17 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Bottom

Chevy Optra User Club, Magnum owners, Welcome in !

TSericmaxman
post Sep 29 2011, 06:30 PM

-
7,951 posts

Car could be sold soon due to sheer amount of problems it has currently
ScOttY_PanG
post Sep 29 2011, 10:14 PM

382 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Sep 29 2011, 06:30 PM)
Car could be sold soon due to sheer amount of problems it has currently
What do you mean by that??
Not worth to buy??
TSericmaxman
post Sep 29 2011, 10:16 PM

-
7,951 posts

QUOTE(ScOttY_PanG @ Sep 29 2011, 10:14 PM)
What do you mean by that??
Not worth to buy??
Depends on the one you looking at la.

If you lucky you get a good condition one. Be very careful when buying second hand units.
adri4n
post Sep 30 2011, 06:11 PM

Running in Circles... Going No Where
1,850 posts

recently car starting to vibrate and growling sound from the air con when accelerate... and also while idling air con got very noisy belt sound..

any indicator wat can be wrong ka?
jovin
post Oct 8 2011, 12:09 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(adri4n @ Sep 30 2011, 06:11 PM)
recently car starting to vibrate and growling sound from the air con when accelerate... and also while idling air con got very noisy belt sound..

Bro,
Can try solve it at Korean Car Mates at Jln Ipoh.
www.korean.com.my
ajay
post Oct 15 2011, 12:40 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(adri4n @ Sep 30 2011, 06:11 PM)

Hi bro. It sound like v belt tensioner or aircond compresor or engine mounting probs.

You should contact bro Ahtap for clarification.

Yuun
post Oct 17 2011, 02:28 PM

Hi to all Big bro here, I'm more towards a rider type but unfortunately I still need a car. My present car is old & pretty worn out, so it isn't suitable for distance driving or to fetch certain people. However, I'm pretty much ride to work to avoid jam & more sleeping time. My car is pretty much used as weekend car, holiday, and shopping purposes. FC may be a major concern for me as well but if I may, how much will it be when translate into per KM? My present car is consuming at about 25 cent per KM.

I'm thinking of upgrading a little and Chevy Optra caught my attention particularly the older models around 2005. After doing some reading, understanding why the 2nd hand value is rather... sad? & certainly doesn't sound like a car for Automobile noobs like me. I understand the risk but at least it is within my poor-man budget.

I stayed in Penang Island & many often stuck in the traffic jam. Will this car suits me?

This post has been edited by Yuun: Oct 17 2011, 02:30 PM
electron
post Oct 17 2011, 02:37 PM

1,329 posts

QUOTE(Yuun @ Oct 17 2011, 02:28 PM)
Hi to all Big bro here, I'm more towards a rider type but unfortunately I still need a car. My present car is old & pretty worn out, so it isn't suitable for distance driving or to fetch certain people. However, I'm pretty much ride to work to avoid jam & more sleeping time. My car is pretty much used as weekend car, holiday, and shopping purposes. FC may be a major concern for me as well but if I may, how much will it be when translate into per KM? My present car is consuming at about 25 cent per KM.

I'm thinking of upgrading a little and Chevy Optra caught my attention particularly the older models around 2005. After doing some reading, understanding why the 2nd hand value is rather... sad? & certainly doesn't sound like a car for Automobile noobs like me. I understand the risk but at least it is within my poor-man budget.

I stayed in Penang Island & many often stuck in the traffic jam. Will this car suits me?
in penang island too
and i'm getting around 25c per km too
a relative swap a fuel injected wira 1.5 for a 1.8 optra and found that the optra is giving slightly better FC on the similar work commute

sad resale value should be good news for those looking for a used unit right?
Yuun
post Oct 17 2011, 02:58 PM

QUOTE(electron @ Oct 17 2011, 02:37 PM)
in penang island too
and i'm getting around 25c per km too
a relative swap a fuel injected wira 1.5 for a 1.8 optra and found that the optra is giving slightly better FC on the similar work commute

sad resale value should be good news for those looking for a used unit right?
Hola~ Fellow Penangites! ^^
Ahh... 25c is good. I'm a gentle driver but rather abusive in small K-cars, a 1.6 Optra will do justice to other user and my conscience tongue.gif (& wallet too~) well... indeed, I'm gonna go around looking. Any suggestion for a trustworthy 2nd hand dealer in Penang Island? How much would a 1.6 around yr 2005 would cost, maybe an est?

Saw a lot at Greenlane area but some of my friends says they aren't trustworthy. What is your opinion? hmm.gif
Clairvoyant
post Oct 24 2011, 01:31 AM

252 posts

hey people. i m looking for an optra 1.8 2008 or 2009 model to buy..kindly do let me know if any of you guys have any sorts of contact..do pm me. thank you smile.gif
frenzydevil
post Oct 31 2011, 12:39 AM

Dear all chevy club user, i have just bought a chervolet optra 1.6 (2005 model) from a shop in penang island. After i bought the car i notice that the car petrol consumption is crazily high. RM80 only allows me to go for 220km++. It cost me RM0.35/little of RON 95 petrol. This is really crazy, i have change the plug, battery, black oil (fully syntetic, RM260) and also auto oil RM260 (pakelo 1) but this problem still cannot be fixed. The forman told me that there is no leaking of petrol at all. In total i have spent more then RM1500++ to repair this car... May i know is there any expert here that can help me? or is it maybe i have to tune the engine or what?? haizzz.... i am really sad for buying this car... help me pls, if u got any suggestion pls reply my post or sms me at 017-5878829.. your help will be much appreciated!!!!!
ajay
post Nov 1 2011, 05:48 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(frenzydevil @ Oct 31 2011, 12:39 AM)
Dear all chevy club user, i have just bought a chervolet optra 1.6 (2005 model) from a shop in penang island. After i bought the car i notice that the car petrol consumption is crazily high.  RM80 only allows me to go for 220km++. It cost me RM0.35/little of RON 95 petrol. This is really crazy, i have change the plug, battery, black oil (fully syntetic, RM260) and also auto oil RM260 (pakelo 1) but this problem still cannot be fixed. The forman told me that there is no leaking of petrol at all. In total i have spent more then RM1500++ to repair this car...  May i know is there any expert here that can help me? or is it maybe i have to tune the engine or what?? haizzz.... i am really sad for buying this car... help me pls, if u got any suggestion pls reply my post or sms me at 017-5878829.. your help will be much appreciated!!!!!
Try service your throttle body. Do you notive yur RPM is wuite high i.e. more than 1k during idling or fluctuated inconsistantly?

Just do that first and then check the timing using Tech 2.
electron
post Nov 2 2011, 10:59 AM

1,329 posts

QUOTE(frenzydevil @ Oct 31 2011, 12:39 AM)
Dear all chevy club user, i have just bought a chervolet optra 1.6 (2005 model) from a shop in penang island. After i bought the car i notice that the car petrol consumption is crazily high.  RM80 only allows me to go for 220km++. It cost me RM0.35/little of RON 95 petrol. This is really crazy, i have change the plug, battery, black oil (fully syntetic, RM260) and also auto oil RM260 (pakelo 1) but this problem still cannot be fixed. The forman told me that there is no leaking of petrol at all. In total i have spent more then RM1500++ to repair this car...  May i know is there any expert here that can help me? or is it maybe i have to tune the engine or what?? haizzz.... i am really sad for buying this car... help me pls, if u got any suggestion pls reply my post or sms me at 017-5878829.. your help will be much appreciated!!!!!
the FC shouldn't be that high
did you check the air filter?
did you refuel when the warning lights turn on? how much fuel can you put in from there? reason for asking this is some units have erratic fuel meters

Added on November 2, 2011, 11:05 am
QUOTE(Yuun @ Oct 17 2011, 02:58 PM)
Hola~ Fellow Penangites! ^^
Ahh... 25c is good. I'm a gentle driver but rather abusive in small K-cars, a 1.6 Optra will do justice to other user and my conscience  tongue.gif (& wallet too~)  well... indeed, I'm gonna go around looking. Any suggestion for a trustworthy 2nd hand dealer in Penang Island? How much would a 1.6 around yr 2005 would cost, maybe an est?

Saw a lot at Greenlane area but some of my friends says they aren't trustworthy. What is your opinion? hmm.gif
best if you can get it from direct owner. there are some who probably looking to upgrade.
perhaps bro ajay might know of some from the optra owner club
as for price, i'm not sure, but should be in the 20-30k range

This post has been edited by electron: Nov 2 2011, 11:05 AM
frenzydevil
post Nov 2 2011, 10:58 PM

QUOTE(ajay @ Nov 1 2011, 05:48 PM)
Try service your throttle body. Do you notive yur RPM is wuite high i.e. more than 1k during idling or fluctuated inconsistantly?

Just do that first and then check the timing using Tech 2.
My RPM is usually below 1k during idling, it fluctuates sometimes but wont go up more than 1k... i have brought it to the Chevrolet center in Bukit mertajam and they check the tech 2 scanner for me. No problem been identified. They advise me to bring it to the mechanic shop to clean the valves. Already did that, waiting for improvement on the car....

Added on November 2, 2011, 11:01 pm[quote=electron,Nov 2 2011, 10:59 AM]
did you refuel when the warning lights turn on? how much fuel can you put in from there? reason for asking this is some units have erratic fuel meters

Yup it shouldn't be that high, really terrible... The air filter is ok after checking.. I tried to pour full tank petrol and it only drives me for 240km... after that the light will be on and i refill another RM80++ petrol to reach full tank... really sad about this..

This post has been edited by frenzydevil: Nov 2 2011, 11:01 PM
electron
post Nov 2 2011, 11:28 PM

1,329 posts

[quote=frenzydevil,Nov 2 2011, 10:58 PM]
My RPM is usually below 1k during idling, it fluctuates sometimes but wont go up more than 1k... i have brought it to the Chevrolet center in Bukit mertajam and they check the tech 2 scanner for me. No problem been identified. They advise me to bring it to the mechanic shop to clean the valves. Already did that, waiting for improvement on the car....

Added on November 2, 2011, 11:01 pm[quote=electron,Nov 2 2011, 10:59 AM]

Yup it shouldn't be that high, really terrible... The air filter is ok after checking.. I tried to pour full tank petrol and it only drives me for 240km... after that the light will be on and i refill another RM80++ petrol to reach full tank... really sad about this..

[/quote]

one thing to note that the optra is a rather heavy car
therefore, try to be easy on the throttle in town use

Cyclone87
post Nov 13 2011, 05:25 PM

1,254 posts

I planning to get Optra Magnum 1.8LT SS around 45k, can i know the fuel consumption before i make the decision to jump to this car ? And is there any cheap place to service Optra rather then go to service center since it has alot of electronic stuff.
sicx36
post Dec 14 2011, 11:44 AM

Hi all, iam new optra user here, nice knowing u all. iam using 1.8 LT SS Attached Image
TSericmaxman
post Dec 17 2011, 10:59 AM

-
7,951 posts

Bah, my Optra kena buttsecks again,

Where to locate halfcut rear boot and brake light?

icon_question.gif rclxub.gif
ajay
post Dec 27 2011, 10:24 AM

48 posts

Hi guys..

Bro ahtap informed me that currently there is no handling chargers for parts from abroad.

Thts mean the parts will be cheaper. Pls contact him directly for details
xtro
post Dec 30 2011, 01:29 PM

hi guys... I just bought 2nd hand 2004 optra 1.8 LT.. any suggestions for best service centre or foreman in Ampang... tq..

17 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0231sec    1.89    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 03:03 PM