ASUS motherboard overclocking discussion, ASUS mb owners come to discuss here.
Da'men
Jun 20 2008, 07:25 PM
Just got Asus P5Q-Pro + Core2Duo E8400 + 4 gigs Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800 + Zotac 8800GT + WD 500G x2 RAID 0
so far very satisfied with the board. Able to overclock to 4 GHz (9x fsb 445) effortlessly , no change in vcore.
only thing is Temps high. Using Lian Li PC-07 + Gemini II (2 fans+ Artic Cool-MX2) idle temps 40 C but after orthos for 15 minutes temps max at 64 c. I think can overclock more but don't dare becoz of temps. Funny though, heatsink mildly warm only.
any how...3Dmark 2006 is 13200+
Da'men
Jun 23 2008, 07:11 PM
[n]@DAMEN u got the bad batch one the heatsink is not properly tight go send back for repair dont repair urself or if the bolts are the normal type just try tightening it [/quote] You mean the bad batch is my CPU or my Gemini II cooler....  .....I tightened the bolt for the cooler the best I can.....I am not sure if it may damage the CPU or MOBO if i twist any further. Thanks for ur suggestion though I heard that CPU temps in 8400 can be wacky....how is ur temps?
Da'men
Jun 24 2008, 06:33 PM
QUOTE(lightonokira @ Jun 23 2008, 09:01 PM) heatsink mildly warm weird wei shud be hot Added on June 23, 2008, 9:06 pmtry bolt thru kit Where can get bolt thru kit? sorry for noob question. This post has been edited by Da'men: Jun 24 2008, 06:33 PM
Da'men
Aug 26 2008, 06:33 PM
This is my rig:
Wolfdale 8400@9x471=4239 Ghz stock voltage cooled with Coolermaster GeminiII
Asus P5QPro
Aeneon XTune DDR2 1066 4 gigs at stock voltage of 1.8V
Zotac 8800GT Amp edition
2 x WD500 Gig in raid 0 configuration
Coolermaster Real Power 550W in Lian Li PC-05 aluminium casing
I was not able to increase my FSB above 447 when I was using Corsair XMS2 DDR2800 even when I increased the ram voltage. Aeneon is great.....reaching 4.24 Ghz all at stock. I just had to increase the FSB in the bios.
System is stable. Completed 3dMark2006 and had a score of 13955.
I ran Orthos for >30 minutes without any problems but temperature was peaking at 65 degrees Celsius. idle 40 degrees Celcius.