, 01:19 PM
Heros Never Die
Simple its using UTMS and I doubt that Maxis has a lot of spare bandwidth to share (for upload). Chances are your upload would be well be dial-up like
There is no point rallying or venting your anger to Maxis. Now Maxis has found another market to venture into (Maxis Broadband seems to be like a playground/side business to me) - the iPhone market. So chances are , they'll be focusing on providing services for the iPhone as there are lots of big shot guys (yeah the datuks and datins are using iPhone with Maxis).
prasys
Apr 5 2009, 10:40 AM
Heros Never Die
Well , I believe there was a group led by a member on the so-called 18 months automatic renewable policy which they changed after that - thanks to the guy and the troop who fought hard.
chiakwang , if you can lead such a group it would be great for other Maxis Broadband in fighting for your rights in order to get decent speeds for surfing and for daily usage !
Chances are maxis just ignores them or don't really bother to upgrade. My best bet is would write in large scales to MCMC. Just like what we did last time , write letters to MCMC and CC to Maxis. Hopefully , some action can be taken !
My 2 cents worth
prasys
May 26 2009, 04:45 PM
Heros Never Die
QUOTE(wKkaY @ May 26 2009, 01:07 PM) Can I get a confirmation that Maxis broadband (without modem) is available contract-free AND can be terminated any time without penalties? Yes , Maxis' Data package works fine. You must have an existing postpaid line with maxis. The plan itself is contract free and you're not bound to any contracts. However , I am not too sure if you're signed up with a contract or not with Maxis' voice plans. You'll have to consult with Maxis on that , wkkay
prasys
Jun 24 2009, 02:41 PM
Heros Never Die
QUOTE(mochachoke @ Jun 23 2009, 11:44 AM) lol......yep till today i have downloaded more than 150GB and 5 GB or more /day...... but im looking for DiGi upgrade their coverage since my area have no coverage and because DiGi using HSPA...but maxis i have trouble with uploading.....  It sounds like you do have internal connections with someone in Maxis Its possible to get up to 6Mbps , their towers do support up to 7.2Mbps downlink (yes it does because they are bringing in iPhone 3GS and its another valid reason). So consider yourself to be lucky ! Beyond 6Mbps , its a no go. Sorry to say that , its either cache or burst speeds that you're getting which isn't the real thing
prasys
May 19 2010, 04:21 PM
Heros Never Die