Travel Penang, Accomodations, Attractions & Guides

janisu
post May 7 2014, 10:41 PM

no
613 posts

QUOTE(harrie @ Apr 30 2014, 05:42 PM)
Hey guys, im going to penang on 15th may 2014 until 18th may 2014. stay at hotel malaysia, penang road there. any places recommend to go? im actually looking for foods, attraction places like temple, the wall paint, cable car. anywhere else recommend? and mainly for night activities as well like pasar malam or anything. please recommend to me ya~ thanks!!!! and how about should i need to rent a car?? how much will it cost? where can rent ? total 2 person only.
Awww man, you'll miss the pasar malam in Farlim then, because it takes place every Wednesday night.
janisu
post Jun 29 2014, 01:58 AM

no
613 posts

QUOTE(jtsl9 @ Jun 24 2014, 04:42 PM)
Any taxi driver to recommend? My friend and I (just two of us) would be taking the bus up to Penang and arriving in Komtar. We were thinking to go makan makan first before checking into the hotel. We didnt drive because the next day we will be boarding the cruise.
Get the myTeksi app, it's really good. smile.gif

QUOTE(DikkieD @ Jun 25 2014, 01:59 AM)
I am visiting Penang in October for a few days.

I am familiar with the island, been there many times. However, I wouldn't where to start looking for nice coffee places in Georgetown or at other areas on the island. Can you guys/gals recommend me a few places with great coffee and a good vibe?
Coffee places are mushrooming all over the place! I am no expert in coffee, but you can give these few places a try or do some research about them:

Kaffa Espresso Bar
ChinaHouse
Pacific Coffee Company
The Mugshot
Coffee Elements

Hope that helped!
janisu
post Aug 25 2014, 08:25 PM

no
613 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 14 2014, 02:13 PM)
any other nice assam laksa other than overrated air hitam 1?
opposite pcghs, the one where you can dip the fried popiah into the laksa soup notbadobama.jpg

there's also one in here that sells at night, near the entrance of the kopitiam. both the assam laksa and lemak laksa are good.
janisu
post Nov 14 2014, 11:56 PM

no
613 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Nov 13 2014, 11:32 AM)
THanks for the info. I saw there is a lot of hostel or budget hotel ( those shoplots with cafe) along the mural street . How much is the average cost? Saw most of the customer is angmoh or foreigners.
Those are mostly B&B's, won't cost more than 100 or so per night I think. hmm.gif
janisu
post Nov 15 2014, 12:02 AM

no
613 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Nov 14 2014, 11:59 PM)
Wats b n b? hmm.gif
Bed and breakfast smile.gif
janisu
post Nov 15 2014, 12:11 AM

no
613 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Nov 15 2014, 12:04 AM)
What is the meaning of that term? haha. That means is like a hostel where u rent a bed only? hmm.gif
These hostels usually have cafes downstairs ma, so it's catered for those travellers who want to have a good rest at night(bed) and a good breakfast the next day(breakfast), hence the term bed and breakfast. Doesnt mean that you can only rent a bed la they have rooms one laugh.gif
janisu
post Nov 15 2014, 12:30 AM

no
613 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Nov 15 2014, 12:22 AM)
Look decent and nice wheni walk2 at the street the last time i went. But didnt went in and ask for more info. sweat.gif
How come it is so uch cheaper than even budget hotel. lol
Idk which ones you saw, as some are dirt cheap while others can cost even more expensive than hotels, e.g Campbell House. The price I mentioned was quoted to me a loooong time ago so I'm not really sure about the price range nowadays.

Here's a good one if you fancy sleeping in square pods. The bfast is not bad too nod.gif
Tofu Bed & Bikes
janisu
post Nov 15 2014, 12:50 AM

no
613 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Nov 15 2014, 12:46 AM)
If you read from the facebook post. that place closed down already.
Owai sweat.gif Sorry ya.

0.0467sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 04:59 PM