World Cyber Games 2008: Official Games, Beyond The Game ?

chapree
post Mar 24 2008, 11:04 PM

I used to stuff for LYN Editorial and troll at LYN Forums
2,046 posts

QUOTE(CityLife @ Mar 24 2008, 10:38 PM)
Good Bolehland Spirit.
In theory, everything is possible.

In relation to the local cybergames scenario, however, this would also depend on the particular organizer.

Just compare last year's WCG:Msia and WCG:SG which is organized by In2 and RaptureGaming. We can see how come after so many years ICM still give SG to be the organizer for WCG:Asian.
Hmm...while WCG.my is more traditional compared to the grand looking WCG.sg, it's all come down to this lah - do you prefer all winners get to go to World Final or only selected winners? brows.gif

Personally, I don't see the meaning of our WCG if got all official games but not even half of the winner get the free trip to Cologne because you blew it all on the event grandness. Also, WCG.sg was held together with Asian WCG and GXL. That's like three tournament in one single weekend. If WCG.sg stand on its own, I personally don't think it would be that grand. Also, try to take out DoTA from their event. I believe that could spell a backlash, w00t. laugh.gif

Compare to last year's WCG.my, there's still significant number of participants even without DoTA around. That basically showed that WCG.my can stand on its own and plus, all winners get to go for free (IF there was no visa problem). I guess it's just our gaming culture is still different from SG.

Truth to be told, Malaysia supposed to host this year's WCG Asian. Don't know what happen, but ICM passed it back to SG. Having an international gaming event ain't easy and cheap...might as well get the resources first and make it great rather than cut corner here and there, then the event suck. Maybe next year, who knows? laugh.gif

chapree
post Mar 25 2008, 01:05 PM

I used to stuff for LYN Editorial and troll at LYN Forums
2,046 posts

Hmmm...this is quite a good discussion compared to the usual why there's no this game, that game in WCG and stuff.

QUOTE(CityLife @ Mar 25 2008, 02:00 AM)
I was informed that WCG:SG 2007 offered a wide variety of both PC and consoles games option, compared to WCG:MY 2007 which offered 6 PC games.
Before you can include Xbox 360 games in WCG.my, the console must be launched officially here. If you jumped the gun without official support from Microsoft Malaysia, things could backfire. WCG.my couldn't risk that for sure.

One has to remember that Microsoft also sponsor Windows license inside tournament PCs. nod.gif

Grandness of an event is inseparable. Visitors or viewers would take them as one.
Whether WCG and GXL, people would receive it coming from organizer from SG.
Thinking out of the box or combining 2 similar events might be an good idea after all.
Hmmm...I don't really know how to explain this. Last year, GXL held it's event at WCG PC area and Microsoft Xbox 360 booth. Although there is Singtel GXL booth, but that booth focus more on mobile phones and Singtel services. So I guess, pple still thought everything was about WCG.sg/Asian WCG.

GXL does benefit from the venue such as good stream of visitors and equipments. But I don't think they get much as far as branding goes. Gamers might knew it but general public wouldn't see it much.

I think WCG:MY can benefit or improve from the following perspective:-

Website design and TIMELY update
      In this aspect multiplay.lowyat.net gave a more timely update than my.worldcybergames.com

Commentator or shout caster for the gaming onstage
      It is a little awkard that 2 players playing onstage without a commentator.
      Just imagine u watch F1, and just see the cars roam for 51 laps without any commentator.

Console gaming

Apparel
      Let the public, visitors or gamers have the opportunities to own a WCG related T-shirt or jacket (not via high price biding)
      Turning a WCG apparel into exclusive item is not a good marketing. The sponsors of WCG eg Samsung should also be notified of this.

MC with a some reasonable knowledge of computer games that is being played.
      MC combining with expert gamers in doing emcee?? Might sparks few local talents in this aspect.

WCG Game Hobby club
    Example
    Perhaps, Si_Jali might run a one day or half day crash course in FIFA?
    DOTA reunion day?
    RTS Gamers club ??
    Clan recruiting day for other games??

Good aspect or points that WCG:MY need to continue
Choosing Midlands as venue
Sponsor all winners to Grand finals
Hehehe, Multiplay is a gaming site, that's why it has updates all year round. WCG.my site is an event site, so if there's no update from the event, no reason for them to update. Same goes to all WCG site around the world.

I share your view about shoutcasters. It definitely give some spectator value there. Same goes to MC. We need somebody like GGL's Djwheat which is to me, a superb shoutcaster at WCG.usa.

In terms of apparel, in 2005 (or is it 2004) WCG.my did sell some t-shirt. These t-shirt is different from the one that the finalist received. I don't know why they stop selling them. Lack of response maybe? They should start selling them again. thumbup.gif

0.0117sec    1.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 05:54 PM