Public phobia about dust on sensor, how do u overcome?

SUSdgrebel
post Mar 25 2008, 07:35 PM, updated 18y ago

Oldfag
2,475 posts

everytime i go shoot, i always bring along my elcheapo blower, tissues and a brush stick to clean off my sensor.

i donno, this have become a routine for me.. because i scared the outcomes would have dust on it and spoil the whole pictah.

any other ways to overcome this matter? especially for those event/wedding photographers like me.. or u just stick to one lens at a time?

Added on March 25, 2008, 7:48 pmawww crap.. wrong section.. haha.. plz move this.

This post has been edited by dgrebel: Mar 25 2008, 07:48 PM
SUSTheVoIP
post Mar 25 2008, 08:11 PM

Super General
5,793 posts

QUOTE(dgrebel @ Mar 25 2008, 07:35 PM)
everytime i go shoot, i always bring along my elcheapo blower, tissues and a brush stick to clean off my sensor.

i donno, this have become a routine for me.. because i scared the outcomes would have dust on it and spoil the whole pictah.

any other ways to overcome this matter? especially for those event/wedding photographers like me.. or u just stick to one lens at a time?

Added on March 25, 2008, 7:48 pmawww crap.. wrong section.. haha.. plz move this.
Simple...

(1) Never buy CCD based dSLR if possible... They has relatively very high electronic static (try only turn on when you need to use), also waste power and contribute to noise. Older camera are worst. I used to have unsolveable nitemare with D70...@#$%@#$%.... Trust me, that camera issue cannot be solved... mad.gif

(2) Dun change lense on windy and dusty place. It is why I carry 2 camera

(3) When change lenses, your camera should be facing down.

So far here is my record;

D70 -> everyday kena even no change lense and just serviced by Nikon. vmad.gif And there is only one solution, sell it off... mad.gif
EOS 10D -> kena dust once at Bali, Indonesia because change lense near beach
EOS 30D -> kena dust once... forgot
EOS 40D -> Not Yet... But expected to kena at least once this year.

but my Canon CMOS sensor dust very simple, at home blow blow settle... icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by TheVoIP: Mar 25 2008, 08:24 PM
kelvinyam
post Mar 25 2008, 08:30 PM

May beauty be everywhere around me
1,766 posts

I just ignore it and use CS3 to heal it. No big deal.
SUSdgrebel
post Mar 25 2008, 08:35 PM

Oldfag
2,475 posts

QUOTE(TheVoIP @ Mar 25 2008, 08:11 PM)
Simple...

(1) Never buy CCD based dSLR if possible... They has relatively very high electronic static (try only turn on when you need to use), also waste power and contribute to noise. Older camera are worst. I used to have unsolveable nitemare with D70...@#$%@#$%.... Trust me, that camera issue cannot be solved...  mad.gif

(2) Dun change lense on windy and dusty place. It is why I carry 2 camera

(3) When change lenses, your camera should be facing down.

So far here is my record;

D70 -> everyday kena even no change lense and just serviced by Nikon.  vmad.gif  And there is only one solution, sell it off...  mad.gif
EOS 10D -> kena dust once at Bali, Indonesia because change lense near beach
EOS 30D -> kena dust once... forgot
EOS 40D -> Not Yet... But expected to kena at least once this year.

but my Canon CMOS sensor dust very simple, at home blow blow settle...  icon_rolleyes.gif
wahh a good guide there.. facing down eh? coz sometimes i always scared of scratching the lens, so i have to look properly for the correct inlet.

i agree that blowing is enuff, but if i use electrostatic rod to pull out the dust, will it affect the sensors? i'm thinking of getting one.

and why do i always notice 40d dont have sensor problem? is it that good? LOL. i have quite a number of friends using 40d and they all tell the same thing. quite jealous la.. blush.gif

@kelvinyam: yes we can heal it, but if u do HDR, aiyaa.. so intriguing la the dust.
mindkiller6610
post Mar 25 2008, 08:53 PM

IT-Motion : Your Digital Solutions
2,477 posts

try do ur test shot at f20 and above.

more or less, whether ur lens or ur sensor, most of the time some tiny dust will be there.

i blow my sensor and mirror, but one time i blow it with a wrong angle, the dust fly inside the penta-mirror and stay there. Nikon says need RM200+ to remove it, even still under warranty..

This post has been edited by mindkiller6610: Mar 25 2008, 08:53 PM
mengsuan
post Mar 25 2008, 08:54 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

QUOTE(mindkiller6610 @ Mar 25 2008, 08:53 PM)

more or less, whether ur lens or ur sensor, most of the time some tiny dust will be there.

i blow my sensor and mirror, but one time i blow it with a wrong angle, the dust fly inside the penta-mirror and stay there. Nikon says need RM200+ to remove it, even still under warranty..
Which angle is a wrong angle?
MR.Shiney
post Mar 25 2008, 08:55 PM

Jacked into the Matrix
1,843 posts

QUOTE(dgrebel @ Mar 25 2008, 08:35 PM)
wahh a good guide there.. facing down eh? coz sometimes i always scared of scratching the lens, so i have to look properly for the correct inlet.

i agree that blowing is enuff, but if i use electrostatic rod to pull out the dust, will it affect the sensors? i'm thinking of getting one.

and why do i always notice 40d dont have sensor problem? is it that good? LOL. i have quite a number of friends using 40d and they all tell the same thing. quite jealous la..  blush.gif

@kelvinyam: yes we can heal it, but if u do HDR, aiyaa.. so intriguing la the dust.
meaning you changed it while not facing down? bad move.

its best that you change you lens when you need to. dont do it too regularly
since it might not help to remove it only making it worse.

i've experienced dusts problem before when i was exchanging lens with my friend's.
i ignored it and it all disappears.
SUSdgrebel
post Mar 25 2008, 08:55 PM

Oldfag
2,475 posts

QUOTE(mindkiller6610 @ Mar 25 2008, 08:53 PM)

owh. f20 ya.. thanx.. normally the dust will appear as spots inside lcd preview when shooting TV mode. thats how i do test and commisioning before shooting
mindkiller6610
post Mar 25 2008, 08:57 PM

2,477 posts

and why do i always notice 40d dont have sensor problem? is it that good? LOL. i have quite a number of friends using 40d and they all tell the same thing. quite jealous la..  blush.gif

just heal it before u process it to HDR.
SUSdgrebel
post Mar 25 2008, 09:00 PM

Oldfag
2,475 posts

QUOTE(MR.Shiney @ Mar 25 2008, 08:55 PM)
meaning you changed it while not facing down? bad move.

it was quick and very prompt laa.. donno how dust get into the sensor, coz the shutter mirror is still blocking it. LOL.

i really love the 30d sensor cleaning mode, it automatically locks up the shutter mirror for sensor cleaning purposes.

sigh.. wish i had the E3.
mindkiller6610
post Mar 25 2008, 09:02 PM

2,477 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Mar 25 2008, 08:54 PM)
Which angle is a wrong angle?
blow directly to the pentamirror, which means the area above the reflection mirror,
this will push the dust to fly inside to the pentamirror thru the small gap near the reflection mirror hinge.

This post has been edited by mindkiller6610: Mar 25 2008, 09:03 PM
mengsuan
post Mar 25 2008, 09:12 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

QUOTE(mindkiller6610 @ Mar 25 2008, 09:02 PM)
blow directly to the pentamirror, which means the area above the reflection mirror,
this will push the dust to fly inside to the pentamirror thru the small gap near the reflection mirror hinge.
If this happens, only your viewfinder will have dust spots right?
ianho
post Mar 25 2008, 09:34 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

I dunno about other cams but I read from the manual that the 40D has these sticky things at the bottom of the body to attract the dust there so it doesnt fly everywhere once inside the body. It also has an anti static layer on the sensor.
SUSdgrebel
post Mar 25 2008, 09:38 PM

Oldfag
2,475 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Mar 25 2008, 09:34 PM)
I dunno about other cams but I read from the manual that the 40D has these sticky things at the bottom of the body to attract the dust there so it doesnt fly everywhere once inside the body. It also has an anti static layer on the sensor.
no wonder la.. hahaha.. mine just stick into the sensor. LOL.
yrh0413
post Mar 25 2008, 09:45 PM

12,214 posts

QUOTE(TheVoIP @ Mar 25 2008, 08:11 PM)
(1) Never buy CCD based dSLR if possible... They has relatively very high electronic static (try only turn on when you need to use), also waste power and contribute to noise. Older camera are worst. I used to have unsolveable nitemare with D70...@#$%@#$%.... Trust me, that camera issue cannot be solved...  mad.gif
This is so so misleading. doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif I have more dust on my ex 300D than my current K100D sweat.gif sweat.gif
mindkiller6610
post Mar 25 2008, 10:07 PM

2,477 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Mar 25 2008, 09:12 PM)
If this happens, only your viewfinder will have dust spots right?
yup, few dust spots, some of them OOF, means looked blur,
there is one of them in focus, look as clear as the AF point inside the viewfinder.

I wish to know,

the AF sensor is inside the pentamirror structure,
or on the part below of the reflection mirror ?

This post has been edited by mindkiller6610: Mar 25 2008, 10:09 PM
mengsuan
post Mar 25 2008, 10:43 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

Does it look anything like the red blotch of light at the topmost AF point in this post? http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=16356471

My 40D have abnormal viewfinder since yesterday.
mindkiller6610
post Mar 26 2008, 06:19 AM

2,477 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Mar 25 2008, 10:43 PM)
Does it look anything like the red blotch of light at the topmost AF point in this post? http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=16356471

My 40D have abnormal viewfinder since yesterday.
erm, no, not like tat, my AF point's red light is not as strong as urs..
mine it just few dust spot, and only noticeable when under bright areas.

u have to contact Canon and get it fixed for this one seriously, it doesn't look normal to me.. unsure.gif

This post has been edited by mindkiller6610: Mar 26 2008, 06:20 AM
kelvinyam
post Mar 26 2008, 07:43 AM

May beauty be everywhere around me
1,766 posts

QUOTE(mindkiller6610 @ Mar 25 2008, 10:07 PM)
yup, few dust spots, some of them OOF, means looked blur,
there is one of them in focus, look as clear as the AF point inside the viewfinder.

I wish to know,

the AF sensor is inside the pentamirror structure,
or on the part below of the reflection mirror ?
Dust should not be in focus. Are you sure it's not dead/hot pixel?
davidmak
post Mar 26 2008, 07:48 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(yrh0413 @ Mar 25 2008, 09:45 PM)
This is so so misleading. doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif I have more dust on my ex 300D than my current K100D sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Hahaha! You know his remarks are always very 'inviting'. Kekeke! Anyway I know CCD has more static flow charge but I won't go to the extend to say that they attract dust. We need to know how dust enters the camera in the first place. In this respect, each and every DSLR camera (irrespective of CMOS or CCD) is affected.

Two types of dust:

Internal Dust
These are dust generated by the components itself due to extensive usage and the normal wear and tear associated with age. They will generate fine dust shavings and they will stick everywhere.

External Dust
These are dust coming in from outside the camera when we change our lenses, and blowing air directly into the camera. This act would blow more dust into the chamber itself.

These dust could end up anywhere within the camera. It could end up on the sensor (not noticeable until you take a picture), AF flip mirror (noticeable on the viewfinder), viewfinder itself, lens (not noticeable until you go to high F-number, etc), etc. Try to minimize blowing into the camera because it blows more dust into the camera. If it doesn't go away, then it must be behind the screen or something. Try lenspen, if you're having a sensor problem. Or better, send it for a clean up. No need to worry so much.

This post has been edited by davidmak: Mar 26 2008, 07:48 AM

0.0220sec    0.95    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 08:47 AM