Censorship In Original DVDs in Malaysia, Is it being spared?

thesecond
post Mar 26 2008, 11:11 AM

21 posts

As far as I know, my 300 two disc set is uncut and intact, everything is definitely in there, but it's probably because it's a direct copy of the oversea's R3 (probably taiwan or hk).

I brought alot of the local dvds as well even those repackaged by Speedy (with the speedy logo on the box), some releases by berjaya HVN(most expensive one - Transformers Limited Transforming keep case 2 disc Edition and yeah, the Indiana Jones collection), a few from Movie Magic and a few HK movies by PMP and yeah, Multimedia Ent- I didn't notice any cuts though, and the approximate time for the movies were no different from what I read (comparison with oversea versions - R1&R3s) from the internet.

So, all the chops and slashes seemed to be urban legend to me but maybe I am just lucky.

But, I have started to get stuff from amazon@us, amazon@ca, amazon@uk and yesasia lately, that is just for the sake of - they are much cheaper, better in packaging (especially all those whatever edition) and yeah, ya won't find some of them here locally. And yeah, four orders in a row without any trouble with custom makes me a happy man... laugh.gif
thesecond
post Mar 26 2008, 01:15 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Mar 26 2008, 11:36 AM)
if the movie doesn't have any extreme violent scenes or nudity, they usually will leave it as it lor... nothing to chop chop mar...

try to buy local version of Troy, you won't see the scene of  Brad Pitt sleeping with a few nude girls at the beginning.
Try also local pressed version of Naked Killer, all of the nude scenes are taken out, especially the maggie Q's love scenes
Well, I guess I was lucky then.

Naked Killer... Hmm, not my cup of tea... Troy... Well, this one deserved an R1 buy.

QUOTE(Agent001 @ Mar 26 2008, 01:01 PM)
The LFP should follow that of Singapore and be more liberal.  All this chopping just makes people turn towards piracy.  And not everyone can afford those imported DVDs.
Actually, I find that some imported dvds are sometimes much more cheaper than the local stuff especially with discount and all, but if ya pointing at pirates stuff, well, that's another issue... sweat.gif
thesecond
post Mar 27 2008, 05:01 PM

21 posts

Well, I am ordering my second set of Alien Quadrilogy R1 (sold the first to a friend\colleague) from Amazon@us(discounted 56%!!) and I will be buying the R3 set locally (from HKvideo, their stuff are cheaper) as well too, so I will have an actual chance to see the differences between both edition... tongue.gif

But again, that R3 set seems to be imported instead of locally package, so I doubt there will be any chopping...

I might have another chance though, if I would get the R3 HK release of Flashpoint from yesasia, then I can compare it with my local release...

This post has been edited by thesecond: Mar 27 2008, 05:04 PM
thesecond
post Mar 27 2008, 05:18 PM

21 posts

Ahh, guess I have to find some other titles then...

Yes, it's cheap with 56% discount, it's a gold box deal and it'll only last for a day (only 13 hours left)...

But then again, there's no real hurry, I mean Amazon gives out offer and discount from time to time anyway - I bought my first set during the big 50% sale, so...
thesecond
post Mar 28 2008, 02:59 PM

21 posts

Well, those are mostly listed as region 0 by HKflix.com... tongue.gif

0.0180sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 02:52 PM