> Plaster Ceiling Renovation, How much does it cost? Renovations

sovietmah
post Nov 2 2012, 02:23 PM

2,243 posts

How much plaster ceiling price per sq?
If I want to do a just flat one with some corner strip and 4 hole downlight for 2 medium size room at first floor, and master bed room.
My house is 22x70.
sovietmah
post Nov 7 2012, 05:24 PM

2,243 posts

QUOTE(neocheng @ Nov 7 2012, 04:20 PM)
my plaster ceiling price below here
1. To supply labour and material to install flatboard plaster
ceiling for whole house area: RM 2.10/SQFT[at least 400SQFT]

2. To supply labour and material to install L-BOX plaster
ceiling for lighting purpose:RM 10.00/FT

3.exclude painting,only at penang or kedah area....thnk smile.gif
any hidden cost? shakehead.gif
sovietmah
post Nov 16 2012, 09:17 AM

2,243 posts

QUOTE(RickOoi @ Nov 14 2012, 07:50 PM)
I was quoted RM6,800 for supply and install flat type plaster ceiling for whole unit of double storey 18'x70', is this reasonable?
what is the total built up?
sovietmah
post Nov 16 2012, 01:34 PM

2,243 posts

QUOTE(RickOoi @ Nov 16 2012, 01:24 PM)
Total built up only 1,980
My upstairs plaster ceiling (plain) include hole - master bed room, 2 bed rooms and upstair living rooms (ceiling of staircase there and ceiling of living room) = RM 2700.
I guess bout 900 to 950 sq.
Ground floor I only do it for kitchen.

Maybe plain one cheaper.

This post has been edited by sovietmah: Nov 16 2012, 01:36 PM
sovietmah
post Mar 8 2013, 11:31 AM

2,243 posts

QUOTE(gedebe @ Mar 7 2013, 05:07 PM)
I am having a house with 9 and half feet ceiling height in my living hall.  My wiring contractor since wanting to do simple work, has prepared the wiring for plaster ceiling and say that's my only solution.  He asked for 6 inches to be lowered.  Meaning I am still left with 9 ft
Question: how much height is a standard size takes, and is 9ft with ceiling fan a nice thing, surely I can no longer throw my kids up!
My condo now is 9ft height.
I think not suitable to put fans if below 9ft and the whole house will looks narrow as well.
9 ft from bottom till the top is acceptable, i am 174cm tall, when I hold my hands up, I still have 1 feet tall before touching the center of the fans.
So fans normally takes up bout 1.5 feets

You can always do plaster ceiling only at each corner of the ceiling, so your fans still installed at the height of 9.5 ft.
But regarding the wiring stuff, you should negotiate with contractor right before they start re-wiring all the wires.

This post has been edited by sovietmah: Mar 8 2013, 11:34 AM
sovietmah
post Mar 11 2013, 02:14 PM

2,243 posts

QUOTE(gedebe @ Mar 8 2013, 05:25 PM)
that's is exactly what I have in my mind, I will still conceal a layer of plaster ceiling 2" down in middle just to conceal all the wiring then I will use hanging light instead of downlight!
2" height of plaster ceiling? I heard min need 6 inci height.
sovietmah
post Mar 12 2013, 09:39 AM

2,243 posts

QUOTE(gedebe @ Mar 11 2013, 09:35 PM)
I won't use downlight, use the normal hanging light
any idea how much LED light cost?
sovietmah
post May 22 2013, 11:49 AM

2,243 posts

After done the plaster ceiling, my dry kitchen ceiling height left only 103 inches, do u guys think it is too low? No fans at ceiling, only downlight.
sovietmah
post May 22 2013, 05:04 PM

2,243 posts

QUOTE(BTimes @ May 22 2013, 04:41 PM)
That is all I have.  My whole house interior is LED, even the toilets (actually not advisable since humidity is high but I just want to standardise 12 W LED so that I just need to stock up one type of spare LED lights):

The living room lights are different as it is not plaster ceiling

The staircase lighting is also LED
May I know how much each set of the the LED light at ur living room?
Looks near to fan, got shadow? how mant feet away from the fan?

This post has been edited by sovietmah: May 22 2013, 05:06 PM
sovietmah
post May 22 2013, 05:26 PM

2,243 posts

QUOTE(BTimes @ May 22 2013, 05:14 PM)
Staircase LED light - $250 RM  hmm.gif
Ceiling light (with four LED lightbulbs) - $550 RM x 2 sets  blink.gif
What is the Watt for each LED lightbulbs? I have to calculate this also, can let me know the model or name or something else?
I like this design, i have the same situation like urs, concrete roof no plaster ceiling.
Maybe we also need to figure out how much to change each light bulbs inside the holder. smile.gif
sovietmah
post May 22 2013, 05:46 PM

2,243 posts

QUOTE(BTimes @ May 22 2013, 05:39 PM)
I used 6 W (4100 K) per bulb x 4 bulbs per ceiling lighting, so total is 24 W.  The two ceiling lights are sufficient for the living room and I like them very much.  There are many designs that can accommodate more or less bulbs.  I threw away the boxes already so I'm not sure of the brand.  Have fun chosing.
Seriously 6W x 4 x 2 set = 48W, equivalent to philips sphere bulbs 24W x 2 already.
Maybe philips sphere bulbs 24W x 2 also cant brighten the living like the LED did.

How bout the heat? I heard the LED got 0% heat.
sovietmah
post Jul 1 2013, 02:49 PM

2,243 posts

QUOTE(ksyap01 @ Jul 1 2013, 02:47 PM)
Hi Sifu,

Do you think install Air-con and then follow by plaster ceiling, is better? i'm asking because my air con pipe/ducting is quite closed to ceiling, PS contractor mention need to adjust box size to fit the air-con. PS contractor advice installed PS first then follow by air-con? Anyone can give suggestion?
Better to install plaster ceiling first, paint all first.
then only install aircon.

Do you mean u want to install the big size aircon on top?

This post has been edited by sovietmah: Jul 1 2013, 02:50 PM
sovietmah
post Jul 1 2013, 05:14 PM

2,243 posts

QUOTE(ksyap01 @ Jul 1 2013, 02:57 PM)
not big size, normal indoor 1 an 1.5h/p air-con, i worry after installed PS the air-con unable to install if wrongly measure by contractor.
If you aircon is on the side wall?
sovietmah
post Sep 17 2013, 02:17 PM

2,243 posts

QUOTE(platingirl @ Sep 17 2013, 02:14 PM)
Hi guys ..

For plaster ceiling, how much should it be dropped down? 5 inches or 7 inches?

If i use LED lights, how much ? And if i use the regular downlights, how much ? Am a bit confused.. thanks
my point of view,
LED light i guess 4 inches is possible, but 6 inches onwards better.
But make sure you already considered properly like you didn't install cassette type of aircon, not tall unit type of downlight, etc.
or else u need to redo.

This post has been edited by sovietmah: Sep 17 2013, 02:17 PM
sovietmah
post Sep 17 2013, 02:35 PM

2,243 posts

QUOTE(platingirl @ Sep 17 2013, 02:32 PM)
Hi. Thanks for your reply.

No cassette aircond, cos i am using wall type split aircond smile.gif

But if say i am undecided with whether using PLC or LED downlight, so 6 inches is a safe bet ?
How high ur ceiling till floor first.
if 9 feet (before plaster ceiling), i suggest u better dun use normal downlight.
normal round downlight need bout 6-7 inches already because it is very tall.

Take 6 inches downlight, very bright and nice.
how big ur room / living room?

This post has been edited by sovietmah: Sep 17 2013, 02:36 PM
sovietmah
post Sep 17 2013, 03:54 PM

2,243 posts

QUOTE(platingirl @ Sep 17 2013, 03:51 PM)
Floor to ceiling is 10 feet.

So if use normal round downlight, then how many inches lower should my plaster ceiling be, considering that the downlight is already 6 inches ?

Living room is around 13ft x 13ft (or 14ft)
At least 8 inches, 4 inches round downlight bout 6-7 inches tall already.
Living room 13ft x 13 ft at least need 6-8 downlight if u r using 6 inches LED light with probably 10-12W power.
think probably also bout fans position if u want to put a hook or not etc issue, if living room is 10 ft height can consider do 2 layers.
sovietmah
post Sep 25 2013, 09:41 AM

2,243 posts

QUOTE(Vinci777 @ Sep 24 2013, 03:14 PM)
One of my contractor is currently quoting me a rate of RM7000 to supply and install plaster ceiling and man hole for whole house (about 4 man holes).

Izzit reasonable? Whole house is including porch, living, kitchen, toilets, all rooms and my house is dbs 18x70.

For downlight, hes quoting RM70 each to supply and install downlight and point in conceal piping. Normal downlight not LED.

Izzit normal? For plaster ceiling, hes using 4ft board with metal at each 2ft.
I think it is too expensive.
My whole house only RM3-4K for 22x70 houses. but i didnt do for living room only, but my one is all plain.
Even plaster ceiling with extra pattern, i dun think will reach 7K so high.

my contractor quoted me 1 downlight install is RM11-12 only. ur RM70 include re-wiring?
sovietmah
post Sep 25 2013, 11:19 AM

2,243 posts

QUOTE(fakhree @ Sep 25 2013, 10:40 AM)
Pls PM me ur contractor no. install meaning wiring?
Install means not re-wiring.
Only handle the wiring connector with the downlight.
if the downlight dun have wires the will also join the wiring.

But the price comes with my 100K renovation. some contractor give free but not my one sad.gif
sovietmah
post Sep 25 2013, 01:43 PM

2,243 posts

QUOTE(Vinci777 @ Sep 25 2013, 01:26 PM)
Yea include rewiring and down light but not LED type. My ceiling is plain too but living room needs to have a bit of design to accommodate the ceiling fan due to low ceiling. I wonder issit the charges is due to the inclusion of wiring works.
Then your contractor need to itemize ur quotation.
If lum sum like this more or less he can makan you.

plaster ceiling then plaster ceiling price,
wiring then wiring price.
pipe then pipe price.

This post has been edited by sovietmah: Sep 25 2013, 01:43 PM
sovietmah
post Oct 21 2013, 04:45 PM

2,243 posts

QUOTE(fyanyan @ Oct 21 2013, 04:29 PM)
Hi all, would like to seek you opinion on the pricing for wiring quoted by a plaster ceiling supplier, I'm okay with the plaster ceiling pricing but not too sure about the wiring cost. Thanks in advance.

Lighting Point 55 x RM50 = RM2750
Fan Installation x 6 = RM300
Fan Installation x 1 (to be installed on very high ceiling) = RM300
New switches for light points 9 x RM100 = RM900
new individual power points 14 x RM100 = RM1400
additional power points side by side with existing power point 8 x RM55 = RM440
Dimmer switch for toilet light 1 x RM100 = RM100
T5 light points 32 x RM15 = RM480
15amp power points 3 x RM200 = RM600
Light installation 10 x RM10 = RM100

total: RM7370

your comment is very much appreciated.
Fan Installation or Fan wiring + Installation?
If just installation then too over expensive.
Standard price stays RM30-35.

New switches for lighting point? Means include wiring + a good switch? or

2 Pages  1 2 >

0.0716sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 09:07 AM