Over clocking my E6550 on P35-DS3P, Wont even pass the RAM check.

TSGeneJin
post Mar 9 2008, 12:27 PM, updated 18y ago

279 posts

Hi all sifus, need some assistance on my nuub journey on OCing. I tried to set my mobo(P35-DS3P) to run at FSB1333 as i understand my proc(E6550) is also running at this speed.

Problem is, whenever i set my CPU host control to manual @ stock @ 333 X 7 only. The BIOS would not even go pass the RAM check. Is there something wrong with my RAM or it's jus some settings? I'm using 2GB Team Extreme PC8500 1066MHZ 5-5-5-15 RAM.

CAn kindly assist? is there anymore information that you all need to ask in order to help me? Thanks in advanace all sifus..

my max OC SS which lastes less then 5 mins..

my stock config ss

This post has been edited by GeneJin: Mar 9 2008, 10:03 PM
OC4/3
post Mar 9 2008, 01:18 PM

4,746 posts

Try reset Cmos and see how
TSGeneJin
post Mar 9 2008, 01:28 PM

279 posts

Hmm.. never tried that yet.. will try and revert later..
bryanyeo87
post Mar 9 2008, 02:24 PM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

QUOTE(GeneJin @ Mar 9 2008, 12:27 PM)
Hi all sifus, need some assistance on my nuub journey on OCing. I tried to set my mobo(P35-DS3P) to run at FSB1333 as i understand my proc(E6550) is also running at this speed.

Problem is, whenever i set my CPU host control to manual @ stock @ 333 X 7 only. The BIOS would not even go pass the RAM check. Is there something wrong with my RAM or it's jus some settings? I'm using 2GB Team Extreme PC8500 1066MHZ 5-5-5-15 RAM.

CAn kindly assist? is there anymore information that you all need to ask in order to help me? Thanks in advanace all sifus..
did you change the mem timings in the bios? or did u set it to manual in any way.
TSGeneJin
post Mar 9 2008, 03:53 PM

279 posts

QUOTE(bryanyeo87 @ Mar 9 2008, 02:24 PM)
did you change the mem timings in the bios? or did u set it to manual in any way.
yea i changed the timing according to the spec of the RAM, it was auto at 1st. Then i changed to 5-5-5-15 as written on my RAM box. anything with wat i set?
bryanyeo87
post Mar 9 2008, 09:51 PM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

QUOTE(GeneJin @ Mar 9 2008, 03:53 PM)
yea i changed the timing according to the spec of the RAM, it was auto at 1st. Then i changed to 5-5-5-15 as written on my RAM box. anything with wat i set?
you need to set the rest of the timings if you changed it from auto to manual ._.

take a pic of your current bios settings and i can help you out from there smile.gif
TSGeneJin
post Mar 9 2008, 10:00 PM

279 posts

QUOTE(bryanyeo87 @ Mar 9 2008, 09:51 PM)
you need to set the rest of the timings if you changed it from auto to manual ._.

take a pic of your current bios settings and i can help you out from there smile.gif
I'm away from my PC now.. I'm in SG and my comp is at home in JB. Will take a snapshot later in the morning when i reach home.. =) THanks man..
a1098113
post Mar 9 2008, 10:05 PM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

i would suggest that u post this in the existing threads bro. coz moderators are very particular with this stuff
TSGeneJin
post Mar 9 2008, 10:07 PM

279 posts

May i ask where the thread is? I'll be glad to do so.
kmarc
post Mar 9 2008, 10:07 PM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

Is it me or is your rams running at 1276mhz!! shocking.gif
Silverfire
post Mar 9 2008, 10:08 PM

Cruxiaer
4,947 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Mar 9 2008, 10:07 PM)
Is it me or is your rams running at 1276mhz!!  shocking.gif
Haha, cool! Yeah... 638x2 makes 1276mhz!!
a1098113
post Mar 9 2008, 10:15 PM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

oh yeah i just noticed... his ram... damn dude, give me your rams laugh.gif
TSGeneJin
post Mar 9 2008, 10:16 PM

279 posts

well i dunno how to set it.. lolz.. i'm newbie.. that's why i'm asking. I'm just using the Easy Tune 5 Pro to OC.. lolz.. pls guide me further. IF my ram is rate 1066MHZ how to up the CPU mhz without affecting th RAM mhz?

Added on March 9, 2008, 10:17 pmMy RAM? it's Team Extreme PC8500 5-5-5-15 ram. Is that any good info for you? lolz..

This post has been edited by GeneJin: Mar 9 2008, 10:17 PM
a1098113
post Mar 9 2008, 10:18 PM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

just set your ram:fsb in BIOS to 1:1 simple... its all in BIOS.. guys who use GGBYTE help him out!
Silverfire
post Mar 9 2008, 10:18 PM

Cruxiaer
4,947 posts

You can't... Unless I'm wrong. Your RAM frequencies will be determined by your FSB. Ever entered your BIOS?
shogun_125
post Mar 9 2008, 10:19 PM

557 posts

wow..men ! your mem 638.4Mhz, eh what type mem did u used?.. ddr3 ? hehehe..sorry.. I'm using 2GB Team Extreme PC8500 1066MHZ 5-5-5-15 RAM..i'm reading using my leg.. hahah

This post has been edited by shogun_125: Mar 9 2008, 10:26 PM
TSGeneJin
post Mar 9 2008, 10:22 PM

279 posts

QUOTE(a1098113 @ Mar 9 2008, 10:18 PM)
just set your ram:fsb in BIOS to 1:1 simple... its all in BIOS.. guys who use GGBYTE help him out!
Hmm , my CPU is running 333, how to set my ram to run at 333? it's almost impossible dude. stock is running 533 adi ler..

Added on March 9, 2008, 10:23 pm
QUOTE(Silverfire @ Mar 9 2008, 10:18 PM)
You can't... Unless I'm wrong. Your RAM frequencies will be determined by your FSB. Ever entered your BIOS?
Erm.. of course i have enter my BIOS before.. -.-" BTW, my board revision is the latest 1 i think. P35-DS3P F7 , the bios firmware i think..

This post has been edited by GeneJin: Mar 9 2008, 10:23 PM
a1098113
post Mar 9 2008, 10:24 PM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

the reason why the rams are having that ratio is coz the e6550 runs at 333Mhz i believe and at default your ram runs at 533Mhz. So if u do set it at default. Then the ratio is set as

333:533 = 1:1.6 NOW, thats why when u set your FSB to 400Mhz, it became

400:400*1.6 = 400:640

So your rams are at 640Mhz*2 = 1280Mhz. See the logic now?

TSGeneJin
post Mar 9 2008, 10:24 PM

279 posts

QUOTE(shogun_125 @ Mar 9 2008, 10:19 PM)
wow..men ! your mem 638.4Mhz, eh what type mem did u used?.. ddr3 ? hehehe..sorry.. I'm using 2GB Team Extreme PC8500 1066MHZ 5-5-5-15 RAM..i'm reading using my leg.. hahaha
?? No ler.. it's a DDR2 lai de.. DS3P dun support DDR3. What is that suppose to mean? I'm blur.. lolz..
a1098113
post Mar 9 2008, 10:26 PM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

dun confuse yourself.. read the last post i put. Thats the logic behind your ram speeds. The only way to change that is to change the ratio in the BIOS itself to 1:1

0.0187sec    0.60    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:40 PM