Xigmatek HDT-s1283 Red-Scorpion Review, Come Join The Community..

Eoma
post Mar 17 2008, 10:35 AM

- ,. -
4,603 posts

The Red Scorpion experience for me is not so joyous, though no fault of the cooler. It works great, immediately see a 7-10c drop in idle temps.
Only thing is somehow during the installation process my Vista x64 install got fubar-ed. Aiiihhh. Luckily there was a XP dual boot to verify that i didn't break anything. I need to get my Vista fix'ed bebfore i can do a full bench on the Red Scorpion.

Wish me luck fellas. sad.gif sweat.gif
Eoma
post Mar 17 2008, 10:59 AM

- ,. -
4,603 posts

QUOTE(ham_revilo @ Mar 17 2008, 10:45 AM)
no offence but i dont get what u mean rclxub.gif ... u mean eoma's vista got fubar is a good thing or is it my understanding problem??
laugh.gif No lah, i'm sure he meant me installing the Red Scorpion as a good thing. Was pretty troublesome though, having to take out the mobo and all.

How did you guys apply thermal paste ar ? I applied a thin line along each heat pipe and also a bit in the gaps between the heat pipes. Also, for those using the S&S kit, do the screws go all the way down, if you get what I mean ?
Eoma
post Mar 17 2008, 12:51 PM

- ,. -
4,603 posts

The fan on mine (Red Scorpion) spins at 1500rpm +/- 5%. verified in BIOS and ITE Smartguardian software.
Eoma
post Mar 19 2008, 11:58 PM

- ,. -
4,603 posts

Just to add my results with the Red Scorpion:

@ Idle (~5 minutes into boot)

and @ Load

More or less tallies with the other results in the thread. What can I say, a good performer, and a silent one at that. Recommended !

This post has been edited by Eoma: Mar 20 2008, 12:03 AM
Eoma
post Mar 21 2008, 11:47 PM

- ,. -
4,603 posts

QUOTE(anggajaya @ Mar 21 2008, 11:49 AM)
bro, wat voltage in bios reading? jus wanna compare since Iam using an E6600 as well, thanks.. and for the rest, when U guys show the temps, pls include how much U put the vcore In bios reading, I guess it's necessarily an important thing to be told.
Bios is +37.5mV, so it is 1.325v + 0.0375V = 1.3625v
cpuID shows it as 1.360v

@ Load it drops to 1.340v (cpuID value).
Eoma
post Mar 23 2008, 09:18 PM

- ,. -
4,603 posts

QUOTE(sukhoi37 @ Mar 23 2008, 09:04 PM)
you mean the spoiler right?
it's useful for hot mosfet on some mobos like my abit IP35E and IX38 QuadGT.
the temperature passive heatsink can reach 110C very easily during load.  doh.gif
110c ? above boiling point ? I think you need to recheck your figures.
Eoma
post Mar 28 2008, 11:00 AM

- ,. -
4,603 posts

Mine, e6600 @ 3Ghz

before @ stock Intel c2d HSF

Idle: 45+/-
Load: 70

After @ Xigmatek red Scorpion

Idle: 35+/-
Load: 55+/-

The HDD temps are lower too, thanks to the airflow going from the front of the case to the back (case fan-->hdd-->xigmatek-->rear fan)

Gonna try a higher overclock, and maybe re-sit/re apply paste (artic silver 5) across the pipes now instead of the current parallel direction. Mayyyybeeeee laa..if got time...

0.0275sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 07:07 AM