Travel Penang, Accomodations, Attractions & Guides

etigge
post Dec 18 2011, 09:38 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Dec 18 2011, 07:05 AM)
I am asking because majority of them only can accommodate max of 6, not 8 that I was looking for. Budget RM300 - 500 per night. Need recommendation.
You only have to check it out. Here's one that can accomodate 8 pax.

http://www.mudah.my/Batu+Feringhi+Apartmen...ah-12406252.htm

Here's another one that can fit in 12 pax.

http://www.mudah.my/Homestay+penthouse+4+b...ft-11835529.htm

Here's another that fits 12 pax.

http://www.mudah.my/Penthouse+homestay+Cut...ia-11815438.htm

This post has been edited by etigge: Dec 18 2011, 09:40 AM
etigge
post Dec 18 2011, 12:51 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Dec 18 2011, 11:49 AM)
Thanks. Look interesting. I have seen a few on other website. But I have only booked through Agoda etc before and not sure about the reliability or trustworthy of these other website. Nor how good/clean are the place so am looking forward to hearing recommendation from those who are actually in Penang or had actually stayed there.
In travels, you can never expect what you wanted unless you pay TOP DOLLARS and expects it to your satisfaction. You can demand for this if you are willing to fork out. If we are can't, then we have to make the best of it, like myself. Sometimes we meet horrible conditions but we still have to bear it as we have paid. Getting reviews are also not a guarantee of cleanliness and good service. Staffs can change and probably they were staying when the housekeeping or rather the owner themselves just changed the sheets. I have stayed in 5 star hotels and still the sheets are still not clean but in that case I can demand it to be changed or a room change. I have also stayed in a cheap hotel where I find a butt of a cigarette stuck into a spitum on the wall but when you demand a change, they rather refund you and ask you to stay somewhere else.

Unless we are Paris Hilton and money is not a concern, don't expect too much on travels, either on the service , food or cleanliness. Thing is, sometimes our own room is not even as clean as the hotel rooms but because it is our own smell and dirt, we find it OK. Don't you think so? icon_rolleyes.gif If cleanliness is a concern, I think booking 4 rooms in Tune Hotel's no frills is more practical. icon_rolleyes.gif
etigge
post Dec 26 2011, 05:40 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(GroundMan @ Dec 26 2011, 05:02 AM)
guys, whats the famous biscuit shop called? and where is it? anyone knows?

my dad used to buy it quite frequently but he forgot the shop name. we called it "pia" in hokkien, or biscuits/cookies. like those have peanuts fillings, tao sa/black beans fillings n etc.
Him Heang Tau Sah Pneah, 162A Jalan Burma, 10050 Penang or
Ghee Hiang Tau Sah Pneah, 95 Leboh Pantai, 10300 Penang.

either one of them is good and both has their own followings.
etigge
post Feb 16 2012, 02:41 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(jotep1991 @ Feb 16 2012, 12:52 AM)
Hi all,

I am planning to drive to Penang next week from KL with 8 of my college mate. Staying there for 2 days and 1 night. It is quite a short period. Planning to leave KL about 6am and reaching there about 12pm or 1pm. Check in at 2pm. What can we do after that? Could anyone tell me or suggest what can we do beside visit temples and gardens? unsure.gif

Honestly, I had been Penang twice with family November last year. Every time we went to the same location. Kek Lok Si, Penang Hill, those gardens or buttery farm. But this time, I'm going with friends. Most of them were not interested in those as, well, I mean is actually quite common cause we visit the same attraction every trip. No offense here. smile.gif

Is there something else we can do? Any recommendation? Like maybe beach? Appreciate your help. biggrin.gif
Just 2D/1N, there's really not much time. I doubt you can reach your hotel by 2.00pm. The jams in Penang can get really bad at times, depending where your hotel is. If it is near Bayan Lepas or Bukit Jambul area, yes but in the city or the beach, by the time you check in, you only have time to freshen up and then hangout somewhere to drink and eat. Maybe later go clubbing. The next day after breakfast you probably need to check out and also have a meal before leaving back to KL. whistling.gif

Actually something different like hiring a boat to take you to Monkey Beach for picnic is nice or even hike there if you are game enough. But this takes a full day and your daytime is only 2 part day and a full night. I sometimes like to drive around the island. From Tg.Tokong drive up to Bt.Feringghi then to Telok Bahang. Stop at butterfly farm and then all the way to Balik Pulau and stopping half way for a coconut juice while watching the view of eastern Penang island. Then you can either cut straight back to Air Itam or continue the full round to Teluk Kumbar, Batu Maung for seafood. Then back to city via Jelutong. Other than food, I think that's the most we can do. laugh.gif

If you are not there mainly for food, temples or parks, there isn't any much. I would rather spend it in Pangkor Island and then a glorious drool.gif FREEEEEEEEEEEESH ! seafood spree in one of the seafood restaurants in Kg. Cina, Sitiawan. Seriously. icon_rolleyes.gif
etigge
post Mar 1 2012, 10:01 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(codenamew @ Mar 1 2012, 12:08 AM)
want to ask, where is the place where all the hawkers stall is located? the one along the seaside if im not mistaken. is it very far from tune? pls guide me.thanks thanks
No need to go Gurney Drive for food if you are staying in Tune. Just opposite at the junction of Rangoon Road, there's a coffee shop (quite big) and there's a lot of hawker fare there. Along that road, there's also a lot of eateries. Walk along there, find Swatow Lane which if off Burma Road(same street as Tune) and you will find New World where the famous rojak and ice kacang is. Also there are many other hawker stalls here. In front of Tune is the famous Lorong Selamat, walk further into the street is another famous 'ice kacang' and that's also where the 'lansi' char koay teow is, along with lobak, assam laksa, koay teow th'ng and many more hawker. Behind Tune is Hutton Lane where there are two famous morning Koay Teow Th'ng (there used to be only one). Explore a bit and there are many more. If you are going try food only if recommended then no new attractions will be discovered! icon_rolleyes.gif

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0186sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 08:36 PM