Perdana V6 Owners, share ur experience!! V-sixers

facepalm
post Jun 21 2011, 11:27 PM

38 posts

Hello to all PV6 owners,

Would like to seek help and advise from all sifus and PV6 owners regarding to my PV6 that bought in year 2002. The car has been serving me and my family well in all these years until recently the engine temperature became problematic eversince it overheated for the 1st time when i travelled to genting with my family at 2 years ago.

Within this 2 years, the car has been done major service i.e. new spark plug, water pump, timing belt, plug cable, and etc + top overhual due to oil leakage and service car radiator, which the latest was done on 2 weeks ago by replacing a new top layer of the radiator due to crack and water leakage.

Until now the car still facing overheat problem whenever i try to push it on 110km/h - 140km/h with and without using overdrive. The meter temp will show that it will raise from 40% until 75% to 80% before reaching total overheat. but strangely the temp will back to normal condition again if i slow down the speed till 40kmh or stop and let the engine cool down for 10 minutes. I had went back to my mech to chech the radiator but my mech claimed radiator didn't crack and coolant still remaining the same level.

To all sifus or owners who maybe had faced the same issue like mine, pls enlighten me that which parts of the car may probably caused the temp problematic? many many thanks if anyone could help notworthy.gif
facepalm
post Jun 22 2011, 12:31 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ Jun 22 2011, 12:09 AM)
Thermostat issue?
Did you mean the thermostat valve jam or not fully open during when I push the engine? hmmm...but then how come it will went back normal if i slow down the speed to below 50km/h? if the thermostat was jam the engine temp will still maintain overheat even if I slow down the speed? please enlighten coz i'm also not fully know how thermostat actually works just know it's valve will close if the engine is cool and open when its hot. blush.gif
facepalm
post Jun 22 2011, 12:52 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(NeuroOne @ Jun 22 2011, 12:44 AM)
either:
engine head bent/bengkok
radiator blocked
thermostat
ok sifus thanks for highlighting the possibilities that may causes the engine temp rise. i'll try check them with my mech and hope the issue could be solved. please do share if hav further infomation. many many thanks smile.gif
facepalm
post Jun 22 2011, 11:11 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(NeuroOne @ Jun 22 2011, 09:05 AM)
for bent/bengkok engine head
- skim the head but v6 head can only be skimmed once and not too much. if its too bent, u have to look for new (or 2nd hand) head. may cost rm700 for both v6 heads

for blocked radiator
- open both top head and lower head of radiator. must be done at radiator servicing shop. if both heads needs changing, change them. or even better buy those 2 layer fully aluminium radiator (i'm using one now). and dont forget to flush and bleed the water lines. service ~rm70, new radiator head rm100-150 (depend on brand), 2 layer alu radiator rm300 above.

thermostat
- change new one la only rm30-50

Hello NeuroOne, thanks for the informative details. I just took the car for my mech to view for his opinion. He suspect maybe either is the cylinder head or the block bent that causes the problem. In order to fix he suggest either

1) Top overhaul- the main issue maybe the cylinder head bent so in order to fix it has to be sent to machinery shop for them to check water pressure measurement and which cost about RM150 per head total 2 heads would be RM3++. mmc gasket around RM2++ and labour chagre RM8++ so total quotation will be around RM1.7k

2) Full overhaul- if not the cylinder head that caused the problem then it would be the block may as well bent. so the price for skiming and test water presure for both cylinder head and block would be less than Rm1k and plus total full overhual kit will be cost a bomb... TT

other than that, the mech didn't comment much about the thermostat and regading to radiator, he just went to check and found out no leakage and as well not possible internal water blocking coz the issue has just fixed 2 weeks ago and really rare the radiator water will stuck again within such short time... TT
Really confuse now... i duwan to spend thousands just to buta buta fix my temp issue... during the conversation with my mech he quoted alot of "maybe" so it makes me even the mech also not too sure whether will fix my problem even i spent such amount... rclxub.gif

or mayb my mech is not good enough to determine the problem...? please if any V6 owner had the same issue like mine pls share your solution. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
facepalm
post Jun 22 2011, 12:19 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(NeuroOne @ Jun 22 2011, 11:34 AM)
u may do the cheapest option first.
1. thermostat check - while ur car is idling or aftyer drive. so not switch off the car. feel the upper radiator hose, if hot then thermostat ok, if cold then thermostat jammed. the lower hose must be hot.

2. radiator check - this is quite hard to check. have to open up the radiator and spray water through each fin in the radiator. but if only cost about rm70. dont forget to do bleeding after flushing the radiator.

3. waterpump. might also be the culprit but this is expensive to do. waterpump only rm110-150 (GMB brand) but the work have to open the timing belt.

4. for bent head, i do not actually know the price for test and skimming. i've had a bent head before but i just change the head. but the gasket wont cost u rm200 la. a full timing belt set is rm350, how come only the gasket cost rm200? and the labour to change head will not cost more than rm300.

5. as for bent block, i dont think the block bent becoz v6 block is kinda bullet proof. if only an overheat happen, the block will still hold.

as for 4 and 5, if cost u more than rm1.5k, u'd be better off finding and plonking in a 2nd hand v6 engine.  get engine kosong complete (head + block + internals) is good enuff. u can use back everything else..
NeuroOne, thanks for the thermostat tip. will test it tonight and looking forward for the outcome. will as well looking for new mech and see how it goes...
facepalm
post May 2 2014, 07:36 PM

38 posts

I have been seeking for v6 enhance gear console and dashboard panel for some time. Anyone know where can i get this? icon_question.gif
still able to saw some sellers selling during 2013 but somehow now extinct at 2014? pls help wink.gif

0.0326sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:10 PM