Public phobia about dust on sensor, how do u overcome?

SUSdgrebel
post Mar 25 2008, 07:35 PM, updated 18y ago

Oldfag
2,475 posts

everytime i go shoot, i always bring along my elcheapo blower, tissues and a brush stick to clean off my sensor.

i donno, this have become a routine for me.. because i scared the outcomes would have dust on it and spoil the whole pictah.

any other ways to overcome this matter? especially for those event/wedding photographers like me.. or u just stick to one lens at a time?

Added on March 25, 2008, 7:48 pmawww crap.. wrong section.. haha.. plz move this.

This post has been edited by dgrebel: Mar 25 2008, 07:48 PM
SUSdgrebel
post Mar 25 2008, 08:35 PM

Oldfag
2,475 posts

QUOTE(TheVoIP @ Mar 25 2008, 08:11 PM)
Simple...

(1) Never buy CCD based dSLR if possible... They has relatively very high electronic static (try only turn on when you need to use), also waste power and contribute to noise. Older camera are worst. I used to have unsolveable nitemare with D70...@#$%@#$%.... Trust me, that camera issue cannot be solved...  mad.gif

(2) Dun change lense on windy and dusty place. It is why I carry 2 camera

(3) When change lenses, your camera should be facing down.

So far here is my record;

D70 -> everyday kena even no change lense and just serviced by Nikon.  vmad.gif  And there is only one solution, sell it off...  mad.gif
EOS 10D -> kena dust once at Bali, Indonesia because change lense near beach
EOS 30D -> kena dust once... forgot
EOS 40D -> Not Yet... But expected to kena at least once this year.

but my Canon CMOS sensor dust very simple, at home blow blow settle...  icon_rolleyes.gif
wahh a good guide there.. facing down eh? coz sometimes i always scared of scratching the lens, so i have to look properly for the correct inlet.

i agree that blowing is enuff, but if i use electrostatic rod to pull out the dust, will it affect the sensors? i'm thinking of getting one.

and why do i always notice 40d dont have sensor problem? is it that good? LOL. i have quite a number of friends using 40d and they all tell the same thing. quite jealous la.. blush.gif

@kelvinyam: yes we can heal it, but if u do HDR, aiyaa.. so intriguing la the dust.
SUSdgrebel
post Mar 25 2008, 08:55 PM

Oldfag
2,475 posts

QUOTE(mindkiller6610 @ Mar 25 2008, 08:53 PM)
try do ur test shot at f20 and above.

more or less, whether ur lens or ur sensor, most of the time some tiny dust will be there.

i blow my sensor and mirror, but one time i blow it with a wrong angle, the dust fly inside the penta-mirror and stay there. Nikon says need RM200+ to remove it, even still under warranty..
owh. f20 ya.. thanx.. normally the dust will appear as spots inside lcd preview when shooting TV mode. thats how i do test and commisioning before shooting
SUSdgrebel
post Mar 25 2008, 09:00 PM

Oldfag
2,475 posts

QUOTE(MR.Shiney @ Mar 25 2008, 08:55 PM)
meaning you changed it while not facing down? bad move.

it was quick and very prompt laa.. donno how dust get into the sensor, coz the shutter mirror is still blocking it. LOL.

i really love the 30d sensor cleaning mode, it automatically locks up the shutter mirror for sensor cleaning purposes.

sigh.. wish i had the E3.
SUSdgrebel
post Mar 25 2008, 09:38 PM

Oldfag
2,475 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Mar 25 2008, 09:34 PM)
I dunno about other cams but I read from the manual that the 40D has these sticky things at the bottom of the body to attract the dust there so it doesnt fly everywhere once inside the body. It also has an anti static layer on the sensor.
no wonder la.. hahaha.. mine just stick into the sensor. LOL.

0.0164sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 03:22 AM