5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Eye Floaters, Specks & debris INSIDE the eyeballs

penguin113
post May 26 2010, 10:21 AM

59 posts

Since kid, I have these floaters, and visible all the time.
Recently, I see more... start to worry about.
Plan to see doctor... any recommendation?
ohwow_my
post Jun 2 2010, 04:22 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(penguin113 @ May 26 2010, 10:21 AM)
Since kid, I have these floaters, and visible all the time.
Recently, I see more... start to worry about.
Plan to see doctor... any recommendation?
Seriously you have to see the specialist to get advice.
I am used to my problems already.
I hope 1 day the problem just vanished.
yangz
post Jul 26 2010, 04:24 PM

62 posts

I guess this is the nearest solution for anyone who really want their floaters gone badly.

http://www.eyewisevision.com.sg/services_yag.htm
Vision and Eye Health
post Jun 11 2012, 01:56 PM

15 posts

Floaters are part of the natural aging process (called posterior vitreous detachment), and most people will have them. However, it is always good to have the eyes examined to exclude a retinal tear or retinal detachment because the symptoms can be similar. Retinal detachments will need to be surgically repaired in order to prevent permanent blindness.

Posterior vitreous detachment
Retinal detachment
Retinal detachment surgery

This post has been edited by Vision and Eye Health: Jun 11 2012, 01:57 PM
icezkiwi
post Jul 3 2012, 11:09 PM

117 posts

May I ask where can I perform a eye check for floater? And the price roughly will cost how much ?
alanyuppie
post Jul 4 2012, 09:08 AM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(icezkiwi @ Jul 4 2012, 12:09 AM)
May I ask where can I perform a eye check for floater? And the price roughly will cost how much ?
If you wanna specialist check of "existence" of floaters, it wouldnt be necessary. If the floater is obvious enuff, you'll notice it. If not, you might have barely visible ones but your brain tuned it out .

Only go see eye doc if you notice sudden increase in floaters in which there were much less/none before.

If you're (active) into contact sports ... its good also to check the "reason" behind your floaters . Sometimes people merely had slight retinal tear from past injury causing new floaters but didn't notice it much/often coz it got absorbed back as quick as it move across your field of vision.

btw, I've been having a string/spider-web like floater in my eye for nearly 20 years. learned to live with it.

SUSTham
post Jul 6 2012, 06:21 AM

1,576 posts

Two things I can think of.

1. Serratiopeptidase, or serrapeptase, the silkworm enzyme. Those on sale here
are 5 mg tablets, or 20,000 iu. It was developed by Takeda and marketed as Danzen.

2. N-acetylcarnosine, or NAC, eye drops.

Mostly anectdoctal reports, but serrapeptase has an extremely impressive reputation.

Serrapeptase has long been used by the late Dr Hans Nieper, advocated by the
Life Extension Foundation for this purpose and currently used discreetly by many
nutrition-oriented doctors in the US in fact, for dissolving atherosclerotic plaques
in the heart arteries at doses of 6 to 15 tablets (5 mg) daily.

" As I was taking Serrapeptase for some cysts at the time, I increased the dose
to 160 000 units, hoping it would dissolve the floater. To my amazement, within two
weeks after the accident the floater paled into a completely transparent, almost
invisible structure. "

http://www.iherb.com/product-reviews/Docto...12714/?p=4&sr=5

N-acetylcarnosine eye drops.

http://www.longecity.org/forum/topic/7525-...s-eye-floaters/

"The eye drops are helping. I have floaters but not now I can't find them.
They disappeared."

http://www.smart-drugs.com/Can-C-eyedrops-testimonials.htm

http://www.worldhealth.net/news/senile_cat...ylcarnosine_ey/

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/m/pubmed/20408504/

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/m/pubmed/16274259

This post has been edited by Tham: Jul 7 2012, 06:25 PM
SkyHermit
post Aug 19 2014, 06:13 PM

1,799 posts

I have these 3 disease

1) visual snow - where you see everything is like TV static and I see it all the time even when i close my eyes. It is more obvious when it is at night or in a dark room

2) floaters- I realized I had floaters when I was 7 when looking up the sky, but that time I had like only 2 or 3 floaters. Now I am 21 and I have a lot more.

3) Blue Field Entoptic Phenomenon - I rarely notice this unless when I look at clear blue sky like he said.

Out of all I think floaters is the most annoying one because my floaters are a lot and quite big as well. I see them most clearly when I am in bright place like white wall. And also cant enjoy outdoor with clear blue skies or beach because I can see a lot more in bright place.

Do any of you have any of these 3 problems? Because if you have floaters chances are you have Vision snow and Blue Field Entoptic Phenomenon as well.

I had head injury when I was 2, do you think this is the cause of visual snow? And how do we explain the floaters and this visual snow? What are the causes and is there way to cure it? And could it be related to nerve stuff?

This post has been edited by SkyHermit: Aug 19 2014, 06:14 PM
jialat
post Aug 20 2014, 01:57 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(SkyHermit @ Aug 19 2014, 06:13 PM)
I have these 3 disease

1) visual snow - where you see everything is like TV static and I see it all the time even when i close my eyes. It is more obvious when it is at night or in a dark room

2) floaters- I realized I had floaters when I was 7 when looking up the sky, but that time I had like only 2 or 3 floaters. Now I am 21 and I have a lot more.

3) Blue Field Entoptic Phenomenon - I rarely notice this unless when I look at clear blue sky like he said.
Out of all I think floaters is the most annoying one because my floaters are a lot and quite big as well. I see them most clearly when I am in bright place like white wall. And also cant enjoy outdoor with clear blue skies or beach because I can see a lot more in bright place.

Do any of you have any of these 3 problems? Because if you have floaters chances are you have Vision snow and Blue Field Entoptic Phenomenon as well.

I had head injury when I was 2, do you think this is the cause of visual snow? And how do we explain the floaters and this visual snow? What are the causes and is there way to cure it? And could it be related to nerve stuff?
Bro, u need to check with a good retinal specialist and get follow up at least once a year to monitor the condition, not all eye specialist is good at treating and monitoring retinal problem. look for retinal surgeon rather than retinal medical, they are different.
SkyHermit
post Aug 21 2014, 11:52 PM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Aug 20 2014, 01:57 PM)
Bro, u need to check with a good retinal specialist and get follow up at least once a year to monitor the condition, not all eye specialist is good at treating and monitoring retinal problem. look for retinal surgeon rather than retinal medical, they are different.
Is retinal surgeon same as optometrist? where can I find retinal surgeon in KL?
jialat
post Aug 22 2014, 12:04 AM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(SkyHermit @ Aug 21 2014, 11:52 PM)
Is retinal surgeon same as optometrist? where can I find retinal surgeon in KL?
nope, they are different.

KL i am not sure, if Subang medical center then u should see dr Ula.

http://www.medeguide.com/v-ulagantheran-r-viswanathan
SkyHermit
post Aug 22 2014, 12:40 AM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Aug 22 2014, 12:04 AM)
nope, they are different.

KL i am not sure, if Subang medical center then u should see dr Ula.

http://www.medeguide.com/v-ulagantheran-r-viswanathan
how much does it cost? will it be expensive?

what if I have medical card will it be free or cheaper?
jialat
post Aug 22 2014, 12:56 AM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(SkyHermit @ Aug 22 2014, 12:40 AM)
how much does it cost? will it be expensive?

what if I have medical card will it be free or cheaper?
100-200 max. medical card for admission only, rite?
SkyHermit
post Aug 22 2014, 01:12 AM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Aug 22 2014, 12:56 AM)
100-200 max. medical card for admission only, rite?
I am also not sure. It is AIA medical card that looks like credit card with 16 digits on it, my name, IC and Policy No. If this AIA can waive or reduce the fee then good

If i go to gov hospital do they have this retinal surgeon?

This post has been edited by SkyHermit: Aug 22 2014, 01:14 AM
jialat
post Aug 22 2014, 10:34 AM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(SkyHermit @ Aug 22 2014, 01:12 AM)
I am also not sure. It is AIA medical card that looks like credit card with 16 digits on it, my name, IC and Policy No. If this AIA can waive or reduce the fee then good

If i go to gov hospital do they have this retinal surgeon?
U can go hosp selayang because there are many retinal specialist there but u need referral.
SUSTham
post Aug 25 2014, 05:43 PM

1,576 posts

QUOTE(SkyHermit @ Aug 19 2014, 10:13 AM)
I have these 3 disease

Floaters are normal in most people, and tend to come and go.

http://www.health.harvard.edu/blog/what-yo...ye-201306106336

Look at my post above. You could buy some serratiopeptidase
from the pharmacy - Danzen, generics - and take two twice daily
for a start.

One 5 mg tab = 20,000 iu, so four tabs = 80,000 iu.

Haven't you gone to an eye specialist to check out all
your eye problems ?

Visual snow have been linked to migraines, so your head injury
could have caused it.

SkyHermit
post Aug 25 2014, 09:19 PM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(Tham @ Aug 25 2014, 05:43 PM)
Floaters are normal in most people, and tend to come and go.

http://www.health.harvard.edu/blog/what-yo...ye-201306106336
Look at my post above. You could buy some serratiopeptidase
from the pharmacy - Danzen, generics - and take two twice daily
for a start.

One 5 mg tab = 20,000 iu, so four tabs = 80,000 iu.

Haven't you gone to an eye specialist to check out all
your eye problems ?

Visual snow have been linked to migraines, so your head injury
could have caused it.
I cant open that link.

i have been to eye specialist but that time my eyes were red and he just told me to ignore floaters.

i googled serratiopeptidase and is it a pill to be swallowed?

And what is the price like? How long will i see my floaters disappear if i take them daily?

This post has been edited by SkyHermit: Aug 25 2014, 09:23 PM
thiny
post Sep 19 2015, 03:48 PM

[quote=Tham,Jul 6 2012, 06:21 AM]

are 5 mg tablets, or 20,000 iu. It was developed by Takeda and marketed as Danzen.

Mostly anectdoctal reports, but serrapeptase has an extremely impressive reputation.

Life Extension Foundation for this purpose and currently used discreetly by many
nutrition-oriented doctors in the US in fact, for dissolving atherosclerotic plaques
to 160 000 units, hoping it would dissolve the floater. To my amazement, within two
weeks after the accident the floater paled into a completely transparent, almost
invisible structure. "

I just got floaters like cobwebs above my left eye with a small patch of cloud near the pupils four days ago.
I have seen eye specialist who confirmed my retina is okay. Got dry eye syndrome. Had cataract surgery done one and
half year ago.

1. I can find serrapeptase and will take the dosage as recommended.

2. Where can I get the NAC eye drops in Malaysia? I cannot find in pharmacies. Please reply soonest.

Thanks a zillion.
jialat
post Sep 24 2015, 11:57 AM

2,364 posts

[quote=thiny,Sep 19 2015, 03:48 PM]
[quote=Tham,Jul 6 2012, 06:21 AM]

invisible structure. "

I just got floaters like cobwebs above my left eye with a small patch of cloud near the pupils four days ago.
I have seen eye specialist who confirmed my retina is okay. Got dry eye syndrome. Had cataract surgery done one and
half year ago.

1. I can find serrapeptase and will take the dosage as recommended.

2. Where can I get the NAC eye drops in Malaysia? I cannot find in pharmacies. Please reply soonest.

Thanks a zillion.

[/quote]

hi, your retina is fine, then did the ophthalmologist mention why you are seeing the cobwebs?
merinyu
post Apr 28 2016, 08:32 AM

23 posts

I think almost everyone of us have floaters. It's just how obvious are the floaters. Mine most probably due to aging and pressure the floaters become more annoying. When we aged, our eyes tend to have difficulty focusing especially when we want to read something on papers or IT devices. Currently I have seen there are two options, live with it or get some treatment. Normally doctors would advice to live with it. Went to Optimax to check my eyes and was informed that the floaters are normal and the doctor said his floaters are even worst than mine.

I have not seen anyone feedback on YAG laser treatment for floaters. The Tun Hussein Onn National Eye Hospital THONEH had been promoting it for quite sometime with introductory price of RM800.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0258sec    0.74    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:08 PM