Difference between DAC and Soundcard, I would like to upgrade my soundcard

TSnaleh33
post Mar 24 2008, 04:17 PM, updated 18y ago

1,021 posts

Hi all,

I saw lots of ppl using DAC recently instead of sound card. They claim that DAC can out perform any good soundcard in the market. Is that true? What are the differences between soundcard and DAC?

Are the differences very obvious when pair with speakers like Aego M, MX5021 or Edifier S530d?

Please advise.
TSnaleh33
post Mar 24 2008, 04:42 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(vincent_audio @ Mar 24 2008, 04:25 PM)
i think i have answered this b4, a DAC doesn't slot onto your PC Motherboard and doesn't have a USB (well some does). But basically they does the same thing, which is to convert sound from Digital to Analog to be feed to your amp.

Yes a dedicated DAC should performs better as you can isolate the power supply to draw from a power bank which is alot less distortion and noise, while the soundcard has to draw the power from the power supply/mobo which is prone to ripple and noise injected to the power.

edit: no i don't suppose you'll hear much difference on normal speakers, you need hifi where the source, pre-amp, amp's power are isolated to fully utilised the DAC. In those setup, even different RCA cables gives different results smile.gif
Oh really? I din see any thread explaining this. Sorry for making you to explain again.

I saw some many LYN members are selling DAC like Yulong, Zero, iBasso. What about those DAC? They have USB connection as well. What are those USB connection for if DAC is connected to its own power supply. Some DAC has amp in it as well right? I am a noob in these stuffs. Get really confused reading those threads sometimes rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

How do you define normal speakers?? Speakers like Aego M, MX5021, are those normal to you?

I am planning to upgrade my speaker( eg Aego M, MX5021) but dun noe whether should I buy a good soundcard or a budget DAC around RM400-600 I guess.

So need some experts to give me some opinions.

I use my PC audio system more for movies/TV Shows/animes than music and games.
TSnaleh33
post Mar 24 2008, 05:00 PM

1,021 posts

@GodLuvSxS
@Najmods

Thanks for your advice and explanation. In this case what kind of sound card should I go for? There are many types in the market.

One more thing, this is abit out of the topic. Since u all say that DAC is for Hi-Fi system. Are AV receiver a high end DAC? As I am planning to get a Hi-Fi system end of this year.
TSnaleh33
post Mar 24 2008, 08:04 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(GodLuvSxS @ Mar 24 2008, 05:31 PM)
AV receiver is amplifier, it receive signal from source and then amplify it. May I know what kind of Hi-Fi system you trying to get? Like those Sony dunno how many k watt combo type? or normal separate like AE? And your purpose of getting this is for movie purpose?
Actually, I have already a set of Philip Home Theatre set model HT3110. It is brand new, win it in a golf competition. So I am wondering should I get a AC receiver to boost the system. However, I do wana to buy a good receiver so that it can be reused when I upgrade my system in the future.

What kind of AV receiver should I get? Budget around 1K - 3K for AV receiver.

the technical spec for the HT set is http://www.p4c.philips.com/files/h/hts3110..._98_pss_aen.pdf.

Added on March 24, 2008, 8:16 pm
QUOTE(Sieg @ Mar 24 2008, 07:51 PM)
If you're serious about music, get a stand-alone DAC then, if what you mainly do is watching movie only. A decent soundcard should suffice. Unless you're into home theatre.... brows.gif
I mainly used it for watching movie only. Yeah many of them just advise to buy a better speaker and a soundcard will be sufficient.

But what kind of sound card should I buy which is good for movies, gaming and music? There are too many choices iin the market. Budget for sound card probably around RM300++

This post has been edited by naleh33: Mar 24 2008, 08:16 PM
TSnaleh33
post Mar 24 2008, 10:57 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(walabies @ Mar 24 2008, 10:41 PM)
After all those technical terms, I dunno whether he's confused or not laugh.gif
I hope he understands and ultimately, it goes to your budget and the purpose of usage. Don't get something which is useless to you.
Wah.... really information overflow... especially those electronic jargons that the experts used rclxub.gif rclxub.gif . I have to digest abit. But from those explanation, for me, I will just need a fairly well speaker and soundcard and it will do the job nicely icon_rolleyes.gif

But really thank you for everyone information. It is really enlightening. Let me gain more knowledge on audiophille then I start playing with those gadgets. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
TSnaleh33
post Mar 24 2008, 11:18 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(PcWork @ Mar 24 2008, 11:00 PM)
at this moment, i really suggest u for altec lansing MX5021 (this model only, the upgraded version doesn't sound good to me)
and audigy2 ZS
Yeah I am considering Altec Lansing MX5021. But some ppl said that Edifier S530D is much better for movies. Even better than Aego M. But I will still go listen for myself to make up my mind. I heard that your DIY cables are very good. Will cables make a significant different if it is replaced with the stock cables?

But I think now is quite hard to get audigy2 ZS right? How much is the card?

This post has been edited by naleh33: Mar 24 2008, 11:46 PM

0.1800sec    0.15    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:18 AM