Perdana V6 Owners, share ur experience!! V-sixers

akv6
post Nov 1 2010, 05:15 PM

Hi to all,

I've been a PV6 owner for the past 1.6 years and loving it. It had some auto GB problems at first - won't change to 4th gear! But managed to resolve that.

But I have over heating problems now. The temperature gauge will rise slightly when the car climb hills (let say like in Karak-Genting) at speeds of 90kmh ++ but if maintain light right foot (drive around 60, than no problem). Can somebody share with me as to what is wrong? please...

Secondly, my car starts to semput at about 170kmh, is that normal?

AND

my car shakes and rattles a lot at legal highway speeds but not so bad at about 140kmh. What is wrong? Or is this an indication that I should drive fast at all times... hehehe... smile.gif

Please share your thoughts dear Gurus/Sifus.

Thank you for your time.
akv6
post Nov 2 2010, 08:57 AM

QUOTE(NeuroOne @ Nov 1 2010, 05:25 PM)
temp. prob, check radiator fan, radiator cap, thermostat, radiator leaking?, radiator sumbat/blocked, radiator head too old (karat) and hoses.
or maybe engine head bengkok already..

semput at 170kmh?
timing ok? plugs? or maybe its got to do with overheating prob.

shakes and rattles: a lot of things can contribute to that.
balancing, alignment, tyre bengkak, bushing koyak, mounting koyak, suspension prob, etc..
Thanks bro neuro1 on your advice. I will have those things checked out. My mechanic advice me to try and flush the radiator first. That should be ok, right?

Bro, how do I know whether the timing is ok? What is the normal rpm at idle? Hmmm... plugs. Never had changed them before since I got it - secondhand, enhanced II.

Thanks again. Appreciate it.

BTW, I live nearby you - kajang.

Added on November 2, 2010, 9:38 amAiyoo.. all this talk of auto GB giving way after 100k is really scaring me lah sweat.gif My PV6's mileage is about 87k now. I change the ATF and filter once in every two service intervals. That should be fine, right?

And my PV6 is strictly a weekend drive... I put a sanction on myself from driving it on weekdays but everyday feel gatal want to drive one rclxub.gif

This weekend driving to Kuantan...

This post has been edited by akv6: Nov 2 2010, 09:38 AM
akv6
post Nov 2 2010, 11:24 AM

QUOTE(NeuroOne @ Nov 2 2010, 10:57 AM)
flushing is ok but will not solve it if the radiator is clogged with debris (besi karat, etc)

for v6, rpm at idle should be around 700-800.

maybe just check the plugs, see if the plugs colors are ok.
brownish is good. if black or white or oily or plug tip short/cracked, not good.

aiyo, dont be afraid, change ATF every 2 service intervals and change ATF + filter every 4 service interval. (1 service interval 7000km?)
u should be ok. and dont always trash the gb, play top speed ok, dont always play traffic-light-drag-race.

kajang where?
if u are in the neighbourhood, we can go TT..  rclxms.gif
Thanks for the top tips bro! rpm wise (as per your quoted rpm above), my pv6 should be just fine.

But my plugs, are just about due. Intending to go for Bosch but don't know which model yet brows.gif

I've been goin through the thread and noticed that you guys have TTs on wednesday at NZ - If I can find the time, sure I'll join one. thumbup.gif

No drag racing for me bro... Also no top speed. But I enjoy taking corners on my pv6, it feels planted and maintains its lines very well. I had a drive to Frasers recently... really enjoyed the drive (though I can't say the same for my passengers). handling feels sharp and crisp... Engine response, superb thumbup.gif Full of character!

Love the car at purchase and still loving the car now.

akv6
post Nov 2 2010, 02:37 PM

QUOTE(tuo850 @ Nov 2 2010, 01:47 PM)
my milage is 300k alredi and still using the ori GB. install the atf cooler and it should last a bit longer. driving long distance every weekend (1000 km) at speed 120-140, hard driving style (rpm > 4k)

this is one tough horse!
This is like sun light at the end of a tunnel rclxm9.gif

Please share some maintenance tips if you don't mind...
akv6
post Nov 2 2010, 03:21 PM

[quote=NeuroOne,Nov 2 2010, 03:00 PM]
ur car has been lowered or standard height?
i also like cornering eventho not as good/fast as compact cars la kan.. tongue.gif

wanna join TT? tomorrow we go la..

Unfortunately my ride is still standard gaban. Only modifications (improvements?) are 17inch wheels and Sony Xplod HU.

Once contemplated on lowering, but family man car lor. So need consider comfort of wife and kids tongue.gif

Anyway, the cornering capability is ok enough for me (at the moment)... I'm after all no Lewis Hamilton myself icon_idea.gif I would say even in standard form, its better than the civic. Lotus maa...
akv6
post Nov 4 2010, 08:48 AM

QUOTE(dreamZz @ Nov 3 2010, 04:35 PM)
Dear all,
I jz bought a perdana v6, but early morning i noted when i start engine for a minute or two. Then my exhaust start blowing white smoke for a while then dissapear then the vapor from exhaust is keep on increase and finally water drip out. If i press fuel pedal the water will splash out bit.

According to foreman, water drip out from exhaust meant the engine is good. But white smoke also blowing for a while once started the engine. So this 2 theory seem like contrast.

2nd, is semi-synthetic oil suitable for v6 which is 10 years old car?

Thankssss...
White smoke in the morning its quite common actually... so my guess is that its ok.

Personally I wouldn't recommend using semi synthetic. My PV6 eats up semi synthetic and I end up having to top up half way through the service interval.

Added on November 4, 2010, 8:50 am
QUOTE(NeuroOne @ Nov 3 2010, 04:33 PM)
i'm going to TT wangsa maju tonite.
wanna join?
Sorry couldn't make it lah bro. Sent my daughter to clinic and only managed to get home at almost 10. Next time maybe biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by akv6: Nov 4 2010, 08:50 AM
akv6
post Nov 4 2010, 02:13 PM

QUOTE(NeuroOne @ Nov 4 2010, 10:40 AM)
tu nak kena test dulu tu.
check ur PM, i gave u the workshop (taman medan) owner number.
i dono how much, have not change it myself. hehe.
but u can use back all the arms.
sent to workshop, take out all the arms, buy bushings, have to press out all the bushings/getah, then press back in new ones..
white smoke is a no no.
usually in the morning, its vapor not smoke.
then at the exhaust tip can see small drips of water.

if ur engine eats oil, then must be something wrong somewhere.
yes, sometimes old engine do eat oil but only tiny bit.
your exhaust got white smoke during idle? or got white smoke while driving/moving?
or non at all?

ok TT maybe next time.
i went home at 1.30am but ppl are still lepakking..
Bro Neuro,

Sorry, I meant vapor. Morning usually. Other time just fine.

Waahh... 1.30 ah? Aiyoo if I do that, pagi confirm tak bangun.
akv6
post Sep 29 2011, 11:22 AM

QUOTE(tuo850 @ Sep 28 2011, 09:37 AM)
classic perdana problem. is the sound, sound like it coming from the dashboard? last time i got sound like the gearbox is failling it turn out to be the plastic cover of the metallic lining cover for the windshield. coz it related to speed, the faster u go the louder it become. check for the clear plastic coming out of the metallic cover.
Last time I had this problem after filling up the petrol... they were rattling sounds coming from the dashboard and I searched high and low for the source...

It turned out that the rattling came from coins squeezed in between the front speaker and its casing (right hand side underneath the steering) by my beloved daughter rclxub.gif

It's been a while since I dropped in into this page... Hi all!

0.0379sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 09:06 AM