AIRASIA, Services, Complains, & Q&A
Tony C
Jun 14 2009, 07:05 AM

Pretty sure it's an international advisory that: -Sharp items are not allowed in cabin baggage; and -Dangerous goods must be declared (regardless of cabin baggage or check-in, and then subject to offloading at discretion of pilots/airline/security).
Tony C
Jun 14 2009, 01:54 PM

QUOTE(xiong91 @ Jun 14 2009, 01:20 PM) so the conclusion is im ok to put the scissors and screwdriver in cabin luggage but not hand carry bag rite? affirmative
Tony C
Jun 17 2009, 02:14 PM

QUOTE(icyd @ Jun 17 2009, 01:06 PM) is it really cheaper to book flight and hotel together from airasia website rather than separately?what is your recommendation? Compare compare compare. There's no more right and wrong answer. You're not in primary school anymore. Have fun shopping!
Tony C
Jun 18 2009, 03:26 AM

QUOTE(ahjames @ Jun 18 2009, 01:24 AM) my virgin flight wif them i fly airasia XL to perth nais, new plane, nasi lemak sedap... i enjoice! better than fly MAS only complain is flight delay. comfy with the anorexic seats?
Tony C
Jun 18 2009, 09:22 AM

QUOTE(ahjames @ Jun 18 2009, 11:55 AM) the airasia XL seats are bigger than the normal seat, in fact they bigger than the econ class of MAS also oh ya... XL is not bad. standard economy is hopeless.
Tony C
Jun 20 2009, 10:21 PM

QUOTE(michaelyii1988 @ Jun 20 2009, 02:05 PM) guys..i wanna ask something..now airasia got given seats to everyone edi rite,i mean they decide the seat for u if u din choose the Pick-A-Seat during online booking. what i wanna ask is they giv u the seat No during online booking or during check-in time?if i check in with my fren,we sit next to each other? pray that you are seated together. no guarantee. you get what you paid for.
Tony C
Jun 24 2009, 03:22 AM

QUOTE(wai1 @ Jun 24 2009, 01:25 AM) Looking at the current price war, which airlines fares are value for money? Is there any site(s) where the fares of different airlines for same route will be shown? Start with something like zuji.com.
Tony C
Jun 25 2009, 08:09 PM

QUOTE(cshong @ Jun 25 2009, 08:58 PM) Pen and pencil are considered sharp object. Can passenger bring it? Errr.... Uhmm.... Ehhhhh....... Yes, pen and pencils are allowed in the passenger cabin.
Tony C
Jun 26 2009, 08:53 PM

QUOTE(viva.la.vida @ Jun 26 2009, 11:38 PM) hi guys, need ur help here.. does anyone know how much they charge you for overload baggge? say by 5-10 kg? 2 yrs ago it was RM50 per kg.
Tony C
Jun 30 2009, 09:00 AM

QUOTE(rosemary @ Jun 29 2009, 11:54 PM) so far, no restriction on the size or shape for check-in bag. Most important is the weight does not exceed as stated in ur itenary. not quite... QUOTE(AirAsia.com) 8.6 Unchecked Baggage: Passengers (except infants) are allowed the following baggage: Only one (1) item of baggage is allowed to be carried on board provided that it does not exceed the dimensions of 56cm X 36cm X 23cm and provided that it does not weigh more than 7kg. Such baggage must fit under the seat in front of you or in an enclosed storage compartment in the cabin. Items determined by us to be of excessive weight or size or of an offensive nature will not be permitted on board. Subject to the prevalent applicable local laws and regulations passengers may take liquids on board in their hand luggage provided they meet the following restrictions:
1. The liquid is in a container with a maximum volume of 100ml 2. That all liquid containers meeting the maximum volume of 100ml each can be fitted comfortably into a transparent, re-sealable 1 litre plastic bag
The plastic bag should be presented separately at security. You may be required to dispose of liquids which do not meet the above requirements.
Tony C
Jun 30 2009, 10:11 AM

QUOTE(stimix @ Jun 30 2009, 12:27 PM) Ehh..That one is standard size of baggage allowed onboard..not check-in....For check-in, u can even check-in big surfing board...& big-big bags No real size restriction as mentioned by Rosemary..sumore prebooked supersized bag of <15KG still at RM5!  : http://www.airasia.com/site/my/en/page.jsp...nce=FeeScheduleActually, you are right. Had a quick coffee fix and realised I wasn't reading properly. Anyway... With regards to check-in baggage, although AAX doesn't state any restrictions on dimensions, it's best to stay within L180cm x W140cm x H145cm if you want your baggage to travel with you on the same flight. With a bit of luck, baggage longer than 180cm and up to 280cm can be uplifted.
Tony C
Jul 3 2009, 07:29 PM

QUOTE(blackbrokenbutterfly @ Jul 3 2009, 08:58 PM) AA stewardess are so unprofessional. they were gossiping and laughing in front of the passengers. that was my one and only time with AA. They're just being natural - themselves. QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 3 2009, 09:59 PM) Truth. They've show the "you're flying budget, so don't expect premium service" mentality proudly. The fact is, if you pay peanuts, you do get peanuts.
Tony C
Jul 5 2009, 12:54 PM

QUOTE(bonzaimy @ Jul 5 2009, 03:04 PM) i dont agree if AA move to KLIA now. I think security at KLIA is not safe la. They must improve the KLIA safety first before moving any budget airlines there. Plus, if you looks at KLIA, it really a bit torn down As a traveller, I prefer AA going back to KLIA. It is way beyond me why I have to travel 20km around the airport to another terminal located just 5km away from where I landed! But of course, that's very unlikely to happen due to the politics and everything else which is non-business related. Well done Malaysia!
Tony C
Aug 8 2009, 09:32 PM

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Aug 8 2009, 08:03 PM) First Name, should be your Surname. but it's ok, i think AA isn't tat particular bout tat, juz make sure your name is spelled correctly maybe the Southern Hemisphere does things differently, but First Name = Given Name; Last Name = Surname.
Tony C
Sep 24 2009, 05:17 AM

QUOTE(stimix @ Sep 24 2009, 01:07 AM) You are lucky..In my case, no matter how i plead, They don't allow..They told me all decided by computer they can't change it unless i pay xtra to combine seats..  & That also I need to goto their AA ticketing counter !! Pardon me, but if you want the peace of mind of being seated together, why don't you prebook your seats? This post has been edited by Tony C: Sep 24 2009, 05:24 AM
Tony C
Sep 24 2009, 04:53 PM

QUOTE(stimix @ Sep 24 2009, 10:39 AM) That's why I said earlier..I regretted not to pre-book earlier!!  If I had pre-book earlier, I will not ended in asking favour from nice folks inside the planes to switch seats rather than asking from the unhelpful check-in staff! Furthermore.who knows that by not prebook & coming earlier, we will be splitted anyway...bcos the AA computer system programmed that way to penalise those who dun pre-book their seats!  it's not a penalty so to speak. it's just how these load planning program works. but of course there are more sophisticated softwares in the market, but they cost a few more coins.
Tony C
Sep 24 2009, 05:47 PM

QUOTE(stimix @ Sep 24 2009, 08:06 PM) Ehhh They can just do a minor tweaks to the programme to enable combining seats for those in family & not to split them. The advertisement by splitting the couple already an obvious example they wanted ppl to pre-book. So those going on AA...be warned..pls pre-book your seats earlier..otherwise..kena split...It's really uneasy asking passengers to switch place... I'm not saying you can't make minor adjustments to the logic, but every adjustment is a cost - and trust me, it's not cheap. But seeing your reaction to this, all I can say is relax, and not take things to the extremes. Peace out.
Tony C
Sep 24 2009, 07:01 PM

QUOTE(stimix @ Sep 24 2009, 09:03 PM) Hehe..If u check my past postings..esp on page 1, U will see I'm a true supporter of AA as they do bring budget flights to Malaysian & to Asian overall..but for the past 1yr..abit disappointed wth the following changes: 1) Keep on consolidating flights & changes to the tiome tables...I kena 3 times already starting from Dec'08, My Jul & Aug flights! 2) My favourite 1901 hotdog suddenly change to Air Asia branded hotdogs!! 3) The splitting of family (I think probably I ask them to combine & they purposely split!! If I hv keep mmy mouth shut..probably they will not split us!! - But the check-in counter guy really horrible! - imargine asking me to goto ticketing counter although I'm willing to top up!! - Does not make sense!!) Other than above, they have done well by the better/expanded LCCT Ok, I apologize for not reading through the run down of your post history. But here's a few possible justifications for your thoughts: 1) Save fuel 2) Save $$$ 3) The functions of check in and ticketing are different. Seat assignments may be managed separately (with ticketing perhaps, but I don't know). And here's a word of advice, never underestimate what check in agents can or cannot do. They can make your flight a pleasant one, or a really "memorable" one, in which case you got the "memorable" one.