6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Travel Penang, Accomodations, Attractions & Guides

Ami Tsun
post Jul 30 2010, 07:30 PM

QUOTE(xecton @ Jul 30 2010, 05:20 PM)
However, please be reminded that Penang Time Square can hardly be considered a mall. I fell short of calling it an abandoned mall because nobody move in in the first place.

Good news is, if you can reach PTS, then Komtar is near enough. But again, I have no idea what is in Komtar now.
Prangin Mall is next to it though.
As I recalled, PTS has never been officially opened yet, except for the Sunshine there. Another fav in PTS is Haven Delights Restaurant that serves VFM buffet.
Ami Tsun
post Aug 2 2010, 06:51 PM

QUOTE(nelson_hew @ Jul 31 2010, 12:53 AM)
Im staying in Rasa Sayang resort & spa for 3d2n, anybody can comment where is the best place to club or nice pub to recommend? I've been to QE2 , so want to find if there is any other place besides QE2. It would best, when the place is near to the place im staying.
Hard Rock Cafe is near to Rasa Sayang.
Ami Tsun
post Aug 2 2010, 09:16 PM

QUOTE(king99 @ Aug 2 2010, 09:04 PM)
WTA if there is any bus from KL to Penang ?
Quite a lot.
Ami Tsun
post Aug 12 2010, 02:30 PM

QUOTE(Nosense @ Aug 11 2010, 12:54 PM)
I am planning to drive up to Penang on the 10th Sept, anyone can advise me on the traffic there during Hari Raya.  Will there be massive jams? and what will be the best time to reach Penang Bridge to avoid the jam.

I am choosing between Traders Hotel and Evergreen Laurel for my 2 nights stay.  Actually the price is quite the same, I am wondering which one will have more food outlets nearby for makan at night.
Traders and Evergreen Laurel price quite the same? Go for Traders then, definately nearer to lots of makan places.

Seems like Penang is a favourate getwaway for Hari Raya holiday every year...
Ami Tsun
post Aug 13 2010, 06:57 PM

QUOTE(Sniperwolf1987 @ Aug 13 2010, 11:02 AM)
can i know Taxi service from Sungai nibong to Batu ferringgi around how much ?? sure kena potong right ?? and also i will stay in ferringgi HYDRO hotel .. so any recommended place to take model photo in ferringgi ?? or any place recommend to pak toh with girl friend ?
As a rough guide, taxi from airport to BF is RM70(coupon system), BF to airport can get RM60. Sg Nibong, 6km to airport, so anything around RM50 would be acceptable. See if you can get it for RM40, since Hydro is at the very start of BF stretch.

Actually, if not in a hurry and want to save money, take Rapid bus no102.
Ami Tsun
post Aug 15 2010, 01:20 PM

QUOTE(Sniperwolf1987 @ Aug 14 2010, 09:22 PM)
wait to take bus no.102 ?
Er, "wait"? Of course you have to wait for bus and not the other way round la..

Oh, ok, if you meant "where", bus no.102 stops by Sg Nibong. This is the bus that serves Airport-Teluk Bahang- Airport route.

Please go to Rapid Penang website to find out about bus info. You'll probably want to take a bus (no.101) to town from Hydro, or from Hydro to BF night market/Hard Rock etc(no.101,102), or be prepared to kena potong if take taxi.
Ami Tsun
post Aug 15 2010, 09:55 PM

Should be at the bus stop outside, coz Sg Nibong is the Express Bus terminal. Only 102, 101 is from jetty.
Ami Tsun
post Aug 17 2010, 01:50 PM

Nice pic.

For O chien, a poplular/famous old stall is at Seng Thor kopitiam, Carnavan Street. Open from 1pm-6pm.
Ami Tsun
post Aug 26 2010, 02:50 PM

QUOTE(ken_zie @ Aug 24 2010, 06:56 PM)
How much is the taxi fare for the trip from ferry terminal to Hard Rock Hotel? Does the RapidPenang 102 still stop at Hard Rock Hotel now? Need help. Urgent!
Taxi fare at least RM40. From ferry terminal is bus no.101 to Batu Ferrighi/Teluk Bahang. Bus stops opposite( and in front) of HRH. (102 is from airport)
Ami Tsun
post Aug 26 2010, 03:30 PM

QUOTE(litnit @ Aug 26 2010, 09:34 AM)
looking for seafood restaurant, dim sum, asam laksa beside ayer item, curry mee. location is not tat important as i have car, but should be tasty but not too expensive la..
TQ :-)
Teluk Kumbar Seafood (aka "hao you"). Or head to Bukit Tambun, many restaurants there, personal favourate is Fish Village.

Dim Sum - 1)Restaurant Zim Sum at Anson Road. 2)Dim Sum Food Restaurant at Macalister Road, which turn into Town Steamboat Restaurant in the evening/night - Buffet steamboat, including dim sum, very nice egg tart.

Asam laksa - Balik Pulau's Kim laksa, at coffee shop next to the old market.

Curry Mee - corner coffee shop(don't know name) at Chowrasta market, it's on the left at the end of Jalan Chowrasta (right side is the wet market)
Ami Tsun
post Sep 7 2010, 11:28 AM

@joeylny

Don't bother to go to snake temple, unless you are around the area. Or if you really go until there, go further to Batu Maung, there's an interesting temple called "cheng choo temple" at Teluk Tempoyak, the temple is decorated with empty chinese wine(lingzhi jiu) and beer bottles. Also situated at Batu Maung is the War Museum.

The Reclining Buddha temple in town is worth visiting too. It's a Thai temple, and opposite it a Burmese temple also good to pay a visit.

The night market is shortly after Rasa Sayang(if you drive from town), outside Park Royal, Holiday Inn but not until Hard Rock Hotel. It's a "tourist" night market, operates every evening. You may eat at the Long Beach hawker centre if around there, would recommend the Hainanese styled popiah there.
Ami Tsun
post Sep 14 2010, 06:50 PM

@ikan_semilang

"6. Muzium Perikanan"

Is this the Jabatan Perikanan with aquarium? FYI, the aquarium is closed for renovation, dijangka buka awal tahun depan.
Ami Tsun
post Oct 21 2010, 03:31 PM

QUOTE(sheahann @ Oct 21 2010, 02:10 AM)
anyone know the taxi fare from airport to jalan paya teburong ?
i heard its coupon system and the price is fixed.
anyone know roughly the price to jalan paya teburong from airport ?
thxx
Depends on taxi type(number of pax+luggages), and time of boarding, starts from 38 ringgit only.

http://www.penang-malaysia.com/Penang_Airport_Taxi.html
Ami Tsun
post Oct 31 2010, 05:11 PM

QUOTE(weirdguy @ Oct 30 2010, 09:22 AM)
Thanks for the info too.

I am planning to visit Penang via LCCT on end of January. Is it a good idea?
Can anyone recommend hotel with a budget of around RM100, not more than RM150?
Location wise, I prefer located near Food (Non-Halal/Halal).

I did consider Tune Hotel. About RM110 for 2 nights. But I am not sure about the Location, whether it is close to Famous Food or Shopping or ... ?
Oriental Hotel would fit your budget, plenty of makan around the area - Line Clear is just across the road, Red Garden food court, 5 mins walk either along Leith Street or Penang Road, Chowrasta Market is also about 5mins walk. Easy to take Rapid Bus to get around, if within town centre, there's FOC CAT bus.

Tune Hotel is ok, but need to walk more, a bit inconvenience if take bus coz Burmah road is one way street.
Ami Tsun
post Nov 2 2010, 03:41 PM

QUOTE(weirdguy @ Nov 2 2010, 01:49 PM)
Thanks all of you for your suggestion.
Do you think 2D2N is sufficient in Penang?
My main priority is to enjoy the food and visit Penang Hill and some Top Penang Spots.

My plan: First day, My flight from LCCT to Penang arrived 4pm. Second day, free & easy. Third day, return to KL.
I am still deciding to return KL on morning, noon or afternoon flight.
Good enough for a weekend getaway kind of travelling, insuffient if want to really get to know Penang and taste more local food. But you could always return later, isn't it?

I'll go for the afternoon flight, either 1455 or 1535hr - enough time for breakfast(possibility of ta pao to bring back to KL too), back to the hotel, shower,check out and to the airport, avoiding the morning rush hour in Penang, arrived LCCT @1545 or 1630 and avoid the KL after work rush hour. Also, not taking the morning flights means no need to wake up so early, ie can stay quite late for supper the night before. (",)

This post has been edited by Ami Tsun: Nov 2 2010, 03:43 PM
Ami Tsun
post Nov 3 2010, 07:37 PM

QUOTE(weirdguy @ Nov 3 2010, 01:39 PM)
I'm from Sarawak. I could return, but perhaps 1-2 years later. Hehe.

Thanks for your suggestion.
Need to rethink hotel. If stay more than 2 nights at Citidel, gonna cost me a bomb.
Haha,stick to Tune Hotel lor. If you don't mind backpacker's inn/guesthouse style, check Hutton Lodge out.
Ami Tsun
post Nov 4 2010, 06:54 PM

Agree with the above choice.
Ami Tsun
post Nov 22 2010, 02:46 PM

Hi gals and guys,
Any recommendation for good, value for money buffet lunch/dinner or hi-tea in Penang's hotels?
Ami Tsun
post Nov 22 2010, 06:51 PM

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Nov 22 2010, 04:49 PM)
The best quality & bestest value for money Hi-Tea is at E&O Hotel with their membership card!
Please make sure you dun eat any lunch or have very early brunch.  laugh.gif

PS Bring your camera.
Ok, noted. So far, I have had buffet dinner on CNY's eve there once, free flow wine. Heard my friend mentioned about borrowed someone's card and went there for Hi-tea too.

Ha, bring camera ya..Let me concentrate on eating kao-kao first, baru take pictures of the building, the garden and sea view outside...Ha ha.

By the way, once upon a time, when the Hard Rock Hotel not yet exist, and when it was Casuarina Hotel time(history lor), the Sunday buffet lunch was good VFM.

Any where else? Esp those with promotions...

This post has been edited by Ami Tsun: Nov 22 2010, 06:55 PM
Ami Tsun
post Nov 25 2010, 01:26 PM

QUOTE(ronnie26 @ Nov 25 2010, 01:53 AM)
Hey guys, i'm planning to have a trip to penang on year end..
within 17 Dec to 29 Dec, depart from K.L.
would like to ask anyone knows any agency is offering penang's package?
Bro, no need package la. It's easy to DIY, bus/fly from KL to Pen and return, book your own accommodation depends on your budget, bus around Penang or hire a taxi @ $25/hr, minimum 4hr.

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0517sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:23 PM