Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
RSS feedBump TopicClosed TopicStart new topicStart Poll

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> Intel C2D E8400 VS Intel Xeon 3110, What is the differences?

vincentlaw
post Mar 17 2008, 03:58 AM


Regular
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,440

Joined: May 2007


Intel C2D E8400 VS Intel Xeon 3110... they both basically have same clockspeed, same socket, same cache, same 45nm technology, same FSB and etc... what is the major different or significant different?

1. what are the differences(other than server & Desktop processor)?
2. which is better for desktop?
3. pls explain as much as u can...thx

This post has been edited by vincentlaw: Mar 17 2008, 03:59 AM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
adliew
post Mar 17 2008, 05:23 AM


Casual
***
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 354

Joined: Jan 2005
From: Pahang


QUOTE(vincentlaw @ Mar 17 2008, 03:58 AM)
Intel C2D E8400 VS Intel Xeon 3110... they both basically have same clockspeed, same socket, same cache, same 45nm technology, same FSB and etc... what is the major different or significant different?

1. what are the differences(other than server & Desktop processor)?
2. which is better for desktop?
3. pls explain as much as u can...thx
*
They're basically the same w/ different voltage spec:

QUOTE
Xeon: 1.225V-0.956V
C2D: 1.3625V-0.85V
Xeon 3110 & E8400


User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bulibulizaimon
post Mar 17 2008, 06:01 AM


Game Center ID: bulibuli
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 4,656

Joined: Jan 2005
From: UniVeRSiTy Of MaLaYa



Low voltage = save electric consumption happy.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kmarc
post Mar 17 2008, 09:13 AM


Technology is too slow!
Group Icon
Group: Elite
Posts: 7,113

Joined: May 2006
From: Sibu



Intel Xeon are server CPUs and are very reliable but more expensive..... thought to be better in terms of overclocking due to their reliability....

For normal users like us, desktop CPUs are more than enough.

Gatal hands again I see.... tongue.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
LExus65
post Mar 17 2008, 10:31 AM


Old Gezzer.....
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,995

Joined: May 2005


supposely the xeon like the opteron can overclock better and runs cooler too, but this is a subjective matter.

warranty term is slightly different too if not mistaken, this have to consult the system builder for better answer
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
vincentlaw
post Mar 17 2008, 11:32 AM


Regular
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,440

Joined: May 2007


QUOTE(kmarc @ Mar 17 2008, 09:13 AM)
Intel Xeon are server CPUs and are very reliable but more expensive..... thought to be better in terms of overclocking due to their reliability....

For normal users like us, desktop CPUs are more than enough.

Gatal hands again I see....  tongue.gif
*
but recently xeon 3110 price is about the same as E8400... alot of shop has been recommended xeon to replace E8400 due to super shortage of E8400
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
OC4/3
post Mar 17 2008, 12:32 PM


.
Group Icon
Group: Elite
Posts: 4,470

Joined: Dec 2007
From: Heaven of OCer



Same thing lah.Xeon is easier to get and is certified for server usage.Correct me if i am wrong.So yeah,same thing in another word. thumbup.gif Price is cheaper and hwbot is not that competitive to get into top 100 superpi,E8400 have to run 9.59 to get into top 100 sweat.gif .
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
calvinkli
post Mar 17 2008, 02:18 PM


Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 50

Joined: Jan 2006
From: Selangor


QUOTE
E3110
Dual Core
Enhanced Intel Speedstep(R) Technology
Intel(R) EM64T
Intel(R) I/OAT
Intel(R) Virtualization Technology
Enhanced Halt State (C1E)
Execute Disable Bit
Intel(R) Thermal Monitor 2


QUOTE
E8400
Dual Core
Enhanced Intel Speedstep(R) Technology
Intel(R) EM64T
Intel(R) Virtualization Technology
Enhanced Halt State (C1E)
Execute Disable Bit
Intel(R) Thermal Monitor 2

These parts have PROCHOT enabled.
These parts have THERMTRIP enabled.
These parts have PECI enabled.
These parts have Tdiode enabled
These parts have Intel(R) Trusted Execution Technology (Intel(R) TXT) enabled
These parts have Extended Stop Grant State (C2E) enabled
These parts have Extended (C4) enabled


and also adliew stated the voltage
Xeon: 1.225V-0.956V
C2D: 1.3625V-0.85V
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
vincentlaw
post Mar 17 2008, 05:14 PM


Regular
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,440

Joined: May 2007


QUOTE(calvinkli @ Mar 17 2008, 02:18 PM)
and also adliew stated the voltage
Xeon: 1.225V-0.956V
C2D: 1.3625V-0.85V
*
lol wat is that Tdiode ann that thggie?? how they work... pls explain in laymans term.. in technical terms i also know how to find in intel website la... tongue.gif tongue.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
0168257061
post Mar 17 2008, 05:55 PM


10k Club
********
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 13,894

Joined: Jul 2007



If that Xeon 3110 so good and certified for server purpose...
then why dont all people grab this 3110 instead of E8400 ? hmm.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
vincentlaw
post Mar 17 2008, 05:56 PM


Regular
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,440

Joined: May 2007


QUOTE(168257061 @ Mar 17 2008, 05:55 PM)
If that Xeon 3110 so good  and certified for server purpose...
then why dont all people grab this 3110 instead of E8400 ? hmm.gif
*
hmm that is exactly what i wanna know....
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kmarc
post Mar 17 2008, 06:14 PM


Technology is too slow!
Group Icon
Group: Elite
Posts: 7,113

Joined: May 2006
From: Sibu



Really? You mean the Xeon E3110 is the same price as it's counterpart? hmm.gif

Take a look here : http://www.circuitremix.com/index.php?q=node/122

The only difference is the VID voltage range... E3110 is max at 1.225v...... from what Intel says, their warranty usually covers up to the maximum VID voltage range..... so, not that good for mild overclockers.....

Of course, extreme overclockers couldn't care less about vcore and warranties...

I'm no expert in CPUs but I guess one factor (among many factors) why the Xeon CPUs are reliable is because they operate at a lower vcore? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Mar 17 2008, 06:20 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
OC4/3
post Mar 17 2008, 08:41 PM


.
Group Icon
Group: Elite
Posts: 4,470

Joined: Dec 2007
From: Heaven of OCer



QUOTE(kmarc @ Mar 17 2008, 06:14 PM)
Really? You mean the Xeon E3110 is the same price as it's counterpart?  hmm.gif

Take a look here : http://www.circuitremix.com/index.php?q=node/122

The only difference is the VID voltage range... E3110 is max at 1.225v...... from what Intel says, their warranty usually covers up to the maximum VID voltage range..... so, not that good for mild overclockers.....

Of course, extreme overclockers couldn't care less about vcore and warranties...

I'm no expert in CPUs but I guess one factor (among many factors) why the Xeon CPUs are reliable is because they operate at a lower vcore?  hmm.gif
*
Yeah,Xeon and E8400 is same price now due to supply and demand

User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
vincentlaw
post Mar 17 2008, 11:46 PM


Regular
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,440

Joined: May 2007


QUOTE(kmarc @ Mar 17 2008, 06:14 PM)
Really? You mean the Xeon E3110 is the same price as it's counterpart?  hmm.gif

Take a look here : http://www.circuitremix.com/index.php?q=node/122

The only difference is the VID voltage range... E3110 is max at 1.225v...... from what Intel says, their warranty usually covers up to the maximum VID voltage range..... so, not that good for mild overclockers.....

Of course, extreme overclockers couldn't care less about vcore and warranties...

I'm no expert in CPUs but I guess one factor (among many factors) why the Xeon CPUs are reliable is because they operate at a lower vcore?  hmm.gif
*
not totally the same but around the same.... market for E8400 has been pushed to high price due to its limited stock and this E3110 which is coming soon is selling at main price RM790....

acording to the review... it can still go up to 1.44v and was said "still a safe range", this means that going up to 4.5ghz wasnt a problem for extreme OCer... anyway it have lower stock VID and doesnt that means it uses lower voltage compared to E8400 and therefore product less heat due to lower voltage? Thats a good thg i tot.

nice review link given there.... hope to see more links up about it.... hehe...

This post has been edited by vincentlaw: Mar 18 2008, 12:10 AM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
calvinkli
post Mar 18 2008, 12:55 AM


Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 50

Joined: Jan 2006
From: Selangor


then u google it lor = ="


Tdiode is the temperature of the on-die thermal diode, i.e. it's the temperature sensor within the CPU itself.

Tjunction is a completely different thing altogether. Tjunction is a specification value, of the temperature of the die/pcb junction at which the CPU will go into thermal shutdown. Usually Tjunction is 85 or 100 degrees celcius. Processors provide the delta value of the current junction temperature to Tjunction. Using this you can calculate the current junction temperature if you know Tjunction.

i think server processor more stable??? but not highly overclocked..@@
and then how bout the m/b ...many not stated support xeon proc.

User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
vincentlaw
post Mar 18 2008, 01:26 AM


Regular
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,440

Joined: May 2007


QUOTE(calvinkli @ Mar 18 2008, 12:55 AM)
then u google it lor = ="
Tdiode is the temperature of the on-die thermal diode, i.e. it's the temperature sensor within the CPU itself.

Tjunction is a completely different thing altogether. Tjunction is a specification value, of the temperature of the die/pcb junction at which the CPU will go into thermal shutdown. Usually Tjunction is 85 or 100 degrees celcius. Processors provide the delta value of the current junction temperature to Tjunction. Using this you can calculate the current junction temperature if you know Tjunction.

i think server processor more stable??? but not highly overclocked..@@
and then how bout the m/b ...many not stated support xeon proc.
*
lol the purpose of asking in forum is to get laymans term.. googling will result technical stuffs too.. tongue.gif....

they said those supported 45nm is supporting this E3110 as well...
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
forger
post Mar 18 2008, 10:34 AM


Enthusiast
*****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 718

Joined: Aug 2005


I also have the same problem (sorry for hijacking your thread).
The sales guy at low yat is pushing me to get the xeon processor for my new pc. the benchmark they showed me seems impresive but just wanna get some more feedback from you guys before i jump on it...




User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
vincentlaw
post Mar 18 2008, 01:15 PM


Regular
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,440

Joined: May 2007


QUOTE(forger @ Mar 18 2008, 10:34 AM)
I also have the same problem (sorry for hijacking your thread).
The sales guy at low yat is pushing me to get the xeon processor for my new pc. the benchmark they showed me seems impresive but just wanna get some more feedback from you guys before i jump on it...
*
no problem... alot of the shops in lowyat pushing xeon, i can remember AllIT and cycom do that.... ppl said its almost the same... but why all go E8400 and why not E3110? if they are almost the same and in same price range..... shunt xean out of stock too?? but no.. xeon do have quite some stock still in market.... while E8400 is doh.gif doh.gif whole lowyat no stocks...

wondering who can give us the answer

This post has been edited by vincentlaw: Mar 18 2008, 01:18 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
forger
post Mar 18 2008, 05:26 PM


Enthusiast
*****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 718

Joined: Aug 2005


check this up

http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1276003

after more than an hour of 'googling' (mostly trying to get the key word right).

I come to a conclusion that the reason to your question is because 'THEY DONT KNOW' it the same processor. The name xeon seems to scare them cause its always associated with servers.

my 2 cents



User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
OC4/3
post Mar 18 2008, 11:46 PM


.
Group Icon
Group: Elite
Posts: 4,470

Joined: Dec 2007
From: Heaven of OCer



I will checkout which have a good FPO.Hope can get Q746A/Q743A on Xeon but hwbot point not much when compare to insane E8400 sweat.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
vincentlaw
post Mar 18 2008, 11:51 PM


Regular
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,440

Joined: May 2007


QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Mar 18 2008, 11:46 PM)
I will checkout which have a good FPO.Hope can get Q746A/Q743A on Xeon but hwbot point not much when compare to insane E8400  sweat.gif
*
lol wats that? haha dont mind to explain abit more in layman's term? hehe.....
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
forger
post Mar 19 2008, 09:02 AM


Enthusiast
*****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 718

Joined: Aug 2005


QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Mar 18 2008, 11:46 PM)
I will checkout which have a good FPO.Hope can get Q746A/Q743A on Xeon but hwbot point not much when compare to insane E8400  sweat.gif
*
DUH???

quite hard to understand " ur statement" rclxub.gif . from what i understand...

it suppose to be the same processor, with the same built, requirement is the same, but then again try it for your self to be sure.....
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
OC4/3
post Mar 20 2008, 12:08 AM


.
Group Icon
Group: Elite
Posts: 4,470

Joined: Dec 2007
From: Heaven of OCer



QUOTE(forger @ Mar 19 2008, 09:02 AM)
DUH???

quite hard to understand " ur statement"  rclxub.gif . from what i understand...

it suppose to be the same processor, with the same built, requirement is the same, but then again try it for your self to be sure.....
*
FPO=batch and manufacturing batch
hwbot=oc database
E8400 even don't go into top 100 oc also have 4points while E3110 not even 10 entries and the point is not much with 9.5's SPI,like that,2points to 4points rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by OC4/3: Mar 21 2008, 11:35 AM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
vincentlaw
post Mar 20 2008, 12:15 AM


Regular
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,440

Joined: May 2007


QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Mar 20 2008, 12:08 AM)
FPO=batch and manufacturing batch
hwbot=oc database
E8400 even no 100 also have 4points while E3110 not even 100 entries and the point is not much with 9.5's like that,2points to 4points rclxub.gif
*
somehow i dont really understand what are u trying to explain... >_<" maybe my interpretation is soo bad... doh.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
forger
post Mar 22 2008, 02:09 PM


Enthusiast
*****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 718

Joined: Aug 2005


u not really explaining things to a fellow oc'er bro, surely we the "normal" person can't understand exactly want you wanted to say....



User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
raptor_cZn
post Mar 22 2008, 05:55 PM


Regular
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,305

Joined: Feb 2006
From: Melbourne | KL


I think they are almost the same just with different branding...
The lower end Xeons are also running on the Core 2 architecture
Only the higher ends one use diff sockets and have diff features(Correct me if I am wrong)

Basically C2Ds are meant to be sold to desktop users and Xeons in servers, something like that
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
vincentlaw
post Mar 22 2008, 07:07 PM


Regular
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,440

Joined: May 2007


QUOTE(raptor_cZn @ Mar 22 2008, 05:55 PM)
I think they are almost the same just with different branding...
The lower end Xeons are also running on the Core 2 architecture
Only the higher ends one use diff sockets and have diff features(Correct me if I am wrong)

Basically C2Ds are meant to be sold to desktop users and Xeons in servers, something like that
*
if u say they are same.... why thier voltage range is diff.... and alot ppl saying they have diff advantages such as xeon have better file management and Core architechture is better in multimedia....
and also mention the microcode is diff.... confuse.... currently too many seller offering xeon to replace C2D E8400 demand....
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
raptor_cZn
post Mar 22 2008, 07:19 PM


Regular
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,305

Joined: Feb 2006
From: Melbourne | KL


the voltage is set to be different..I'm not saying that its exactly the same
I dont think that xeons have advantages over file managment

QUOTE
The Xeon brand refers to many families of Intel's x86 multiprocessing CPUs - for dual-processor (DP) and multi-processor (MP) configuration on a single motherboard targeted at non-consumer markets of server and workstation computers, and also at blade servers and embedded systems. The Xeon brand has been maintained over several generations of x86 and x86-64 processors. Older models added the Xeon moniker to the end of the name of their corresponding desktop processor, but more recent models used the name Xeon on its own. The Xeon CPUs generally have more cache than their desktop counterparts in addition to multiprocessing capabilities. Intel's (non-x86) IA-64 processors are called Itanium, not Xeon.

From Wikipedia

Another Quote
QUOTE
3000-series "Conroe"

The 3000 series, codenamed Conroe (product code 80557) dual-core Xeon (branded) CPU,[4] released at the end of September 2006, was just rebranded version of the Intel's mainstream Conroe otherwise branded as Core 2 Duo (for consumer desktops). Unlike most Xeon processors, they only support single-CPU operation. They use Socket T (LGA775), operate on a 1066 MHz front-side bus, and do not support Hyper-Threading. Processors with a number ending in "5" have a 1333 MT/s FSB.[5]

User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Bump TopicClosed TopicTopic OptionsStart new topic
 

Switch to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0710sec    2.94    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th April 2014 - 06:11 PM