Starting Kebab Business, anyone have any input?

TSbata
post Mar 25 2008, 06:02 AM, updated 18y ago

3,726 posts

Hi guys,

im new to this section, although i don't reply here very often, sometimes i take a peek too tongue.gif

a lil intro here, im a final year UTM student, as you guys can see, im doing online computer hardwares here, about 2 years now.
im a sc comp student, very horrible programmer, so-so designer(multimedia), and with very bad CGPA.
im in dilemma actually right now :

1) start working first? 2-3 years maybe?
2) anybody want 3rd class degree holderka cry.gif
3) i want to maintain my current business AND to add one more, i dont see i can handle 3 jobs well sweat.gif
4) i hate working in the office, i really like entrepreneurship

cut things short, in my college now got many Arabs, foreign students, got one burger stall, and i saw it is always crowded. so one day im thinking why not open one kebab stall?
they don't prefer our local food. The kazakh's even cook their own foods sweat.gif
i love middle-eastern and western foods by the way.

so i want to know who ever have inputs on :

1) what the margin would be like? 10-15%? 25% possible?
2) what the cost of the machine?
3) should i look into franchise in the future? im not doing stall forever blush.gif
4) how much can i give myself for a month? (salary/gaji) sweat.gif

My business plan :
1) start a kebab stall in front of my college
2) give a delivery service, they're scattered around campus area, and it is pretty big one

i did some googling and here's what i found :

kira-kira kebab

Malinja Doner Kebab
link1
link2

anybody have input on them? this one is the nearest supplier of roti pitta and the kebab's filling i can find here(Johor)

Chow

This post has been edited by bata: Mar 25 2008, 06:13 AM
naughtyz
post Mar 25 2008, 06:14 AM

1,557 posts

I have friends who has Kebab stall...Name Melawati Kebab, but it base in kl. i ask him last time cost to open it's like rm2k for the machine and all complete staff with Melawati kebab Trade mark Table cloths, umbrella and everything.

Yup..u are not selling the kebab forever....but 1 day u gonna be bos wat..c like kyros kebab lor...
TSbata
post Mar 25 2008, 06:19 AM

3,726 posts

QUOTE(naughtyz @ Mar 25 2008, 06:14 AM)
I have friends who has Kebab stall...Name Melawati Kebab, but it base in kl. i ask him last time cost to open it's like rm2k for the machine and all complete staff with Melawati kebab Trade mark Table cloths, umbrella and everything.

Yup..u are not selling the kebab forever....but 1 day u gonna be bos wat..c like kyros kebab lor...
yup..i know Melawati kebab, i once studied in KL, and in my hometown Muar also got Melawati Kebab.
i googled yesterday and did found they need partner, just need the capital and they will supply all those machines and ingredients.

but the problem is they're in KL
the nearest supplier i can find is that Malinja Doner kebab sweat.gif

can you ask your friend for my question like the margin and stuff? sweat.gif

Chow

This post has been edited by bata: Mar 25 2008, 06:22 AM
max_cavalera
post Mar 25 2008, 09:29 AM

rebirth
5,614 posts

Bro, its a good business plan. But i suggest for you to find a business partner. It is essential to have one since its pretty tough for you to doing it all alone by yourself.

The market is there. Don't be too concern on the profit on your first few months. Just keep doing it. The money will follow later when your business has established.
am_eniey
post Mar 25 2008, 10:02 AM

✿✿✿✿✿
3,314 posts

TS, I pray for your success !!!!!! it'S INDEED a good business
Sharvock
post Mar 25 2008, 11:34 AM

134 posts

Its a good business..don't just sell kebabs.. make sure you have various type of foods(french fries,burger,wedges,nugget). selling various type of food will attract more customers.
TSbata
post Mar 25 2008, 04:11 PM

3,726 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Mar 25 2008, 09:29 AM)
Bro, its a good business plan. But i suggest for you to find a business partner. It is essential to have one since its pretty tough for you to doing it all alone by yourself.

The market is there. Don't be too concern on the profit on your first few months. Just keep doing it. The money will follow later when your business has established.
yup, im not planning to run it alone too. Too hectic on peak time(maybe la). But hard to find good business partner, because you know, some degree holder thought this stall-selling things is not a cup for them. "tak standardlah" lol laugh.gif
my parents might object too because its a waste for my degree? blink.gif

QUOTE(am_eniey @ Mar 25 2008, 10:02 AM)
TS, I pray for your success !!!!!! it'S INDEED a good business
thx but not starting yet, ill try to contact the supplier first icon_question.gif

QUOTE(Sharvock @ Mar 25 2008, 11:34 AM)
Its a good business..don't just sell kebabs.. make sure you have various type of foods(french fries,burger,wedges,nugget). selling various type of food will attract more customers.
might add all that too notworthy.gif

Chow
am_eniey
post Mar 25 2008, 07:40 PM

✿✿✿✿✿
3,314 posts

take KYROS KEBAB as an example....see and take note all their menus
Hamano
post Mar 25 2008, 10:52 PM

118 posts

i already selling sish kebab since 2000..now already 8years.. XD basicly it quite good biznez..
TSbata
post Mar 26 2008, 12:36 AM

3,726 posts

QUOTE(am_eniey @ Mar 25 2008, 07:40 PM)
take KYROS KEBAB as an example....see and take note all their menus
ill take a look at their menu brows.gif

QUOTE(Hamano @ Mar 25 2008, 10:52 PM)
i already selling sish kebab since 2000..now already 8years.. XD basicly it quite good biznez..
sish kebab quite rare, usually people make doner one
may i know you set up a stall or more like a restaurant?
total capital needed?

Chow
SEDAT1975
post Nov 26 2009, 12:55 PM

QUOTE(bata @ Mar 26 2008, 12:36 AM)
ill take a look at their menu brows.gif
sish kebab quite rare, usually people make doner one
may i know you set up a stall or more like a restaurant?
total capital needed?

Chow
hi chow im turkish man i have allready set up orginal kebab stall in wangsa maju section 2 turkish kebab it going very well im selling totall setup kebab stall if you have time drop by here my number 0176140891 thank you
ICDeadPeople
post Nov 26 2009, 01:46 PM

783 posts

When I was in Brisbane i always eat this magic kebab. Its easy, fast and delicious.
Yeah, go on TS, its a good business i think.
DeLarafi
post Feb 18 2010, 11:34 PM

Ammar Tycoon
1,423 posts

any recipe or how to to make the kebab filling. i know westM got the supplier.. here in sarawak we got non.. so need to make the filling stick.. the big meat chicken thingy.. ourself.. got any tips?
pearlwhite
post Mar 25 2010, 06:51 PM

just take common stall like ramly punye.
then u simply buy some needed bread, beef, vegetables and so on.
then u just sell with the price after u calculate all cost.

i dont think u should buy the franchise rights like from any established one such as Kyros.

CMIIW
edyek
post Mar 27 2010, 01:48 AM

Business Rating :
3,820 posts

QUOTE(pearlwhite @ Mar 25 2010, 06:51 PM)
just take common stall like ramly punye.
then u simply buy some needed bread, beef, vegetables and so on.
then u just sell with the price after u calculate all cost.

i dont think u should buy the franchise rights like from any established one such as Kyros.
CMIIW
People want to get Kyros has their reasons. They are established F&B franchise business and they menu are ready for you to work and earn money from the moment you setup your stall.

If you think you can simply just buy a bread, beef, vegetable and so on, you might as well don't setup the stall. Im sure you will close up your stall in a short time. What is the difference from your way with those kampung style burger? Cheap but lousy burger?

rarahim
post May 4 2011, 01:06 AM

25 posts

There's this new place called Project Doner in Dataran Sunway, Kota Damansara. They're very new but they sell really delicious doner kebab which they claim to resemble those sold in the UK.. and the prices are much lower compared to Kyr*s.

Check them out here.

0.0210sec    0.73    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 04:12 AM