OSK188, opening trading account

TSSeng_Kiat
post Mar 25 2008, 08:21 PM, updated 17y ago

5,580 posts

hi,

i am new in this field .. i want to know a few thing before i open account with osk188 ..

1. do they need pay slip to open and activate the account?
2. how much is the minimum deposit needed before we can start stock trading?
3. let say i want to buy 1000 units of stock worth RM2/unit, what is the amount should i pay? (includes all those tax, charges, fees, etc)?
4. let say i want to sell 1000 units of stock worth RM2/unit, what is the amount should i pay? (includes all those tax, charges, fees, etc)?
5. do i need introducer to open the account?

please share your knowledge . i am new in this field and looking forward to start in stock trading . tq ..
skiddtrader
post Mar 25 2008, 09:38 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Mar 25 2008, 08:21 PM)
hi,

i am new in this field .. i want to know a few thing before i open account with osk188 ..

1. do they need pay slip to open and activate the account?
2. how much is the minimum deposit needed before we can start stock trading?
3. let say i want to buy 1000 units of stock worth RM2/unit, what is the amount should i pay? (includes all those tax, charges, fees, etc)?
4. let say i want to sell 1000 units of stock worth RM2/unit, what is the amount should i pay? (includes all those tax, charges, fees, etc)?
5. do i need introducer to open the account?

please share your knowledge . i am new in this field and looking forward to start in stock trading . tq ..
1. As far as I know, the only requirement is you fill up their form sincerely. Which also happen to ask you how much you are earning. But no payslip required as far as I remember.

2. Normally they will ask you to deposit RM1000 in a trust account before they allow you to make orders. But as you trade and make payments. They will slowly allow you to make bigger purchases although you do not have the same amount in your trust account. Of course, you still need to pay on time. They will pay you 2% per annum interest on a monthly basis as long as you have at least RM1K in your trust account.

3. 1000 x RM2 = RM2000

RM2000 +( 0.6% or RM40 whichever is higher) + (0.03% clearing fees) + (RM1 Stamp duty for every RM1K) = RM2043.60 is what you have to pay. RM43.60 is the additional charges you have to pay your broker.

4. 1000 x RM2 = RM2000

RM2000 - (0.6% or RM40 brokerage charge, whichever is higher) - (0.03% clearing fees) - (RM1 stamp duty for every RM1K) = RM1956.40 is what you will get after you sell. RM43.60 is the charges you need to pay your broker for the 'SELL' transaction.

5. You do not need an introducer, but you have to talk to a remisier/dealer/broker for them to assess you.

The charges above applies to broker services where you call your broker and he makes the transaction/order for you. Online charges are cheaper on the brokerage charges, as low as RM12 minimum.

This post has been edited by skiddtrader: Mar 25 2008, 09:42 PM
TSSeng_Kiat
post Mar 26 2008, 08:06 AM

5,580 posts

what is the different between online and offline transactions? is only we key in everything sell and buy by our own while offline is we call our remiser to do it for us? am i correct?

brokerage fee is set to rm40 for offline transaction right while vary charges for online depends on broker is it?

Added on March 26, 2008, 8:19 am1 more thing,

is it legal to buy stock today and sell it back on the same day?

This post has been edited by Seng_Kiat: Mar 26 2008, 08:19 AM
skiddtrader
post Mar 26 2008, 10:55 AM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

For 'offline' transactions, you have to call your broker and let them know what you want to do. They will key in the transaction for you and let you know by phone when the order is filled. But please do not think a remisier/broker is like a secretary, doing whatever you tell them to do. They provide a service of advice, opinions, rumours and also can be a good teacher if you are new. Basically they are suppose to be professionals in their fields and are the best person to ask regarding the stock market.

For 'online' transactions, you can key in your orders personally at home/office without interaction with anyone. Whatever you key in and submit will be sent towards the broking house database of orders and is executed by them. Because there is no services of brokers/remisiers provided, you get a cheaper rate from the transactions. Although online transactions seems cheaper and more cost effective, I would strongly recommend you engage a service of a broker to better understand the stock market trading arena. At least until you are entirely confident of your own abilities before venturing into online and cheaper alternatives.

Yes it is legal to 'BUY' and 'SELL' on the same day. Brokerage rates are as low as 0.15% for 'DAY' trades.

joanalooidog
post Mar 26 2008, 11:14 AM

2,823 posts

Tumpang thread...........

If let say i already has an OSK trading account, and all the while I'm doing my buy and sell thru a broker. If i open an OSK online trading account, how much i need to pay for each transaction? RM40 or Rm28 for the service charge?
Will my broker get the broker fees if i do online trading?
ante5k
post Mar 26 2008, 11:40 AM

Antediluvian
1,173 posts

online service will be RM28, through broker is RM 40.. your broker still get a cut in the fees, just only less.

This post has been edited by ante5k: Mar 26 2008, 11:40 AM
feralee
post Mar 26 2008, 11:42 AM

Enthusiastic (R)(C)(tm)
4,897 posts

QUOTE(joanalooidog @ Mar 26 2008, 11:14 AM)
Tumpang thread...........

If let say i already has an OSK trading account, and all the while I'm doing my buy and sell thru a broker. If i open an OSK online trading account, how much i need to pay for each transaction? RM40 or Rm28 for the service charge?
Will my broker get the broker fees if i do online trading?
RM28 if u do trading via online
RM40 if u call up to trade
joanalooidog
post Mar 26 2008, 11:55 AM

2,823 posts

So the procedure for online trading is the same??
Open the account, trade online, then bank in the amount in T+3 day rite??
For selling, how can i get back the money?? OSK will directly bank in to my bank account? (maybank)
ante5k
post Mar 26 2008, 12:09 PM

Antediluvian
1,173 posts

QUOTE(joanalooidog @ Mar 26 2008, 11:55 AM)
For selling, how can i get back the money?? OSK will directly bank in to my bank account? (maybank)
for Apex, they bank in(by check) directly to my maybank account after T+3. i think others will be the same.
feralee
post Mar 26 2008, 12:17 PM

Enthusiastic (R)(C)(tm)
4,897 posts

QUOTE(joanalooidog @ Mar 26 2008, 11:55 AM)
Yes u r correct biggrin.gif
icon_rolleyes.gif

joanalooidog
post Mar 26 2008, 12:25 PM

2,823 posts

chun..........thanks all!! will be getting the online trading account tonight, cheaper service charge lah.......brows.gif.....
TSSeng_Kiat
post Mar 26 2008, 01:58 PM

5,580 posts

in cimb itrade stock right, they need rm10k deposit (min) before we can start trading with as low as rm8.88 brokerage fee.

if i open cimb one, can i withdraw the money from rm10k, let say rm3k on the next day after success the registration? is it possible?

to get 8.88rm brokerage fee, how much is the limit? tell me the details please .. thank you ..
joanalooidog
post Mar 31 2008, 10:27 PM

2,823 posts

tumpang thread again.
i already got my online osk trading account.
I log in by selecting the Real Time Prices tab.
Then at the lower right side of the page, there is a Live Trading Pad for me to do the trading.
It has the option of keying in the stock name, Quantity, Price, Session, Account and Trading Pin.
1. What i'm confuse is the Quantity. Stated there is Lots x 100, what does that mean??
One lot means 1000 unit rite? If i key in '1' in the box, means 1x100 = 100 lots ah? meaning the minimum purchase is 100 lots ah?? too much gua........
2. Can i purchase less than 1 lot, like 500 units?
3. And wat is the Account box for?? to key in my osk account number??
Plz help, thanks.

This post has been edited by joanalooidog: Mar 31 2008, 10:29 PM
skiddtrader
post Mar 31 2008, 10:59 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(joanalooidog @ Mar 31 2008, 10:27 PM)
tumpang thread again.
i already got my online osk trading account.
I log in by selecting the Real Time Prices tab.
Then at the lower right side of the page, there is a Live Trading Pad for me to do the trading.
It has the option of keying in the stock name, Quantity, Price, Session, Account and Trading Pin.
1. What i'm confuse is the Quantity. Stated there is Lots x 100, what does that mean??
One lot means 1000 unit rite? If i key in '1' in the box, means 1x100 = 100 lots ah? meaning the minimum purchase is 100 lots ah?? too much gua........
2. Can i purchase less than 1 lot, like 500 units?
3. And wat is the Account box for?? to key in my osk account number??
Plz help, thanks.
1 LOT is 100 shares. That is the standard Bursa LOT. Long time ago was 1 LOT = 1000 shares. Now it is 1 LOT = 100 shares.

Your account has an ID, which you need to key in in the account section. Your trading PIN, you should know.

To know what is your account ID, just click on the "Account" tab beside the "Order Status" button at the bottom as well. This will bring up a small window with states your account ID, your name and your account type.

So to buy 500 units/shares, just key in 5 lots. Which means 5 x 100 shares.
joanalooidog
post Apr 1 2008, 08:51 AM

2,823 posts

oh...........but when i communicate with my remiser, i say buy XXX 1 lot, she key in 1000 units for me leh........... Meaning if i buy XXX at price 1.00, i have to pay OSK RM1xxx leh...........

myusername
post Apr 1 2008, 09:00 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(joanalooidog @ Apr 1 2008, 08:51 AM)
oh...........but when i communicate with my remiser, i say buy XXX 1 lot, she key in 1000 units for me leh........... Meaning if i buy XXX at price 1.00, i have to pay OSK RM1xxx leh...........
Confirm with your remisier lah. Tell her you want 500 shares or 100 shares instead of 1 lot. Officially, 1 lot = 100 shares now. Myself also still refer to 1 lot as 1000 shares when chatting at the kopitiam doh.gif
skiddtrader
post Apr 1 2008, 09:02 AM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(joanalooidog @ Apr 1 2008, 08:51 AM)
Your remisier is old school.

To prevent confusion next time. Don't quote in lots. Instead of saying buy 5 lots, say buy 5000 shares or 500 shares. No confusion then right? Always confirm with your remisier/broker the amount you need to pay to ensure he/she key in correctly.
joanalooidog
post Apr 1 2008, 11:21 AM

2,823 posts

icic, old school remiser...............aiya, luckily got lowyat, haha...........
thanks all.

Added on April 1, 2008, 12:27 pmAfter placing order using online trading, then i select the Order Status tab, i can see my status is RECEIVED.
so how to check the amount of money that i need to pay?

This post has been edited by joanalooidog: Apr 1 2008, 12:27 PM
skiddtrader
post Apr 1 2008, 12:51 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(joanalooidog @ Apr 1 2008, 11:21 AM)
icic, old school remiser...............aiya, luckily got lowyat, haha...........
thanks all.

Added on April 1, 2008, 12:27 pmAfter placing order using online trading, then i select the Order Status tab, i can see my status is RECEIVED.
so how to check the amount of money that i need to pay?
Technically, yu haven't paid for the shares yet as it will only be settled on T+3.
joanalooidog
post Apr 1 2008, 02:21 PM

2,823 posts

QUOTE(skiddtrader @ Apr 1 2008, 12:51 PM)
Technically, yu haven't paid for the shares yet as it will only be settled on T+3.
i know i haven paid for it, but how to check the amount that i need to pay?

And this is wat i got from the order status

Date/Time Account Type Short Name Order Price Source Status Original Cancelled/Reduced Matched Remaining

0000xxxx Buy TIMECOM MYR0.500 Phone IN MARKET 2000 0 0 2000
0000xxxx Buy TIMECOM MYR0.500 Internet UNMATCHED 2000 2000 0 0

I try placing order thru online trading service and this is wat i got.
Y the SOURCE got 2? which is Phone and Internet.
And wat does the readings mean??

26 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0238sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:20 AM