AIRASIA, Services, Complains, & Q&A

Stalvros
post Dec 5 2008, 03:03 PM

26 posts

Yesterday was one of my worse Nightmare flight!

I was supposed to meet my fiancee at Malaysia.
So i took AirAsia flight (2 flights transit)

The 1st flight is supposed to depart at 12.20pm and reach at 3.30pm
(From Jakarta to Kuala Lumpur)

The 2nd flight is supposed to depart at 6.30pm and reach at 8.30pm
(From Kuala Lumpur to Sibu)
(I'm supposed to meet my fiancee and her family here and we can then fly to Sibu together)

So anyways, I have one luggage which I check in and 2 other luggage which I carry.
The 1st flight was delayed for 2.30 hrs! Making the flight leaving at 2.50pm and we reach Kuala Lumpur by 5.50pm And according to the travel documents I printed, the counter closed 45 minutes before the flight took off!

That's like what? 40 minutes before I can check in?
There's definitely NOT ENOUGH TIME!
By the time I got my luggage and ready to check in everything, it's already 6.30pm!
So I complained to the AirAsia manager and say that it's their fault that the 1st flight was delayed and that 'NORMALLY', they would at least put you on the next flight or something.

But you know what their reply was?
They say 'We have advice you that if you are transitting, you should arrive 3 or more hours before the next flight! If the flight is delayed less then 3 hours, we are not responsible and will not do anything as it is our policy that states so!'

You tell me! How can you NOT be angry!
(I wasn't the only one effected by the way, there was like a whole RIOT there)
(There's this dude who's connecting flight to Denmark, even they said that they're not responsible)
(There's also this girl who's got connecting flight to <somewhere> and she cried making a scene there)

But COINCIDENTALLY, my fiancee (who is already on-board) told me that her flight is ALSO delayed! The flight hasn't took off yet! So i told them, look! Why not just shove me in as well? Like, the flight hasn't taken off yet! Then they said OK, they can do that but then I have 1 package to be checked in and they say that I would have to leave my package here if I want to take this flight!

WTF!!!!!!
So I argued again with them! (I mean heck, what's so difficult by just putting in an extra slot there when they plane is already delayed to begin with?) So after like 30 mins of heated argument, a government official (who happened to take the same flight) helped me with everything and they said ok! (My fiancee's family knows him so they asked for his help, very nice guy)

But they still wouldn't let me check in the baggage.
So finally when the pilot says that he doesn't want to wait, they have no choice but to rush me into the plane. As for my baggage, well they just slot it into the cargo! The flight then leaves by 7.30pm and reach the destination around 9.30pm..... and I didn't receive my checked-in baggage at all!

They bloody lost it!
So I reported to the AirAsia in Sibu and they told me that they cant trace it because there is no record of me ever checking in anything! Why? Because it was an UNOFFICIAL check in! So I told them that I purchased insurance from AirAsia along with it and if I can claim it?

They say that I would have to call the insurance company myself as it is from 3rd party. Heck it is UNDER THEM! What 3rd party shit! YOU CALL! But again, heated argument which ends with no one winning! Sigh!

Lastly I would like to say that,
I think the reason why people don't complain is because it's cheap!
But seriously, I don't think it's right the way they treat people!
I haven't really read the terms and condition yet but I've gotta see this message about 'If your flight is delayed less then 3 hours, they will not be responsible' (It's like they deliberately make this rule just so that they don't have to be responsible for anything and people still buy them because compared to other airlines, it's cheap)

PS: Where do you go to launch a complain anyways?
Stalvros
post Dec 5 2008, 03:17 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(zacevox @ Dec 5 2008, 03:08 PM)
did you saw them put the baggage into that flight?
if they didnt stop you, you can take it as hand lugguage
That's the thing! THey don't allow me to take it as hand luggage!
I mean heck, if you don't want to be responsible and are going to lose it in the end,
just let me take it already! It's like they deliberately did it to 'STEAL' my package!

And no, this isn't my first flight with AirAsia!
However, this is my first flight with AirAsia that involves the incident of delay which
cause me to unable to make my 2nd trip with the same AirAsia in which they don't even
care or willing to take responsibility at all!

My first flight with AirAsia was delayed by 8 hours and that made my parents wait
in Johor Airport for a total of 9 hours including the time that I used to check out! Even
after that they didn't like compensate for the service (We still need to pay for the
crappy-ass pop-mie)

If they want to put me on the next flight, then that's ok!
But in this case, they say that its totally NOT THEIR FAULT!
This is FRAUD! You make people pay and then you're not willing to take responsibility because
your flight is delayed less then 3 hours?????

You don't think that checking out requires more then 30 mins?
Then why create a stupid rule in the first place?
It's ridiculous!
Stalvros
post Dec 5 2008, 03:20 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(pingy_ping @ Dec 5 2008, 03:14 PM)
shit...
thx god u din kill any person...
wat a pity day
Well, in my line of business, I always try to be 'diplomatic'
But this......... this is piracy!
1st - they don't want to compensate
2nd - they don't want to take responsibility
3rd - they don't care even if you die in KL just because you have no one there and no internet
to purchase the next flight back to your hometown

It's a very bad experience!
I have never been treated like a garbage!
My fault, they don't care, I understand
Their fault, they don't care, I don't!
(The only way I can see it is that they enjoy forking out 300+MYR out of you just so that they can get
free money out of doing nothing!)

Stalvros
post Dec 5 2008, 03:22 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(ocphangaz @ Dec 5 2008, 03:18 PM)
1st time travel or not... AirAsia is basically bending and breaking every rules there is.

we as consumer, when we bought a ticket the company is binded to a sales contract that they MUST depart on time. delaying 2.5hours is becoming soo common they should be sued... at least get their license provoked as they are not providing satisfactory services. they should have their performance review and compared with the number of flights delayed or delibrately delayed... why? Airasia rule of thumb.. if their flight is not 80% filled, they won't fly because they can never cover their cost... it that our fault?
This is what i want to know!
If it's illegal, then there should be a way to sue them!

I know its cheap but then I think about it again!
Compared to the total cost which i've lost up till now by taking their cheap-ass flight,
it's far cheaper to take MAS instead!
Stalvros
post Dec 5 2008, 03:24 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(jdreamer @ Dec 5 2008, 03:21 PM)
I think that they have stated that they will not hold any responsibility if you wish to have 'transit' in between their flights. Blame yourself for this part.

As for the luggage and insurance, this is the only part that you can argue with them.
Ummm they will! (If the transit is done by other airlines, then they wont)
(But in this case, it's BOTH by AirAsia!)
(You cannot use the excuse that they cannot match THEIR OWN schedule right?)
it's just that according to their policy, if the delay is LESS then 2.30hrs, then it's not their fault.

Not to mention that there is no earlier flight prior to the one I took.
What, you're suggesting that I should take the flight 2 days BEFORE my next flight
just so that I won't have to miss it?
Stalvros
post Dec 5 2008, 03:29 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(ws_lim83 @ Dec 5 2008, 03:27 PM)
Take FireFly next time~!
they fly to Sibu?
I just need an alternative company that flies me MOSTLY in these areas

1st - Australia
2nd - Jakarta
3rd - Singapore
4th - Kuala Lumpur
5th - Sibu

............ and ummmm, hopefully not too expensive.
But if it's more expensive then AirAsia but better service,
I don't mind at all!

This post has been edited by Stalvros: Dec 5 2008, 03:30 PM
Stalvros
post Dec 5 2008, 04:22 PM

26 posts

Well, I heard from my fiancee that they just purchased 10 new planes (airbus sized)

But i think they're still using those crappy plane they use in world war 2 for kamikaze to fly in Asia countries.

Heck I rode in one of those planes that still uses propeller as an engine. I nearly thought I was going to crash~
Stalvros
post Dec 5 2008, 04:28 PM

26 posts

I'm trying to find a good complaint board.
All google ever gave me is this;
http://www.complaintsboard.com/bycompany/airasia-a50817.html

But seriously, if I am the BOSS of airasia, i won't bother even reading those complains.

Why?
Because eventhough lots of people complain, they did one mistake!
They STILL buy airasia because it's CHEAP!

So its like this,
you complain to me, simple, don't fly with me!
But the thing is, you STILL DO!
Why? Because
1st - it's cheap (face the fact)
2nd - it's easy to book (at least form the website)
3rd - it's the only airline that flies to certain places (so far i researched)

I'm not trying to complain to them now.
What i'm trying to do is to get them SUED!
Unfortunately, even I must regretfully say that I might need to take them again because they're the ONLY airline that fly to Sibu.

But I still think that they deserve to be sued,
or better, just SHUT DOWN! They're licensed to be criminals!

This post has been edited by Stalvros: Dec 5 2008, 04:30 PM
Stalvros
post Dec 5 2008, 04:31 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(zacevox @ Dec 5 2008, 04:28 PM)
what are you talking about? airasia where got propeller plane doh.gif
they order 200 airbus to replace the old 737, now most their plane are the new a320
Heh, that was last year.
My flight from Kuching to Sibu was on that propeller plane.
It's seriously terrible.
Stalvros
post Dec 5 2008, 04:34 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(zacevox @ Dec 5 2008, 04:33 PM)
why dont you fly to sibu using mas? hmm.gif
My 1st answer would be expensive,
but now i'm seriously thinking about it.

I think the morale is this,
if you're flying with important baggage, just
don't take airasia!

Maybe the staff is also underpaid which is
why they resort to stealing and giving bad
service.
Stalvros
post Dec 5 2008, 04:42 PM

26 posts

its ok if they can't change date because i am indecisive.
but if they can't change date or refund because of their mistake, i will just create another topic in Lowyat and perhaps try to sue them along with the rest who suffers the same fate XD

(But i'm assuming that MAS is quite reliable)
Stalvros
post Dec 5 2008, 05:54 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(compunoob46 @ Dec 5 2008, 05:14 PM)
airasia's famous for it's delay.. so dun expect it to be on time...
normally businessman dun take airasia... they take mas...
airasia is oni for those goin travellin or have fun...
btw nth is perfect.. u cant expect airasia to be cheap n punctual...
not tat i'm on airasia's side but every1 knws tat airasia oways delay flights..
btw i dun think msia law provides any remedies for exclusion clauses..
i dont expect them to be cheap and punctual
i expect them to be cheap, crappy but responsible service.

It's true i dont eat because i dont find paying 5RM for a cup noodle worth it.
But I still expect them to at least compensate for the fact that because of
their delay, they made me miss my next flight which is by them as well
Stalvros
post Dec 5 2008, 09:36 PM

26 posts

lol
thx XD

PS: Aichiban, you are either a BIGGER idiot
or someone working WITH airasia sleep.gif.

Did you not read my comment stating that there are no earlier flight on that day!
and that the earliest will be 2 days from then on?
Are you just blind or playing a fool?
(Or both maybe)

3 hours is seriously OK for transiting a flight
WITHIN the ASEAN region!

So don't start bombarding my thread calling people idiot!
You want to share your opinion on this, that's fine,
but no need for foul language!

This post has been edited by Stalvros: Dec 5 2008, 09:41 PM
Stalvros
post Dec 5 2008, 10:12 PM

26 posts

Ummm, i just got a call from AirAsia Sibu
they said that they found my package
I will need to go to Sibu airport tomorrow to collect
(lets hope that it IS really my package)

Added on December 5, 2008, 10:16 pm
QUOTE(clemong_888 @ Dec 5 2008, 09:52 PM)
u all are missing the point, ts, u did not book a connecting flight but 2 separating flights. even if its the same airline, they dont have to compensate u anything.

even if there wasnt a flight earlier that day, thats just AA's fault for bad scheduling, maybe cause they think few will go sibu after jkt.

u should have chosen a better airline to suit your connecting needs but since u wanted to save a couple of bucks, u chose AA. in the end u get what u paid for.
Actually, I requested if I can check in my luggage all the way
(meaning, just transfer check in)

This service is allowed 1 year ago
but for some reason, its not allowed now.

If it's really the fact that they removed this 'regulation' JUST for the sake of
'covering' their sorry ass for bad scheduling and then blaming people later on,
i believe that they might as well made a POLICY that says that.

Then if that's really the case, then YES, it IS my fault for
not knowing how bad the service in AirAsia is and that next time
I should've taken other airlines~

Anology;
It's like how when you step on people's foot, you're supposed to say sorry!
But you said 'Heck, who ask you not to look where you're going?'

This post has been edited by Stalvros: Dec 5 2008, 10:17 PM
Stalvros
post Dec 6 2008, 10:50 AM

26 posts

Im checking tigerairs or jetstar but both dont seem to go Sibu
Stalvros
post Dec 6 2008, 01:57 PM

26 posts

Just to update you guys
I got my missing package back today after the airasia service in Sibu helped me!

I would like to give major credit to AirAsia (Sibu branch)
but I would still like to launch a complaint against the AirAsia (KL branch)

0.0388sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 03:02 AM