11 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

All Things about BLU-RAY | V3, High Def. Experience | Only 1 CHOICE

aiman04
post Mar 8 2008, 07:28 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(PrinceOfPersia @ Mar 8 2008, 06:56 AM)
BD fans reporting in  whistling.gif
True BD fan will should not own HD-DUDs!! whistling.gif laugh.gif tongue.gif

Added on March 8, 2008, 7:42 am
Sony in Talks with Microsoft, Apple About Blu-ray

Sony Electronics US President Stan Glasgow has revealed that the company is currently in talks with software giant Microsoft with regards to the Blu-ray format. No specific products were mentioned, but it is expected that Microsoft will offer a Blu-ray X-box 360 Add-on, similar to what they offered for the now dead HD DVD format. As it stands, Microsoft's gaming console is at a distinct disadvantage to Sony's PlayStation 3 which includes a Blu-ray player in every console.

Sony is also in talks with Apple, who has been extremely quite about offering Blu-ray drives despite being a part of the Blu-ray Disc Association. It was rumored that Apple was prepared to offer a Blu-ray drive with the latest upgrade of their MacBook Pro laptops, but that there were size and power consumption issues. It is expected that Apple will incorporate Sony's new drives, which are much smaller and use less power, this summer when they are released.

Additionally, Sony predicts that the price of Blu-ray players will fall to $299 by the end of the year. This is not much of a stretch, with the upcoming Sony BDP-S350 carrying a retail price of $399 and coming out way before the 2008 holiday season.

http://www.blu-ray.com/news/?id=1091

This post has been edited by aiman04: Mar 8 2008, 07:42 AM
aiman04
post Mar 8 2008, 07:48 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Microsoft: "We'll support Blu-ray"

Amid rumors that Microsoft is in talks to add Blu-ray support to its Xbox 360 game console, CEO Steve Ballmer has indicated the company's intention to support the remaining high-def format.

As reported by The Seattle Post-Intelligencer, Microsoft CEO Steve Ballmer took part in an onstage conversation at the company's Mix08 Internet conference in Las Vegas Thursday, where the topics discussed included Microsoft's high-def plans following the discontinuation of Toshiba's HD DVD format.

Without offering specifics, Ballmer said the company will work to support Blu-ray.

"We've already been working on, for example, in Windows, device driver support for Blu-ray drives and the like," Ballmer stated. "I think the world moves on. Toshiba has moved on. We've moved on, and we'll support Blu-ray in ways that make sense."

http://www.highdefdigest.com/news/show/Mic...y%E2%80%9D/1550
aiman04
post Mar 10 2008, 07:32 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(wongkev @ Mar 9 2008, 10:19 AM)
Ok, thanks. I did write them just to give them a heads up, and they asked me to wait another week before I request a replacement. I'd rather not go through the hassle of having to send duplicates back in case they arrive later.
Give the posmen 4 - 5 weeks. Then write to Amazon.

It's normal. Sometimes you can get it in 10 days, sometimes up to 6 weeks. wink.gif

QUOTE(TheUndead @ Mar 9 2008, 11:19 AM)
Anyone doing Blu-ray mass order again? Ingat nak tumpang sekaki thumbup.gif
You just miss it bro. wink.gif

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Mar 9 2008, 11:25 PM)
guess everyone busy with "election"

brows.gif
The best election ever. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(sunauto @ Mar 10 2008, 02:15 AM)
Interesting article, convert HD-DVD movies to Blu-Ray.  rclxms.gif

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=134227
Now to get a blank BD, and a BD burner. sweat.gif

Err, I suggest to just buy and replace the same movie on BD, should be cheaper. laugh.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by aiman04: Mar 10 2008, 07:33 AM
aiman04
post Mar 10 2008, 10:17 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Mar 10 2008, 10:13 AM)
amazon no sell drago tiger gate ar?
Release date for US is May 27.

POP, how's the PQ?
aiman04
post Mar 10 2008, 10:35 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Mar 10 2008, 10:30 AM)
y HK got faster BD??
Err, if not mistaken, the movie itself is from HK. tongue.gif
aiman04
post Mar 10 2008, 11:08 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Mar 10 2008, 10:57 AM)
no ler tongue.gif

u see ID4 also release in HK first
ID4 was originally to be released simultaneously in US, Japan & HK.

But was delayed for US for some technical issues.

Fox Delays Independence Day

Fox Home Entertainment has revealed that they are delaying the Blu-ray release of 'Independence Day' due to technical issues. The disc is experiencing playback issues on 5% of Blu-ray players, so instead of having negative consumer feedback (similar to what they experienced with 'Fantastic Four: Rise of the Silver Surfer'), they will wait until all issues are resolved.

The new release date is expected to be in March 2008.

http://www.blu-ray.com/news/?id=708
aiman04
post Mar 10 2008, 02:54 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(Ninja @ Mar 10 2008, 11:42 AM)
Quick question:

Anyone knows the price for Onkyo TX-SR605? hmm.gif
Racun 1: Better get at least 705.

Racun 2: Best get Yammy.

tongue.gif laugh.gif

QUOTE(PrinceOfPersia @ Mar 10 2008, 01:23 PM)
PQ 4.5/5.0  thumbup.gif
That's quite impressive. The Chinese is doing great job for BD encoding and transfer I see. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Mar 10 2008, 01:51 PM)
DESA wat price?

back to BD thread tongue.gif
Desa got no Onky.

QUOTE(sunauto @ Mar 10 2008, 01:56 PM)
Besides that, Air Force One BD is only released in Japan and it's Region A, you can't buy that movie in the US, weird, huh?
Sure they have reasons, marketing strategy? Japan is effectively a BD territory since long time.

aiman04
post Mar 10 2008, 03:15 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Mar 10 2008, 03:02 PM)
KLSE suspended 1 hour sad.gif
KLSE? New BD? Special Edition is it? laugh.gif tongue.gif
aiman04
post Mar 10 2008, 03:43 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Mar 10 2008, 03:23 PM)
aiyo...jangan joking

teruk condition sad.gif
So, no more BDs for you? sad.gif
aiman04
post Mar 11 2008, 07:38 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

POP, they finally making your movie!

Newell to Film Prince of Persia in Morocco

British helmer Mike Newell (Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire) will direct action-adventure pic Prince of Persia: Sands of Time in Morocco for producer Jerry Bruckheimer and Disney.

The epic project is a live-action feature based on the videogame. "Prince of Persia" has a script by Jeffrey Nachmanoff (The Day After Tomorrow) and game creator Jordan Mechner. The videogame spawned six installments and numerous spin-offs, boosting Disney executives' hopes for a lucrative new tentpole.

The choice of Morocco as a shooting location will be a boost for the North African country's film biz.

"Prince of Persia" will also film in UK's Pinewood Shepperton studios. The Moroccan section of the shoot is expected to start in mid-June.

http://www.variety.com/article/VR111798195...egoryid=13&cs=1

QUOTE(tepetlah @ Mar 10 2008, 08:25 PM)
where??..
"I never would've thought of that."

"Clearly you've never been to Singapore."

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Mar 10 2008, 10:31 PM)
i jsut test water with the day after tomoro..

the DTS is at 1.5Mbps

WoW yawn.gif
PS3 will only read the core DTS at 1.5 Mbps.

Most of the current BD players are the same. When we get the update for DTS-HD MA, we'll get up to 25.4 Mbps.

POTC's uncompressed PCM rated at 6.9 Mbps. thumbup.gif

Now where's the FW update?

This post has been edited by aiman04: Mar 11 2008, 07:50 AM
aiman04
post Mar 11 2008, 10:35 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Can't wait for my ID4. biggrin.gif

5 stars Audio, 4.5 stars Video. thumbup.gif

Blu-ray.com ID4 Review

Audio:

Simply stated, Independence Day on Blu-ray is a deafening, high-powered listening experience. Anyone interested in what is perhaps the loudest, most powerful track yet on Blu- ray needs to stop reading and hurry out and buy this demo-worthy disc. Still not convinced? You will be after the opening moments of this DTS-HD MA 5.1 mix as bass literally rattles your chest, but cleanly and distinctly, never going for broke and simply sending a signal to the subwoofer to shake and rattle at will. Instead, we get powerful but clean bass, bass that will put the absolute best subwoofers and amplifiers to the test, and by the end of the movie, both will be screaming for mercy and kindly ask that you watch No Reservations ten times in a row, as a way of taking some much needed R&R following the harrowing audio experience delivered by ID4. I wouldn't be surprised if home theater stores across the country and around the world pop in a copy of ID4 for the next several years when they demo subwoofers in their store. The bass is that boisterous, and even if you hate the movie but love a good dead-wakening soundtrack, this one's for you. Bass isn't the only thing this one has going for it. There is a major sound presence in the rear channels throughout, creating a captivating and completely engulfing experience. Music blends into the rears naturally, and effects, of course, zoom and whizz over your shoulder throughout, making for a head-turning and exciting listen. Every sound moves seamlessly from one speaker to the next for a top-flight aural experience, be it the sound of alien or human weaponry, the roar of human jets and the whoosh of alien craft, or long, drawn out explosions. Dialogue is crystal clear, rarely ever lost in the mayhem of the track, and even the subtleties of the track work to create a convincing and enthralling experience. There may be a few other tracks that sound a bit cleaner and more realistic than this one, but if you want a true high-definition, foundation shaking, heart-pounding, no-nonsense, rip-roaring good time of a soundtrack, Independence Day on Blu-ray fits the bill perfectly.

aiman04
post Mar 12 2008, 09:32 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

No tax la inside US. Just make sure the BDs checked-in with other luggage. tongue.gif

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Mar 11 2008, 11:50 PM)
Since the topic says All Things BLU-RAY, guess no harm posting my question here.

1. WHat's the favorite BD player in the market now? Which brand? Are there any discussion within LYP.net regarding this?
2. How much is a BD movie sold in Malaysia?
1. Favorite player for now PS3. Very fast loading compared to standalone. It's basically future-proof as it can be easily updated to whatever profile coming. Will still be among the best in the future, if not THE best. Bitstreaming HBR audio is the only thing it lacks as a BD player (though not a crucial factor when it can decodes internally). wink.gif A lot of discussion, just gotta look for it. tongue.gif

2. Don't even look for BDs in Malaysia. At least RM149. Most of us here orders from Amazon.com, you can get around RM100 per title with bulk orders with DHL, or less than that if use standard shipping. Even cheaper with occasional offers like BOGO, etc, which you can get as low as RM60 per title. Other online store also can try. We are in the same BD region A as US, so no worries. (Note: For DVD, ASEAN & Japan PS3 are regions 3 & 2 , while US is Region 1).
aiman04
post Mar 12 2008, 09:34 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(kkChan @ Mar 12 2008, 09:31 AM)
No... BOGO is better,
BOGO is based on prices after discount wink.gif
Correct correct correct.... tongue.gif

For BOGO, the free item is free, while the other one is still discounted at their regular 32%.

So you'll get like 132% discount for 2 items. While for this current offer you'll only get 100%.

I'm not gonna bite, even if there's BOGO next week. Poket koyak already. sweat.gif

Added on March 12, 2008, 9:36 am
QUOTE(apisgogo @ Mar 12 2008, 09:33 AM)
to mr megatron007, craven dusk, khyron, aiman04, prazole,

all our BD has safely arrived on my fren's hand smile.gif

all bds counted in. Now we just have to wait for my fren to back here.

Good news Apis!!! thumbup.gif

So, ETA next week?

This post has been edited by aiman04: Mar 12 2008, 09:37 AM
aiman04
post Mar 12 2008, 12:05 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(PrinceOfPersia @ Mar 12 2008, 11:56 AM)
anybody here wanna tumpang me, still got 3-4 slots, i want order something tis weekend  biggrin.gif, not BD  whistling.gif
Tak percaya, must be BDs tu... laugh.gif tongue.gif

Aiyah, no money... hutang can? tongue.gif
aiman04
post Mar 12 2008, 08:51 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

I, Robot
Blu-ray.com Review

Perfect Overall Score!!!!
5.0 of 5.0

Movie
4.0 of 5.0

"An entertaining and thought-provoking picture makes for a spectacular Blu-ray."

Video
5.0 of 5.0

This 1080p, 2.35:1 framed transfer from Fox is hands-down one of the very top transfers to hit Blu- ray yet. I'm tempted to say it's the best, but several other discs would definitely have something to say about that. Suffice it to say, however, what you're looking at here is probably as close to perfection as we're going to see for a while. It doesn't hurt that I, Robot is a slick, glossy looking movie to begin with, and this Blu-ray edition reproduces every single frame with darn near perfection. This image features absolutely fantastic and robust color reproduction, perfect skin tones, and extremely high detail. The opening close-up shot of Will Smith is stunning, and the disc never looks back. The imagery of future Chicago is first-rate. A distance shot of the city is crystal clear with nary a fault to be seen. The print is meticulously clean and absolutely free of any noticeable defects. This is one of the most natural and beautiful images yet on Blu-ray. In fact, it very well may be the best. Black levels are spot-on perfect. Even the leather on Will Smith's jacket looks glossy and clear as day; the intricate details in the material itself are clearly visible. The image is impeccably sharp and clean from edge to edge and top to bottom, never soft. The special effects hold up very, very well in this one. Simply stated, if you are looking for the perfect demo disc to show off that fancy new 1080p television set and your Blu-ray player, picking up and using this movie is a no-brainer.

Audio
5.0 of 5.0

The good folks over at Fox and DTS have done it again. I, Robot is reference material through and through. As strikingly beautiful as the video quality is, the audio matches it frame for frame, making for perhaps the finest audio/video combination yet on the young Blu-ray format. Right from the opening credits listeners are treated to spectacular sound envelopment, and you'll feel like you're underwater. Musical reproduction is excellent, sounding clean and bright with a striking realism that puts the orchestra in your living room, playing live. The surround channels are used almost incessantly in both action and standard fare scenes. For instance, a public address announcement plays over your shoulder as Spooner first enters the U.S. Robotics building early in the film. Of course, they're also filled with the sounds that accompany the action as well as some pulse- pounding music and effects. Effects pan well, and imaging is excellent, creating an immersive and complete 360-degree sound field. Of course, no movie of this category would be complete without a few rumbles of the subwoofer, and in that area, I, Robot delivers, big time. Like that found on another recent Will Smith movie to hit Blu-ray, Independence Day, this LFE track is first-class. Machine gun fire in chapter 11 sounds out of this world good, almost devastating on the ears at reference level, pounding the chest like few other soundtracks do. In chapter 15, when the home wrecker robot goes to work, bass is so strong that almost any superlative you want to throw out there will do justice to what we hear. The entire scene is a home theater seller, and perhaps one of the best yet. Of course, there are several other absolutely stunning sequences throughout the film, too many to list here, but listening to this disc is definitely a feast for the ears. I'm simply dumbfounded by the quality of these DTS-HD MA releases from Fox. It is my favorite of the three high definition codecs, and I hope more and more players get the capability to play them back so more users can hear it. This is stunning stuff.

Supplements
4.5 of 5.0

This post has been edited by aiman04: Mar 12 2008, 09:52 PM
aiman04
post Mar 12 2008, 08:56 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(Blu-Ray @ Mar 12 2008, 08:45 PM)
still no special deals from amazon?
How about this:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/feature.html?ie=U...g=bluraynews-20
aiman04
post Mar 12 2008, 09:53 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(PrinceOfPersia @ Mar 12 2008, 09:16 PM)
bro aiman, dont racun2 people la  tongue.gif , but i-robot really  thumbup.gif
Not only using racun now, pukau2 also! tongue.gif
aiman04
post Mar 12 2008, 10:21 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(PrinceOfPersia @ Mar 12 2008, 10:14 PM)
yup, i think i alreadi kena pukau, i robot sudah masuk cart  sweat.gif  whistling.gif
Haha!! laugh.gif

But I, Robot really good movie, already have the DVD. This is one of the few title that is already eligible to upgrade even before release. thumbup.gif

I already placed my order (along with ID4, Gattaca and others). But not yet shipped, waiting for other titles to be in-stock to ship together.

Who else want to kena pukau? Megatron? whistling.gif

This post has been edited by aiman04: Mar 12 2008, 10:26 PM
aiman04
post Mar 13 2008, 07:24 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

I got the PIXAR Shorts inside my PS3. tongue.gif
aiman04
post Mar 13 2008, 12:31 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

In case you guys unaware, new firmware update version 2.17 is now available. Select according to your PS3 version.

US:

http://dus01.ps3.update.playstation.net/up...5b/PS3UPDAT.PUP

Japan:

http://djp01.ps3.update.playstation.net/up...5b/PS3UPDAT.PUP

Asian:

http://dsa01.ps3.update.playstation.net/up...5b/PS3UPDAT.PUP

Thanks to Ninja & Vorchiel for the heads up.

No words yet on the details.

11 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0380sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 03:43 PM