Chevy Optra User Club, Magnum owners, Welcome in !
Mar 19 2008, 09:42 AM
1,329 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Mar 19 2008, 04:17 PM
there are few 2006 stocks around
the classified you saw is for these units |
Jul 23 2010, 10:09 AM
btw, the wiring issue
some times i could be due to bad or dirty contact if that is the case, cleaning and checking the connection could fix the issue but SC normally has the "if it ain't working, change it" mentality as for the water pump, if you mileage is very low (like 30k km in 3 years), you might want to change it at the next service it is all up to you the pump cost about 400 and the reason ppl recommend changing it with timing belt is to save on the labour as it requires similar amount of work to reach the timing belt |
May 10 2011, 02:34 PM
QUOTE(soonhooi @ Apr 25 2011, 01:21 PM) did you get the wire harness checked?may have came loose Added on May 10, 2011, 2:37 pm QUOTE(flexstone @ May 8 2011, 12:15 AM) Hi All, just service my Optra 1.8L at PJ Volcar and they charged as below: (Am I Ripped?) if the ABS and traction control light stays on for a while after the engine is started, then you should consider dropping in another battery to try1st Time: Engine Oil Castrol Magnatic - RM 112.00 Oil Filter - RM 21.50 Oil Nut Washer - RM 5.80 Do Lub Service & Major Check - RM 45.00 2nd Time: Meter Bulb & Check Wiring - RM 60.00 Gear Selector Bush - RM 120.00 Fan Belt - RM 105.80 Fan Belt Tensioner - RM 191.60 Valve Cover Gasket - RM 105.00 Spark Plugs - RM 129.20 Spark Plug Cable - RM 379.60 Auto Transmission Fluid - RM 60.00 Ignition Coil - RM 350.00 Change Fan Belt & Tensioner - RM 45.00 Change Auto Transmission Fluid - RM 45.00 Change Valve Cover Gasket - RM 35.00 After these service, I still got problem with my engine mounting and air-con, but the engine mounting PJ Volcar told me will charge me around RM 750.00 for 3 pcs. But now, I still 1 major problem regarding my car start, when put in the car key into the hole and turn to start, it always don't start, when turning on, it got a sound like 'click click'. After some times, then it start. Sometime, i check with the cable with battery, it can easily start but sometime it won't. I don't suspect with the battery because everytime i on my car, the radio will automatic on...so suppose the battery will not had any problem, any one here got idea with it? those 2 lights staying on is the early indicator of battery wear, although you might still be able to run it for >3 months from the first time it start showing up This post has been edited by electron: May 10 2011, 02:37 PM |
May 11 2011, 10:13 PM
QUOTE(jackjackjack @ May 11 2011, 07:55 PM) Hi guys, i feel a bit jerking/ not smooth when my chevy optra reach 60-80 km/h. The jerking not very obvious but still can feel it especially going u a slope/hill. Will the fuel that i use caused the problem or this is the sign of gear box problem? when's the last time you changed the ATF? |
Oct 17 2011, 02:37 PM
QUOTE(Yuun @ Oct 17 2011, 02:28 PM) Hi to all Big bro here, I'm more towards a rider type but unfortunately I still need a car. My present car is old & pretty worn out, so it isn't suitable for distance driving or to fetch certain people. However, I'm pretty much ride to work to avoid jam & more sleeping time. My car is pretty much used as weekend car, holiday, and shopping purposes. FC may be a major concern for me as well but if I may, how much will it be when translate into per KM? My present car is consuming at about 25 cent per KM. in penang island tooI'm thinking of upgrading a little and Chevy Optra caught my attention particularly the older models around 2005. After doing some reading, understanding why the 2nd hand value is rather... sad? & certainly doesn't sound like a car for Automobile noobs like me. I understand the risk but at least it is within my poor-man budget. I stayed in Penang Island & many often stuck in the traffic jam. Will this car suits me? and i'm getting around 25c per km too a relative swap a fuel injected wira 1.5 for a 1.8 optra and found that the optra is giving slightly better FC on the similar work commute sad resale value should be good news for those looking for a used unit right? |
Nov 2 2011, 10:59 AM
QUOTE(frenzydevil @ Oct 31 2011, 12:39 AM) Dear all chevy club user, i have just bought a chervolet optra 1.6 (2005 model) from a shop in penang island. After i bought the car i notice that the car petrol consumption is crazily high. RM80 only allows me to go for 220km++. It cost me RM0.35/little of RON 95 petrol. This is really crazy, i have change the plug, battery, black oil (fully syntetic, RM260) and also auto oil RM260 (pakelo 1) but this problem still cannot be fixed. The forman told me that there is no leaking of petrol at all. In total i have spent more then RM1500++ to repair this car... May i know is there any expert here that can help me? or is it maybe i have to tune the engine or what?? haizzz.... i am really sad for buying this car... help me pls, if u got any suggestion pls reply my post or sms me at 017-5878829.. your help will be much appreciated!!!!! the FC shouldn't be that highdid you check the air filter? did you refuel when the warning lights turn on? how much fuel can you put in from there? reason for asking this is some units have erratic fuel meters Added on November 2, 2011, 11:05 am QUOTE(Yuun @ Oct 17 2011, 02:58 PM) Hola~ Fellow Penangites! ^^ best if you can get it from direct owner. there are some who probably looking to upgrade.Ahh... 25c is good. I'm a gentle driver but rather abusive in small K-cars, a 1.6 Optra will do justice to other user and my conscience Saw a lot at Greenlane area but some of my friends says they aren't trustworthy. What is your opinion? perhaps bro ajay might know of some from the optra owner club as for price, i'm not sure, but should be in the 20-30k range This post has been edited by electron: Nov 2 2011, 11:05 AM |
Nov 2 2011, 11:28 PM
[quote=frenzydevil,Nov 2 2011, 10:58 PM]
My RPM is usually below 1k during idling, it fluctuates sometimes but wont go up more than 1k... i have brought it to the Chevrolet center in Bukit mertajam and they check the tech 2 scanner for me. No problem been identified. They advise me to bring it to the mechanic shop to clean the valves. Already did that, waiting for improvement on the car.... Added on November 2, 2011, 11:01 pm[quote=electron,Nov 2 2011, 10:59 AM] the FC shouldn't be that high did you check the air filter? did you refuel when the warning lights turn on? how much fuel can you put in from there? reason for asking this is some units have erratic fuel meters Yup it shouldn't be that high, really terrible... The air filter is ok after checking.. I tried to pour full tank petrol and it only drives me for 240km... after that the light will be on and i refill another RM80++ petrol to reach full tank... really sad about this.. [/quote] one thing to note that the optra is a rather heavy car therefore, try to be easy on the throttle in town use |
Jul 13 2012, 09:19 PM
contact atap
to quote ajay "Sifu Ahtap informed me that Chevy part is having promo. Pls contact him at 012-2126547 for details or enquiry." act fast as he's having promo which is closing soon |
Sep 25 2012, 08:36 AM
Jan 4 2013, 12:45 PM
what happened?
Mar 12 2013, 08:56 AM
Feb 10 2014, 11:47 AM
QUOTE(SmokeyMcNasty @ Feb 7 2014, 04:03 PM) recently boughy a chevy optra 2003 1.8l looking for a good mechanic shop that can get parts at a good price and also does good work. need a place where they can speak english and not try to rip me off. i just recently had oil change, oil filter/air filter, spark plugs etc also told i need drive shaft, absorbers and i think a new coolant cap since mine is leaking when engine off. Im in bukit jalil so if any near here or sri petaling be nice or near kepong. for parts, you can source it onlinethere's one guy in this thread that sells it too and my dealing with him is ok as for mechanic, most decent mechanics will be able to service and maintain the optra, although there are a few workshops that's well versed with the optra in klang valley but i don't track them as i'm not from that area |
Feb 25 2014, 05:47 PM
QUOTE(peter022 @ Feb 18 2014, 01:40 PM) hi, guys, anyone know where to get ori compressor for Optra 1.8? IThe air-cond shop quote me around 1k... I think he is 'chop' me dy.. are you sure it's the compressor that failed?Please help.. a common misdiagnosis (whether intentional or not) is compressor failure when actually, it's the RCV (refrigerant control valve) that broke the 1.8 uses a variable volume compressor, which will cost a bit more. can't remember the exact amount but i think 1k is the ballpark figure just make sure you get the right compressor, some shops will give you the standard type |
Apr 10 2019, 11:30 PM
| Change to: | 0.0151sec
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:53 PM |